(2008/06) June 2008

Ah.. worry abt that by then..

tink too much stress ourselves

Seriously i still have bad impression of KKH...

I cannot remember the policy details, must go check with my insurer. Tink with the policy be more safe.

Ellysia, yah. Good to check out terms of the policy before the time comes. Don't worry too much k. I'm sure things will be fine. Besides, you have policy to cushion any extravagant expenses.

As for not trusting KK, it's better to note down the doctors who are "bad" loh. Cos bad doctors can't survive too long in 1 place. They constantly move around or they set up their own clinics. If you know some names of the bad doctors, you will know who to avoid better.

It's like good schools. If the principal leaves, good school may turn bad too. It is not the school that is bad. It is the pple who make up the school.

hi girls,
wow, so much discussion on hospitals this morning.

hi ZuEn
So it seems like i am not the only one sneezing more. But quite irritating cos everytime after i sneeze, it will become runny nose.

Cactus,
I will opt for a 1-bedder for same reasons as you, mainly for more privacy plus hubby can stay overnight.
But am wondering if there are cases where all 1-bedder are full during the time I am warded.

Ellysia,
I think I got the same policy as you, from Great Eastern and its to cover pregnancy complications. I think with it, we should not need to worry too much about any sudden high expenses.

I have also started taking the fish oil capsules and it really smells v fishy. I realised need to take a "strong-smelling" breakfast eg fried beehoon with lots of chilli to mask the fish oil taste. Cos after taking the fish oil and burping, got the fishy smell.

Lunch time soon,
Have a good lunch, all!

actually kk is quite ok leh. i'm with kk. their nurses are quite pro also. they know what to do and can advise you on a lot of things. of course u dun ask the cashier lah... have to ask the nurses. the doc I'm seeing is quite good also.

so far, my experience has been ok. except for waiting time i guess. but i changed to pte suite, the waiting time is much better now. less than an hr, everything settle liao. including registration, see doc, scan, take med, pay....

my colleague was with kk also. she mentioned that she's quite happy with the svcs. hers was a complication. she said she had total attention and she felt very assured thru out.

do wear clothes that cover your chest to avoid runny nose,
I have a sleeveless jacket that I zipped up till my neck... haha

Cactus,
My hubby will fully agree with you on the school analogy cos he's a teacher and that's what he told me many times. Keke.
I am also inclined towards choosing a 1-bedder, with similar reasons to yours, like more privacy plus hubby can stay overnight.

Ellysia,
I think I have the same policy as you, Greast Eastern one on covering pregnancy complications. I think with that, we prob need not worry too much about sudden expenses incurred cos of complications.

Read about your "merlion" episode. I have also started taking fish oil and yes, I think they are quite fishy, esp after taking and burping, got the fishy taste.

ZuEn,
Seems like i am not the only one sneezing more then. But what I don't like is after sneezing I usu end up with runny nose.

Let me share with you my #1 birth,
please digest your lunch b4 reading this.

My daughter's head was larger than expected,
it created a "TEAR" in my virgina,
very close to my anus.
They young doctor thought, the tear may have gone to my anus,
he asked his "senior" to come & check the stiches,
he sounds panic & so complicated (hubby overhead at corridor).

Then came 4 senior doctors to my delivery room & look at my stiches,
with me & hubby in the room,
they gave instructions to the young doctor,
then leave, after about 10mins,
they return, u know what....
One of the senior one says "BEAUTIFUL, you did a great job,
PERFECT, as good as before already".
Hubby burst in laughter,
the young doctor sweat in the air-con room,
the other 3, nod in agreement.

WAH BIANGZ, 5 men looking at my bottom,
with one praising "BEAUTIFUL",
I don't know to laugh or cry...

So, conclusion,
at KKH, subsidized patients like me,
when there's no complication, u see all the doctors, BO CHAP,
if there's complication,
the seniors will step in & real fast too.

Hi Teragram, you can ask the nurses at the ward how full the wards are. You can just call to ask, or ask during the labour ward tour.

Tera,

Ya u are right, the smell is horrible. I tried to take with some food in my stomach but cos today rush for time, i only took 1 biscuit. Maybe the biscuit cannot be absorb in time to cushion the smell.

Leng Leng,

My mum said some docs passed snike remarks lor.. at least yours is "nice words" lah. But hor, really v pai say hor. But i guess, in event of emergency, really no time to bother abt such things liao.

cactus,

On this private hospital issue, i wonder whether those gynae who operate in private clinics (can choose A or B private hospitals) vs those gynaes who are listed in the private hospital.

Cos my gynae is located at TMC itself, it is one of the listed gynaes at TMC website. Cos i tot if gynae is directly at there, will be better bec' easier for her to communicate with the nurses or other staff for labour process etc.

hi Teragram,

2yrs ago when my friend deliver her baby at TMC she happens to be very unlucky.. all 1 bedded taken up so u got to share her room with another person. so her hubby cant stay with her during her stay there n also not much privacy n she also complaint e other party very noisy. But this cant be help la... unless u opt for c-section then u can know e date u goIng for c-section n booked e bed earlier if not it wont be possible for us to control.

Thanks for the note, Elaine.
Heh, so it can happen. Guess it will really depend on the situation during my delivery.

cactus_79,
personally I think SGH will be good for you lor,
hubby can visit you daily, office hours & after work too,
no need to take leave.

You can get hubby fetch u to SGH on your appointment days mah.

cactus,

Ya lor.

For me is bec many of my colleagues deliver at TMC and TMC is the nearest hospital near to my home, even nearer than KKH. And I dun have a car so will have to take cab.

cactus,

U are right, really depend on luck.

I dunno but my hb also wanted TMC due to his frens recommendations. He dun want public hospital due to long wait. Cos he used to accompany me to National eye centre for my eye operation and checkups etc, we always waited for 4-5 hours and my doctor is one of few senior specialist.

I tink even if i want KK, he also dun want cos of the long wait.

Ellysia,

Just something to share. KK's private suite no need to wait at all. really. There's once, my appointment at 830am. I didn't need to wait AT ALL. Went there at 820am. Walk to registration counter. Then go to do urine test, take weight and bp. Then sit outside consultation room. Was called less than 2 minutes! T here's even a free drinks vending machine there! Very comfy sofas, nice mags to read. So quiet. By not cheap.

TMC is halfway btw my workplace and home, i tink.
Anyway if everything is well, can take ML earlier and wait at home. Anything will take cab to TMC.

Take MRT? Now i already have problem catching the crowded MRT, cannot imagine how in 3rd trim.

cactus,

tat is the elite of KKH. I tink if people who take private suite may be treated best at KKH.

Last time one of my colleague give birth at KKH. Whenever other colleagues ask her which hospital, and she say KKH, the other colleague will tink "how come", "eee" those type of remarks. Cos my colleague is also not poor, her hb and her are both professional. Out of my dept colleagues who given birth, I can count 4-5 colleagues chose TMC.

I heard Mount A is better than TMC. But i tink mount A is too far, won't choose it.

Anyway so far, hb and me are comfy with my gynae. She will provide me information and give me lay man explanation when i ask her on technical terms. I find that she is not the overly cautious type but also will say things if need to be cautious. So me and hb quite trust her opinion.

Also another reason why i choose her clinic is bec' there are 2 gynaes in her clinic and the main one ( a guy) is supposely v popular and expert at complications. So i guess if anything serious they can cover each other work, share info etc. Better than those 1 gynae 1 clinic type.

cactus_79,
use the hangphone... hahaha...
That's right, if there's any complication,
your hubby can be right at SGH to wait for you.

ellysia,
walk more in 3rd trimester, will aid to give birth easier.

Try not to take early ML lor,
the rest after giving birth is more important.

Leng Leng & cactus,

What i tink is, cactus can get better treatment at SGH due to connections lor.

cactus, dun tink too much on the hospital/gynae matter. Just choose one and pray hard everything will be fine.

ladies, I'm starting to feel faint and dizzy more often. On Sunday morning, I was standing up in the kitchen for about an hour then felt dizzy. This morning, woke up to a buzzing lightheaded feeling. On Sat, I realised I couldn't walk for long without feeling breathless and dizzy. I think I may anaemic so starting to eat alot of dark green veg. Also drinking alot of water these days to keep hydrated.

Leng Leng,

Dun take early ML how, wait wanna give birth at office meh?

I tot recommended take 1 week before EDD.

cactus,

Dunno me also same as u. If walk too fast will be breathless and fainting.

But i read somewhere, it is normal to feel fainting now.

Hi Ellysia,

it is normal to feel dizzy, but think it's a bit uncommon and not just pure deconditioning to feel dizzy and breathless now cos bb is not big and heavy enough to create additional load on our bodies. Early stage dizziness is caused by expanding circulatory system and insufficient water intake.

Yah, I agree with Leng Leng. Walking around now is good. Just have to listen to our bodies and wear loose fitting clothes and drink lots of water. Exercise is good for bb, but if have cramping and/or spotting, check with doc first.

As for taking early ML, have to balance that against the possibility of bb arriving late. My SIL"s baby arrived 3 days before hse was due to be induced . At week 41 day 4! So it depends.

What I feel is working really takes our minds off pending labour. If our work is not too hetic or xin ku, it's best to work all the way up to the day we experience early contractions. Cos for 1st time moms, we can actually remain up to 3cm dilated for weeks and nothing happens. We only know we are that dilated at check out. During week 36 onwards, I think check ups are weekly so we can seek our doctors' advice when to start taking ML If we are not keen to work all the way up to ML.

I'm likely to work all the way up to early contractions... then take 2 months ML at a go, rest of the ML plus annual leave, work only in the mornings (half days). Like that..hopefully can spend more time with bb, and try to establish milk flow.

cactus,

can you hb take hours off? E.g. he took 2 hours then accompany u to wait etc. Then he won't have to run over from work.

We are all on the topic of hospital today?
Actually, I feel that it is luck (depend on the nurses on duty) and the gynae.

My gynae only delivers at Mt E and his clinic is there. So I am never concerned with his inability to be there for me. Like my SIL (who shares the same gynae with me), she delivered her son with 2 other patients in the delivery suite under the same gynae!! i cannot imagine if my gynae delivers all all pte hospitals and all 3 patients are in diff hospitals. :p Furthermore, my SIL is considered complicated birth cos admitted dueto baby passng motion inside and when he was born with umbilical cord twice worn around his neck. Luckily the gynae was around.

Luck cos I had a VERY good experience with Mt E, delivery suite, ward and all. The head nurse actually remember me when I return in 3 mths to see my fren's baby (saem gynae same ward...hahah). But my another SIL (same gynae, diff ward) had a lousy first experience. She comment the nurses were rude and were late and forgetful abt her medication.

One thing me and fren and SIL (we all same gynae) discover was that the nurses in delivery suites are in awe of my gynae.

Once baby is born, a PD is assigned to the baby. our doctor is only incharge of our well being. the next day after delivery, he will come to check our stitches and instruct the nurses what else need to be done. Before dicharge another time. Baby's progresses and situation is assessed by a PD who will come in once a day to report on baby, unless otherwise.

cactus,

OIC. In this case maybe can take up to early contractions. Then if gynae said must go labour liao, then take ML.

For me, here everyone take ML one shot 3mths, so i will follow everyone practice lor.

cactus_79,
from sitting/squarting positing,
don't standup to fast.
Try not to be hungry at any time.

ellysia,
need to go just go lor,
won't give birth in office lah,
when contraction kicks in,
you cannot tahan the pain,
go hospital lor...

But prepare for few "rehersals" b4 the actual birth,

1st birth we went hospital 3 times... haha

First baby normally dun arrive so fast. So still got ample time for you to travel home, take a shower and head to hospital. If really gan cheong, call hubby then take a cab straight to hospital meet him there and get someone to deliver your hospital bag to you later on.

I work till I deliver too. I agree with Catcus, keeps our mind off. Even working, I had the impatient mentality like holding on to a first prize TOTO ticket but I just didnt know when is the draw. ahaha...

The only worry was my water bag breaking in the public like MRT?? Eeeeee!!! Then I tell myself that i will smile and tell everyone who look at me that I am delivering my baby.

in the end, i experience contractions on a sunday.
no water bag breakage embarrassing moments or bleeding (mucuous plug) embarassing moments....

Linda,

WAH sunday is the best lah.. not so worrying.

Is the delivery date v close to yr EDD?

My mum ask me to take ML in advance leh.

tanlengtang,
tks for the share
at least u gt it stiched bk nicely. I gt 1 frd purposely make herself pregnant again just to stich it bk properly.. haha .. agreed wif u .. Bo Chap as long no complication..

Im oso a KKH subsi patient... im consider lucky cos i gt a smooth delivery wif no epi & no labour pain(pain oni wen delivery) & everything was over within 1 & half hr
Sum tin paiseh is I actually shited during my delivery.. *shy* evrything fast come fast done.. so nurse no time to clear .. keke .. but the nurse/mid wife veri understanding

Ellysia,
sent u an eamil... recieve le ma?
I tink ani ward oso can haf bb lei...

elaine,
for me I prefer more in a rm lei cos can chat wif other mummies .. or mayb i scare being alone ba

Thanks for the tips, Leng Leng. I'll try to move slower and eat more stuff esp early morning from now on!

Leng Leng/Linda:

Can I ask you both something since you are experienced moms?
When should we go hosp? When there is a show? When contractions are at xmin interval, lasting xsecs each? When waterbag breaks? Of cos, go when cannot tahan the pain cos need epidural/laughing gas/injection, but what if I want to stay at home for as long as possible? Which sign or which cummalative signs should I be looking out for? I'll be asking my doctor this during 3rd trimester, but wondering what it was like during your births?

cactus,

in tis case, even if u choose other hospitals, yr hb won't be able to accompany u for checkups?

Then in this case, maybe SGH will be better since he can still probably pop around to see u.

xlittlelambx,
me too ley,
2nd birth told nurse I wanna do big business,
but she won't let me go,
I asked wat if I shit out during the delivery,
she told me, no worry, it's normal.

No Epidural!! U good ley...
#3 one I'll still ask for Epidural

cactus_79,
everyone will understand,
it's safer to walk slower too.

1st birth, see blood at 7.30am,
panic, we rush to KKH delivery ward,
I was stucked on bed for 23hours...

2nd birth, see blood at 8am,
take our time,
eat breakfast, eat lunch with sister,
drink coconut water, go home bath,
go KKH, not check-in, just park our car.
Take free bus to novena to shop shop, walk walk,
at 6pm, got to take last bus back to KKH.
STILL DON'T WANT TO CHECK-IN,
go Macdonal's, EAT AGAIN!!!
Finally at about 8pm,
contraction is about every 5 mins,
walk up to delivery ward & check-in,
at 8.40pm, asked for epidural,
start pushing about 11++pm,
gave birth at 0003Hours.

lengleng,
bo bian... no pain lei... By the time pain come, too late to take liao cos baby at tunnel le .. lolz.. laughing gas is oni my remedy .. imagine if i dun haf an appointment tat dae, I might deliver at hm or ambulance liao~! hehe

cactus,

OIC. My gynae only operate on weekdays office hours and sat morn. So i have to take leave or MC during weekday appts. My hb usu take hours off and he got many leave anyway.. so tats not a problem for him. More for me i guess bec' i have lesser leave left.

My colleagues, some of them can get special permission from their boss to go off work earlier to go for gynae appt. But knowing my boss petty nature, i rather not asked him for special permission.