(2008/06) June 2008

Hi piyoz, I think our physical built also matters. Although my friend is very small sized, her hips are very wide... maybe that's why she had an easier birth.

piyoz,

U mean we can book classes now even before 20 weeks??

There is a TMC parentcraft at AMK hub, dunno can sign up there or not.

maybe later i go and take a look.

Btw, how to know the class schedule etc? Can check at TMC or the parentcraft centre??

cactus,

Dunno the website also call it infant care lor.. so i tot is infant centre too. Anyway 1.5 yrs not infant liao.

actually how many sets of bb clothes should we have before we buy a new set when the bb grows bigger? even buy, also not sure how many is enough....

iamsnow,

I tink at least 7 sets? Cos u need some spare so got time to wash etc. One day need to change at least once i tink.

My mum said need warm water/hot water to wash bb clothes cos need to sterilse them. Can we use washing machine?

7 sets? hm....ok, maybe i wait for sale then buy. haha.... else buy from those neighbourhood shops. bb outgrow very fast. buy too many also wasted....

wash seperately ar.... alamak....so troublesome...

cactus,
ya, think the size of the hips matters. my previous gynae did some measurement and told me if bb too big, I'll have problem delivering. and I'm the big-sized kind of gal, ie L or XL. so very thankful bb didn't grow too big.

ellysia,
last time I also called quite early to book. Just leave your name with them. think payment can make later.
http://www.thomsonmedical.com/facilities.htm#firstborn Can see the time table here.

iamsnow, Ellysia,

Just to share my SIL's experience. her bb was born very big. 3.4kg. He didn't manage to fit into any of the newborn clothes. He immeidately went straight on to wear 3mth old clothes. so all the newborn clothes had to be put aside. Just something for you to consider.

but I agree at least 7 sets, so dun need to wash everyday. If washing machine has hot water function, then good. If not, I believe there are some bb safe detergents which are anti-baterial too. If so, should use that instead of normal washing powder which may irritate bb's skin.

bb clothes can try this shop opposite guan yin temple, near a public toilet. very cheap. 6 pieces for $9, if I remember correctly.

plain design. ok for daily wear at home.

as for washing, cos my family got strong history of sensitive skin, So probably bb also very sensitive. So we wash separately. Bought washing detergent for bb clothes. but use washing machine to wash.

But I know some friends they combine bb clothes with their own clothes to wash. Think depends on how sensitive the baby is.

cactus, thanks for the info.... whao. so if bb gets too big, wont be able to wear newborn clothes...

hm.... really have a lot of things to learn for new mummies like me....

piyoz,

I only see the time on weekday and weekend, no schedule leh. the class u sign up, venue is at where? TMC directly?

you ladies intend to use cloth diapers?

my bb using cloth diapers when he's at home. So actually we wash his clothes plus diapers everyday. If not, no bamboo space to hang. Also, babies tend to spit out some milk. milk really stinks after a while.... so usually I do one load of his washing at end of every day.

piyoz,

I cannot find the shop at the temple leh. Hunt around still cannot find.

iamsnow,

ya i also saw in forum somewhere, some bb born too big cannot wear new born clothes. Better buy big ones i guess.

Or play safe, buy various sizes.

Bought a set of cloth diapers... but didn't know if it's practical to use. Hubby mentioned there might be a chance to use on bb when bb's too hot or have rashes. Will be also using pampers, just in case.. more convenient.

ellysia,
the weekday / weekend are the timing of their lessons. Which schedule you need?

The venue was at TMC itself. Last time AMK Hub not ready yet.

if you scroll down the page, it does mention that AMK hub has classes. smaller group, but duration only 1 hour.
TMC classes usually 20+ couples 2 hour plus... cos mrs wong like to talk talk talk way after class.

AMK Hub has yoga is it? Hmmm, me keen to find out more.

Sparks, cloth diapers can be reused mah... that's why some mothers prefer to use them during the day at home, and use disposables only when go out during the day, or when sleeping.

eh,

correction on the sets of clothes.

Just check with colleague, need many sets.. tink abt 12-20 sets. Cos one day sometimes need to change a few times depending whether bb will dirty them or not.

ellysia,

Let me try to describe to you the location.

directly opp guan yin temple got this shops (selling dried mushrooms and some praying stuff) look for the public toilet. So let's say you stand outside guan yin temple (back facing temple) toilet will be on your left. That shop is hiding just behind the toilet.

That shop very old, dark dark kind. only accept cash. no nets or credit card. Shopowner very old already.

Hey! i bought a few shirts w holes there too! Seems like they are wholesalers.. or u may get some old bb's clothings from your colleagues or relative for good luck?! I was given 3 sets...from colleagues

piyoz,

OIC so AMK hub one is shorter duration. But its so near my house, just 5min walk. Go TMC direct tiring leh.. imagine every week. I go gynae also find tiring liao.

sparks,

Cloth diapers u can tie in 2 ways. One is triangle shape, just tie corner to corner. Another one is a more complicated way. I cannot remember the complicated method liao, so many years ago take care of my brother.

Cloth diapers need to wash, v ley chey.

cactus,
that measurement thing my gynae use his fist and push against the viginal area. very shocked when he did it.

ya, did hear many pple say eating durians will increase bb's weight.

ellysia,

you stay in amk? that toa payoh shop has a branch in amk central too. that salesgirl say blk 75X, near the market. You know where it is? AMK more convenient for me compared to TPY.

piyoz,

I hunt the whole of AMK also cannot find the branch so i give up i go TPY.

I know where is the market. I walk all the way there but still cannot find. Only see 1 shop that sell cheap bb stuff.

cactus,
this one consider ok. cos only outside. during 3rd tri, gynae check dilation.... poke finger in, lagi worse..... Ops, sounds so X-rated. These are all routine medical checks.
Gynaes are very professional about it. No worries.

Ellysia,
Is it? Oh, so hard to find. Then I'll go back TPY then. That bb shop is the one opp the polyclinic is it?

Hi, I am Selling Pigeon box for pigeon wipes 82pcs refill at $4.50 Jus the box. (Kiddy palace selling wif 82pcs wipes at $7.20). If u are keen pls pm me

Hi Ellysia
I experience backache initially. But now ok. I do not believe it is due to epidural cos even the midwife at KKH where I attended pre-natal class told me backaches are due to the posture we have post delivery. all the bending over to take care of baby when changing, feeding, bathing, carrying... She herself had epidural 3 times and no backaches even though she is 50+. She says posture is more impt than any medication.

My gynae did not allow epidural after 4 cm. And it took abt 0.5 hr for the doc to come administer my epidural. One point - I am not afraid of labour. In fact I thought it was fun and all very exciting!!!
My colleague who did not have it, was VERY afraid prior to the birth of her 2nd child. The pain was higher for 2nd child, and now she is putting off having her 3rd cos she is afraid of pain. But that being said, maybe when I grow old, I get backaches if theold folks say is true? Then she will laugh at me. hahaha...
Pre-natal classes are only good if you absolutely have no experience with babies. I find it rather boring more than informative as most stuff they taught I already knew from books and experience from taking care of my niece. But good bonding if Hb is attending. I only taught the breastfeeding part and the breathing techniques during labour.

BTW, white based clothes can be a headache due to milk stains. They turn yellowish faster.

I didnt used baby detergent nor separate wash baby clothes. I feel that unless proven baby is sensitive, if not too clean or too protective might cause even more probs later on.

Hi catcus
My girl was born 3.38kg. Can fit into newborn clothes 0-3 mths. But as I know kids outgrow clothes very fast, so I only got 2 pcs new ones for discharge and for full month. The rest were hand me downs from my niece and nephew.

Oh mommies on getting items (but can get in 3rd trimester lah)
Just a note, if you girls are interested, get a piece of nice felt cloth to swaddle your baby. Pre wash it several times so that it is softer. It is for "wrapping" the baby up into a sausage form (alike in hospital). Some use nappy cloth. I buy from Spotlight those cutesy designs. hahaha.

I recommend swaddling cos baby is less likely to get a fright and can sleep better. I swaddled my girl every night up till abt 4mths + when she wriggled more and more out of the swaddle.

Also get a small tin of formula first. Esp for those who have not decide which brand to buy. Cos in the event not able to breast feed, you will not be caught in a position whereby your confinement helper do not allow you to go out and your HBdoesnt know which brand to which brand.

Get sanitary pads too, those long and thick types but remember to get cottony ones instead of those plastic (ie whisper)... you wouldnt want plastic on your wound.

You might also consider getiing Prolatin Spirit for disinfecting our episotomy wound. Hospital gives you but i finish it in half a month. :p

piyoz,

Yup the one opp to polyclinic. Me and hb took another look few weeks ago, really quite cheap.

cactus,

Mt A better bah. Me read horror stories on KK, a bit skeptical.

I tot u ored settle on yr gynae liao. How come still choosing now.

For me, hb recommend another gynae at TMC (Dr Cheng i tink- the one popular and many TCS artiste went) but he cannot get hold of an appt for 2 days. we gave up. Then happen i saw postings on Dr Jocelyn Wong and we email the clinic, of which they imm call up to fix appt for us. So we end up with Dr Wong.

we never even go compare rates or watever. And Dr Wong is around age 30-40, just nice. Cos too old or too young also not good. 30s-40s is the best.

For me i believe in fate lah. So lets nature take it own course is better.

Ouch!!! Piyoz, why would your gynae wants to measure the baby in such a way for? I thought from ultrasound can gauge? My gynae predicted my baby to be around 3kg and rest assured me that I am ok with delivering naturally.

Catcus,
be prepared for internal dilation checks by midwife and gynae during labour. It is done by inserting 2 fingers (last time people always tell me the whole hand goes in!! Not true lah!) into your vagina. There will be some pressure but if you relax, no pain. If pain, just tell them off. It is ok.

A pap smear is also required at abt 37 weeks to omit possibilty of vaginal infection to reduce risk of baby catching it when passing thru.

Hmm... an experience is that is just shyness is getting a way, then no choice lah. but I like to say not ALL female gynaes are gentler. I ever had a pap smear done by a female gynae and it hurt like mad!!!! I had no probs with my current male gynae. Both smears were done after marriage....

Linda,

People say male gynae is more experienced and more stable n calm during emergency. Women gynae tend to be affected by mood.

If not shy, some people will prefer to get guy gynae.

hey Linda,
thanks for the invaluable tips.
agree with Ellysia, haha, i think we will prob ask u some of the qns again.

i am hoping to go without epi but i also know i need to be mentally prepared i might eventually use it. have also heard of the supposedly backache side effect but i agree that bad posture can cause backache. i have a fren who had really bad backache after giving birth (she had used epi) and despite seeing a chiropracter, physiotherapist it never got better. it was causing her a lot of stress cos the pain was so bad that she couldn't even carry her baby. most of the professionals she saw explained it was due to posture as well.

Talk about backache, i am already suffering from it everyday when i wake up from bed.

I have back problem during school days, need to x-ray every year until age 17, the nurse say my spine is ok so no need scan. Occasionally, i will have backache that cause pain for whole day or few days. The only way is to do exercises to relieve backache.

Ellysia,
Same here, i have scoliosis (curved spine) aka hunch back since young. Had to go to the health ministry to measure the curvature every year (think same as you). When older, got to make conscious effort to walk/sit up straight. I think for us now, pregnant, we have to be even more careful with our posture. When seated down in office, try not to cross your legs cos apparently this shifts the load of your spine. I am thinking of getting one of those back support cushion for my office chair.

Just asked my coll. He's using this brand called tempur which cost around $200+. Very ex hor? He said can check out Takashimaya where there's other brands. I will prob go down this weekend, if i am up to it, and see if i can find anything. Will keep you posted.

Tera,

thks.

Btw, the pants i bot at TYP shop, the elastic band broke just today, first time wearing. End up i have a hard time maintaining the pants (by not dropping!).

I tink in this case, u all better dun get pants from tat shop.

tera
Keep your options open. if can do without, all the more better. Save $ and save trouble.
If cannot, also dun insist on "drug free" labour.

I remember my gynae and nurse were sharing that these days a lot of MTBs write a very detailed birth plan which insist on no drugs no epidural no episotomy etc. But when deep in labour pains, they scream for anything to get it over. End up the gynae and hb also dunno whether to listen to her at that point in time.

Just take it as it comes. Scali you will have so easy a labour that you dun need pain relief leh?

Ellysia,
I registered for the Anentnal class at TMC for Jan class liao lor..cos by then will be wk 20, just nice...They hv classes in Jan and Mar, so Jan is e most suitable time cos by march, tummy will be too big liao...They only left with wkends 7-9pm class and wkdays classes.Wkdays classes are cheaper =D...

I bot some bb clothes liao, bot some blue color clothings, avent milk bottles, bibs...cos my fren also advise me to buy watever I can during 2nd trim cos by 3rd trim, bery tired and big tummy....so I started to grab whatever hv sales lor =D...

Cactus,
Really?if hv the black line at the tummy is expecting a boy? But hor, I have some frenz who hv this line when they expecting, turns out some expecting ger, some boys =D....Hope next wk i can see the gender of my bb..Been telling bb to open legs big big lor...

Linda,
Yeah, will take it as it comes.
I guess labour is one of those things we can plan for but when it actually happens, things are subjected to change due to the circumstances. So must be flexible.
I also hope for a easy labour man, have heard a lot of long labour horror stories from frens, sounds scary lor.

hi feifei,
Thanks for the info on antenatal class. I am also keen to attend. Seems like I should go register soon. Any idea how many classes there will be? As in classes will be for the whole month of Jan?

ellysia,
oh issit.. so far i wore all my bottoms le.. without any problems.. i tink mayb the pants of urs is already got prob..

Been biz recently at work and sick with flu and cough but unable to utilise my MC.

I seen lots of your postings on some issues which I find if you do attend the anenatal classes in Hospitals (esp TMC - Mrs Wong classes), lots of your queries will be answered. If you get her books, they are also very concised and informative. Used to attend her classes last time.

As for backaches, she will ask you to get cushions to support your back and lots of pillows at home for support and comfort. Not to forget, exercise for yourselves, massages, food consumption, how to fold cloth diapers, breastfeeding, type of teats for bb milk drinking, and bathing bb, etc. I thoroughly enjoyed her lessons. And when you give birth, she will make a point to visit her 'students' to teach us how to breastfeed. And if bb is not cooperative, she will carry him/her and 'scold' them which i find rather funny and cute.

iamsnow, if you are thinking of getting a confinement nanny, best to start looking early. I wanted confirm and book mine in Jan for June delivery, but my aunt told me have to do it early, thus she helped me book for one, whom only charge 1.4K (she is indonesian chinese) and said she is not bad. But hb is thinking of getting his own aunt to help us, which he is still trying to ask, with no confirmation. The next thing i am going to settle is to look for a nanny or (maybe maid?)for 2nd child, lots of planning to do, haiz.

Are all of you out of the MS season? I am still having some, hopefully will go away these few weeks, so I can start eating and gain weight for bb benefits.

Hi Veniz,
Hope u are feeling better now?
Wow, have been hearing lots of positive feedback on Mrs Wong, and now yours as well.

How many weeks are you in now? i am in my 13th week and i still had MS beginning of this week. Last week was quite bad too. It has started subsiding around thurs onwards but i'm not sure when it will strike again, hopefully not.

Hihi!

I'm also going to be a June 2008 mother.

Only discovered i'm a mother at my 9th week. Right now baby is at 12th week plus..

Hi Teragram,

I am better, but feel like going to be sick again. Same as you, i am in my mid 13th week now, and really had bad MS last week and this week. Yesterday seemed better but just dunno why, still cannot eat much. Just now only managed to finish 1/3 of my baked rice at HK Kimgary, very put off by some dishes smell, really first time like that (I am not fussy eater but now seems like my bb is, haha). I just hope this MS will end before Christmas as a few friends are trying to get me out for dinners but I have no mood or dun feel like eating.

Just a funny thing to share. In my extended family (my dad's side), I have a cousin's wife giving birth in May 08, then follow by me, two cousins and one cousin's wife giving birth in July 08, so total, my granny is going to carry 5 great grandchildren during these 3mths. Me and my cousins were laughing about this, as granny only has a pair of hands and will be busy carrying all 5 if we visit at the same time. Also, a friend is also in the same 13th week as me and we were both very excited about giving birth at around the same time!

Mrs Wong is good, she seems very commercialized but really, is a sincere person. Even when I met her at lift after i discharged from Hospital with bb first check up, she rem me and joked my son was pretending to sleep coz he knew we going to meet her in lift, very nice lady. If you want to book her class, better be fast like what feifei said, they are selling like hotcakes. You can call TMC to check first, then make payment. I will not be attending now as attended before.

Linda, past few weeks kept reading you craving for meesiam, me also affected by you, kept going for meesiam whenever I can, hee.