(2008/06) June 2008

twinky,

When your heartbeat beat as if it is 2 heartbeat, it is yr bb heartbeat u are feeling.

iamsnow,

kicking i tot is around 20 weeks then can feel it.

huh..i didnt reali go feel leh..i noe i always feel my heartbeat very fast onli..

Gt once i tel my MIL tt i can feel bb heartbeat, she laughed at me..say where gt so fast..somemore bb so small onli..

Ellysia, I thought bb's heartbeat is felt if we press on the lower part of our tummy? cos bb's heart is not near our heart? Not so high? Even normal stethoscope also cannot hear bb's heartbeat if it is placed near our heart?

Singing to bb is gd. doesn't matter what we sing. Singing to bb and letting them hear our voice before they are bond will foster closer relations between bb and us.

We should be able to feel bb about 16 to 20 weeks. 1st time mothers usually feel it later than mothers subsequent time around.

I'm doing the NT scan at 12 weeks 5 days.. not sure if will be lucky to see bb's gender.. hehe. So far, I only told my ILs and parents can prob see gender only during detailed scan.. before CNY.
First child, doesn't matter boy or gal, but think my dad will be happy if it's boy - I'm the only child... and I think he always wanted a boy to play with.
My ILs told me they're ok with boy or gal. Best is to have 1 boy, 1 gal, my MIL said.

cactus,

I dunno. Cos now i can sometimes feel 2 heartbeats.. then if i touch tummy and smoothe bb down.. it become 1 heartbeat..

I hope to sing more to bb cos i like singing and hope bb can learn singing too

Maybe when come to 20 weeks, i will read story to bb i guess. Now lazy..hee

eh...anyone here tried bakerzin's turkey b4? am thinking of ordering for company's christmas dinner at my boss' plc..but dunno nice or not leh..or got any other recommendations?

cactus, me also hvn't think of it...but there seems to be a "silent" concensus that my mum will help me w/ confinement n bb after my ML...

it's such a headache to think of the arrangement..n i doubt my boss will let me do flexi hours after ML..sian ji buah..

Good day ladies.

TGIF! Today my wedding anniversary. But not celebrating much. Hopefully nothing dampens my mood for the day.

Just now my colleague came and asked me to buy policy from him when my baby come out. I told him I promised someone else liao. He said I promised to get from him last time I never did. But I can swear from the bottom of my heart I never once promised him. Cos I find him very irritating and service very cheapo.

I just invested my CPF-SA wif my another colleague, he gave me my policy in solid good condition file. When this colleague saw them buying so many of those files, he said, "Aiyah, don't need to spend money and buy all these kinda files, those paper ones will do."

Duh, Service level leh. Heng I got from another colleague. Keke...

Yesterday went home and told my parents about my BIL and his "wonderful" deed. Then told my dad what my FIL said. My dad said they're too much liao. He said go hotel lah. Use people bed and leave blood stains and pubic hair behind, can be more disgusting or not. Then my dad said my FIL also went too far. He never wash and pay laundry for the bedsheets all these and only know how to talk. But my dad said he can only listen to me but he can't do anything.

My hubby told my dad the other day I kicked up a fuss when my BIL sat on my bed only, hiding the fact that they had sex on it and I caught them messing up the bed. Now I exposed everything. Who cares about reputation since they don't even know how to bring up their own kids.

Kelcqi, this yr me also nv celebrate wedding anniversay (last month) coz merlion like siao! kekeke...

hopefully your day will be good...it's F.R.I.D.A.Y!

Happy wedding anniversary, Kelcqi! Dun angry lah!! Bad for you, bad for bb.

Anyway, on the topic of insurance, just buy hospitalization and medical coverage for bb. The rest, can wait and see. immediately take up H&S policy for bb once they are born. These things cannot wait. It's very cheap these days. Can even deduct from medisave. no need cash.

hihi all sweetie,
today is mine 15th weeks... but never feel bb kicking leh?
ellysia,
congratulation you got boy boy!

Kelcqi,
Happy wedding anniversary!

Are you delivering at TMC? If yes, then can consider signing up for FBI (First Born Incentive), cos that has free AXA coverage for bb's first 6 mths. If you are keen la.

Cactus,
Just to share, I am considering either infant care or nanny for my bb. My mum is working plus she has her hands full with my 2 neices in the evenings. My MIL has made it quite clear that she cannot take care of the baby every day. In her exact words, "look after a few days a week can lah, not everyday." Plus she's not experienced with babies; my hubby was brought up by a nanny as my MIL was working then. Intending to get a confinement lady for the first month as well.

cactus,

My mum has asked me on the arrangement..
most likely for confinement, I will order confinement meals so my mum dun have to cook for me, just need to help take care of bb and myself.

After ML, most likely will be taking to my MIL house for her to take care, if she cannot cope will then ask my mum to come over my house to take care.

I plan to let kid go to infant centre only after 1.5 years old, cos 1.5 yrs onwards the infant centre will have more learning content.

However, I worry if bb let MIL take care may have conflicts btw me and MIL cos i am particular and my MIL thinking different from me. So in the event if not smooth or will worsen relations, i will bring kid to infant centre earlier than 1.5 yrs.

Liew,

Not confirmed one lah. Gynae say is 80% sure only leh, scarry is gal leh.

Teragram, do you think it's acceptable in our society to have a man look after an infant during the day time when my mom's at work, of course with a maid's help, and occassionally popping by of the other female relatives during the day(ie. my aunts, godma and grandma)? Cos in the west, it's acceptable for dads to go on paternity leave for a couple of months/years. My dad is prepared to look after the bb.. in fact, he changed my diapers and bathed for me when I was an infant (my mom went overseas for 6 months when I was just 5 months old), with a maid's help, and he stayed with my maternal grandma at that time, so had a resource for advice.

i have also not decided who to look after my bb. mil is going to move in with me. but she's too old. i think not too safe. if hire a maid, no privacy. my hubby dun like. plus mil only speak hokkien and a little chinese. cannot communicate with with miad.

i think putting bb with my mum will be better. my mum is still young and healthy. plus they got maid, got car. more hands to help. but my mum stay quite far from my hse. i dun want to travel up and down everyday. and i dun want to move in with them coz scared mil will be unhappy. coz she move in, but i move out.

confinement wise, i'm thinking of hiring a confinement lady. I want to do it in my own hse. but mil too old....

sigh. so many things to consider and fan. my hubby tell me it's too early to plan. early meh? next year june give birth liao leh.....

Hi Ellysia, Yeah. I worry about conflict with MIL too. So far, so good. MIl is good to me. But SIL's son is quite naughty... he's very noisy at home. I'm concerned I may lose my temper and vent it on MIL cos cannot scold SIL's son mah.

ellysia, u want to order confinement food? i went online to search on the caters. quite exp leh. around 1600 per mth woh.... that's almost equivalent to hiring a CL. but u got to pay for the marketing exp lah....

i have actually thought of getting confinement catering, but after looking at the price, i think prob it's more worth it to get CL....

Cactus,
Personally, I think it's acceptable. Before I was preggie, it actually crossed my mind to hire a maid and send her to my PIL's place with the bb and then ask my FIL to look after. My MIL is always out of the house so can leave her out. Also, I can sense my FIL loves kids a lot. It's just that recently he had a stroke and is not in the best of health so that option is out.

In your case, i feel it will work out esp cos your dad's got the experience. so cool, ur dad.
i dun think my dad knew how to take care of me when i was a baby. keke. but i can see he does help out my mum now to take care of the 2 neices.

cactus,

Actually only my FIL has car. My parents dun drive and dun have car. Cos my bb will be the first grandchildren of both family, so nothing to vie for.. and everyone is inexperienced.

I dun tink taking care of bb will need car lah. Only until bb gets older to go care centre then u need to fetch him. Just get him to a centre tat is convenient and u still may not need car.

hb planned to go to IL house every night to fetch bb home (we will take cab). We have originally planned to buy car if got bb, but after calculating our liabilities, we decided not to purchase a car becos we cannot afford the maintenance.

I am planning if we are too tired fetching kid everyday, i will asked to let my mum come over to my house to take care of bb for a few days each week.. so both mothers take turns. Provided bb is co-operative, bec sometimes bb can recognize people and may not be co-operative if change hands.

hi iamsnow, why don't you let your mom and mil both move in? Is there enough space at your home? But if your mil is moving in just to look after bb, then no choice but to let her look?

iamsnow & cactus,

It is not early to plan. Those popular CL have to be booked way in advance. If u want to engage CL, u have to do it fast.

I dun like to have CL in my house w/o supervision bec' dun really like my mum's CL when my mum gave birth to my brother. feel uncomfortable having a stranger in the house. Plus the CL come to see our house then gossip outside.. and i tink mum said she lost some cash but didn't say anyting cos hard to prove anything lah.

I missed my gynae visit yesterday...too busy. Will go on Monday. Perhaps can see if boy or girl, although I only had a 100% confirmation for my elder girlat week 16. My ILs very excited cos HB only son. hahaha

Someone was asking on epidural? I requested epidural abt 2 hrs I got admitted. Cos scared I missed the max dilation to be given. hahaha. It was a bliss after that, can read, snooze. I felt the urge to push, and I felt the contractions enough during actual labour to push. In fact there is a nurse to guide you when to push, but I knew it coming before she tells me.
Must say the control of epidural dosage is very good. Injection no pain. I am asking for my previous anesaetist (spellin?) for this pregnancy. After effects, left leg totally numb for at least 2 hrs. No throwing out, only "urgh urgh" twice but got nothing. No headaches, giddiness. But need to have urine bag, the insertion and removal of urine bag no pain at all. Baby was normal, apger score high also.

BTW, I could feel baby fluttering in me since last week. Maybe I 2nd time, so know how it feels like. kekeke.... Missed the movements of my elder girl actually, esp when in last trimester.

Hi Catcus
Actually, my advise would to decide who shld look after the baby from birth and stick with it. Cos it will be more heartache to let go after looking after baby for 6 mths. Very upseting on the caregiver.
How abt also ensuring ILs you will bring the baby back every weekend?
As for me, I also at a crossroad whether to quit and look after my kids myself and let the maid go after her contract finishes in Dec 08. My MIL had volunteer to look after for me at my place. But while I appreciate her help, I think if possible, I will be a better person to do that. And if she looks after for me, I also have to engage a maid for her cos her hands are not well.

Hi Roxy
Only you and i dun mind 2nd hand clothes here. I also bought a lot, but realised those I wore for my first pregnancy is too big for me now, esp cos I lost weight after delivering my girl. Now tt my bloatedness is gone, I was smaller than 2 weeks ago,even my HB who normally dun notice asked me why my tummy got smaller instead of bigger. haha...
Hey!! If you are interested, we can do a swap!! There are some I doubt I will wear again (9mois, spring, some babydolls), you wanna see? kekeke

Hi ellysia
The first pregnancy, I also swore I could feel the baby heartbeat right at my lower tummy. My gynae laughed at me
he says no way you can feel it. It turned out to be a blood vessel working extra hard at that moment.

Hi Kelcqi
happy anniversay!! Dun think abt bad things today lah.

I agree with catcus, anything else can dun buy, but NOT hospitalization plans. Try Aviva. They have FOC coverage for children up to 12 years old, as long as both spouse are covered under at least Plan 2. However a catch would be that baby will ONLY be covered under plan 2, no matter which plan are parents covered in. Plan 1 and 2 major diff is claimable in pte hospitals anot.

I prob won't get a confinement lady, Ellysia. MIL is dead against it. Chances are if I leave bb with her, she'll be doing confinement for me too. If my dad look after bb, my mom will take annual leave to do confinement for me. My grandma will help out too. There'll still be the maid to help with housework. See how lah. Need to talk to ILs soon. trash out the issues. at least, some finality on this issue.

iamsnow,

U are right confinement is expensive.

I saw natal essential meal package (2 meals per day for 7 days a week) whole mth is $1300 with early bird discount.

Including i need to give mum some pocket money maybe will be another $250.

It is not the cost i am tinking abt.. if need to spend also no choice..

Anyway just tink, we are getting salary on CL but not working. So every mth my meal outside & transport ored cost $600. Then every mth i spend on shopping around $500.

So it be some additional $$ in comparison to if i am working.

cactus,

I seen some of my colleagues bring their kid to those care centre near office area so its easier to fetch after work. Maybe u can consider tat.

Most likely i will try to find a centre tat opens until 7pm so i can fetch my kid after work. Then if got OT or emergency work, will ask my mum to take cab to fetch.

I saw a centre tat operates from 7am to 7pm. So can bring kid in the morning on the way to work, drop at centre, go to work. After work, fetch kid from centre, makan dinner together outside, then go home. Thats wat most of my colleagues do after their kid gets old to attend care centre

cactus, my mum wont want to move in with me. she staying in big hse. I staying in small hse as compared to hers.... she wont feel comfortable. already offered her my place before but she reject....

ya, i think if hiring CL, have to quickly confirm. those more popular ones sure already booked by others....

Hi Catcus,
I think it is PERFECTLY fine to have Ah Gong to take care of the baby with the help of a maid since he is experienced. he can even teach the maid.
However a note to add would be the maid and your dad... Cos some maids very horrid, can accuse the male family of outrage of modesty if they wants money or wants to get out. Your dad will be at risk cos alone at home.

Playschool - at pre-nusery, can consider those very convenient locations. I left my girl at the one next block.
No need car. Next year, she will be going to Nursery at a church kindy which I had selected based on feedback. Further, but I placed in in the school bus service cos I think she is old enough.
Also no need car.

Hi catcus,
Some people really can do it. My fren also managed to deliver 2 kids without epidural. She admitedly says very pain. But she went thru with it cos she is scared that epidural might give me backaches later on. Leave your option open till that day lor. No point guessing.

Hey Linda, thanks so much for pointing out that bit about maids. I really never thought about that!! I'm going to have to ensure that there's always someone at home then with my dad. Even if it's my grandma.. haha. She's 76 this year. Too old to look after bb but can still teach. ANyway, I think you think too highly of my dad lah. He is experienced but that was about 3 decades ago! I'll definately send him for infant care classes and child development talks if he's going to be the main caregiver loh. not going to take chances. My mom is keen to work full time until at least 2012... then she'll do either project work or part time so my dad is on his own till then.

Cactus,
Understand about the being angry part, cos our own parents so got more leeway.
But do try to give and take ya, cos taking care of bb also not easy. I have seen the r/s between my bro and mum strained cos of the kids. Luckily, now that the kids are older, things are better.

Yah, it's good to talk to your ILs to try and iron out some issues. My MIL has been bugging me and hubby to share our plans on the bb. Ironically, the more she ask, the less keen I am to tell her. I have however, shared with my mum.
Mum actually preferred infant care to nannny.

cactus,

I dun really understand. Actually i tot care centre programmes will help to stimulate the kid through games etc. Not necessary education. They will learn to be more independent.

I dun tink put kid at home with ILs or my mum can stimulate his thinking lor.

Also why must carry heavy things when u bring kid from care centre? I tink its only his bag and u can get those trolley bags then no need to carry.

On carry heavy things, if u are doing BF after ML, definitely u need to pump milk at office so u need to carry the pump and other items to office which can be v heavy.

On infant care classes, do hospitals have them? I tot i seen classes at TMC.

Wonder shd we attend at 2nd trim or 3rd trim? Cos i have a colleague got complications and she deliver at end of 2nd trim.

And how abt those classes tat teach on natal exercise?

Ellysia,

prenatal exercise is also taught during the classes. you may request to see an overview of the class schedule. usually, they deal with nutrition and fitness, breastfeeding, day to day acitivites like changing diapers/forumula making/burping bb/bathing bb/brushing teeth for bb, how to cope with delivery & pain relief options, etc. You can attend either all the classes, or attend only those classes which you are interested in. just need to check with the hospital.

cactus,

oh. I am talking abt infant care centre, but only those for year 1.5 onwards. Cos below 1.5 yrs, they only care for the bb. But 1.5 yrs to 3 yrs will have those courses tat teach stimulation as well as take care one.

U can see info from http://www.learningvision.com/Parent/expertise/

Toddler Programme For 18 30 Months
Toddlers learning capitalizes on the nature of children to be active, inquisitive and exploratory learners who learn through sensory and tactile stimulations. A warm, conducive and stimulating environment that is rich in responsive interactions and relationships is key to promoting and developing the childrens expressive language and communications, affective and physical growth. Routines and transition support childrens efforts in adapting to group care setting, and in developing autonomy and self-help skills.

Eh my MIL and my mum are both housewifes who dun work for many years, dun tink they can stimulate kid. Can only take care bah.

Anyway, my main objective is becos i dun want to keep going to MIL house everyday.. v sianz.
In fact, if it is not because my mum have difficulty taking care of bb, i will prefer my mum to take care. But becos my mum's house is not conducive for bb and she has to travel to my house to take care instead, it be hard for her and my hb dun feel comfortable with my mum in our house.

Then also becos we have ored ask MIL to help, i cannot now change my mind mah, wait MIL not happy.

So one way is to let MIL take care of bb for 6mths then see how, change hands to my mum for 1 year if we really find travelling to MIL house v tiring.

Whatever, let things take its nature course then see how.

cactus,

Ok i see from the TMC website there are classes but can only take up from 20 weeks.

Hospital tour i dun intend to do now cos i scared i may forget how it is when gynae ask me to choose during 3rd trim.

maybe after 20 weeks, i take up the course & also sign up hospital tour.

Actually i used to take care of my little brother, change diapers, carry him. Will still remember some basics but tat time only helper to my mum so i guess i still have to learn.

ellysia,
i haven buy a single bb things yet.. tinking of starting in jan.. wan to see the gender 1st..

i have not bought any bb stuff yet. see later got pple give or not. if not, then buy in 3rd tri still ok bah....

cos my colleague got emergency and need to give birth at end 2nd trim.. so she say better buy during 2nd trim whenever there is sale lor.

I tink maybe buy white colour bb clothes, more neutral colour.

Linda,

On the epidural topic, is there any long lasting after effects for epidural? I mean after giving birth, any bad effects other than backache?

hey Cactus,
Your MIL and my MIL can be friends lor. haha. My MIL drives me and my hubby quite crazy with her incessant questioning on planning for our future. I know she means well but sometimes, it just gets on our nerves, especially when she has this this "i am wise, so please listen to me" attitude. Recently, when she found out I was pregnant, she told us that she has been thinking and feel that our current place is too small when we have kids. I was quite pissed when i heard that. Just because she happens to stay in an old apartment which has spacious rooms doesn't mean that my current place (which is new) need to be as spacious. Luckily, my hubby replied that no, he feels our place is fine. I will usu complain to my hubby after such sessions, and hubby will tell me to just take what his mum said as suggestion, no need to follow.

Ellysia,
I think i will wait after i know the gender then go buy baby clothes.
so far, have received 3 sets of new baby clothes from a close fren. it's all boy's ones (as in blue colour).

i oredi bought lotsa of bb stuff liao..clotings, milk bottles, boties, nail cliper & many many more..Like abit kiasu..all the clothings i bought r white..cannot resist the temptation..those bb stuffs r too cute liao..

And nv include some stuff frenz gave me..

twinky,

I dunno wat kind of bottles to buy lor.

I tink i may start on bb clothes first. But not sure abt the size, play safe get bigger size.

OH YA, my colleague said to buy those bb clothes that is button one. Dun buy those slip on type (i.e. u have slip through bb head) bec' 1st two mths, bb head and ears are v soft and slip over one is not so good.

I dun tink i will received a lot of gift for bb.. cos for my new house, my fren also ask me not to buy this and that but end up no one give me any household items for housewarming (only give vouchers) and MIL gave me china wares tat are not v useful for everyday usage.

Ya Ellysia,

i got 1 to 2 size up..coz bb grow very fast one..
I got some button type and some those tie string type..easier to wear for bb coz they r reali very fragile..

Hi Ellysia,

Ai yoh! I finally udnerstand we were talking about different child care centers. I guess the type you are talking about is what I call a playschool... haha. I thought you were talking about what I call an infant care center lah. Sorry for the misunderstanding.

yah... it may be a good idea to put your child to the center esp if the only alternative is to travel between homes.

I don't plan to buy bb clothes yet.. cos I'm sure when bb arrives, ppls will buy. Also, hospital will give at least 1 set (for bb to be discharged in). The rest can buy from hospital shops if really no one give. Cos bb outgrow clothes very very fast loh.

About asking for epidural after 5cm, we need to check with the doctors cos usually need to wait about 1hr before doctor can come down to administer epidural. My friend was at 4cm, after labouring for 13 hours. Decided to wait 1 hr before getting epidural.. didn't realise after 1cm, 6cm liao.. Also you need to check on your doctors' preference. Most doctors don't give epidural until at least 3cm. Others refuse to give if already more than 4cm.

bb is like to be more sleepy and less alert if had epidural birth cos drug passed on to bb so harder to latch on to breastfeed. If milk flow not established early on after delivery, harder to keep up with breastfeeding after delivery.

Also, epidural given too early (before 4cm) tends to result in longer labours (1 hr to 1.5hr longer).

cactus,
my bb 2.78kg at birth. consider small. see him small small also very difficult to push. Labour pain is TERRIBLE!!!

lamb,
my boy just turned 5 months. still a baby ... hee hee...

ellysia,
the TMC pre-natal classes gets filled up quite quickly, especially if you want to attend classes by the famous Mrs Wong. So if you want, can call to chop seat first, and attend only when you past 20 weeks.