(2008/06) June 2008

aloha! me quite some time didn't log on liao...
For whatever reasons, my MS getting worse instead of better as I head towards 12 weeks...boo hoo...

doing oscar test next wed...how's everyone here?

Juliet, U are now at the perk of MS like what my gyne told me 2 wks ago. After 12 wks, it'll gradually subside. Hang in there!

Janken, Lucky you. Catcus's rite, Good boss are hard to come by. My boss converted me to part time. But he still nice enough to gimme time-off for gyne visits. Esp earlier on I had cyst, very regular check ups and plus discomfort, he didn't blame me. But then again, work is work. Pregnant to some boss they will reduce your work load, but some, they expect the same from u especially lady boss, frm what I heard.

hello juliet,
my MS is getting better, i hope it will be gone soon. my oscar test is exactly one week after yours.

Teragram, MAybe vitagen can be another alternative?

Heh, your green discharge issit like those phelgm kind? Mine is. I think it's like so disgusting.

I'm taking yougurt every alt days, to ease my constipation plus hopefully cure the infection. Do U experience constipation?

Kelcqi,
Vitagen has reduced sugar right, i think? Ok, maybe later i google the 2 to compare. hehe.
Yes, the discharge is like phelgm. I think i have an infection.

So far no constipation but i got a haemorrhoid (piles) when i was in my 6th week. Quite painful and uncomfortable. Take lots of high fibre food eg oatmeal, wholemeal bread, fruits, veg etc. Alternatively, can take prune juice, i read somewhere that it helps.

Teragram, Yah, Vitagen less sugar. Healthier and of cos not as tasty lah. Last time my MIL always buy Yakult, very fast finish liao. My BIL and hubby will drink. Later I bot Vitagen, no one touch that, cos not tasty. Hahaha...

I also take half a glass of prune juice every morning. Sigh, I hate constipation. So terrible feeling. Ur piles are those that bleed?

Hmm... is anyone not experiencing constipation here? Cos ever since I learnt I was pregnant, I've been going to toilet quite regularly. On an average, once a day. Sometimes, even twice a day. No constipation. Yet, it is not diahhorhea cos the stools are well formed and not watery. Sorry for being so graphic so soon after lunch...

I read in books that constipation is common throughout pregnancy so I find it quite strange. Anyone knows why?

Haha, Vitagen taste a bit different from Yakult. Think it's prob the sugar. I was looking at this forum comparing Vitagen and Yakult just now and most ppl prefer Yakult.

My pile (only 1), hehe, luckily did not bleed, just v uncomfortable when you walk cos of the friction. :p But you are right, in some cases, the piles can bleed and need to be removed surgically. Apparently, one way to reduce/avoid getting them is also to take more high fibre stuff and don't stay on the toilet bowl for too long (eg to read) cos of the increased pressure on our bottoms.

Cactus,
My pregnancy book has the same question you just posed and the answer is that you are perfectly fine and lucky as well. You have probably been eating the right food to help you regulate your system, so don't worry.

Catcus & Juliet, mind sharing ur daily menu with us? Keke... Sigh, I had constipation before pregnancy. Now pregnant got worse. Somemore long way to go, they said constipation will worsen(Depending on individual baby's position) as baby gets bigger cos the baby put weight on the intestines causing difficulties in bowel movements. Sob sob...

I ate a slice of papaya everyday after lunch, but they said from 2nd trimester onwards, cannot take papaya cos it'll cause baby to have jaudice. Sigh, so do I have to resort to laxatives?

Teragram, I also prefer Yakult! But for health reasons, I'll make do with Vitagen for less sugar. Thank goodness ur piles no bleeding. My friend got piles and she thought she got her period cos kept bleeding. Scary...

Hi kelcqi,

I don't really have a fixed menu, but I have a craving for fruit and I get thirsty easily every day, so I find I drink at least 3 litres of water every day. This is excluding soups, yoghurt that I take from time to time and water from foods. I drink about 2 litres of plain water and 1 litre of soya milk each day. I can't drink cow's milk now.

I have a craving for fruit, so I eat about half guava, 3 big tomatos or 1 prunet of cherry tomatos, a couple of slices of papaya, pear or rock melon every day.

Oh, I also have a very small bowl of corn flakes (Banana nut crunch from Post) every morning. That's about 5 table spoons worth of corn flakes.

The rest of my food is less of a "fixed" menu cos it depends on my mood for the day. I usually noodles for lunch, and rice for dinner. Once in a while, I take a rice dumpling in the morning too.

wow, cactus, very healthy eating habits you have leh.

I hate vege and fruits, so seldom take untill recently my kind neighbour gave me some organic oatmilk powder to help my hunger and I started to take yohurt recently. Everytime has the feeling of going poo but always nothing or little bit. False alarm most times.

Linda, I have yellow smelly discharge now. During last preg, also same thing but gynae took some for test and said not infectious during 1st preg.

Catcus & Juliet, mind sharing ur daily menu with us? Keke... Sigh, I had constipation before pregnancy. Now pregnant got worse. Somemore long way to go, they said constipation will worsen(Depending on individual baby's position) as baby gets bigger cos the baby put weight on the intestines causing difficulties in bowel movements. Sob sob...

I ate a slice of papaya everyday after lunch, but they said from 2nd trimester onwards, cannot take papaya cos it'll cause baby to have jaudice. Sigh, so do I have to resort to laxatives?

Teragram, I also prefer Yakult! But for health reasons, I'll make do with Vitagen for less sugar. Thank goodness ur piles no bleeding. My friend got piles and she thought she got her period cos kept bleeding. Scary...

Hi Veniz,

I dun know if it's really healthy lah... cos I find that I crave fast food more often these day. Every other day, I go for BK or Long John's Silver.. haha. But from young, I do like fruit and yoghurt alot... so it comes to me very naturally. I'm the sort who would prefer to nibble on carrot than to suck on a lollipop.

Girls,
Just a word of caution on papaya to make sure that it is FULLY ripe before consuming in early pregnancy. Some weeks back, my preggy friend told me that one of the ladies teaching ante-natal classes at TMC has advised against taking papaya during pregnancy. I then went to check up on internet and it seems that unripe papayas contain enzymes which can trigger uterine contractions.

Agree with Veniz. Catus, you have very healthy eating habits. I try to take fruits everyday but some days, just don't feel like fruits. :p I will then take fruit juice.

Thanks for the advice, Teragram. I didn't know. I quite like papaya salad (those served in thai restaurants)... I actually ate it twice but luckily didn't experience cramping.

A friend told me ginger apparently causes contractions too .. but I'm not sure how true it is cos ginger actually sooths my ms symptoms... and I've not been reading anything to say that ginger is bad though.

Another thing I'm blur about is lavender. I previously bought some lavender to make tea.. I was told not to take it if pregnant cos can cause contractions too. But I've been reading to saw that lavender oil is actually relaxing and is good for us now...

blur..

kelcqi, i have the worst diet anyone can have la! haha...deep-fried food n lots of snacks...unhealthy ones may i add..

Cactus, me also leh...kept eating fast food and potatoe chips...

I don't want to be bad influence to anyone.. but I recently got hooked on Long JOhn's Silver's fiery chicken. Only $4.50 for 3 pieces of chicken, fries and a coke.
Oh... the chicken is not as spicy as it sounds. It is actually more flavourful...

Hmm.. are any of you ladies applying stretch marks cream yet? I read that cocoa butter and olive oil work just as well. I quite like the body butter from body shop.. anyone considering using body shop's body butter instead of the usual stretch marks cream ah?

Hi Catcus
Been thinking abt the discharge for a while le, I keep telling myself it is ok, but hard to lor cos of the fear of pre-mature rupture of membranes.

hahaa... Aiyoh, Now you mentioned all the yummy fruits... feel like going to get a slice liao.

Hi Kelcqi
Green discharge shldnt be normal right? I remember in my first pregnancy, I was checked for vaginal infection near to 34th weeks cos any infection might be passed to baby as he/she is born from birth canal. I understand also pregnant women are prone to vaginal infections and shld get treatment asap cos certain strains of infection can cause rupture of amniotic sac.

Hi Veniz
Me too!! Feel like passing motion but end up pass out gas lor. The tummy very filled... my hb says i am literally "full of shit".

Last night he went to get a "Baby in Car" T-shirt those hang in car type... I was very surprised cos previous pregnancy, he was not so initiated. Not into pregnancy, baby type lor.
Maybe after the first one, he learns the joy, esp when we didnt had this little one easily.

Teragram
Try fruit salad? I chopped apples, oranges, strawberries, grapes (whole)into a bowl and add yogurt to it with lemon fruit. You can do on weekend, eat over a few days (but skip yogurt if intend to keep over few days). Or if you not into fruits, try salad? I buy pre-mixed bowls from Cold Storage. Easy and fuss free.

A note about salads - I was told not to eat anything uncooked or half cooked, including salads for fear of food poisoning. Food poisoning is very bad for the growing bb although we recover well from it. These days, I avoid the prawn roe on top of dim sum, and the raw vegs (like shredded lettuce and decorative carrot carvings which I normally eat) when we eat outside. I only eat raw fruit and veg when I'm at home. Even for fruit, I try to bring from home most of the time. if not, I buy whole fruit from nearby shop, and cut it in my office pantry to ensure it's safe for consumption.

As far as possible ,I try not to eat mixed veg rice from outside cos not sure what time the food was cooked. I also dun eat left overs for dinner (if it was lunch the very same day). That's why I normally eat noodles during lunch hour (when I eat outside) and I have rice at home (MIL or mom will cook). bacteria is actually starting to grow when food goes to room temp. We are probably all used to a bit of bacteria but we can't tell if it would affect the growing bb.

No probs Cactus,
We are here to share info and you have shared with us a lot. Seems like we discover something new every other day ya?
I just did a quick google on lavender tea + pregnancy, did not find out much about the tea except that lavender oil seems to be used quite commonly by preggie ladies. Maybe can ask ur gynae the next time you see him abt the lavender tea?

I dun think my doctor knows lah... hehe. it's considered alternative medicine isn't it?! I just have a bottle of lavender oil and lavender body wash from body shop at home.. and feel tempted to use it. also my lavender tea is still sitting untouched in the fridge.

xian... still have 1.5 hrs more to knock off time. Tomorrow will be super long day for me cos have seminar until 6pm. by the time pack up and go home, may be close to 7pm.

hey cactus, during my 1st preganancy i started using stretch mark cream from pigeon...hehe...didnt realli help though..i too heard cocoa butter frm body shop works...can consider huh!!

Hi catcus
I apply body shop's mango body butter for my last pregnancy. I didnt have a lot lah.... but I thot that's cos I like to overeat or skip my meals entirely... so tummy already very stretchy. ahhaha... I heard stretch marks are skin condition inherited. No creams will help but only reduce amt and intensity. But moisturiser will help in relieving the itch when your skin expands lor.

hehe Cactus,
Just ask lah, no harm mah.
Or to err on the safe side, don't drink it, maybe can give to someone? I have not applied stretch mark cream yet. Read somewhere to start in 4th month. Not sure if that is too late.

Linda,
the fruit salad sounds good!! i will give it a try.

Cactus, i think if you like fruit tea, can try camomile tea. Read in a pregnancy magazine that it contains no caffine and also good for calming. Great for preggie ladies.

I used to drink pepermint tea (the natural type, brand natel or something) to ease my heavy meals, tummy discomfort during middle/end trimster during last preg.

I just found out that body shop's cocoa butter hand and body lotion has an ingredient we shodln't be using (from babycenter) - a compound with saliycic acid. But their other body butters are okay.
Shea butter is suppsoed to be good in moisturising the body too.
yes, I also heard that stretch marks are not preventable but moisturizing them will help cos the more moisturized the skin is, the easier it will stretch.. and fewer marks.. (hopefully!)

teragram, my SIL who has had a kid told me to start applying now... I think no harm starting early lah.. just have to make sure the ingredients are okay.

veniz, I'm okay with camomile tea, but no particular preference for it cos I don't really have difficulty sleeping. In the past, I used to drink camomile tea with honey whenever I was too anxious about work to sleep.. stress lah. But I changed my job after the customary wedding, so less stressed at work. these days, my mom is drinking up the camomile tea at home..

I am back from my Oscar test at TMC.

Morn appt at 9am. Waited for abt 30min or so. Went in to scan once, but bb is facing down so can't take measurement. Come out and take blood test - 3 test tubes. Not as scary as i tot and is quite fast. Went to drink more water and walk more (so that baby will move and change position). Come back for scan again, still same position. This round the scan doc is more patient, she keep probing the bb to turn around. Later she ask me to cough and bb did turn but 45 degrees, still not correct. Almost tink tat cannot take measurement ored then cough more and bb turn around in correct position. Phew.

The scan doc said some people have to wait for the entire day to scan the bb cos bb refuse to move in correct position.

However scan doc said my EDD has to be changed to 31 May according to the size. Doc says it abt 12 weeks actually and is ored 6cm. I can see bb wave his hands, v cute.

A bit irritated with the nurse at TMC, give me the impression tat not v friendly but heng the scan doc is quite patient so still not so bad.

I just went to see gynae after tat, gonna cont on duphaston cos spotting haven't stop yet.

My wt has actually reduce by 1KG frm last visit..not surprise cos of LS and sick and worse appetite. But bb has grown twice the size of 2 weeks ago, so still not so bad

Re; Scratch mark cream

cactus,

I understand tat my colleague try to apply on stretch mark cream (before she got any) and end up with rashes.. so my colleague is a bit cautious on stretch mark cream.

Dunno how true but i heard stretch mark cream has no use on stretch marks, even if apply in advance.

Ellysia,
Thanks for the info/update on your test, at least i know what to expect for mine. Glad to hear your bb is growing well and has even waved at you.

hi Ellysia,

Hey, thanks for sharing about the stretch marks cream! I used to use body shop's body butter before pregnancy so guess it will be okay to use now without any rash lah... I'll try to use it cautiously!! I think I will just apply even if no use.. cos I dun want to regret not applying next time.. it's a bit psyhological, I feel. If I apply and still have, I will think to myself that lucky I did apply.. cos if I didn't apply, it will be worse.. hee!

So cute to read that your bb waved!!! Seems like you'd be one of the first to pop in this thread yah?! Did you get the scan results immediately? Or you'd be waiting until the blood test results are out in a couple of days time to get a more accurate result?

hi cactus,

Even though EDD has now changed but i guess i still remain in this June thread cos more comfortable with u all

Scan results will be out tmr. The scan doc will not interpret the results for u, u can ask her for the measurement but only yr gynae will interpret for u.

Actually i tink if u want to take blood test only after knowing yr scan results, i dunno if u can do it on same day. Cos TMC dun immediately release the report to gynae. They wait until end of the day to do so.

Yes yes!! Stay in this thread, Ellysia!!
Think it'll be less fun without you around!

I'm actually having my scan done an hour before I see the doctor. It's all on the same day. The doctor will interpret the scan for me when I see him...I was told the results will be made known to me on the same day as the scan itself. I'm doing it at SGH's O&G centre. It's also the same arrangement at KKH's private suite (I enquired before). So I think I can still ask for blood to be taken from me in the event the scan results are less favourable.

I read that cocoa butter, shea butter and olive oil may help reduce stretch marks. But there are some ingredients we can't use. like BHA, salicycic acid and similar compounds, retinol, vit A.

cactus,

I heard the scan doc mumble a measurement but she didn't interpret the results.

Hope the results are low risk so dun have to do any more tests.

Don't worry. you are not that old. I'm sure things will be fine.
doing the test is to reassure ourselves.. not to make us more anxious.

My nausea has turn worse recent days. This morn before scan, dunno is it i am too nervous, i nearly puke. Then the puke feeling sudd gone, is v strange.

Oh ya forget to mention, my hb is with me and he said he seem the bb jump around also (but tat time monitor face away frm me so i can't tell).
And i also saw other people accompanied by mother inside scan room. But i tink can only bring 1 person in the room.