(2008/06) June 2008

feifei,

Yup i been having brown discharge since week 5. Thats why i have rushed to see gynae as early as week 5. At first start with diane (also a hormone med), it reduce the discharge to 5/7 days with discharge (i.e. only 2 days no discharge).

Then on week 7, gynae tot ok so stop diane. On week 9, problem still does not go away. So i see gynae and she get me to start on duphaston.

I have duphaston for 1 week ored, so far this week record is 3/7 days with discharge.

Hope to aim by end of 1st trim that all brown discharge stopped lor.

crystal,

My MIL got education until uni leh. But she seem not so bad until know i am preggy. I dun understand why they feel so threatened when we are preggy, is it bec they tot their son will be snatch away by us??

I just tok to hb but he still tink his mum is not pang dang (he eyes da stamp). Anyway he said will help hint his mum that i dun like people to be touchy lor.

So far my mum didn't even touch my tummy or buttock leh!! Twice incident happen when my MIL "attack" me when i didn't notice.

Wah think i must be v careful when go out with her next time.

feifei and Veniz,

For birdnest i tink safest to get frm Yu Ren Sheng though they are overpriced but at least is reliable brand.

Ellysia, I find my MIL ok leh. Only she normally listens only to her dear degree sister who always thing she is right in everything, down to her child upbringing (even though we know she let my MIL and her other sis took care of them).

Anyway, only when i tell her in a serious tone not to give my son this and that and remind her for 2nd or 3rd time with a valid explanation, then she will listen. For me, she is alright, its only her dear daughter spoiling my DS and gives him whatever he wants.

Ellysia, sometimes husbands hor, because they have been taken care of by their mothers and been with them for longer period compare to us, they won't really accept such facts, so dun stress him too much.

I personally think it's a gd idea to get bird's nest from different sources. Cos whilst some shops are "branded", we cant be sure that their product source is safe. So best is to buy from various shops.. I think the prob with birds nest is some places use "bleach" to make it white. So it may be safer to buy "xue yan" although it's more expensive. cos also, xue yan is easier to clean. less dirt.

Hi ellysia
Brown discharge at least not as worrying. Remember to rest more and dun walk too much.
Your hb helps you. Good enough mah, just tell him gently that you mind his mum touching your body lor, pregnant or not also very funny to have another women touching your body mah.
I am sure he will ask his mum to stop. I kena touched by my beautician too when I told her I am pregnant. Didnt like it but didnt tell her off lah, cos it is a one off thingy...

Hi Veniz
Your MIL alike mine... when baby is crying for dunno what reason, she will go pluck red flower from the door and put inside small pail to wash baby face with. She says it helps, and I guess it does too, mentally.
I dun mind her doing such things as long as NOT feeding my girl with funny things can liao. They also care abt their grandchild.

$128 bird nest is how many pieces one? have u tried the concentrated ones from Lo Hor Ka?

hi crystal,
having a P6 education and a wide circle of frens doesnt = being understanding and not pang tang. Who knows if it is that circle of frens caused her to be even more pang tang.
Now that you carrying her son's baby, sure she will be more anxious lor.

Linda, ya, I think MIls have certain old methods other than scientific ones to help our young, I also sometimes dunno if it is a mental believe or what when I really see my son ok after my MIL did those unexplained things. So far, she did not give him anything, except manuka honey active 15+ which I told her to stop as my son keep coughing on and off. Hope she really listens to me coz I dunno if she still does feed him that.

I think the $128.00/box is for 5 pcs. The lady mentioned this birdnest is quite clean as they try to clean as much to save us the trouble (dunno how true coz have yet to boil it). I bought a concentrated one from them also at $78.00 (low sugar) for later stage use.

After I bought from EYS, I thought of Lo Hor Ka, but my house nearby dun have, so didnt really go try it, and never try before. But I do heard from pple that their birdnest also not bad, and i think all bottled types?

Wow, ellysia, your mil Uni grad leh. Well, sometimes when they get old right, they will get paranoid and do all sort of funny things, just be careful and ignore (keep quiet I mean) her if you feel uncomfortable lor.

Boil bird nest hard or not har? how to boil? I wondering just to get the bottle ones cos i not sure how to pick the nest clean and cook leh.

Veniz,

My IL are both uni grads, they know each other in uni. But last time uni, i tink discount a bit not like ours lah. Also my MIL has been housewife all along, never work one, she also dun know a lot of stuff cos she dun work.

After sharing with u all i feel much better.

Btw, how old can we send our bb to those care centres? Tinking to send bb to care centre as early as possible cos dun want to depend on MIL taking care too long. I also dun want bb to be closer to her than me.. hee. me selfish hor.

some infant care centres take in babies as young as 2 months. Some start from 3 months.

If you plan to place your bb in a centre, you may need to ensure you can pick up bb by a certain time cos most of these places dun allows babies to stay at the centre beyond a certain time..

thanks for the advice.. at least now not so worried.

i got some advice from my aunt if you have too much wind in your stomach.. She advise me to drink red dates with ginger slice and water daily. Just get a handful of red dates and some ginger slice and boil them with 1.5 cup of water.. you can use those metal container (like a cup) and cook it till it boils.. according to her.. it can help to replenish blood and relieves the wind.. and it's good for the bb too.. ok to drink daily. Oh ya, make sure your red dates comes without the seed. then you won't feel too heaty.

2nd tips she gave me: boil a handful of "dried long gan" with water. using same method mentioned above. According to her.. this improves your air vandilation. so you won't feel breathless easily.

all in all, you can drink those mentioned above on alternate days. good for the MTBs and bbs.. try it out. They are not costly too.. You can have better sleep if you drink before sleep.

i have started drinking them on alternate days.

Ellysia, I actually dunno, coz my first time, i got my mum to do everything for me, heehee. Now she refused to help coz its hardwork, so I have to learn how myself later. I am sure our dear experience ladies here will help you with the preparation.

For babies, they must be at least 18mth to go into childcare. But it is recommended to let them go into childcare when they can walk steadily and have stronger immune system. Actually, you not really selfish lar, unless your MIL can teach your bb, otherwise, they can learn more in CC. My husband is against DS going to CC, thus I have no choice to leave him at MIL hse. I also dun like my Ds to be near SIL as she has history of being paranoid and dote on only boys. She is trying to vie son from me as she doesnt has her own child, she is scared to give birth to a gal.

to boil bird's nest, soak in water first. wait for bird's nest to expand. Then remove dirt and feathers using tweezers. Then place in pot, cover totally with water, boil until soft. add rock sugar, if desired, towards the end.

The amount of soaking and cooking time depends on the quality of the bird's nest that you buy. You can enquire with the salesperson. The more expensive the bird's nest, the longer it takes to soak and cook. For xue yan, it takes at least 12 hours to soak (I soak over night).

Hi veniz
"old people eat salt more then we eat rice" This phrase i believe lor... They also accumulated a lot of years' of living experiences which they shared with us hoping it might help. She applied cooking oil to my girl's anus when she was having constipation. Sounds yucky, but she didnt think of any other oil at that point in time. And my girl pooed lor. From then on, my girl refused anyone but her to help when constipated. kekeke...

Manuka honey not good? I thot it was very beneficial to kids?

I still got a concentrate from Hock Hua. Not bad, but not as shiok as double boiled ones lor... So thinking of buying the actual thing to cook myself.

hi ellysia
2 mths can start to put baby in infant care. But if you really wish to start that early, pls start to look around NOW. cos good infant care not easy to find and most will be booked way in advance liao.

You very funny leh, you not scared baby love the childcare centre teacher more meh? But it is definately every new mum's worry.

Baby will always be closer to mummy than anyone else. As long as mummy remains a very involved part of their lives. Unless u dun bathe her, dun feed her, dun play with her, dun comfort her when she is scared or sick, dun sleep with her, if not, baby sure will love you more than the main caregiver. Somehow baby will know you are mummy lor.

My MIL always says "mummy come back, ah ma become grass liao" And can be quite sad for them (MIL) too cos spend so much time and effort taking care then mummy come back from work dun want ah ma. kekeke..

A baby's capability to love is unlimited. They can love many people. Dun worry

Hi Lala
Thanks for reminding me abt longan red date water!! i forgotten abt my longans & dates in the fridge. Time to drink them liao.

Personally, I find cooking bird's nest very troublesome. I prefer to buy the concentrated ones from eu yang sang or ZTP. I dun like lo hang ka and hock hua cos of quality issues.

xue yan is the red type of bird's nest. they definately dun use bleach for that one... cos for other types of bird's nest, the whiter, the more expensive, so bleach is said to be used to increase the price of the bird's nest. Sometimes, reputable shops may not even know if their suppliers give them inferior quality bird's nest. The best bet, I feel, is to buy from a variety of places...

oh thank u cactus, think your advise is very gd, i should not stuck to a single source. if the single source got problem then jialat. at least from a few sources, cannot be so unlucky all got problem.

wah.... bird nest also got so much knowledge.

just curious, anyone of u hiring confinement lady? what does the CL do actually?

if you dun mind the bottled type, can consider eu yan sang and ZTP's concentrated bird's nest. They are quite good. I feel better than lo hang kar.. cos lo hang kar is really in bits and pieces.. not so much in strands..

iamsnow, heehee bird nest not cheap so best to find out more before buying :D

cactus, ok can borrow EYS discount card from my friend see applicable for the purchase of bottled type hahaa

I've not thought about CL yet.. will prob discuss with my MIL during 2nd trimester after pregnancy more stable. My MIL did confinment for my SIL. She's a full time housewife. My mom works so can't do for me.. but she's got over 40 days of annual leave next year.. so I think if MIL can't do for me, my mom will be able to do for me. Eventually, I guess, I'll be asking whoever is taking care of the bb to do confinement for me.

iamsnow,
only can start taking frm 2nd trimster lor...cos next wk my last wk of 1st trim, so need to see where to buy lor..

cactus,
where is ZTP?

veniz,
True lor, okie, tks =)...might go buy this wkend =D...

concentrated bottled type? so u mean one time take a few teaspoon one? not 1 time 1 bottle right?

i see those confinement food catering are quite exp. approx around $25-$30 per meal leh....

CL cooks also right? But we got to pay them the marketing costs right?

fei fei, i also next week will be 12th week already. finally!!! sigh.... hope my MS will end by then....

actually bird nest is take for what one ar? what is the purpose?

hi feifei, there are alot of ZTP branches. There's one very near Tampines MRT station. Another is at 2nd level of The Arcade, Raffles Place.

I usually take the concentrated one all at once.. the instruction is 1 teaspoon in day, 1 teaspoon at night, over 2 weeks. But I usually take 1 bottle once every 2 weeks.

CL cooks, we pay them for the marketing or shop for the marketing with them.

ellysia, wow yur MIL degree holder n still do such things, dunno wat to say to tat....*shake head*

linda, i reai give up on my MIL. but u r rite abt ving large social circle doesn't equate to less pangtang. but i had readily tot tat it means tat she wun ve such stupid ideas cos she is more exposed. guess i m wrong....

Ellysia,
DUn worry, the brown discharge will go away soon..u seeing ur gynae next wk rite?

Dun worry too much ya...must be happy so that ur bb also happy =D..

Hi cactus
What is ZTP?
Did you try to cook xue har before? white fungus also actually, very nourishing.

Hi iamsnow
CL's duties are mainly to care for mother and baby and teaches new mums regarding baby care. She cooks confinement food for mummy, cleans, bathes, feed, care for baby. Washing up of dishes, mummy and baby clothes. They do night feeds unless not requested by mothers.

If you intend to engage one, do read thru this forum's thread, there is one citing who is recommended and who is not. Lousy CLs can be a thorn in the flesh esp during the initial unstable weeksafter delivery. Have to book early for popular ones.

Hi Linda,

It's just known as ZTP ... ZTP Trading maybe.. dun know...

I dun konw how to cook xue har.. but my mom can. She cooks it with red dates and rock sugar. I used to cook white fungus but not anymore. White fungus is supposed to be good for the lungs...

Cannot be touched by other ppl ah?
I have quite a few good frenz touched my tummy. My nephews also touched and sayang my tummy.

iamsnow,
ya lor, we same timing...kee =D...Take bird nest for bb's good complexion lor..but hor, cannot take too much, me intend to take once a week =D...

Babycupid,
My Tummy gana touched by some of my frenz who wan to get bbdust frm me lor..hmm...

cactus,

I heard from a fren that MIL if be yr CL may not be good cos if u are in discomfort u also paisay to always ask her to help right..

For me i decided to ask my mum to be CL even though MIL be taking care of bb after my maternity leave.

i oso dunno.. suddenly see the post of MIL touch here touch there.. den say she pan dang.. so is can touch or cannot touch?

babycupid,

Not say touch means no good. But normally people touch is bec they wanna get good luck frm having bb. But MIL so old ored why want to touch tummy, somemore touch buttock.

Anyway i make so much noise to my hb ored, but he still believe his mum has good intentions.. watever. a bit buay song over hb so protective of his parents as always. If my mum does this kind of thing to my hb i will sure scold my mum.

cactus,

For birdnest i tink i may only buy bottled ones too cos i scared i didnt clean properly if cook it.

Hi Ellysia,

Yeah, I did consider that aspect of "pai seh" ask MIL to help. But I get along quite ok with MIL. Like mother/daughter/friends. And there's a maid to help out at my MIL's place so I believe the maid can help me with stuff too.. just that my MIL will need to oversee the cooking and preparation of water for my bathing lah.

I think it's okay to buy bottled bbird's nest but try to buy the concentrated ones.. cos the normal ones are all just sugar water. I know ZTP's bottled bird's nest are manufactured in Singapore so should be okay. I forget where eu yan sang's are manufactured. Another good brand is Dragon Brand (Long Biao). I used to take it several years ago, but stopped after I discovered ZTP.

cactus,

ZTP full name is wat?

If u are comfy with yr MIL then shd be fine. Cos i am a picky person i guess i better let my mum take care cos she know i am v ma fan one.

My MIL will usu say i am v "strange" whenever i am picky over food or other stuff.

Talking about MIL, I totally can't get along with mine. She and I are those stubborn kinds. Imagine both stubborn how to get along? I try to respect her but shes always doing things making me sick of her. To stop her from doing things that I dont like, method is to say in an angry manner. Whether she says, she doesnt allow any space for you to say back. All her mind thinking was everything she says is right, how u correct her she will still find ways to say she is right. ZZZZZ!!!! Nagging shes very nagging too!! Which I dont like too!! How to get along with her?? My own mum nag I already told her not to nag and yes, she no longer nag so much which Im happy. But for my MIL!! No point highlighting to her that she is nagging. My HB also got no power to stop her from nagging. ZZZZ!!

Taking about pan dang, she is that kind that will buy lots of fortune books to study. Everything must follow book! Buay ta han with her leh!! HB and I always quarrel because of her. Angry!!!!

Sharon,

I hope next time when we are MIL we won't be so pang dang lor. These acts really is unnecessary.

My own mum is v naggy but MIl is more quiet type whereas FIL is v talkative and bad temper. At least if naggy or vocal type u know wat they are planning. Quiet one then more stress, i dunno wat she is tinking.

My MIL is fine just sometimes she will make me upset over either words or these recent strange acts. Their whole family like garlic a lot. But i hate garlic lor. Whenever i dun eat certain stuff, she will say i am v strange.

Ok i found them..

Got 1 near my office yay

ZTP GINSENG BIRDNEST PTE LTD

68 Orchard Road

#B2-22 Plaza Singapura

Singapore 238839

Blk 442 Clementi Ave 3

#01-85

Singapore 120442

Blk 810 Hougang Central

#01-222

Singapore 530810

Blk 132 Jurong East Street 13

#01-289

Singapore 600132

Blk 205 Bedok North Street 1

#01-371

Singapore 460205

Blk 83 Marine Parade Central

#01-554

Singapore 440083

930 Yishun Ave 2

#B1-10 North Point Shopping Centre

Singapore 769098

Blk 701 Ang Mo Kio Ave 8

#01-2549

Singapore 560704

Blk 168 Punggol Field

#01-16 Punggol Plaza

Singapore 820168

Blk 18 Jalan Membina

#01-07

Singapore 164018

11 Collyer Quay

#02-06 The Arcade

Singapore 049317

8 Tampines Central 1

#01-07 East Link Mall

Singapore 529543

Blk 502 Jurong West Ave 1

#01-831

Singapore 640502

Blk 513 Bishan St 13

#01-502

Singapore 570513

Blk 190 Lor 6, Toa Payoh #01-546

Singapore 310190

Blk 826 Tampines St 81

#01-78

Singapore 520826

Blk 638, Jurong West St 61

#03-01 Pioneer Mall

Singapore 640638

No. 1 Park Road #01-23

People's Park Complex

Singapore 059108

Wow...I guess everyone has problems with ILs. Same here lah. We finally decided to leave apart when thnigs got really bad as she wanted to be queen control and ....... Life is much better now and son has no more nightmares and fall sick often. IMHO, if cannot live together, it is better to live apart. Then, all of us can live happily. So for those who have good ILs, you guys are lucky and you should cherish them.

Hi Ellysia,

sorry didn't get to reply to your post yesterday about the location of ZTP. I had just left the office.

I'm sooo glad it's Friday!

feeling so tired. good thing it's fri. but I work sat too.... and attending a course sat afternoon too. still, i'm glad the weekend is coming.

Morning everyone!!! Finally it's friday......

i was coughing very badly last nite. now still coughing. cough until very tired....

ask u all ar, the concentrated bird nest which u all were talking abt, how much does it cost? they sell by the bottle or by half a dozen??