(2008/06) June 2008

cactus,

For me i feel hungry easily even before pregnancy. Now even hungry more easily.

Biscuits can usually last 30min to 1 hr for me only. somehow only food with meat is more lasting for me.

What i do is i try to eat meat which will prolong getting hungry easily and eat less rice instead.

Like today noon time, i eat rice with brocoli, meat & tofu and now 4.30pm i am ored hungry

So sometimes in order to avoid hunger i try to eat more during meals but now it will cause a lot of bloatness so also not working. sigh.

cactus, I'm sure everything will be fine with you and your first trimester will be over soon! Mine is ending in 2 weeks time which is the day I go back work

Have you seen baby heartbeat at your gynae appt few days ago? Wanted to ask but keep forgetting...

Err, btw, 1st day of 2nd trimester is 13th week or 14th week? Does anyone know?

Ellysia, But i heard take too much bird nest might cause respiratory problems for baby? Best to take everything in moderation.

Paulnelaine,
I see. Been been having very bad MS too.. always vomit sour gastric juices out. But I guess we should be thankful for it coz it means that we have the pregnancy hormones

I having symptons of boy & gal.. not sure.

I have preference over meat than veg, been eating a lot more meat.

Slight MS on and off, occasionally bad MS

Bad complexion, pimples breakout

nose become bigger

Stomach looks more fat at the centre, not much fats on sides.

But more fats on hips and buttocks.

So i also dunno if it is guy or gal, but most internet dates predictar says is gal.

Ellysia, I think really cannot eat more during meals.. can only eat smaller meals. I think just nibble on plain crackers loh. hungry again, then nibble again. Or else, try fruit cos fruit has fibre.. gd to prevent constipation and will fill us up.

Ellysia, some gender prediction charts say I'm having boy, others say gal. So confused. But lucky this bb is the 1st one.. so boy or gal, also never mind. I'm actually hoping #1 boy, #2 gal.... but of course, health is more importnat lah.

Hi roxy,

Ya esp if the bird nest is not picked or got residue inside. I think can take but in moderation.

In addition i heard if take dong chong chao will be v good to bb immunity system.

I maybe eat more birdnest, soybean drink & tofu if it is gal. For her complexion sake.

I cannot take chicken essence cos gets heaty easily.

hi roxy, yurs is so cute...
hey sparks, so somersault is a boy, does tat means cha-cha would be a ger? kekekkekee.....
after hearing from you gers, i reai can wait to see mine next fri. dunno if i can hold out for so long or not....
yippeeee...time to knock off!!!!

cactus,

Me same as u. I also prefer first one boy, 2nd gal but if 1st one gal also like that liao. Just that i feel if 1st one is gal then it be more stressed on 2nd pregnancy cos if also gal then elders may say / gossip lor. To shut all gossip 1st one boy i feel is better.

My own private reason is also i prefer gal to be youngest cos she can stay with me longer (longer to get married) and can be doted by elder siblings, nice for gal mah. Also, boy if is eldest is actually good for him bec he be more independent. Younger boys always tend to be more dependent on others.

oh dear, i been taking chicken essence with american ginseng type on & off when i cant stay awake at wk some days. now read tat it could cause MC, i m reai worried. oh dear.....

crystal, share with us your baby movements next fri
Babies are so cute...

yeah cactus, you saw heartbeat liao! That is the most important milestone in first trimester! Was so good to see the little blinking dot hor...
Huh, 14 weeks ah? Then I got to lun 3 more weeks... and I'm going back work in 2 weeks time already

ellysia, oh, we can take dong cong chao ah. Perhaps take all this from start of 2nd trimester bah.... 1st trimester still go natural?

kekeke... cha cha = girl, somersault = boy? kekeke.. funny leh. Anyway, those old wives tale of MS = girl, tummy pointed = boys all untrue for me. I had a super pointy tummy (cant tell pregnant from the back) and no MS at all for my first and its girl lor.

Hi catcus/ellysia
Before i had my girl, I also think like you all.
Elder boys will learn how to take care of their siblings hence family next time... younger girls are to be spoilt hahaha

My HB is wishing this to be a girl too, me too, as we think girls are closer to family and not so naughty. But I reckon my ILs will be over the moon if it is a boy, so.... very fan hor? hahaa...furthermore, this is my #2, close shop after this, so I think somehow, the elders really hope to get a boy lor.

1st trim shd be end 3 mths (i.e. 12 weeks end), dun tink is 14 weeks.

Roxy,

all tonics to be taken only from 2nd trim. 3rd trim have to take different things again.

crystal,

yrs shd be close to 12 weeks right, then maybe shd be fine. I read somewhere most early MC happen 1 to 9 weeks.

Linda,

srry forgot, yr 1st one is gal?

this kind of gender is really hard to determine cos we cannot choose one mah. no choice but to leave to fate lor.

I have some pressure frm my mum who said elders will compare and gossip if 1st one is gal. Then will be more stressed.

Ellysia,
There is also some pressure on my end to have a boy cos my hubby is an only child. But yup, it's all God's will. Hope the elders will not mind too much if it's a girl but personally I prefer girls. Hubby too. Esp after seeing my 2 little nieces from babies to toddlers now - they are v endearing (not that boys are not la).

hey Roxyz,
I am in my 9th week. Next visit on 12th week, so should expect to see some action then yah? Hehe.

I think first trimester is up to week 13 day 6. I got that info from babycenter. But gestational age, would be week 11 day 6 - making it 12 weeks.

anyways, I didn't have much appetite for dinner. Just ate 2 pieces of chicken and 1 mouthful of fish. 1 otah. some rice. small bowl of spinach soup. Dun know why lately have craving for things like prawn mee and laksa. Other things, dun really want to eat.

Roxy - yeah! So happy to see blinking light. unfortunately didn't hear the sound... dun know why like that. either doctor didn't know how to use machine or machine lousy. I was only able to see a clear picture of bb through transvaginal scan cos emptied bladder for urine test.. so can't see clearly through tummy...

Ellysia
You will be hearing a lot more throughout your pregnancy, both good and not so good stuff. I hope you will be strong and sensible and know which advice to follow, and which to just discard!

morning ladies,

i dont feel comfortable emotionally since last night cos having a bit of cramp in e morning then goes off then at night it comes again..... then suddenly all my MS gone since last evening.... i'm so scared i'll lost this baby.... hai~ going to see my gynae 1st thing when he open later. *cross my finger*

morning everyone!!!

paulenlaine, do not worry so much. u will be fine. later go and see your gynae to get some assurance....

Paulenlaine, don worry keep yourself relax and everything is fine.

During pregnancy, tends to hear alot of stuffs from different aspect of views. Main is do within ur means and it doesnt matter how is the size of bb. Main IMPT is we are eating well, eating right. Cos what we eat is what bb absorbing.

ENJOY the whole process and relax still most impt!

Had a very bad experience yday when gg back home.
I was in the train, alot alot of ppl for sure. There is again no seats available. Just when a guy alighting infront of me, I realise there is a lady standing beside me also preg with a bigger tummy. Despite I m so tired, leg cramp, I let the lady the seat. Cos we both preg and I believe she need more than me. Just when this happen, a lady about early 30 with her colleague was talking. I move myself a bit to let the guy alight N also let e preg woman to sit. THEN e lady say loudly without seeing wat I am doing " Knocking on ppl wont say excuse mi one meh! Fat means FAT cant move properly! I take out my pen knife den cut cut cut! Damn hate this kind of FAT ppl"

I was so pissed off. I look at her she turn away. I was thinking cant she see what I am doing? Instead of doing a gd deed i get scolded for nothing.. haiz

Cynthia, dun get too upset, this type of pple are the worst lot. Cool down. There is no need to rebut back as they are the unreasonable sort and will do you no good. Just keep your cool, and move away from them (if possible) in future lor.

hi gals...
had a good nite sleep last nite...shiok! me feel some slight cramp in my tummy..dunno wat it means

how do we gauge whether the baby is growing? heard horror stories of pple having MC without them knowing? What are the symptoms?

Ellysia, yes you r rite, m at my 11 wks now. my hb says I think too much, he says dun drink also drink oreadi, so forget abt it. But I still worriedK. think can oni rest my mind after seeing my gynae next wkK.so fanK..

Paulnelaine: I had the same symptoms as u on tue. I woke up wif a mild cramp at my belly n it was so relentless tat it lasted me the whole of tue till I went to bed. All my MS / toilet frequency symptoms, etc all gone. I also very scare n called my gynae. Unfortunately, she was tied up in a surgery n hasnt rtn my call till today. When I woke up yd (wed), the cramps no longer there but my MS, etc all vent come back as well. I also worried but dunno wat to do. But I dun ve any spotting whatsoever. It just tat after reading cheekymonkeys msg tat day, it does gets to me. Hb says I think too much. I also dunno wat I can do now except wait n see till next fri. maybe if yur gynae do advice u, appreciate if u can share wif me here. Txs.

Haizzz what to do.. Just not my day. I tel myself one day when she herself is preg, maybe she will realise herself man.
She is still not that great to ruin my day yeah

Hi cactus and joelle,

thanks for yr support!

Today morning i wake up too late so didn't have time to get breakfast. Sneak out of office to buy porridge. Then eat porridge at office boss stare at me. sianz.

cynthia,

wah u really encounter a bad incident.

This morn i also have a bad encounter. I was standing in the train then right side got 1 gal want to cross over to left side, she squeeze against me. Then at the same time, another gal from right side want to squeeze over!

I was so upset that i say "wah lau" loud and some guys stare at me, make me so embarrassed!

Then later i see an empty seat, i snatch the seat with 2 guys and won. The 2 guys still somemore stare at me. sigh..

hi janken,

Yeah... there are some women who have miscarried without knowing. The only symptom is perhaps all pregnancy symptoms going away... then bleeding will start in a couple of days..

But it is normal to have fluctuating hormones from day to day, so that MS varies..

Actually if u have slight cramp but no bleeding shd be ok. Gynae say cramp is normal cos the muscles is expanding for the growing bb/placenta etc so we will have cramps on and off.

I understand frm a website yest that MC cramps are v painful type & need to take painkiller, then will be accompanied by bleeding one.

So dun be overly worried if yr MS disappear sometimes.. cos MS is on and off one.

cactus_79..
me quite worried..i need some indication that my baby is stable and surviving well..in me heh

if i were to realised by the time i bleed...wun it be too late???

haizz...worried sick

Last night I nearly fainted during my facial cos all the while I have low blood pressure.
The moment my beautician placed the mask on my neck, I was breathless. Sudden giddiness.
All of them got a shock of their life, quickly get the fan to ventilate the room.
I have headache from then till now. Preggie cannot take any painkiller, right?

Hi janken,

please don't worry. actually, the sad fact is there is nothing we or anyone can do if the unfortunate happens. Cos usually, early miscarriages happen due to a genetic fault with the bb. Even if we find out early that bb's heart beat is going to stop soon, there is nothing we or anyone can do.

Angie,

U shd avoid any facial pdts or cosmetics esp in the 1st trim, cos some chemicals inside these pdts are detriment to the bb.

I also remember last time i do a colour treatment at a saloon (before preggy) & my head suddenly become v numb and no feeling.. very scary tink over chemicals/too strong.

Hi Janken,

Ya agree with cactus.

But sometimes it could not be due to MC or other reasons. So if u are worried, check with gynae then.

sigh my flu still not over. Having it on and off.. also dun want to eat so many medicines not so good for bb

cactus,ellysia..
thanks for encouragement...

btw...if i need to go for facials and rebonding, when's the best period?

janken, i think facials u can go when u are in 2nd trimester. but then need to tell the beautician that u are pregnant, so they do not use the wrong machines on u. coz some machines are harmful to baby.

as for rebonding, I suggest u dun go. coz the chemicals are harmful....

janken,

No rebonding during pregnancy.

For facials, bec u dun know wat chemicals they use, it is safe to avoid throughout. However if u really want to do, avoid in 1st trim in particular.

For colour, if the saloon people take great care not to touch yr scrap then its fine. However most people as a note of precaution does not do colouring during pregnancy.

For cosmetics, there are certain chemicals to avoid. My pregnancy book has a whole list of chemicals to avoid. But for simplicity i am avoiding cosmetics for 1st trim.

I suggest u get a good pregnancy book which got list out food to avoid, chemicals to avoid etc.
The book also suggest that some harmful detergents, hand wash etc have to be avoided, in particular in 1st trim.