(2008/06) June 2008

having maid at home is ok, but we must have an adult watching over the maid. It can be a father, or grandmother. that person doesn't need to know how to look after baby. Just watch over maid can already.

gals, i feel awful today...last nite when i go to bed, got this v. bad nauseaous feeling...then this morning woke up just as bad...until now still as bad...feels terrible...

hi Verniz,
wow, so good leh you hubby ask you to buy birdnest.
Mine until now never say anything... First pregnancy he bought but now... second one is like this bah....

Hi Ellysia
Old ginger is heaty. I can literally feel heat oozing out of me after each of my confinement bathes. Sweat like anything man! But thot it was a good way to lose weight too?? Like sauna.

Hi Catcus
My mum never skin the ginger before slicing. After sun baked, all the slices turn brown and crinkly anyway. But smell great lor. Herbs for bathing can be bought from any chinese medicine hall. Just ask the shop owner.

Talking abt ILs and family...
I think somehow, we will also treat our own mums better... DILs and daughters sure got difference one. And cos we dun grow up in their family, we are not used to their way of EVERYTHING from food to speech to manners. And vice versa lor.
MILs issue have to be tread upon VERY carefully... cos they are our hb's mothers afterall, the ones who went thru what we are going thru now to have them. And after I become a mum, I can fully understand why should a man save his mother instead of wife of girlfren when both fall into the sea. hahaha
That's why I prefers daughters to sons too... When daughters marry, we have additional son. But when son get married, we lose them. Hahahha... cos we as daughters tend to drag hubby back to our own house and expect them to be fillal to our mothers. Men a bit bo chap and not as sensitive to their mothers' needs. :p

Hi Linda, thanks for sharing. I will bear the sliced ginger thingy in mind. I have a fear of cold places.. esp at supermarkets...but my mom said if I take good care of myself during confinement, I will be stronger than before.

iamsnow
Depends on how hands on you are to your child.

I got frens who leave babies to their parents house (even though a stone throw away) and only bring back on fri nites and I got frens who bring babies home everday even though staying far away.

It is a LONG term committment and can be very tiring for parents who need to travel up and down. So have to really think about it.

Also which parent is genuinely interested in looking after the child long term? Eg:- Till primary school... I had a misunderstanding with my MIL cos she had only intend to look after my kid till 2+ 3 years old until they go childcare. I didnt know... I thought she would be there for them long term... So find out abt the caregiver's intentions. when baby born, everyone wants to take care cos the older generation scare if they say dun take care, they will "lose" the grandchild.

And also consider the fact that your MIL might be moving up to stay with you... Is it confirmed? If it is, then would it be strange not to let her take care? Discuss with your HB at length.... Very emotionally tiring and taxing to change primary caregivers in between. Not good for kids' emotional growth too I believe.

thanks for the wellwishes. so many posts and too lazy to read all so did a quick scan through.

jazol, so sorry to hear dat. be strong and take care in the meantime.

here's the updated table:
<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Age</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Child #</TD><TD>Area </TD></TR><TR><TD>mei</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>30-May</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>feifei</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC or Mt A</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Compassvale Lane </TD></TR><TR><TD>crystal 07</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lee I Wuen</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Yishun </TD></TR><TR><TD>belsi</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>3-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Joan Thong</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>East Coast </TD></TR><TR><TD>roxy</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>4-Jun</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sharon</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Mary Rauff</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>juliet08</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starmoon</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Eunos </TD></TR><TR><TD>iamsnow</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>babycupid</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>7-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Fernvale </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ellysia</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>7-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Ang Mo Kio </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angie_bb</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>11-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Hougang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Preciousmoments</TD><TD>22</TD><TD>11-Jun</TD><TD>Dr KC Yeo</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Bukit Batok </TD></TR><TR><TD>Veniz</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>14-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lim Teck Chye</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Redhill </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mogudog</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>15-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Compassvale Link </TD></TR><TR><TD>teragram</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>15-Jun (TBC)</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kylene</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>15-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Chua</TD><TD></TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Upper Bt Timah </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cynthia</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>18-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rena</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>19-Jun (TBC)</TD><TD>Dr Gordan Tan</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Bishan </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jesslyncheong</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>23-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Hougang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cactus_79</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>25-Jun</TD><TD></TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Luz</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>25-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Chew</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ND's girl</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>26-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>Krispy</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>26-Jun (TBC)</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Redhill</td></tr></table>

Hi catcus,
Yah, do your confinement well and you will benefit (this coming from me - a self declared not pantang, 'modern' woman who only believe in science....hahaha). Eat more "bu" things cos this is when your body absorbs the best.

I really feel the diff. This is my only chance left, so for this round, I think I will do more than last round.

Yeah Linda. I will definately do my confinement well. My SIL left home for a party 2 weeks after delivery. She now gets aches all over her body. I hear already also scared.

I think I will deinfately have to bathe and wash hair, but will wear thick socks when I am in aircon environment. Will eat lots of ginger stuff too..

Thanks starmoon.

I tink Shufen details is not in?

Shufen 28 11-Jun Dr WK Tan TMC 1st Woodlands

Too bad I dun noe how to update.. or u can teach me i can help to update as and when..

Cactus,

Agree with Linda. If you are someone weak, try to BU when doing confinement and your body is different! I have gf she is very weak. Before birth always sick, headache here n there. After her confinement, she really do very good alot tonic la and she give up BF (cos when BF cant take too much ginger, DOM). SHE IS alot healthy than before giving birth!

angie, dun cry, cos not gd for baby. lend u my shoulders n ears...i understand wat u meant abt the abort part cos at one pt in time, i was so depressed abt the entire confinement issue tat my MIL puts up tat i also consider abortion. told hb at least abort oreadi, no issue liao. on 2nd tots though, i would say dun do it cos baby is the testiment of yur luv b/w yur hb n u, not worth to throw away cos of some senseless MIL who dun know any better, rite?

jamsnow - foot reflex cannot lar. asked my gynae before n she said no cos of the major organ nodes at our soles. foot reflex oreadi dunno will harm baby or not. worse situation ask yur hb to massage u, okie?

cynthia, wat i do for ILs i also dun expect rtns but at least basic respect for me lar. Wat pisses me off worst was tat she insist on doing my confinement for me (cannot hire CL hor) but die die must abide by all her illogic rules n at HER CONVENIENCE! WTF!!! pardon my language..... sorry cos reai upset n pissed off wif the whole thing....

one ear in, one ear out already but some of things said by MIL (since i preggie) reai hurt n i ask myself repeatedly wat ve i done to deserve tis?

Thanks Cynthia!
I think we are quite lucky to have quite a few experienced MTBs on this thread to share their experiences with us!

Crystal,

Understand hw u feel esp facing such unreasonable mil. I think best way is still ur hb in the right position to talk to her explaining. Already so many ppl in the hse hw are you going to rest? This will drive u crazy and feel so uncomfy. Explain your concerns to hb i believe both of you can work it out.

thanks starmoon..
how to update the table ar? mayb can teach us so we can update as n when.. kekeke..

I think everyone at lunch just now? I feel sooo sleepy! Just had nasi padang.. yum yum. Now snacking on korean grapes...yummy!

Hi crystal,
Thank you. But I just can't stop feeling sad. I wish to stay out of that house for some time to make me feel better. My MCP hb will not allow.
Btw, Dr Lee I Wuen is a very nice lady. I have been seeing her for almost 10 yrs for my medical history.

Hi starmoon,
Pls help me to update my EDD to 6th June 2008. Thank you.

Hi angie &starmoon ,todae i went for my check up i sam my baby heartbeat i am so happy.The baby nw 1.22cm 7weeks 3day.6th dec will be going for the Oscar test .Did ur gynae ask ur hubby to take blood test?todae my husband taken the blood test..He so funny ask the nurse to stand by a bed for him later he faint...keke

Hi Cactus,

I went for another scan today. finally peace in mind. Able to detect baby heart beat already.

My hubby complaint I think too much but guess that will make me feel better. Scare I get depression at so early stage

ya, amazing to see it.

u will see it soon. did u sign up the package? It seem cheaper to have package rather adhoc.
Every round is $100++.

angie, i sympathise yr condition... U muz brace up! For yr bb's sake! okie... feel free to discuss abt anything... it's yr bb tat needs yr protections most. Be strong...

crystal, u must stand up to avoid an upcoming nightmare if yr MIL is going to do yr confinement. Pls choice the best choice for yr bb and also for yourself. *worried* though now still having bad MS now lagi no appetite... sob sob..

hi jesslyn
happy birthday to u 2! My hubby did not take any blood test at all. Not for my last pregnancy and I don't think he will need to this time as well. I think only if you are tested positive for thalessamia, then they will ask your hubby to do blood test as well. If not, I dun think blood test is necessary for hubby.

hi babycupid/cynthia
the table gotta paste to excel then can update. itz ok lah since i oredi have the table. no trouble updating.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Age</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Child #</TD><TD>Area </TD></TR><TR><TD>mei</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>30-May</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>feifei</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC or Mt A</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Compassvale Lane </TD></TR><TR><TD>crystal 07</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lee I Wuen</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Yishun </TD></TR><TR><TD>belsi</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>3-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Joan Thong</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>East Coast </TD></TR><TR><TD>roxy</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>4-Jun</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sharon</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Mary Rauff</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>juliet08</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starmoon</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Eunos </TD></TR><TR><TD>iamsnow</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angie_bb</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>7-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Hougang </TD></TR><TR><TD>babycupid</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>7-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Fernvale </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ellysia</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>7-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Ang Mo Kio </TD></TR><TR><TD>Preciousmoments</TD><TD>22</TD><TD>11-Jun</TD><TD>Dr KC Yeo</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Bukit Batok </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shufen</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>11-Jun</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Woodlands </TD></TR><TR><TD>Veniz</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>14-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lim Teck Chye</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Redhill </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mogudog</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>15-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Compassvale Link </TD></TR><TR><TD>teragram</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>15-Jun (TBC)</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kylene</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>15-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Chua</TD><TD></TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Upper Bt Timah </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cynthia</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>18-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rena</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>19-Jun (TBC)</TD><TD>Dr Gordan Tan</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Bishan </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jesslyncheong</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>23-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Hougang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cactus_79</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>25-Jun</TD><TD></TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Luz</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>25-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Chew</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ND's girl</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>26-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>Krispy</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>26-Jun (TBC)</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Redhill</td></tr></table>

u know, when i read that a group of March MTBs is going in JB for an outing/gathering this comin sat.... i can't help but still feel worried for them. B'cos i've read M'sia newspapers abt some robberies where the robber/snatch thief will knock or kick the victim first before they snatch their stuffs! Faintz!

don worry, it still quite safe there

How do you prepare ur dogs for the baby?
Mine shed a lot, everywhere is fur
so worry, not sure how to maintain, must think of a way.

we hire a babysitter for our 1st baby... therefore, whenever he came home we wil 'order' our dogs to the back... So now, whenever they see my boy running back home, they automatically will get into the backyard... My hubby still does not approve dogs to mingle with our son, as he has read couple of real incident where their own family dogs attacked their young owner but i must agree that there were times that these pets also 'save' their owners too.. but he simply don wanna to leave till 'the moment' arrive...

Anyway, our neighbour has agreed to adopt them.. they are a pair of Sheltties, male & female... abt 5yrs old liao

Starmoon & Jesslyn,
Happy Belated Birthday! I was on mc yest so din log in lor..Got KO after taking e flu med...having bad flu...

Jazol,
Take care of yourself ya...

Angie,
Dun be sad ya...Must be a cheerful mum if not bb also will feel sad =).

Connie,
Happy for you too...now u can fangxin liao =D.

Hi Sparks,
I can't bear to give up my dog as not easy for them and don think easy to get adopters. Both
adopted. At which stage should I shave his fur?

Hi Cactus,
I was thinking between the 1st gynae and Dr Adrian. My date was confirm by the 1st one yesterday but he don't seem to have many patients. He is very uncle type, nag a lot. He only give me folic acid but can always visit him in the evening.
I saw Dr Adrian on Monday and he say cannot see waterbag. But with package, it seem cheaper. He is only available on Mon n Thur evening.

Connie - I'm so glad you are not giving up your dog!!! They are our babies too!!

I have a dog which is with me throughout the pregnancy and birth till now. He is very good with my 7 month old baby now. In fact, my baby laughs the happiest when he sees my dog!! When he tries to crawl towards my dog, my dog will run away. There has never been any problem.

Babies who grow up with dogs are more affectionate and are animal lovers. It's true.

Dogs are a lifetime commitment. We do not give up one family member for another.

Guess my problem with them are they shed too much. Must think of a way before his family start shooting at me.

Hi Cactus,
Thanks for advise. Will ask HB.

Thank you for your encouragement. I am trying to make myself happy. I want my bb to have smiley face.

Jesslyn,
Good to hear that you have seen your bb's heartbeat. I will be seeing Dr Adrian on 13th Nov.

Hi all mommies...

I just tested positive. Have seen Dr Yvoone Soong in TMC. Not sure will stick to her or will change.

Very worried about BB now, coz I'm spotting, Gyn put me on hospitalization leave at home for 1 week.

Any advises?

connie,
i have dog as well.. not goin to gif her up..she is my dotter.. kekeke.. i believe as long we keep it clean, it would be alrite.. jus shave the dog and this will minimize shedding of fur..

Hi all haven been able to log in yest computer system fault, seems like i missed out a lot of sharing!

starmoon and cynthia thx for updating my name in the list!

it's finally friday! so proud that we all make it thru, look fwd to sleeping in the whole of weekend

sharon,
spotting is quite common for early preg.. as long no further spotting/bleed.. it shld be alrite.. did ur gynae give any hormones tablets?

Hi babycupid,

Yes, she gave me Duphaston and also a jab when I went to her on Tuesday. Still abit here and there. Much lesser now though.

Will be going to see her again coming Wednesday.

hi Sharon,

Congrats on your pregnancy!!

Yes, spotting is quite common. It may even be normal in early pregnancy. But if you have bleeding and severe cramping, it is not normal. Just have to monitor.

Hi catus 79,

Thank you. =)

Yes, I read that it's normal. I read it's implementation bleeding and should not last more than 2,3 days. But I spot for more than a week!!! That's what freaking me out.

Slight cramps if I sit too long in a position or something like that. If I move a bit then the cramp will also ease.

After jab and med. Spotting has lightened considerably. But still dare not take it for granted. So still not walking much, not moving much and no heavy things. Everything is left to hubby now.

Hope this will help...

Hi sheepysheeps,
In normal pregnancies, there may be some spotting too (after implantation bleeding). In fact, if it's implantation bleeding, your bb may be due in July 2008 leh! It's probably normal spotting that you are experiencing. but it's important to take care. I'm actually a bit worried about my bb too... can't wait to get the scan done in 2 weeks' time. I've not been spotting or anything, but last week I suffered some punches to my stomach by a nephew who didn't know I'm pregnant and who was playing with me. THere was pain after that, and I took panadol for it. Hopefully bb is ok and will be born normal. Sometimes, if not your child, cannot scold.