(2008/06) June 2008

Morning gers, had problems logging into the page ydK.not a gd day today cos feeling very tired. Was hugging the toilet bowl for an hr yds niteK

Angie dear, how abt going away for a short holiday then like to somewhere close V bintin / batam, etc for a breather & to keep yur sanity intact? It will help to get away for a while since yur hb dun allow u to move out. Jus tell him tat if u dun travel now, when baby comes along, u wun get to travel for the next couple of yrs & u reai like to ve some couple / personal time together. Hve reai take care of yourself for yurs n babys sake, okie? I will always be here for u to talk toK.

Sparks, thanks, know must stand up to her but I simply hate the idea of confrontation mah. Somemore she is elder, not gd also. But on the other hand, if I dun take tis oppty to stand up for myself, I forsee being surpress forever n probably like my hbs BIL V having no say / not much say in how the kid will be brought up in future. So with tis tot in mind, I will definitely take tis fight to the end to do my confinement in my own hm. If she likes, she can come by to c her grandchild within tat 1 mth, if she doesnt like, then it is ok wif me to, she c her grandchild oni 2nd mths onward then when I can travel out of my hse according to her rules. Bad MS for me too since ydK.. hungry but eat wat throw up wat, still cant put on weight today. Lost 3 kg since I preggieK..but gynae says it is ok.

I kept going to the toilet last night. Every 2 hours, forced to wake up to pee.... no attached bathroom in bedroom so had to walk all the way to the back of the kitchen to use... dun know how long this is going to continue. on and off, I feel like vomitting. skirts and pants getting tighter and tighter. think will have to start buying the bottoms soon.

hi catus 79,

I don't know what is the bleeding la. Just pray that it's going to stop and go away soon!!!

Gynae predicted that BB is due on 30 June 08. Unless the little one prefers to stay inside, else I think should be June.

During the scan on Tues, Gynae said it's 5 weeks, can't see anything but the sac. I'm hoping to be able to see / hear the heartbeat coz I read that once the heartbeat is detected, the risks of MC goes right down.

Excited and dreading the appt on Wed now.

U also must rest more than. Have to take care. If you still have the pains, better call and make an earlier appt. Better be safe than sorry later.

hey cactus, jus to share, i ve no choice but to get maternity bottoms too recently. gosh, feel so auntish dressed in them tat my whole day mood got spolit.

Morning everyone!

Iamsnow, Haiz, you noe the Chinese saying, 1 type of rice feeds many type of pple. Not to say, now we have many type of rices available. My SIL is just like that. Before I got married, she even said that next time she will depend on my husband to provide for her as her husband is useless. How can say such awful words.

Linda, my hubby and his sis swear by birdnest to be the best tonic in the world (actually, this is nuts) and thrust that the birdnest my MIL got for me during first preg really helps in my son's good skin and complexion, thus he wants me to eat as much, which I am worried about having plemghe, and side effects on baby next time. I will take moderate and not as and when he likes me to eat.

Angie and catus, do not think so much first ok. Any plannings can be done throughout these few months and discuss with related parties.

Hi Sheepysheeps,

I also have spotting but was not given any jab. I was just given hormones medicine only. I have spotting for 1 month already, but on and off.

I tink i have to get more medicine bec' i told gynae its getting better so she didnt give me any more medicine during the last appt. Now medicine just finish but i am still spotting. so i guess play safe i try to get medicine frm her next week.

U got to monitor yr spotting and check the colour. If it is dark brown it shd be fine, if red colour then must quickly go gynae liao.

hi crystal, I may go buy some bottoms next week after work... sigh.. I hope I manage to find some nice bottoms and not those which look too aunty..

Crystal n cactus,

I also have to wear maternity bottoms ored. Yest i wore a bigger pants (normal one) but feel so uncomfortable.

I have a bad day yesterday. I had cramping the whole day which is worsen by the pants as it press on my womb area. Then i have nausea in afternoon so bad tat i have force my lunch down.
Plus now i have this phobia of soup noodles. Whenever i saw others eating soup noodles, i become fan wei and no appetite for my own food.

Then nevermind, yest night me and colleague wanna go town to makan dinner, we went down to Raffles MRT and the whole station is jammed cos got accident, then we have to go out of gantry (waste $$) and change to bus. The whole bus stop is crowded and my colleague help me squeeze up bus.

I wanna take a seat and the lady outside give me a small hole to go in only, i ask her to come out for me to go in. she glare but do. Later when i wanna alight, she dun give me space!! I have to squeeze my stomach to go out!! Then the bus driver close the door while i am alighting halfway, i have to use my hands to press the door open or it will jam on my body.

Sheepsheeps and Ellysia,
I've also been having spotting on and off. so far about 3 times over 1 month. My gyne gives me injection whenever i spot. and put me on twice daily duphaston. I'm worried if the injection will have any side effect on the baby.

yesterday,when I got out of the lift, I said thanks to a nice lady who held the lift button for me. She smiled. Next thing I knew, the door closed on me! I had such a shock. I turned back to look at the lady. She just laughed. dun know if she's crazy or what...

Hi Connie,

I have Dog. I shave him off in order to reduce risk of the fur 'flying' around. My gal she love my dog like hell! Every morning 1st thing she look for is my dog instead of me! Haiz..

How to prepare ur dog for ur unborn?
1st, keep telling ur dog and point to ur tummy and make sure stop jumping on ur tummy as my dog love to jump on me.
2nd, when u bring bb home, always monitor area where the dog come. We cant be sure wat dog may do. He need sometime to adjust to the newborn. As for mine, he sleep outside my room and whoever come into my room to see bb he will bark! So he is protecting me & bb in some sense. So I am quite lucky that my dog is totally ok with my gal. Hope this round also ok. Just that after we have bb, we tends to neglact them out and my dog is showing his temper to me by pee whole hse instead of his regular area...

Cactus, where you going to get bottoms? I was thinking to get too..

Think yesterdy forum was down? I cant log in lo

hi Kylene,

I'm sure doctors balance the pros and cons before giving us any medication or jabs. The risk to baby is probably none or very negligible. It is probably more importnat to stablize the pregnancy.

Aiyo, cactus, just be careful when playing with kids ok?

When I was pregnant with my son, I always like to play soft with hubby's cousin and carried him. Then now my son is around his age when I dote on this cousin, a no of relatives exclaimed that my son looks a bit like him.

Once, he and my SIL dunno why, must play slamming doors which irritated everyone (imagine a 30s lady play such dangerous game with a 3yr old boy) and he kept urging me to play with him, which is both dangerous for me and him at that time (I was preggie with son then). Now, even my son wants to play fighting with me, I will take out the cane to scare him, in case he hurt me or himself.

Hi Ellysia,

Oh! How many weeks are you now?

The day I discovered I was pregnant I spotted. That really scared the hell out of me!

Yar, dark brown. What I read was that it's "old blood" nothing the Gynae can do about it. But there was a day when I had like 2 drops of fresh blood? I panicked all over again!

So far, it's all dark. After jab and med, reduced to just a tiny bit daily.

After reading your experience, I feel much better!

Think better to go and get more medicine. Just to be safe.

Hi to all mummies.....

By seeing the chart in age column....i am the oldest hahahahha but have not listed yet till i go for my 1st check up on 9th Nov. By the way age is just a number.....

today craving to eat chinese halal food....hehehe

Hi Cynthia,

There is a shop, recommended by several ladies on this thread. One outlet is at AMK, another is at Toa Payoh. Is it called Correne or something like that? I need to search the thread to get the actual address. Toa Payoh central blk 185, I think and AMK central blk 710, I think.

Hi Veniz,

I try not to play with my nephew but he's very very cute and my SIL leaves him at my MIL's place for her to look after. I stay with my MIL on weekdays so I end up playing with him after work. I just take special care these days and I try to play with him in full view of other family members so that they can intervene if they feel he's getting rough. He's 2 this year. Very active and lots of strength.

Danryan, Its ok, age is not an issue in this thread, morever, you are a proud mum of two kids, with the 3rd coming along leh, we are only in our 1st or 2nd pregnancy.

Connie, i too can't bear to give up. but my two shelties simply shed too much and my hb has been nagging away like a trumpet everyday. I've tried to shave them to the shortest already and hope this time round i still get to 'keep them'. B'cos i've managed keep them aft my son's born till now.

Hi Sheepy,

I am 2mths preggy ored, but have spotting for 1 mth (from the date when i am supposed to have menses and not). At first i tot is menses, it look like dried menses towards the start/end of mense period. But it stop the next day then i find it fishy so i went to buy pregnancy indicator to check then realise pregnant.

Then i check with GP and gynae to double confirm pregnancy.

I have spotting almost every morning. Except the 1st spotting, most are minor, no need pad just staining on panty. Only a few days out of 1 mth i dun have spotting.

I am oso worried but gynae says since got morning sickness / nausea so shd be fine cos MS signify that bb is healthy. I realise the spotting seems to be more/occur when such happen:-

1) Too tired frm walking long distance/too long/ standing too long.
2) Drinking cold stuff/eat ice-cream
3) Too stressed

At first before i take medicine, i walk a bit ored feel cramped then got spotting come. Got 1 time i walk from office to tanjong pagar for 10 mins - my boss insist to walk instead of cab. After come back with another 10min walk, i have severe cramps and spotting again. After taking medicine, i feel more "strength" and can stand/walk longer. So do take the medicine.

I hope it will stop by 3rd mth. But my mum has spotting/ bleeding almost up to 5/6 mths when she had my brother.

Spotting signify a risk in pregnancy, so u must really take care in yr 1st trim, especially 1st 2 mths is more critical.

Kylene,

I dunno why my gynae didnt give me any injection, she just give me medicine.

I tink if got injection shd be fine, dun worry.

morning everyone!!! just woke up..... hee hee.... today going to see gynae for 2nd scan.... hopefully I don't have to wait so long....

Morning iamsnow!

aiyo,Sparks! You are making me hungry again! I didn't have breakfast cos maid not around this morning... I was hungry when got into office so went to buy Nonya Dumpling. Now feeling hungry already. But not lunch hour yet. Maybe will eat ginger first.. then sneak out early for lunch!

Aft all the nausea feeling... at last felt better this morning.. haha.. cactus, sure u can? now only 11++ and u still need to group yr kaki..

nonya dumpling?? *drooling* can eat gluntious rice? I've been having indigestion lately. but I crave for lor mai kai......

be more encouraging leh, Sparks!
I think can sneak out early lah... haha. Will try my hardest. I came in to office at 730am today.. and started working immediately..so think it' sokay to leave half hour earlier for lunch? I'd be back after 1 hour though.. just go out get food earlier only mah....

I think can eat glutinous rice. Only prob is will put on weight loh... but once in a while can lah. At least, I think.

The dumpling near my office has very very fine and soft rice. Don't even need to chew. Very very nice. There is a branch in Katong.

it doesn't really help beating lunch crowd, iamsnow. Cos I work in raffles place. Lunch hour starts at 12noon and ends at 2pm for the pppl earound here. Offices have staggered lunch breaks. So it's kinda difficult. Mky official lunch hour is 1 to 2pm. I'm thinking of sneaking off at 1230pm.. definately will be crowded, but at least, I have higher chance of getting a seat.. cos those eating from 12 to 1 will prob be close to finishing their lunch and vacating their seats.

talking abt putting on weight. i think it's no longer a concern to me. I've put on several kgs since i was pregnant.... now dun dare to think abt losing weight!!!! haha....

cactus, raffles place is a horrible place for lunch.... i reckon that. used to work there. i gave up finding seats, always da pao instead. i miss the roasted meat rice and the tom yum noodles..... *slurp*

ladies, give u some recipes... to curb nausea and vomiting

Milk Custard w Ginger juice
===========================
Recipe
======
Ingredients:
200ml milk, 10ml ginger juice 25g sugar

Method
======
Put all ingredients into a pot and bring to boil. leave for a while until set. Servce warm.

Chix congee w Dang Shen and Du Zhong
====================================
Ingredients
===========
30g Dang Shen, 15g Du Zhong, 60g glutinous rice, 600g chix, 15g ginger

Method
======
1. Rinse all ingredients
2. Put Dang Shen and Du Zhong into a cloth bag and tie the bag tight. Put all ingredients into a pot. Cook till the rice is mushy.
3. Season w a little salt and cooked oil. Serve

If u r feeling dizziness..

This recipe helps.

Lean Pork Soup w Tian Ma and Gou Teng
=====================================
Ingredients
===========
10g He Shou Wu, 15g Tian Ma, 15g ginger, 100g lean pork, 10g Gou Teng

Method
======
1. Rinse all ingredients except ginger

2. Put Shou Wu, Tian Ma, lean pork and ginger into a clay pot. Add water and bring to boil over high heat. Turn to low heat and simmer for 1 hour.

3. Add Gou Teng and cook for 20m. Season w salt and serve

one more to curb vomitting...

Black Plum Drink w Ginger and Lu Gen
====================================
Ingredients
===========
30g Lu Gen, 15g ginger, 10g dried black plums, 4 cups of water

Seasoning
=========
brown sugar to taste

Method
======
1. Rinse all ingredients and put them into a pot. Boil until water reduces to abt 2 cups. Strains n serve the liquid only.

2. Add brown sugar and bring to boil. Serve

thanks for the receipes. i think the milk custard is the easiest to prepare. haha.... ginger juice means from fresh ginger is it?

Goodness Ellysia, I would ve noted now e bus plate number n complaint to SBS abt it. Hope u r feeling much better today.

Wow jamsnow, so good u jus woke up? I wan doze off oreadi. Manage to push myself to finish one presentation to staff members, now rushing rest of my work.

Gers, I be online till oni 3pm cos office close for D&D tonight, so be toking to u gers oni on next mon again.

jamsnow, actually veri tired n no mood to go also but my dept secretary already put my name in n dun go must pay $150....will be so crowded. we having it at ritz carlton. thanks god, one of my colleague will be picking me up from my hm later tis evening n i got hb to come n pick me up b4 11pm, reai can imagine staying till 2am, will sure die...

kekekeke if got win prize, i come here n share wif u gers, okie...but for the last 3 yrs, i also nvr win anything....hahahha....hmmmm....maybe my baby will bring me some luck tis yr yeah?

hi Cactus,

Me same as u, also work near Raffles place. also v crowded. Hard for me to sneak out earlier for lunch though.

Hi Ellysia,

today is friday.. everyone more relaxed. my boss and teammate not around so basically no government ... big boss doesn't usually bother me... just talk to me at most 2 times a week... so it's possible to leave earlier today but maybr not other days.