(2008/06) June 2008

Thank Babycupid and iamsnow,

my son is chubby by nature.. especially his hamburger's cheek.. can you believe it .. i wver when out with him.. some aunties jsut walk pass and pinch him on the cheeks..

rena,
yaaaa.. i oso feel like pinching him.. so cute.. i tink these are baby fats.. will go off when grow up.. kekeke..

shufen,
wah wah wah.. really mus plan carefully.. and ur cousin really gd.. can even tink of tat.. hahaha.. june is holidays.. wah den my pils save alot lor.. cos my hubby oso june bb.. hahaha

babycupid.. my baby used to be called the SUMO but after one year old his baby fats trim off and he grows taller... however his cheeks still remain the same.. thus he has a big head.hahaha ..

My hubby would love a girl for me anything also can lar....

babycupid
My gynae didn't say how big is the bb... but i saw him taking measurements and mumble something like 33 .?? mm...

Rena, your son is cute.

Shufen, ya, I also sort of thought of this 'dun need to spend so much on bday celebration in schs' thought, hehe, coz recently spent quite a bit on my son's class celebration besides own celebration. Imagine, two cakes and how much I had wasted on this fattening food.

Seeing Cynthia and Rena posting DD and DS photos, I also post mine here. My son looked a bit messy here as he had just finished playing with his dad when taking the photo.

1048635.jpg

hi shufen,

tink yr sister worry too much, even if 2 years gap may not go Uni together (hard to say) just that there be more comparison in terms of studies and secondary school together actually is ored v taxing.

wow...all the boys so handsome here leh.

feifei, bird nest after 2nd trimester. 2 school of thots to it, so I guess moderation is the key. Alternatively, xue3 har2 (frog jelly) or white fungus is also very good for skin without burning a hole in pocket.

Re ginger slices
Use only old ginger. If you can slice and cook daily, then fresh ones also will do. But for me, my mum will slice them (using the fruit skin peeler), sun them till they completely dried and store in airtight container. Dried ones, each time, I grab a handful to throw into a pot of water to cook with the herbs. Fresh ones maybe can use lesser.

Water ratio is dependent on how strict you are in following confinement rules. Some people only bathe with pre-boiled water (ie not straight from shower head) so you need more water. For me, I boil one big soup pot, pour into pail and then add tap water to it and only bathe with that water. not enough then rinse with tap water.

I also add one slice to my usual longan red date tea. Strangely, I am a very heaty based person but when doing confinement, wont get heaty at all. Maybe the old folks are right in that sense.

Salmon, actually my son is ok looking only. I have seen even more handsome boys around.

Linda, ya, can take a feather from your hat about the ginger. I normally like my longan reddate tea just plain, but that time, my mum added tongsim and dunno wat wolveberries, made the drink very yucky for me. Now if I try to add ginger, I guess it may be better as I do like ginger.

About birdnest, yesterday my hubby so funny. He sub a credit card for me but afraid that I anyhow spend $$, so he kept it with him. Yesterday, he brought it out, and told me to get my own birdnest (bottle types) to eat, since I dun like to eat food nowadays, at least eat birdnest will be better. I laughed at him and his sudden generosity and told him now cannot, have to wait till 4th mth.

Hi Linda,

one more question about the ginger. Does your mom skin it first before slicing it? Or she slices it like that? with the skin on? Also, where did you buy herbs to bathe in?

Hi ellysia,

I dun think ginger is heaty. It has a warming effect though. I occassionally take ginger to deal with the cramping. Thank goodness the frequency of the cramping is much less now. In the first 2 weeks, I was cramping a couple of times each day. Now at most 2 times per day. Sometimes not cramping. I used to take ginger to deal with menstrual cramps and motion sickness - it worked for me. I believe some ladies take ginger tea to combat bloatedness. I don't like ginger tea. I just take preserved ginger from Mei Wu.

wow... all the baby boys here all so handsome and cute

Today went to see gynae... can see baby limbs like little teddy bear. Me and DH got so excited. Baby nodded head at us, then gynae probed bb further with the scan stick, bb refused to move liao. Think we have got a very lazy bb :p
Is it normal not for baby to show so much movement now? I'm about 9 weeks now, saw some postings whereby got some 9 week bb super active, kick here and there. I still have blood clots/haemorhage in womb, hence still got to be careful.

I'm going for Oscar on 21st Nov.. most MTBs here are going on 20th
Anyone else going on 21st? Btw, what do they do during the Oscar and how much does it cost? Thanks for all the advice!

Kylene, my gynae gave me metoclopramide for vomitting but it doesn't help in my case, so jialet until I need to be warded for a day.

Piyoz, Congrats on your #2 !!!

Hi Cactus, I've tried taking unsalted crackers, doesn't help for me, end up I still throw up. Hehehe, but the 1 day stay at TMC does make me feel better now

About the bird nest, I did ask my gynae and she said is OK to take even in the 1st trimster.

Hi Im back..

Such a long post! Didnt manage to read all..
Went back to see Dr Adrian. He say bb heart beat not very strong ask me to see him in 2weeks time
Meantime he say need alot rest. As long I m still having MS means bb is strong.... and same advise, eat!

VENIZ, RENA I love ur sons...match making ah hehehe. No la make friends 1st yeah.

GINGER
--------
Old Ginger is better. Normally i wil peel the skin off before cooking. Try not take too much as too heaty and bb may not be able to take it now.

Bird Nest
-----------
Advisable to take when bb reach 5mths. This is when they are absorbing.

Hi Mogudog, I think being overly tired worsens morning sickness. At least, it does for me. Maybe the 1 day at TMC resulted you in being a more relaxed and restful mood...

Cynthia,

Ginger is heaty? Hmm but cactus say not heaty? Me v confused now.

me taking ginger tea to reduce air and its working, so will like to continue if it is not heaty, as i have a heaty nature.

Me have a sudden urge to throw up just now before lunch, suddenly a strong urge to vomit and i run to toilet sink then vomit a big air but lucky no food, make me so scared cos first time so big urge.. normally is just nausea.

Gynae says week 8 to week 12 MS will come worst, so i guess we have to brace for the worst.

Tat day my MIL just told me she have MS throughout her pregnancy until give birth!! *Shock* omg i hope not as i ored praying MS will go away for better food enjoyment.

Ellysia,

I only know cant take too much. It depends individual body. Some take too much cant take it.
U can try peppermint too for reduce of air & bloatness. I don dare take mint so its out for me.

Hmm week 8-12 MS worst? I think quite true. Depends on individual too. I have friends totally nothing at all!!! So envy.. Gynae mention to me DO NOT STRESS, RELAX and MS wil go away hahahaha

hi cynthia
Do not worry about baby heartbeat. Could be that baby just happened to be sleeping or inactive then, that is why heartbeat wasnt strong at that particular moment. Most importantly,baby has heartbeat already and is not blighted ovum.
In my previous pregnancy, Dr Adrian also said bb heartbeat weak in week7 and gave me MC and lotsa bedrest. It is very important you have lotsa bedrest and stay positive

Ellysia, tink ginger is heaty? My mum told me it's heaty........

feifei, babycupid... thanks for the welcome

mogudog, thanks.... hb now overseas. He still don't know #2 is here.

Notice quite a no of mummies here with Dr Adrian, TMC. Can find out if he's good? Did read quite a bit of good comments on him in the forum. But thought it'll be good to hear some first hand comments.

My first gynae no longer delivering, so thought of going to Dr Adrian, since his clinic very convenient for me plus heard his fees are v reasonable.

Wow gers, so many post within 1 afternoon. Had been away in presentation, so back to desk oni nowK..
Belsi, thanks!
Sharon, u r not aloneK.i also nowsaday very cold although weather is hotK.
Hey newdaddy V I echo the rest, good to see a FTB here, ask my hb to come here to read n join would probably be asking for the sky. I reai envy yur wife n baby, so blessed to ve such a caring hb n daddyK.

So pissed off with my MIL again. As u gers probably know abt my confinement issue with her, my hb told her just now tat we would prefer to do it @ our own hm, she threaten tat if we do tat, then she wun help at all wif hsework, bath baby, etc. Which I m ok, I m prepared to hire a CL but she is against it too. Damn, everything ve to be according to her CONVENIENCE like she mentioned previously, I m really fed-up.

Veniz, u see, how to talk to pple like tat?

Hi Roxy,

Thanks... ya he tel mi more rest less stress.
My 1st gal when week 7 is active beating so kinda worried. But nothing much to do. Seeing him in 2weeks time. You seeing him at CCK or? My next appt is 15/11 evening. Alone again as HB no time to go with me. Used to it from 1st gal also hehehe. Cos he go there also cant do anything too.

Piyoz,
Partly Dr Adrian fees is reasonable.
He is good in stitching and fast in reacting. My frd bb delivered by him. Her bb is in destress when labour and he manage to save the bb without any emergency operation. SO I chosen him previously for my 1st gal and now I am back to him.

Sometime he bit quiet and "dao". Though he didnt talk much as he want us to enjoy the whole pregnancy, BUT if he discover any prob with us and bb HE has very strict warning. So this is what i like about him too.

And he not badlooking too hehehe.. gals agree?? :p

piyoz,
i went to Dr Adrian for my 1st visit too as i am staying in sengkang.. and urgently nd to see a gynae.. alot of ppl visit him.. bery crowded.. but i prefer a female gynae and i find him talk too fast and kind of rushing off.. so not really comfy wif tat..

pai sei.. I"m not sure if ginger is heaty. I know it has warming properties though.. perhaps if taken in large quantities it becomes heaty? My MIL occassionally cooks me beef with ginger... when my SIL was pregnant too, my MIL also cooked her this dish.. so I think its not that "heaty".

cynthia.. could be a boy
Normally boys heartbeat is slower than gals... I was seeing him for first pregnancy in cck which unfortunately resulted in dnc. 6 mths later I went to see Dr LC Cheng of TMC for a thorough checkup and striked so am sticking with him coz he knows all my bleeding problems.

Yes Piyoz, Dr Adrian's fees is really very very reasonable. But he talks very fast so you got to adapt to it. He also doesnt talk alot. Hmm, sometimes he answers questions vaguely too so you might need to probe him further. He is also a very frank gynae. But for the fees he's charging, considered very reasonable liao

Your sons are so handsome! When I saw their photos i was muacking at the screen.. haha..

I oso feel cold easily nowadays.. So it's normal huh..

Hi newdaddy.. ~Welcome~

Ermm.. Cute gynae.. I oso wan :p but I think abit out of way for me.. keke

cynthia

i have to agree dr adrian is very quiet and look 'dao' but ok lah.. his price reasonable.. so i m fine with him... he will keep telling us bb is fine dun worry.

Thanks for saying my son cute. Cynthia, no problem,they can be friends first. But just warning to you and Rena, my son is now in his active age and loves to play fighting (shake head).

Mogudog, my son's eyes are big, but if you notice, left side has nice double eyelid and right side only 1/4 double eyelid, so sometimes look at him like he has one big and one small eye leh. So sad.

Crystal, in your case, you cool down first. Did you do any further discussion with your husband? If you really find that you do not want her help, do let her know that your decision is firm due to the fair factors you are concern off. If you are soft and listen to her, next time, she will use such method again and again.

I have never stood up to my mother inlaw before and sometimes she pushed and went a bit far. But all those are not major things so can forget. Only once, my hubby was overseas for a whole week. On monday evening, told her I will bring son back home on wed evening. Her face changed and asked y? I told her that so he will not forget his own home and that he still piss over the floor cannot control when playing with her 'childish' eldest daughter. Immediately, she raised her voice, said my son never does it when she and other family members are around, only because I am there that night, he does it. I find this is on no basis remark, so I stand on my feet and insisted to bring him back home that wed night. From then, she didn't dare to say such no basis remarks at me.

So, it is really up to you now, but please do not get too worked up.

I dun find dr adrian dao leh but he was quite stern when my hubby ask him whether there is anything to take note when we go shanghai next week. He say I must go back and see him before I fly. So i find him a very caring and responsible gynae.

Hi Crystal,

Understand ur concern with MIL on confinement. Don worry you not alone facing it. Tel your hb confinement is very impt and any depression or upset from there may result alot prob in future (bit threaten him) and say u more comfy at home than MIL. No matter how own hse still better or even own mother do for us.

When I have Natalie. My CL play me out. It was crazy! I tell myself I never want to get CL even though she is highly recommended from my frd and i seen her using too. SO that time, my mum is not free, mil come by help me for the 1st week and e rest is all myself. I cook myself, bath bb myself & 24/7 TBF bb too. Tiring.

So this round I tel myself I MUST DIE DIE get my mum help and lucky she is having sch holiday! So she can help me for 2weeks but still at night i be taking care.

So this must discuss properly to you hb. U must be cheerful when doing confinement, enough rest, est well. THIS IS IMPT really...

Talk slowly and discuss okie. Dun stress too yeah.

Babycupid,
I think still up to individual preferences on gynae. Starting I also find him talk fast and rushing. I realise he trying to cut short the time as alot waiting and he may have to go for delivery on that day bah. I ever talk to him for 30mins cos he is so free that day! I lucky.

Piyoz, I think most impt you must be comfy with either male or female gynae, location and also fees. You may need convenient location as when we reaching last tri we need to visit gynae more freq and in the event we so tired and taking cabby also can spend less too.

Regarding the ginger use to bathe during confinement, i tink i will study it later at pregnancy. One step at a time, now worry abt 1st trim first

I guess i will need to bathe even during confinement and wash hair, cos my hair is long dun wash be smelly. Mum suggest i cut my hair shorter, i tink not nice leh. How abt u all, long hair or short hair?

Rena, thanks. he is 3 yrs old now. How about your cutie pie? Feel like pinching his cheeks, you help me pinch can? hehe, joking only lar.

Belsi, thanks. I am sure all MTB and FTB here, when you have given birth, all your babies sure very cute/ handsome / pretty one, so just wait ok.

I also easily cold these days, esp when the weather looks a bit off. My hubby has been complaining that he is very hot but I was like wrapping with blanket while wearing a sweater.

I'll probably cut my hair shorter just before I deliver. now my hair is still at wedding length.. haha.. halfway down my back! Way too long.. but I just got it trimmed 2 months back and the hairdresser did a very good job.. my wavy hair si not messy at all with this cut.. I will prob go back to her when I decide to cut my hair short cos she appears confident dealing with my hair - other hairdressers cause my hair to curl too much when they cut it short.

Ellysia,

Think i will stil remain. I just cut short my hair to shoulder length so stil ok. Previous one i have long hair but i tie it up lo.

Bathing.
Using Herb n ginger to bath will solve your prob. But i realise after using Ginger & herb I am still sweating like hell! So i secretly bath in the afternoon with warm water BUT didnt wash my hair at all till week 3....

I tink i will cut my hair after 1st trim cos ored v long and dry off slow after each wash.

Veniz, I dun like to pinch bb cheeks. When i am a kid, people also like to pinch my cheeks when mum bring me to market. And i dislike it a lot but never tell my mum. So i tink kids even though small, also may not like people to pinch their cheeks, its can be quite painful if some people pinch it v hard.

cynthia,
kekeke.. ya.. cos really alot of ppl waiting lor.. but to me i waited for 1 hr n 30mins and see him tok to me 5mins.. tats it.. kekeke.. n i bery blurr.. everything oso forgot to ask..

gers, thanks for your comforting words, rite from my heart too. like veniz had rightly pointed out. i afraid once i give in / compromise, she will use the same on me next time. previously, i always let her ve her way. like she wants my to use pte gas in MY hse, i get the govt official to cut off my govt ss gas piping. she wanted to install an added table top in my laundry area in MY hse, although it looks horrible, i let her. jus didnt wan her to feel left out. i used to tell pple tat i m lucky to hve such a nice mil compared to the horrible ones. Now now i see her true face after 6 yrs. I be damn. she dun wan to help at all n dun allow me to get CL cos she said hb n me ve too much $ is it?

i discuss wif hb so many times n every time he tells me he sees my point. but as soon as his mum threw a temper, he starts to soften n in tis case rather than tell his mum we cnf stay in our own hse for confinement, tell her tat to shelf it one side n discuss nearer to date. tat is as good to letting her ve her way as far as i m concern. i asked him how i m to face his mum at dinner later, he tells me just act blur as if he nvr mention tis esp to me b4 n i knows nothing. to me, it is still problem unsolve.

sorry for the long post n venting... jus feel so helpless when it comes to tis issue......

oh yes, i forgot to add, my MIL had the cheek to tell my hb wat is wrong for me to put up at her hse for confinement for 1 mth. "IT IS ONLY 1 MTH WAT!!!" i take it for her to imply tat i m being unreasonable. comeon, so wat is hers an exec flat, now already got 7 pple squeeze in there. plus me n hb n baby will be 10. i think it is crazy considering we ve our own 5-rm just a few blocks (walking dist of 5 mins) down the road.

crystal, hm.... i think yours is quite a nutty case. i really can't comment too much coz I don't have this experience. But frankly speaking, I dun understand why she insist u stay at her hse when her hse is already so crowded.....

Hi Cactus, agreed with you, shld try to rest more and don't tire yourself out. Now am really more relaxed

Hi belsi, I guess shld be normal bah, I also feel cold easily, as though I am down with fever but actually it's not.

Veniz, can't really tell from the pic lei, his eyes really big loh. Don't sad sad. I had one eye with double eye-lid and the other eye the double eye-lid is hidden inside, lagi worst lei.

Hi crystal, I agreed with iamsnow. How come ur MIL insist that you move over to her place. Somemore the baby cries will disturb the rest too mah. Really a hard nut to crack !

jamsnow, so tat she can continue looking after her 2 maternal grandsons of whom are 7 & 5 yrs old and will be 8 & 6 yrs old next yr when my baby is born. so any left over time / attn will be to my baby n she can brag to relatives that she is taking care of all 3 grandchildren.

wah..... won't she feel tired out? any left over time then attend to u and your bb.... confinement leh, need a lot of attention woh....

mogudog,honestly i more worried abt the yellings of her 2 grandsons and the screaming of my SIL (her daughter) tat will probably scare the wit out of a tiny baby. n to think tat i used to tell others tat my is a wonderful MIL compared to other MILs out there. Now i slap myself lor. learnt my lesson, nvr judge a MIL till u ve kids, cos apparently she will change like a bloody chamelon.

HI crystal, looks like yr MIL is a bit unreasonable..

My mum have a hard experience with her MIL (i.e. my paternal grandma) such that it cause many quarrels with my dad over the years, my MIL even cook food for my mum during confinement and my mum later discover that tat food is not suitable for confinement! and in fact will cause probs, which cause my mum health to worsen after giving birth. My grandma will find chance to scold my mum even during CNY. Many unhappy things and i see it from young, so i have a phobia of MILs.

Anyway i guess frm yr example yr MIL is still not as bad yet and there are other worst MILs. My fren have a MIL who dun take care of her during confinement, dun take care of her bb and dun even greet my fren! Treat her transparent and my fren never antongize her MIL at all, and i guess is bec her MIl is pang dang (my fren is tiger chinese zodiac sign).

My mum tell me whether a MIL is good or not, u have to see within 10 years and not within 1-2 years cos they may sometimes change over the years when SILs or relatives spread words and influence etc.

What i do is i will buy stuff for my MIL, FIL & my hb siblings during CNY, Mooncake festival, their birthdays, go holidays, and sometimes of no occasion. I does this when i haven't even meet them yet (par tor tat time). Hopefully can buy their hearts and can be peaceful marriage life, i really hate those ILs probs like the type my mum face.

ellysia, tat is so mean of your paternal grandma ley. to cook something so unsuitable for yur mum. if i think along the line of the train of tots of older generations, they probably think tat since DIL is outsider, no need to treat too well. Jus my tot wif no basis lah, so pls dun take it too much to heart, okie? N yes yur mum ve foresight tat MIL can only be judge 10 yrs down the road. Tats y I now say I slap my own face oreadi..she is reai not as good as I think she is. Not the worst of the lots, possibly but not the good ones either.