(2008/06) June 2008

I don't know much about the effects of cooling food... my MIL cooks with very very minimal herbs and ginger. She doesn't want to make me too "heaty" and in the end, I need to take "cooling" stuff. So apart from some red dates and wolfberries, Ive not taken any other herbs. Actyually I dun even take the date meat... I just know my MIL cooks soup with some dates. cos in the soup bowl, I sometimes see red date skin.. hehe.

If you truly have fever, may be a good idea to sponge yourself if you are not comfortabvle taking panadol. but panadol is very safe for us now. I gues barley is not a bad thing too.. but I'd rather not take it and would rather sponge down.

my MIL also cooks soup with red dates and wolfberries. yummy.... hee hee.... cactus, what does your MIL cook with? my MIL cooks with pork, carrot and corn.... but I only drink the soup and take the corn and carrot, I don't take the meat.....

i'm thinking of cooking it for myself over the weekends also. coz I dun go to her hse everyweek. only on alternate weeks....

cactus,
dun worry.. i was like u 2 wks ago.. hahaha.. but so relieved to see bb heartbeat on monday.. i am sure u r able to do tat too.. bery fast 2 wks will be gone.. kekeke..

connie,
if tummy scan is on ur tummy.. if not is thru ur virginal.. i did my scan thru virginal..

hi connie,

the tummy scan is the older version scan when gel is applied to your tummy and transducer is rlled overy our tummy.

transvaginal scan is a long probe inserted into your vagina to see what's going on inside. This scan is more sensitive and is usually done during early stage pregnancy.

I was a suspected ectopic preg case before and if I were in your shoes now, I will change a doctor or seek a third opinion and get the proper scan done, or do a blood test... cos I know the potential danger of ectopic preg.

hi babycupid,

yeah. I'm trying not to count the weeks but it can be soooo hard!!! Good thig is I'm working full time so work is keeping me quite busy.

i agree with cactus.. cos when i 1st scan the waterbag is oso bery small... didnt managed to scan it thru tummy scan.. but able to using v scan..

cactus, lucky u..... home cooked food everyday..... *envy*. for me it's da pao food everyday, coz I don't cook now. I try not to exert myself....

cactus,
not a bad arrangments hur.. kekeke.. my frend oso same.. dun have a hse of theirs.. but they split.. the ger die oso dun wan to stay wif Ils haha.. den hubby bo bian.. on n off go wife there.. sometimes at home slp.. so we always teased her.. married like not married.. have been like this for 2 yrs plus liao..

cactus,
icic.. tats bery gd.. at least ur mil is nice.. and ur hubby oso dun mind to be tat way.. like for my case.. my frend mind.. dun gif in.. meaning no way to do tat le.. gd to stay wif parents too.. at least they can help out.. like for me we stayed alone.. so always eat outside.. seldom homecooked food.. my mil oso busy person.. many activities.. so seldom go back to eat oso.. but haf its pros and cons..

Hi crystal, maybe tats the oscar test? I oso not sure coz my gynae haven ask me to go for blood test.. Maybe coming Mon she'll ask me to go for it

iamsnow, do you measure your temperature? If your measurement through ear is at or over 37.5 deg C, then that is fever. if it is 37.1 - 37.4 degC, then it is only high temperature which is normal for preggie women. Coz our babies' hearbeats now beating very fast, so more or less our temperatures will be slightly higher. My temp is higher than normal, but internal body will feel cold. Last time also like that.

Ladies, for 1st trimster, do rest more. Start to be a bit active during 2nd trim. But rem, dun over do it. I over window shop during my first preg. Thus I have swollen feets and calves (drank lots of water and consume quite fair bit of sodium). Till date, my calves still very fat, i think water retention lor.

cactus,
Tks for e infor =D>...2wks bery fast one, then u can see bb liao =D.

LCY,
by 7th wks shd be able to see heartbeat liao wor...any MS?

veniz, i measured thru a mouth thermometer. so means it's normal for pregnant woman also lah.... at least not so worried.... hee hee

shufen, no need chilled also can? ok, I shall try... hee hee...

mug rootbeer is caffine free meh??? that was my fav before pregnant leh.... hee hee, I shall stock up some at home also.... haha...

I've craving for preserved fruit today.. sigh. I know it's really unhealthy but can't stop munching. I boguth some olives and ginger from Mei Wu last evening...

Wow, babycupid, you making me drooling liao lor, on the tian ji zhou, yum. Maybe can eat bah, but in moderate lor.

Yes, so rootbeer can drink lor, I love it. Hope still have some at home.

I think scientifically nothing wrong with eating tian ji cos it is meat and therefore protein and is good. I've not heard any old wife's sayings about tian ji though. My MIL only said canot eat crab , eat less prawns,...\

babycupid,

tell me about it.. i have cravings for tian ji as well.... especially gong pao.. but cannot ta bao so sad coz if i bring my son i cannot enjony the food.. he will be running around ..

hello all MTB!

I'm very new here and a FTB (wonder if it will be wierd to see a guy here)..Very excited and yet anxious but lucky found this site which my wife ask me to read.

My wife EDD should be June 2008 also..Can't wait to see my little one popping out but before that it's all about "an tai" and taking good care!

notice all the different craving you gals here..my wife has been craving for all soft of food of late..stuff like plain porridge with salted egg, haha!

can i check if it's normal to have stronger appetite? also, my wife has got slight back ache yesterday, is it normal also?

catus,

you very guai leh.. i jsut cannot resist on crabs... my previous pregnancy i can finish 1 chili crab all by myself.. and tat may be why my son so active..

iamsnow
My temp is also at around 37.1 -37.3 degrees during nite time... felt so uncomfortable that i thought i had a fever... but fever is only 37.5 degrees and above...only then you take medicine...

Catus
Really envy you that you are able to eat home-cooked food... actually me also went to my mil's place on weekdays to eat..but becos of pregnant now, cannot walk too much so my mil ask me to buy from outside which is more convenient...

Now really got no appetite to eat... didn't have my dinner last nite too... ADS getting worse...gotta hug the toilet bowl to vomit all the water and gastric juices out... thought i will faint...the feeling really unbearable

Connie
when is your LMP? Normally sac can be detected at week 5...but all depends... like some of the gals here, they can already detect the bb's heartbeat at week 6 whereas i have to wait till week 8...

babycupid
you can see your bb's head at week 8 liao ah... me just went for the scan on monday which is week 8 day 6 but my gynae only say ,"see the bb's heartbeat is still there"... and only say the sac is bigger...didn't mention anything abt the head and bum....

Starmoon,
My gynae still dun want to tell me my EDD ley... but i calculated on my own...
Can trouble you to update my information:

Age 29, EDD 03 June'08, Dr KK Tan, Gleneagles, 1st Child, staying at Bukit Panjang.

Hi new daddy,

It is perfectly normal. coz i too have craving for soft food and light food as well.

backache tat i am not too sure coz i am havign it as well but i think it is cause by carrying my son too much..

hi shufen, to answer for cactus, crabs cannot cos the child will be like crab "many hand many legs", prawns and seafood cannot cos 'poisonous' baby skin will not be good. Mutton cannot cos "yang tien fong". I everything eat during last pregnancy then my girl come out really very active and "many hands many legs" lor. hahaha... So depends on whether you believe or not?

Mums,
Certain herbs shld be good in your second trimester. Red dates is bu qi (strengthen energy), to avoid being heaty, take out the seed (heart). Wolfberries good for eye vision, also good for children.
Dang shen is bu qi also. Herb soups help to nourish the body and will do you and baby good in moderation. Just tell the chinese medicine hall meant for pregnant ladies, they will know what to avoid.

And i also like to share a confinement idea which had helped me a lot. Can start to prepare now. For confinements, we need to bathe with herbs right? I always add dried thinly sliced ginger my mum made for me to the herbs for boiling. After my confinement, I realised I am not afraid of cold anymore. I used to freeze in supermarkets and shopping centres, after confinement, I can go in tubes and no problem! And I didnt really adhere to confinement rules lor, I still go out every other day, I bathe daily, I wash my hair, I sleep aircon room etc. So I swear by the ginger bathe.

Wah seh, miss so posts in just 2 days. I was hospitalised due to excessive vomitting. Was on drip the whole day, no appetite to eat anything, now can only rest at home.

Hey Babycupid, Salmonfish and Ellysia
We share the same gynae too, Dr Wong from TMC. She was real nice and came to visit me twice a day while I was warded. She also encourages to tahan a few weeks more for the MS/ADS to go away.

My next appt with her is 10 Nov 9am, guess I will be in my 8 or 9 weeks then. The last scan I did was on 29th Oct, my mousy is 12.7mm

By the way, any mummies can advise around week ?? need to do Oscar scan ?

Catus, you guai hor, and same here about eating only on crab pincers leh, heehee. But when I eat, sure got pple fighting for this part with me one. Anyway, I am keeping out of seafood now also.

Rena, ya, I haven't been going geylang Lor 9 that tian ji zhou lor, makes me think of the thick gravy and juicy meat, hmmm...

newdaddy, welcome. It is indeed funny chatting with a daddy to be here. It is normal for your wife to have different appetite from before, so its fine. a bit back ache now and then is also very normal, unless its very servere, then please take note and check with her gynae.

rena,
yeah.. i have crave for porridge nowadays.. yd whole day eating porridge.. den tonite feel like eating tian ji zhou... yummy..

Connie
dun worry so much maybe you had a late ovulation so probably the pregnancy is still too early to detect the sac.
Sometimes can only detect something using vaginal scan. For me I saw my baby's heartbeat yday but thru vaginal scan. The gynae scanned my tummy could not see anything so he ask me whether want to try scan from below.
Dun worry maybe just wait about a week more. Eveything will be fine.

BabyCupid
I envy you can see the head liao! hehe

Hi newdaddy, so nice to see a dad here and so anxious too!

Mogudog
Think i will be like you liao... admitted to hospital due to excessive vomitting... but me alone at home, fainted also no ppl will know...

Newdaddy
Welcome to this thread... should encourage my dh to come here too but i know he die die also dun want to... the thing you can do to comfort your wife is to ask her how's her day, what she wants to eat, any problem or anything.... she will love you dearly...

babycupid
I also got craving for gong bao tian ji porridge leh... but dh too busy to bring me to eat... so have been eating rubbish these few days..no appetite..

What about clamps? Like Gan Bei? Can we eat? i have adding little dried gan bei into the porridge which makes the porridge yummy yummy. Can we eat?

belsi, keep me updated, okie? cos i can c tat the rest of the gers here ve their OSCAR / Triple & even Thalassaemia tests considering we are all at ard the same time, so wondering if we are missing out on anything? will check with dr lee when i next c her on 23rd though n keep u posted too... ")

Lala, gan bei is fine.. no problem. juz remember to eat at moderate rate, not too much of everything. Keep out those "cooling" items though.

Hi all, my bb still unwilling to let me see whether if its a boy/girl... haiz... any MTB already know the sex? I'm on 11th wks and gynae said i'm having placenta previa... complications pregnancy. Sob sob...

HI Lala,
Gan Be is scallops and is okay. But I think try to avoid eating muscles and clams outside if we can't be certain that they are well cooked.

You could be right, Sparks. Even for fish, I'm not always eating the same type. Usually red garoupa or threadfin. Once in a while, salmon and cod.

bb08,
ya.. from the scan can see.. the shape is like a bean.. rounder and bigger at 1 end.. and small the other.. so gynae said the rounder n bigger is the head.. kekeke.. wat is the size of ur bb? mine is 17.5mm, 8wk 6d

ya, cactus... my hubby was warning me, if i'm picky abt food, next time i will kena tough time with our bb too.. kekeke.. makes sense right?