(2008/06) June 2008

babycupid

i also not sure leh, according to LMP should be 7+ weeks liao. But my first scan on 19th shows 4+ weeks, so counting from there is 5+ weeks...haha

bb08,

Alamak, then good to have someone to buy you lunch or take care of you if you are not feeling well. After the 1 day stay in hospital makes me feel much better, no vomitting at all. But donno can tahan how long before I start throw everthing up again.

Linda,
Tks for the tips....it is really bery useful to us =D..

Oh ya, when can we start to take nird nest?

Shufen,
agreed with u that need to ren for bb's sake lor, but hor, sometimes really cannot ren...Its a MUST eat lor =D...

All,
Alamak, u all hv craving for tian ji zhou, I have cravigns for Long John Silvers leh...=)..

Mogudog, did the dr give u anything to take for vomiting? I'm not sure if i should ask mine for medicine to take for nausea.

Can I join in? Just tested + at home =) But haven't seen gynae yet. This will be my #2, but still very exciting about it!!

finally after lunch.. wah i am really fighting my zzz monster.. I hardly could open my eyes.. keep feeling so tired and no mood to eat..

I think i better stop eating clams.. coz keep taking clam chowder..for two lunches liao..

Hi mogudog,

Maybe you can try to eat unsalted crackers - those Jacob's crackers type - throughout the day in between meals? I find that I get morning sickness when my stomach is empty (before I get hungry). I'm quite certain I'm not "suffering" as much as you yet, but this method has worked for me and I've been able to function quite normally even at work.

Linda..... how do you make the dried ginger slice? you slice them then sun it? can we use fresh one too?
how many pieces need for each bath?

Thanks for all the encouragement and tips!

Really nice feeling to know that i'm gg to be a father soon..the excitement is tremenous! i have been doing research, reading up forums..learning what to do, what to buy etc etc..hopefully i won't get messed up later on..haha

welcome piyoz..! congrats.. kekeke..

My gynae said things to avoid is actually those raw food, alcohol, caffaine, smoking. Herbs can take but ginseng mus not be too often (Moderate, like once a wk).. it is proven that ginseng caused miscarriage.. the rest like watermelon, cold drinks, pineapple.. all oso ok wor..but not too much..

linda, another question. How much water for each bath? Is the ginger old or young ginger? the usual yellow ginger is it? The ginger slices boil for how long in the water?

Can i check if any MTB started to get their baby stuff already?

Stuff like stroller, car seat, colts, playpen etc..it will be good if we can all make bulk purchases, maybe can save abit..=)

Anyway, i'm aimming for Graco Travel System, anyone looking for that also? Other than that, i'm having 2 minds as to get a colt or a playpen better? really headache..

Linda..... how do you make the dried ginger slice? you slice them then sun it? can we use fresh one too?
how many pieces need for each bath?

Thanks for sharing, babycupid! Yes, I agree with you. But usually I dun have craving for things like cold drinks, watermelon and pineapple... so I'm not presently taking them.

Just to share also.. before I confirmed the pregnancy, when it was 3 weeks after LMP, I ate some watermelon and coconut. I felt cramping. but I thought it was the usual pre menstrual cramps. once I stopped eating and resting half hour, the cramping went away. It was only subsequently that I realised I was pregnant. I think if we eat watermelon and other cooling things, even in moderation, we shld listen to our bodies. If we start experiencing cramps, it's better to stop taking for the moment cos we can't differentiate btween normal expansion cramps and miscarriage cramps.

i think different body reacts differently..like my colleague, when she was with baby, she can eat practically everything w/o effect or affect..

cactus - i think the excitement got over me..

just couldn't believe my ears when my wife told me it's confirm..the feelin was mixed..but now that it's over that feel, i'm so excited and happy.

2nd trimster sounds good..i'm hoping there will be huge sales all round by then..hehe..cos my research confirm that baby stuff are not cheap..

Hi feifei, my MIL said I can start taking bird's nest during 2nd trimester. My SIL took bird's nest during 2nd trimester.
But I'm not sure about the safety of bird's nest cos I know some places bleach bird's nest... so it may not be that safe for consumption. Also if bird's nest is not properly cleaned, I'm not sure if it will lead to problems like allergies and asthma in the long run for the baby. My SIL took bird's nest when she was 4 months. Quite regularly. Her son has sensitive airways. Not s ure if it is a coincidence though.

tian ji zhou

I simply cannot resist. Went to eat last week..... heavenly.... haha. have not heard anything abt it. should be able to be eat bah.... self declared. haha.....

cactus,
yup yup.. i agreed too.. gynae oso said its ok if we feel cramp on n off.. but not ok if accompany with bleeding or spotting.. kekeke..

Hi Sharon,

Initially at 5th week i have a slight fever but the doctor tot i have high temperature due to preggy. Later turn out to be fever/cold but i manage to eat more fruits and okay liao.

Now my temperature is sometimes higher, but most of the time i am still scared of cold. So not any different frm u i dun tink u are alone for this aspect.

newdaddy,
you very kiasu leh.... btw i think the Graco travel system is not very good. i bought one for my #1 then i realise tat the pram itself is not able to recline fully.. so i was force to buy maclaren xt.. which is a much better choice.. especially when i have a big baby. my son could not take the car seat from Graco since 3rd month..

Hi Sharon,

Initially at 5th week i have a slight fever but the doctor tot i have high temperature due to preggy. Later turn out to be fever/cold but i manage to eat more fruits and okay liao.

Now my temperature is sometimes higher, but most of the time i am still scared of cold. So not any different frm u i dun tink u are alone for this aspect.

newdaddy,
you very kiasu leh.... btw i think the Graco travel system is not very good. i bought one for my #1 then i realise tat the pram itself is not able to recline fully.. so i was force to buy maclaren xt.. which is a much better choice.. especially when i have a big baby. my son could not take the car seat from Graco since 3rd month..

iamsnow, hahaha.. u even faster than me! eaten last week.. this whole wk i have crave on porridge.. kekeke.. tonite i am coming!!

newdaddy,
u r such a nice and extinct man? hahahhaa.. my hubby will not come to this kind of forum.. so envy ur wife.. u will be a gd daddy.. we oso intend to get the bb stuff only during the 2nd trim.. tats wat our gynae advised too.. cos she said in 2nd trim is stable and we can koe the gender of the bb in 16th wk.. so we can shop better.. no hurry.. save more nw!! hahaha

Hi newdaddy,

I tink u better buy yr bb stuff later when at 2nd trimester, at least when u know whether yr bb is boy or gal then u can plan for the colours.

cactus and feifei,

For the birdnest, if u want to take, buy from reputation sources like Yu ren sheng and Hock Hua & good quality ones which are cleaned and not fake. Dun get cheap ones from unknown sources which may not be cleaned properly and worst may contain chemicals that is harmful.

Rena,

Kiasu is good..haha..no la!! But I tot Graco have those better system which can recline fully? hmm..looks like my research is wrong..must go do again.

For tian qi porridge, my mum said there is this pang dang that it is not good for yr bb cos it make him overactive (same analogy of crab).

But last time when i am born, i have leg problem (my legs not straight) and my mum let me eat frog porridge then later legs straighten liao.. so dunno got any use.

HI all,

Btw, just curious, u all prefer boy or gal?

My colleague let me try out the website prediction and it says mine is a gal.

boy or gal, actually same to me. I have a slight preference for gal though.

There are MANY versions of the gender prediction charts out there... some say mine is boy, others say it is gal. But my grandma said it is prob boy. Actually I feel it is boy too. sigh.

newdaddy,

Maybe my time is the old verison bah.. my son was born in 2005.. so maybe they have new one already.. but some how i think maclaren is better.. can sit bb up to 25 kg..

Catus and Fei fei take birdnest with care try not to take too much...

hahahaha.. everything oso have.. i dun care!!! i wan to eat tonite! hahaha..

ellysia,
mine i did a check on few websites and chart.. all predicted boy.. personally i prefer gal 1st den boy.. but its ok.. as long healthy lor.. kekeke

cactus,
i feel mine oso boy leh.. den i told my frend my scan show a bigger round at one end which the gynae said is the head of the bb.. she told me big head bb is a BOY! haha

My first one is a boy.. somehow i got a feeling too that my 2nd will be a boy too....
1048547.jpg

I will prefer boy 1st then gal cos i tink gal youngest better
Me is the eldest daughter and i tink eldest daughter is v chiam.

Hi rena, thanks for your advice. I will take bird's nest sparingly. My grandma used to make bird's nest for me before the customary wedding... I told her to stop making cos not easy to clean.. she is already 76 years old. As for my MIL, I can't stop her from cooking cos when I told her no need to buy, she said must buy..think she thinks I'm being polite... sigh. But I already told my mom I won't be taking bird's nest... I'm tryign to take as little of it as possible cos even though we buy from reputable places, we cannot be sure that the source is good and safe..

rena, your boy so cute.....

where u all go to check prediction on gender? Actually I got no preference. But my hubby same his family line all males, so ours sure male.... not sure how accurate..... haha..... skarly is gal, then I sure laugh until peng.....

rena,
aiyo.. ur bb boy is so cute.. kekeke..

ellysia,
ya i tink so oso lor.. i wan ger cos i feel elder ger will help the home more than elder boy lor..

I conceived soon after our customary wedding..during our honeymoon. It so happened that my fertile period covered the wedding night and the honeymoon which immediately followed. So my MIL told me it is called "ru men xi". I think she will be delighted if it is a boy cos it's going to be her first "inside" grandchild. As for my parents, I'm the only child.. so my dad will be happy for a grandson. cos I think he missed out playing with a son.

I also think it's nice to have an older brother and younger sister... but I wouldn't like to have 2 sons. I would prefer to have 2 daughters. Then again, leave all this to God lah. Children healthy can already.

hahhaa.. for me.. my side i am the youngest.. i have 2 bros 1 sis.. 1 bro with 3 kids.. 2 dotters 1 son.. my sis with 2 sons.. so no preference from my mum n dad..

for my hubby side.. this is the 1st grandchild.. cos my hubby is the eldest and 2 twins younger bro are still young.. poly now.. so i dunno if they will prefer boy.. anyway.. HEALthy is most impt la!!

just to share my sister has a 2yr old boy and just had a baby gal, she is now worried that next time both of them will go university together! that will mean great financial burden sigh so do take note of this in ur family planning :p

also my cousin told me it is a gd thing my EDD is in June, next time no need spend money celebrating birthdays in nursery and kindergarten since school holidays! haha i think once you are a mother u will really think far far!