(2008/06) June 2008

cactus, i read that spouse of singhealth don't get any discount or benefit? what about your own company, any benefits? I also don;t know about my own company, need to go back and ask HR

Linda,

I just use my hand to hide my forehead area and my long hair will cover up the sides, so pretend i am using my hand to hold my hair but actually it covers the front side. then i look down on my documents while my hand support my head and i doze lor.. boss got walk in sometimes, i will wake when there is noise. Its a short doze maybe not full 20mins but on and off do help to gain energy for the rest of the day.

Kylene,

I also used up my MC before i got pregnant, as I have an eye operation (which is a day surgery) and done wisdom tooth removal (which takes 5 days MC), so i have to use leave for gynae appts.

Ellysia,
I see I don't mind using leave to rest but my boss will be unhappy. sigh. esp since nov/dec we're very busy. sometimes really feel like quitting

Hi Kylene, my company is only covered by medical insurance, but as most medical insurances, it excludes pregnancy related stuff, so I don't get any benefit at all.

Like to know how many weeks can the doc scan the waterbag? I went for check up yesterday but he say cannot see waterbag mean early pregnancy.

If u didn't inform ur boss abt your pregnancy, how do you take MC if ur co have co. doctor? Aren't we suppose to see the gynae when we fall sick?

wow i MIA for a few days...

BabyCupid & Juilet,
i also went to thala test a few years ago, just before i got married. requested by my hubby as he is thala carrier too, bcos of family planning purpose. so how everything OK for both of u?

hi shufen,

juz being 'kapo'. Dr. WK Tan is my gyane, i juz given birth via c-section by her in sept. although her waiting time is super long but she's a very caring and exprience doc. you can try to make your appointment during weekday morning. i usually take the 9am slot. i'll get to see her within an hour. btw, from wat i know she is zoe tay's gyane.

y mine still cannot see anything?

Only feel all the pain etc but cannot see anything?

Everything I ask the doc he say common but cannot scan anything, yet my back aching.

I just came back from my gynae check-up. I saw baby's head just now.
Now it's already 8w4d.

Starmoon,
Can you help me to change my EDD to 6th June 2008? Thank you.

Connie,
At which week or day u went to visit your gynae? Bcos sure can scan something one ley me 5th week can see liao. some more gynae will advise the position of the sac is correct or not (not ectopic pregnancy).

actually unsure la

Cos my mensus not accurate, the last round was on 20 Oct ask me to visit him 10 days later, I went to Dr Adrian yesterday, he only say cannot see waterbag. So should bea early pregnancy.

How u calculate 5 weeks?

the 5 weeks is calculated from my first day of my last period. hehee so u can calculate for yourself. BTW, din your gynae tell u how many weeks u r in? my gyane calculated for me ley

ellysia - they will draw 3 tubes of blood. 2 for Dr Wong and 1 for the oscar.

connie - calculation starts from the first day of your last period.

luz,
icic.. if i koe i am carrier i oso will expect my partner to go for the test b4 planning lor..
for my case.. both of us dunno whether we r carrier.. so nw my hubby is.. and i am goin for a check this sat to see.. hopefully i am not..

Hello Shufen,

thanks for your reply..

Hello Starmoon,

Can update my info? I'm new here.. My first appt with gynae on 9th Nov, thus i not sure on the EDD. Anyway,
My Nick: lala
Gynae: Dr. TC Chang
Hospital: TMC
Child: 1st
Area: Woodlands

How do you find Dr. TC Chang? Hehe.. have yet to meet him..

rainy morning, so nice to sleep...

Babycupid,
Dun worry too much ya...Everything will be fine =D...

Angie,
Wow, can see bb's head liao? wow....so amazing hor...

Hi Connie,

My doctor saw the sac a 4 weeks 6 days. Same basis of calculating the days and weeks.

Maybe you want to ask your doctor again?

If your doctor is confident it is not ectopic pregnancy, he will prob ask you to return for a scan in a few weeks time. If he thinks there may be a chance it may be ectopic, he will take blood from you. That's what my doctor told me. Cos I was referred to her for suspected ectopic. She told me if she didn't see a sac, she would most prob take blood. But she saw a sac, so didn't need to take blood.

morning everyone!!! it's a lazy morning........

angie, can see the bb's head at week 8? then this fri I go and scan, should be able to see something also.... hee hee....

bad MS this morning.... I think it's a miracle I can ren until office......

Connie,

We can take youghurt and cranberry juice although I'm not sure if they are good for reducing weight. They are very high in sugar. Most cranberry juices add alot of sugar.

Hi Starmoon,

Can trouble you to update my information too?
Age 28, EDD 11 June'08, Dr WK Tan, TMC, 1st Child, staying at Woodlands.

Jolene we have the same gynae! hee and a branded one somemore! no wonder waiting time so long. she is my sister's gynae that's why I also go to her. I only saw her for the first time last sat and yes she is very patient and caring, makes me feel v comfortable. appt on weekday mornings? hmm, mebbe i can try hopefully waiting time can be greatly reduced if not v sian sitting outside waiting.

Hi Connie,

You asked -
"If u didn't inform ur boss abt your pregnancy, how do you take MC if ur co have co. doctor? Aren't we suppose to see the gynae when we fall sick?"

I've not informed my boss about my pregnancy yet. I don't take MC when I'm ill. So far, I've only had a mild case of flu and diarhoea. For the flu I just kept drinking water and fruit juices. Same for diarhoea. To stay hydrated. To curb the nausea, I just take some sour plums. I bear with the bloatednes and the cramping. That's all.

If you need to see a doctor, you can go to a doctor who is not a company doctor. Just tell this doctor you are pregnant and you will be given medicine which is safe for you and bb. You will also be given MC.

You also asked about exercise.
I make an effort to walk about more. not brisk walking or anything, but I offer to do marketing at supermarket, and carry heavy bags. But if my tummy starts to cramp up, I just take a rest, then continue when the cramps go away.
I need to walk about more cos my job is desk bound and I drink alot of juices when I'm feeling ill. juices are very high in sugar. I can drink up to 4 litres of juice per day if I'm having fever or bad flu. Even if I stop eating food, I still put on weight from the juice. That is pre-pregnancy lah.

cactus, it's not advisable to walk so much during your first trimester leh.... and try not to carry heavy things......

whao, u drink so much juices? u drink fresh juice or those bottled ones? I don't know what to drink leh. want to vomit on plain water. drink ribena until feel very gross. now my water intake very low. coz cannot find anything suitable.... any recommendations?

Hi feifei and iamsnow,
Good morning.
I am a bit shocked when Dr Adrian told me that that's the baby's head.
I was "huh? this is his head ah??" Find it so amazing.
But could not see very clearly, only saw a round thing there :p

Cactus,

I'm getting more worry as it don't seem to sound right lei. Is sac the same as waterbag? The previous doc told me cannot scan anything. Now Dr Adrain say cannot see waterbag. Are they referring to the same thing?

He sound so normal as there is nonthing serious about me. But all of you can scan something already.

cactus, yes, it's not gd to walk too much or carry heavy stuff at first trimester, like me i have brown discharge (therefore now i am on Duphaston and also got a jab gg back for 2nd jab this sat) so now i dun walk so fast, and i keep telling myself not to chase after bus , rather be late than strain ourselves, at our stage we must rest more

iamsnow, like u i also drink water until v sian, switch to ribena happy for a few days then feel gross again. but i tried mixing Sprite with ribena taste quite gd, sprite no caffeine some more, we can also drink those effervascent vit c in our water to make it more bearable

Iamsnow,
Previously week when i went for the scan, can see abit of the foetus liao...forming lor =D...like tadpole wor..hee

COnnie,
Dun worry ger, everything is gana be okie...

cactus,
Wat type of fruit juices u drink? fresh one? cos my throat icthy now, got abit of flu, stuffy nose lor, kept sneezing... =(..

Angie,
Ya lor, previously week when i went for e scan , can see the tiny foetus forming lor...can see the little thing beating fast there, gynae says its e bb heartbeat and the head is there...so amazing de...

shufen, u drink sprite with ribena? hm.... sounds interesting. I think I should try also. but means the drink will be chilled drink? I try not to drink so much chilled drinks leh.....

ask u all ar, is barley very cooling. I've been feeling very heaty and have slight fever lately. I've been drinking warm barley almost every alternate day.... is it ok?

hi iamsnow, shufen:

Wow...I didn't know we cannot walk around so much or carry heavy things... sigh.. seems like I'm destined to put on quite a bit of weight now....

Thanks for the advice ladies. I will bear that in mind and will stop all that walking and carrying from now on.

I can drink plain water.. I'm not adverse to it (yet) but I had some diarhoea and flu earlier.. still sneezing on and off now, so need to drink liquids which can stay in my body.. like sugar or salt solution type of thing. I'm quite used to drinking juice since young. usually it is fresh carrot and/or orange juice, or I'd buy fruit tree, peel fresh or sunkist juices without added sugar. If I substitute juices for normal meals, I'd recover from flu within 2 days. Of course, I will still have to eat some fish and meat and green vegs together with the juices. I just cut down the rice.. at most just eat a baked potato without sour cream..

shufen,
Me also lor, soemtimes dun feel like drinkign water...But cannot lor, now we taking folic acid, body bery heaty lor, so must drink lots of water...but tink i am falling sick liao..

hi iamsnow,

I think it's normal for us to feel warmer than usual when we are pregnant. it's to do with the overactive blood circulation system in our bodies. that is good cos it stops us from feeling dizzy and faint. we just need to keep on drinking water. I've been staying clear from heaty and cooling foods....

Angie,
when i went for my scan on Monday oso in my 8 wks.. can see bb head oso.. jus the rounder and bigger part.. so Dr Wong oso told me.. here is the bb head and the other side is the buttocks.. kekeke.. and seeing the blink blink blink.. is the heartbeat.. bery amazing feeling..

morning belsi,
mine will be 23rd nov @ 2.30pm, had been told to go RH on 21st nov though to take a blood sample. Would u have any idea what tat is for? the nurse who told me at my last appt on 20th Oct didn't explain. i also blur cos didnt ask further...

Hi connie,

what type of scan did you do? normal tummy ultrascan or transvaginal scan? In the early stages of pregnancy, transvaginal scan is more sensitive than the tummy ultrascan.

I'm not sure if sac is the same as waterbag.... but in the very early stages, everyone refers to it as "the sac". Then, the yolk, embryo, fetus,waterbag. But in thevery early stages, it's just known as the sac. At least at 4 weeks 6 days, it's the "sac"....

connie,
I believe sac and waterbag is the same thing.. if Dr Adrian dun seem worried.. den i tink shld be fine.. how many wks r u nw? or do u wan to go for 3rd advise?

I'm so envious of you ladies who have seen ur bb at 8 weeks!
My next scan is also at 8 weeks but 2 weeks away....I'm quite eager to see if I'm as lucky as you to see bb's head too!! Heartbeat too!

My MIL told me that miscarriages are most likely to occur between 6 to 8 weeks... so it's really good that some of you have already reached that critical period. My SIL miscarried at 8weeks...

cactus, thanks for the info. at least now I know it's not that my fever has not subsided. I was having fever last week. and it did not seem to subside since...... haha...

shufen,
i went to see her cos she is my aunt's & friend's gyane. for my c-section, the stitches is gd, wat i see is only a fine line and i actually dun feel any pain after delivery tat i dun even hav to take painkillers. And she changed my dressing herself. although she's old but still veri steady. i afriad that she may retire soon (tink she's in her 60s liao), so must quickly plan for my 2nd and 3rd child. hehe

Hi iamsnow,

I didn't know you had fever last week. Maybe you should take your temp regularly. If it is above 37.0, you may want to take panadol. Panadol is safe for us and bb. It is not good for you if you truly have a fever and you leave it as it is. But ifyou just feel warm, but no fever, then I believe it's normal.

cactus, my temp has been hovering around 37.3 these few days since I recovered from my fever leh.... or maybe is because I was unaware of the rise in my temp since pregnant....

me gg for my appt tomorrow night, hope can see hearheat, if not... now i shd be at 6 wk 4 days.

anyway, i still do not have much symtom, only a bit of sore bb. wonder if everything goes on smoothly.