(2008/06) June 2008

ya...i have a fren who's son is autistic. he did a lot of reading after his son is diagnosed and shared that it could actually be caused by those injections that babies have to take at birth...that's y these days got more cases of autism...wah liew...so much for safeguarding the health of our bb!

fei fei,

did the nurse give u the paper for oscar? did nurse give u any other paper for other tests? Supposely Dr Wong said my blood sample for Oscar will be used for other tests too so dun have to draw blood so many times. Hw abt u?

anyway, babycupid, if thalassaemia doesn't run in your family (both father & mother sides), u mostly likely ain't a carrier! so no need to start worrying la...

besides, i think my dad also got thalassaemia (but he nv test for it)...if he really got, then thank GOD my siblings n i r ok! :p

juliet,
oso dunno whether my parents has it anot leh.. they dun do such test lor.. my mum even gave birth to me at the age of 38.. without any triple test, oscar test, blah.. nowadays more n more this kind..

babycupid, ur gyane is fm KK? same here.

cynthia, my gynae took my blood count at last appt which was wk 7 thn will be seeing him at wk 12 to know the result.

Thalassaemic is di4 zhong1 hai3 ping2 xue4 zheng4. Inherited gene, if both hubby and wife is minor, have to test if bb is major or minor. If none of family have history, then prob nothing to worry abt. But my gynae's blood test @ 5th mth consist of that too.

Autism was linked to MMR jabs...but tests conducted were not very conclusive and there were reports rejecting the linkage too.

I VERY sleepy.... ate too much for lunch already now feel like collapsing on my table... how to tahan till 7pm?

ya i agree, nowadays at our generations need to do so many tests. tink our medical standard had improved and therefore so many tests needed.

jazol,
nope.. my gynae is frm TMC.. Dr Wong.. but for the further test if both my hb and I is carrier.. den we have to go KK to take the test..

babycupid, why further test need to go KK? i tot TMC is one stop shop. They shd have everything wat.

Linda, i am also v tired. everyday noon i will catch a short nap of 20-30mins on my desk if possible.

Baby cupid
Aiyo wat die die wont la. If minor nothing one.

Juliet,
My bro also don have. My mum have so i kana it lo. But stil living normal so ok la no much impact except sometime getting more giddy.

Jazol,

My hb also civil servant but we also go TMC. i heard KK has long queues n my hb has no patience so he prefer private.

feifei,

If the cramp is not accompanied with any bleeding or discharge, it could be just that yr muscles is expanding, this is wat Dr Wong told me. Only if with bleeding then need to check with Gynae.

Cynthia,

I suspect i have cos i also have giddy spells sometimes (and my mum has giddy spells too) but my BP is also near low so hard to say. One nurse last time comment that maybe my blood has lack of iron tats why.

feifei,
U mean leg cramp or wat?
If leg cramp try not sit too long. Stand up slightly stretch ur leg ankle.
Another method to prevent leg cramp while sitting working on your pc is stretch ur leg straight, bend ur feet inward up and feel e tension of ur calf.

Y have leg cramp? Dun forget our sac is growing and bb is inside pressing our veins. So blood circulation will be affected too yeah.

ellysia,
ya lor.. dunno oso.. i was told that mus go KK check.. anyway.. everything got to wait till my test..

linda, how come u have to tahan until 7pm? u knock off at 7??

jazol, I'm also with kkh. my hubby and I are not civil servants....

ellysia, esp now preg we may tend to be giddy too.

Anyone have heart burn? Like heart is beating faster than before making so tight..

yeah..giddy.. that's why must drink lots of water... giddy cos blood vessels expanding and growing to reach out to placenta and baby..so our volume of blood cannot keep up with the expansion.. at least until 2nd trimester

Cynthia,

I have heart paipitation, heart beat faster sometimes then smetimes is ok. Like heart want to come out like that.

I ored ask gynae and she say is normal for preggy women, but if this occur until u cannot breathe or talk then must go emergency. Then gynae suggest to breathe in deeply but slowly then calm yr heart down.

I sometimes will get giddy if after exercise, or overtired (walk too much). That is so before i get preggy. At times, i will have fainting spells if i turn my head at one angle. Suspect is due to low BP.

i used to have palpitations a few years back due to work stress...i hate it! the heart seems to be constantly in the throat waiting to jump out!

ellysia, my hub's SIL told me tat at TMC oso must wait quite long smtimes half a day. my last chkup was only abt 3 hrs cos need to do the tests and scan. my gynae is a specialist and considered pte too.

I Hate Heart Palpitation (Heart burn).
I thought oni later stage which i suffered before. BUT funny recent keep feeling this way. Crazy man. MS plus this more crazy!

But i stil eat. Today have craving for laksa! So my lunch is sinful Laksa. I love cockles bt cant take.. sob sob.

Already think of dinner. Going to cook western tonight. Grill Chicken Thigh with Spare Rib sauce and whipped potaoes.. broccoli and corn soup! Cant wait for dinner.. must try to make bb love food now. Hope all these misery go away fast and eat well without worrying to vomit...

Jazol,
Wow wait so long? If 3hrs i wil go crazy... but make fully use of the 3hrs like having short meals. For me still ok with my gynae. I remember last time i see him faster is within 10mins. I was quite lucky. After he see me he rush to delivery! Phew..

cynthia, jazol, my gynae is at TMC too, when i went for my first visit on sat, my appt is at 10am, but i got to see her only at 1pm. i am told it is usu a long wait to see her (Dr W K Tan) anyone here also seeing Dr Tan?

cynthia, i also crave for Laksa! thick gravy yum yum! i also luv cockles but too bad gotta give up for bb sake! wow seems like u have a gd dinner waiting for u tonite! :p

Ellysia.
The nurse gave me a something like card lor, yellow in color with some labels with my name and details on it for oscar test...

Then sicne i am taking e thalessimia test, I made payment last time so during e oscar test day, only need to draw blood for that..I paid $100+ for the thalessimia tests leh...ex lor..but no choice...

Ellysia,Cythia,
But mine is hands cramp leh...fingers...duno y also...

Cythia,
I hv lor, find my heart beating faster, then soemtimes breathless too..

cynthia, heart palpitation is not heart burn...Heartburn is a painful or burning sensation in the esophagus, just below the breastbone caused by regurgitation of gastric acid. The pain often rises in the chest and may radiate to the neck, throat, or angle of the jaw. ...

i got heart burn last time when in my 3rd tri. the throat was so uncomfy!

someone looking for me? me napping and juz woke up....will post updated table shortly. hey, anyone knows if preggie hard to find job? thinking of finding a job....

starmoon, hw r u lately? think finding a job nt tat tough cos I hv a fren who's pregnant when she got a job bt had to go on unpaid maternity leave as the MOM law is hv to at least 180 days b4 goin on paid maternity leave. thk God that I had joined my current co earlier and 2 mths later i got pregnant. hehe...

is anyone here using kose or garnier products? I'm wondering if these are safe to use during pregnancy. I believe kose products have a very small amount of salicilyic acid.. which is unsafe if used in large amounts but normal cleanser and toner should be okay. I'm wondering about garnier light cleanser, kose massage serum and black mask is safe to use.

hi Ellysia
So nice, can sleep in office... I cannot leh, not very nice cos my office small, everyone can see everyone... Scali I snore how?? :p

Hi iamsnow,
yeah i knock off 7pm. I start at 10am.

Wow cynthia, you making me drool leh!!! Despite my super heavy lunch, I can still visualise your hot steamy juicy chicken thigh...somemore got brocoli & corn soup!! YUMMY!!! Hmm... this weekend must go for steaks or western meal liao!! I dying for sambal and drowning that spicy stuff with ice coke...
Like when I carrying my girl last time leh.

Hi jazol,
Waiting time depends on gynae lah... Sometimes mine can be quite fast, but if so happens he go for delivery, wow, I rather give up and see him some other day man! Even though he only delivers at Mt E where his clinic is, it can still take very long to wait for him when that happens lor.

Starmoon,
wei, you make people envy leh, just woke up from nap wor!! Me trying to fend off sleep lor.

jazol, me lately feeling better liao....though still tired all the time...was thinking of getting a job when i go into 2nd tri when the energy level is back. hmm, forgo the maternity leave huh....guess no choice since it prob takes time to look for a job. wow, luckily u go to the new company in time.

linda, u see me good i see u good
me got a small kid to take care so when she naps, i will nap too....if not super tired.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Age</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Child #</TD><TD>Area </TD></TR><TR><TD>mei</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>30-May</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>feifei</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC or Mt A</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Compassvale Lane </TD></TR><TR><TD>crystal 07</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lee I Wuen</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Yishun </TD></TR><TR><TD>belsi</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>3-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Joan Thong</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>East Coast </TD></TR><TR><TD>roxy</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>4-Jun</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>juliet08</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starmoon</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Eunos </TD></TR><TR><TD>iamsnow</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>babycupid</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>7-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Fernvale </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ellysia</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>7-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Ang Mo Kio </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angie_bb</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>11-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Hougang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Preciousmoments</TD><TD>22</TD><TD>11-Jun</TD><TD>Dr KC Yeo</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Bukit Batok </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jazol</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>11-Jun (TBC)</TD><TD>Dr C K Khoo</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Sengkang East Way </TD></TR><TR><TD>Veniz</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>14-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lim Teck Chye</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Redhill </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mogudog</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>15-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Compassvale Link </TD></TR><TR><TD>teragram</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>15-Jun (TBC)</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kylene</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>15-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Chua</TD><TD></TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Upper Bt Timah </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cynthia</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>18-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rena</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>19-Jun (TBC)</TD><TD>Dr Gordan Tan</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Bishan </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jesslyncheong</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>23-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Hougang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cactus_79</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>25-Jun</TD><TD></TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Luz</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>25-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Chew</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ND's girl</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>26-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>Krispy</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>26-Jun (TBC)</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Redhill</td></tr></table>

cactus,

For cosmetics/facial pdts, try not to use cos i read in pregnancy book, got 1- 2 chemicals inside
certain pdts are not safe (i forget the name). Anyway the pregnancy book i got frm Kino seems quite comprehensive, suggest u all got those comprehensive book so its easier for u to check stuff.

feifei,

I am not sure if the nurse do it correctly, cos the nurse who do for us is a bit blur. I will check with hb whether the nurse got collect extra $money for the other tests or not.

My MC is coming to an end, need to go back to work on thurs. gasp! not looking forward to it :p
my MS has been getting worse, often it will last the whole day. sigh

Linda,

Actually my desk is just next to big boss but i sneak some dozes while pretending to look at documents. Thats hw i sneak dozes at uni cos really v tired during classes.

shufen,

I tink yr gynae is the popular which many people go, i tink her name i read b4 somewhere. There is 1 gynae at TMC where many TCS artistics go to. That one i heard need to wait very long.

Jazol,

I am not sure how long is the tests at TMC cos haven't gone there yet, but i understand if the tests are taken by the clinic is quite fast.

So far waiting time at TMC (to see gynae) is 10min & 30min respectively.

Hi Starmoon,

Can update my information?
Age 25, EDD 5 June'08, Dr Mary Rauff, NUH, 1st Child, staying at jurong west.

Cactus,
I am not SGH staff, only a contractor there.
I asked one of the SGH staff, his wife got Dr Yu Su Ling as her gynae.

Kylene,
Since you are still so unwell, can get more MC from your gynae?

hi gers, my usual cosmetic saleslady was preggie just mid of tis yr and she con't using Clinique for her make-up & all. I did asked her then and she told me it is quite safe cos mainly natural pdts but stick to the basics such as moisturer, foundation, blusher & lip stick & lip gloss is fine. Others m/up jus refrain for the time being. now she had jus given birth to a cute little baby ger....
fyi, i m also on Clinique pdts now...

hi starmoon,
it is good to nap as and when your older one does. will help to keep energy up. I also do that on weekends. Even if my girl doesnt sleep, I also nap, dun care, 20 mins (1 Hi5 or Barney VCD) also good.

Hi ellysia
Wow, you power leh! How to nap while "looking" at documents? Will he walk in on you sometimes?

angie,
I've used up all my MC! only 14 days a yr and already taken 2 weeks. Lucky i didn;t take any pre-pregnancy. and i think this MS is likely to for a while more.