(2008/06) June 2008

Peachbloom,
=)...Me started wearing maternity pants since my 5th week...more comfy leh...

Angie,
Really?oh dear...or u try drinking soya bean milk instead of milk?

salmonfish,Ellysia,
SO 3 of us going for oscar test on 20th morning? scarli Ellysia is at 8.30am, me at 9am, salmonfish at 9.30am...hee..can email me your contact so that we can contact each other on that day...hee...My email is [email protected]

bb08,
Dun be sad ya...cos still early stage lor...Some of my frenz tummy only show in their wk 20 leh...As for me, my tummy abit showing, tink its all my fats previously..kee

All,
Going to bed now...nitez...

morning ladies!!!

wah.... the thread seems to be running very fast. out of curiousity, some of u here know each other personally???

i was reading thru some of your posts. how come when u visit your gynae, your gynae will tell u the test results such as hcg levels, sac how big etc?

when i visit my gynae, I never ask one leh. i only ask if everything is normal, everything growing well???? haha..... maybe i'm too ignorant abt such things....

I'm starting to experience MS.It's only my 6th week. Almost vommited a couple of times yesterday and this morning. I'm drinking fruit juice in office just to curb the nausea since it's sour and sweet (cranberry)!

My clothes are getting tighter too although I believe it's my fats and not baby. Does anyone have any place to recommend for maternity bottoms? I need something for work wear so not too casual and in dark shades.

cactus, I bought my maternity pants from toa payoh. quite cheap. I bought 3 pants and 3 tops for $150..... very comfortable also....

Hi bb08,
Sigh.. I'm also visiting weekly. My first visit was just last Friday, 2nd visit this coming Friday. Was asking the nurse if it's really necessary since gynae said bb looks like 5 weeks last Friday, so this week should only be 6 weeks. Dunno what he intends to see. Haha... But I guess it's better to be safe than sorry. He's still worried cos I don't have much pregnancy symptoms.

Iamsnow,
Gynae won't usually tell your how much are your hcg levels etc lar. Only how big the sac is and how many weeks along you are. The hcg levels are determined via a blood test and only done when gynae is afraid bb isn't growing well. Maybe you can ask gynae more in your next visit.

aiyo, isnt it good that tummy dun show??? i cant imagine at 5th my tummy is like 7th month, den when i 9th mth how?? even bigger.. piangz...

my tummy also very big leh. my clothes are all so tight, pple see already thought I'm already 4 mths pregnant..... I'm only 8 weeks leh..... *faint*. i already started wearing maternity pants in week 5.....

angie, I think u can take calcium pills. not nec thru milk. milk's calcium is not sufficient. but I have not started taking anything yet. the gynae say wait till 1st trimester over first.

Veniz, Salmonfish,

Hmm as for me lose weight for the 1st 3mth. Gynae was worried but lucky bb is still growing surprisingly. I only start to gainfrom 4th Mth and lose about 2kg before due as I keep having diarrhoea which is also a sign of delivery too. My gal was 3.3kg. So I lost all the weight before her 1st mth celebration. But doesnt seems much difference since I am on the plump side hehehe.

Just to share Natalie photo here. Saying Hi to every mummies and remember its worth to suffer all the hormones changes, weight gain, MS etc!

1045812.jpg

Angie,

There is alot others ways to get Calcium rather from milk. I didnt take much milk for my 1st gal too and I took alot of natural sources. I couldnt even take folic acid as once i pop e pills i vomit again.

Try taking cheese, dairy products, ikan bills, sardines with e soft bone. Folate can be those green leafy vege, broccoli, asparagus and other more.

I was advise that to take less of papaya as it may cause or increase level of jaundice to bb (cant rememeber wher i seen), less mango, less citrus fruits like orange. NO BANANA (those NTUC sell one DEL MONTE BRAND. MORE of apple, Kiwi, Strawberry... cant recall liao..

Basically I realise seems alot stuffs cant be eaten. Less of gas drinks la, coke la as they are also rich in caffine which is not good to bb. also cant take too much tea la. Wonder wat else we can take much

Hi cactus,

Ya she is the precious that always make our days crazy, angry, happy doing silly stuffs. Worthwhile to go through the process of pregnancy and see them grow too.

Angie - don't worry there are calcium pills you can take.

Cynthia - your daughter is such a cutie!
I also didn't put on weight for my 1st trimester, but last trimester actually put on a lot! haha.. must be CNY. But all went to me instead of baby!

feifei - what time is your pm appt with Dr Wong on 20th? I will email you soon!

bbo8 - don't worry abt tummy not showing.. for my #1, tummy only showed when I was abt 6 months, and by 7 months people thought I was only 4 months preggie. First baby is like that.

Now I wish I have that too, coz' baby #2, all the muscles are weak already, so tummy protrudes out very fast. Now 8 weeks, already looks like 5 months then! haha..

Cynthia,
Thanks for your info. I am very kia si ... I dun dare to eat a lot of food.
I totally dun take papaya, banana, orange and grape. No ice cream, no cold soft drinks too.
I only limit myself with 1/2 - 1 cup of coffee per day.

As for cheese, do u know whether those slice cheese are safe to take?

Ok, I will try to take more dairy products, sardines, veg and etc.
Thanks for your info.

Angie,
Understooded lor..>DUn be sad, speak to ur gynae and see if he has any other choices for u lor..Maybe he will let u take calcium pills?

salmonfish,
My appt is 9am lor, 30mins b4 urs..hee...Okie...

I've heard that papaya and carrots cause jaundice in baby's skin.. but it is not "harmful" jaundice.

Jaundice is not harmful - but it is a sign that kidneys are not working well. Carrots and papaya do not cause kidneys to not work well.. instead they are very rich in beta carotene and normal people, including us, would have a problem digesting that beta carotene if consumed in large amounts.

It's the same reasoning that breast fed babies have jaundice, although doctors are not concerned with this sort of jaundice cos it doesn't mean that the baby's kidneys are failing.

Hi Salmon fish,

My next appt (i.e. Oscar) is also on 20 Nov, early morning. My appt with Dr Wong is 10plus.

iamsnow,

Yr maternity clothes look cheap! Which shop u go at Toa Payoh? I go AMK cannot find, i also want cheaper ones.

Btw, i went to gynae she also never tell me sac how big etc. I tink maybe only blood test then can know more.

feifei are youapplying for the FBI card? I did for my #1 and it's quite worth it. If you want should apply right before you go for OSCAR.

Hi Angie,

Ya cactus right. Slice cheese is ok. I took slice cheese. Esp Kraft is my fav. I took wholemeal bread too cos more healthy rich with fibre. Sometime when we preg may constipate too. SO remember drinks lotsa water. BUT not much water before sleep as it may cause water retention and our feet swell too. Also will keep waking up to pee pee too yeah.

Tummy
---------
I suppose its individual bah. As long bb is growing think tummy growth not a big concern. For mi now stil ok cos i already have tummy hehehe. Only remember my tummy grow a bit when I was 5mths plus. No worries la. BB growing most impt okie.

Breast
---------
For sure our breast wil grow one or even more size bigger as milk ducts are building now too. So try to get bigger size bra for better comfort and try get bra extension which can help save us more $$$ too.

Hi all, I've juz went for my blood test at 8:30am for down syndrome test. Luckily, the nurse was very experiencce and not painful at all... glad that there r still some good nurse afterall... hahaha

My MS is not getting better... My gynae given me advise soon it'll go away... Haiz, when...? I've juz weight myself, lost 6kg! But Gynae said " still muz eat". How

cactus,
If I am not wrong, the shop at Toa Payoh closes at ard 8.30pm to 9pm.
Btw, thanks for the advice.

salmonfish,
I think I will ask my gynae for the calcium pills tonight.
Wondering what can I see from the ultrasound tonight ... very excited!!

Hi Sparks,

Ya stil must eat. Try soupy food or more fruits. Maybe take porridge instead of rice.Even its 2-3mouthful better than none okie. U need energy too. SOon it will be over don think of it. All of us are together going through the same with you so we must.... get over it!

salmonfish,

Nope. 10am, i won't be able to see results. Just routine check up only. If u want results u have to see her at 5pm. But that will mean a whole day leave, no point. So i told nurse i want to see Dr Wong after my tests, then next day then the clinic will call to inform the test results. Anyway if anything not sure, can always ask back Dr Wong on next visit.

ellysia - but why must see dr wong for routine check after oscar? i remember for my #1, after oscar when I went back to dr wong, she didn't go a scan. Just went thru' the results, that's it.

Ellysia & cactus, the place where i bought my maternity clothes:

Carrano @ Toa Payoh central, blk 185, #01-334, tel 62523791. or AMK central, blk 720, #01-4126. i know they have other outlets at beauty world, bendemeer & bencoolen. not sure of the address though. u can call and check them out.....

as for the opening hrs, I'm not sure.... can call and ask...

hi ladies, morning! thread moved pretty fast since yd. spent the whole morning catching up in b/w tackling my official emails too.

Food Aversion: -
i also having an allegy or shd i say aversion to milk pdts. 1st turnoff was the fresh milk from supermkts, then i turn to soya. then after drinking for a couple of wks, i vomit immediately after having soya. so switch to milo n holicks, still the same. in fact, now if you let me ve things like creamy pasta, cheese, etc.i cant even bear to look at them...
somemore my fave before preggie.

Maternity Wear: -
hb say i not showing too except in tight fit tops - a bit of like had an extra heavy lunch leftover kinda of punch. m now in my 9th wks. my usual tops & skirts are still alrite but pants are kinda of tight, so ve bought a couple of work pants from Perfect Mum @ Suntec & Swell @ Paragon. However, Swell is slightly more ex compared to Perfect Mum but the cut is nice. Maybe u gers wan to check it out if happen to be in e area?

Next Appt: -
my next appt with gynae will be on 23rd Nov. quite a long while to go...curious also to know how much my little "hammy" has grown (nick given by hb lah, kekekkeke....). @ last count of 7+ wks, gynae measured him or her at 1.5cm.

hi angie, curious. Why cannot cut nails? Is there a taboo on this cos not oni i still cutting my nails n all, i even went for my medi & pedi still...is tat ok? wanted to try rebonding but hb dun allow...

Hi cactus,

I bot my maternity frm Spring (AMK hub) and Perfect mum (The arcade near raffles pl mrt).

I also bot some maternity panties from perfect mum, v comfortable.

Guess need to buy maternity bottoms (skirts and pants), bra (dun buy maternity bras as they are mostly for nursing, just buy one cup bigger can ored), panties (buy elastic and big ones so can last longer).

Remember maternity bottoms have to fit yr buttocks and hips, not yr waist cos the waist is adjustable.

crystal, pls do not do rebonding. the chemicals are harmful for the baby. as for pedi and mani, I don't think it will cause any harm.... except for excessive inhaling of nail polish....

Hi Salmonfish,

I dunno, the clinic just arrange my appt to be 10.30am. They say it is okie no need to opt to go at 5pm if we are not desperate for results.

maybe dr wong will still do a normal scan? not sure.

Hi crystal,

My first turnoff is Garlic! And it's veg (stalk like veg). Can smell it from 3km away! My frds sent me a package from HK - guz wat, all maternity dresses! They've bought it cheap there as i complain here the maternities are very expensive!

Hi gals, I have read all your posts, but very fast forget most already. Sorry...

Oh, Cynthia, your gal very cute. 14mth only rite? Can be my son's gf? heehee, joking.

Last night till now is a torture to me. I am still having my heaty throat, cough and nose block. Last week was having a left eye infection, Sat recovered but Sun the redness came back again. Last night, eye felt much better and now, my right eye got infected. I really dunno wat to do, even though I have been using the eye drops from GP. Can't afford to take leave and mc as last week took two days already. Now having to wear specs is killing me as I prefer to wear contact lens.

Not only that, I slept early at 9pm, woke up midnight with a major headache which I still can feel part of the headache now. Seems like today is not a good day for me.

veniz, u also sick? i same as u. sore throat, cough, blocked nose plus fever. quite an agony!!! want to take mc also dun dare. i took too many mc liao. now try to 'dong' by the day loh....

i think u try to take more fruits. maybe it will help.

thanks jamsnow, will avoid rebonding then...
also cant colour or highlight then... cos a number of weddings coming up from frens, wanna to look good when attend, so was thinking of it. now tat i can see where this is coming from, will avoid lar - better safe than sorry rite?

hi cynthia, yur ger is so cute n sweet...very tempted to hug ley but cant cos we in cyber.....hahahahha...

hey veniz, take today easy then, dun push yurself too hard yeah....

Hey Ellysia,
I saw your post on quering when you can tell the size of the sac. U should be able to see the sac when a scan is done. I saw mine at 4 weeks 6 days!

iamsnow, ya, i thinking later getting apple juice. Lunchtime still have to get barang barang for office, dunno going or not, no mood (Have to take cab to IMM to get). My husband scolded me, tell me see doc more impt, if can take MC. Told him cannot take mc, he just cannot understand my company's being small. I really feel like tearing out my nose, throat and ears that vein canal. Urrgghh.

Who is going to source for maternity wear at Suntec? I am thinking of going on Thurs or Fri evenings but can only reach there at 7.15 - 7.30pm after work. Who is interested to check it out with me?

veniz, my hubby also keep asking me to take mc. but i feel so pai seh having take so many mc already.... that time was on 2 weeks mc woh....

i feel so drowsy now. i think i drank too much cough syrup. having bad cough. woke up in the middle of the nite to take cough syrup.... since wake up until now, seems like I'm floating in the sky..... aiyo.... later still got meeting to attend.

anyone has any idea when will the sac develop and start forming into a baby?

Hi iamsnow,

I think about 4 or 5 weeks? I know the heart starts to develop at 5 weeks? It is stage by stage. I think the placenta starts to form about 4 weeks.

you can check out babycenter.com

hi gers!

wow i missed so many posts. i access to the forum only during office hrs as whn I reached will knock almost after dinner.

glad to hear that all of you are doing fine. i had a bad day yesterday, was vomitting non-stop and no appetite to eat so vomitted all the gastric juice out.

veniz, ur gal is so cute.