(2008/06) June 2008

oic....my gynae did advice against taking chinese herbs, etc during preg esp 1st couple of trimsters which make my MIL very upset, show me black face cos i refuse to take...blah..

gosh rena, better be careful cos coffee may make yr stomach worst if u are sick.

Try not to eat medicine during 1st trimester.. my colleagues ask me to avoid medicine and try to self medicate if possible.

Hi crystal,

My MIL gave me ginseng chicken soup which my hb help to drink secretly cos i am not sure whether 1st trim can eat tonic or not. I read somewhere that cannot drink tonics during 1st trim.

My colleague told me to take bird nest frm 2nd trim onwards.

Ellysia,
I also heard its better not to take tonic during 1st trim cos too bu liao..

Agreed with u that maternity wear super ex...Its best to wear perfect mum pants cos they are bery comfortable though ex...me also bot frm them...

Rena,
Oh dear....tink beter dun drink coffee 1st ya...drink more water...

hi ellysia, think better to eer on side of caution lar. i also dun take, tat's y my MIL show me black face lor. in fact she told me if chinese physician sure say can take chinese herbs. she nvr heard say cannot take. i almost retort her there n then tat i m seeing an english educated gynae, not a chinese ed sinseh! makes my blood boil...she had been doing / saying other things tat made me almost going into depression as well...but tat's another story...dun wan to bore u ladies here.

julie,

did u avoid the scene?

Btw my hb shifting our bed to find a escaping cockroach then my mum was shouting like anyting (cannot shift furniture around).

Crystal, Ellysia, your MILs so fast and good, so early provide herbal soups for you. I dun think mine will. At most she will buy some herbs and dry birdnest (using my hubby $$) and tell me to cook myself.

Not saying she no good, but if she cook herbal soup for me, her dear daughter will keep up a very big fuss, scolding her in vulgarities if she finds out. This happened once and the best part, she doesn't even drink herbal soup, pure jealousy I think.

Anyway, i find normal ginseng chicken soup should be ok (not those added with lots of other funny herbs) provided you drink small/half a bowl lor. My gynae also said best to avoid herbs first.

Sashimi, I was also tempted to eat. But last week, when I sat infront of my ordered sashimi sushis (being forced to order coz I only want to eat the udon soup which comes in a set meal), I don't have the craving. Lucky can dabao back home for my hubby to eat. I tell myself, at least I can't eat, but see hubby eat also good enough lor, heehee. Just ren these few months for the sake of a healthy baby.

crystal,

my MIL thought that should take more tonics during 1st trimester.

My mum told me not to take chinese medicine (an tai yao) during 1st trim bec' she said her gynae told her can cause "huang dan bing" to baby. She said she take chinese tonics when having me and i have "huang dan bing" when born and she has take me to sun, then gynae told her not to drink so for my younger bro, my mum no take and my bro no such illness.

Huh? Shift bed and hit nails in office wall cannot huh? Oh no, I thinking of buying a new child bed for my son early next yr. If like that I dunno how to train him to sleep alone.

Oh, btw, sewing in own bedroom, esp on bed also no no. Depends on how pantang you are. Some say cannot even touch needles.

my mum already tells me not to shift anything in my house...no drilling no nailing..haha...

but me catholic mah, so not really pantang...so i was telling my angmoh colleague jus now that it's a taboo for preggie to be near any nailing...hahaha

My colleague just told me my face become fatter (sob)..i wonder how come so fast become fat?.. my arms also like bloated a bit. shucks.

If cannot avoid hitting nails or moving furniture, maybe do it when preggy mum is not in the house.

I only believe the hit nail thing, move furniture one i am not v sure. but tat nite, the cockroach run around our bed, if dun catch i tink i cannot sleep. in the end, still cannot catch it.

hey veniz, we c u gd, u c us gd - grass always greener on the other pasture.
kekekke... i rather my mil leave me alone, see my other post here & u prob get a better pic

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/1018778.html?1192497549

hmmm...for herbal soups by MIL, my 1-cent worth take on your situation is tis. Ignore yur SIL, not worth stressing over, jus treat her as crazy cos she can even use vulgularities @ her own mum. i used to do herbal soups on weekends for hubby n myself - quite easy lar. after yur 1st trim or so, head down to the chinese medical halls / supermkts (ie ntuc) & get the pre-packed herbal soup ingredients. then get fresh pork or chicken from the market, wash throughly and then double boil for 3 hrs or so. if u like some taste, sprinkle some salt before serving & BINGO! there u r! do your own or get yur hubby to help u, quite easy one, dun rely on yur MIL lar...

hope tis helps...

During my last visit to gynae, my wt is 57.5KG. My normal wt is 55kg means i am heavier by 2.5KG.

Waistline is definitely thicker, stomach ored protrude out.

I guess for me, its v easy to guess cos i am normally slim and flat tummy... so v obvious.
My colleauges (those married ones) can even guess i am preggy even when i didnt tell them. they just guess frm my figure.

Ellysia,

don worry/or take it to heart when ppl/colleagues mention "fat" directy or indirectly to u... U muz think on the brighter side... u r having/creating a life within u... It's the best and most wonderful thing that will happen to a women... Cheers to all MTBs...

during my last visit to gynae, I gained 3kg. last week gained 2kg. this week lost 1kg coz I was sick. so all in all, I gained 4kg!!!

my tummy very big, i guess is bloated.... a lot of pple can tell already.... as if I'm in 3/4 mths... aiyo...

ellysia, my normal knock off time is 6 also... but fri can knock off half and hr earlier.... it's okie, we can chat... time will fly....

gosh! i guess mine is the same, bloated.

Gynae ored say it is due to bloatness.

How to reduce the air besides drinking yakult? Gynae says can take Eno. Have any of u taken?

iamsnow,

If i dun look at forum I tink i fall asleep soon! every noon 3pm to 4pm is my time that i feel like concuss on table.. and cannot help falling asleep.

I ored sleep earlier around 10pm/11pm but still i feel so so tired and not enuff sleep..sometimes wake up will have backache, i wonder do u all same as me.

Btw, sometimes i forget to take folic acid and the hormone medicine, i take them after i get back home (i.e. at night) though it says morning, i hope no big effect.

i took yakult. but does not help a lot.

i sometimes time a few sips of soft drinks to burp some gas out.... hee hee...

I tink i must find a way to force the air out bec' i dun feel hungry when bloated (but may be hungry), it make food less tasty and makes me moody over food..

Maybe i try Eno then let u all know whether good or not.

Ha, Crystal, saw your thread, your mil hse sure have many pple. Mine is not so bad, only one old jealous SIL (but she really dote on my elder son) who is like a plump princess of the family.

My first confinement, I insisted to do it back at my mum's place as MIL hse very small (small 4room flat, with six adults. She couldn't help me). My mum and aunt/ grandma took turn take care of me. PIL came to visit and MIL even said she offered to engage CL to do at her hse, but I didn't want to (hello, i never get to hear this from her, what is she toking about?) Well, everything went smoothly, except I more backached and C-section wound not heal properly. So this time round, told hubby, i going to do it at our own hse and engage a CL to properly take care of me. MIL still not sure want to help me take care of the 2nd baby or not.

As for herbal soup, ah, that time, it was real bad, but then, I thought, I preggie, not her. If she preggie, sure can drink everyday one. Not like me, only once during preggie time. So, I normally went back to my mum's hse have herbal soups (my inlaws do not like me to cook stuff in their kitchen when I was staying there). I do not rely on her lar, no point. Just share that horrid experience. I will take your advise, go get the packs to cook at home like normal soup for whole family to drink, heehee. Also, will cook more birdnest share with my hubby and son during 2nd trimster. Aiya, now tok about birdnest, drooling liao lor.

Ellysia,
Maybe u can try to drink ginger tea? It works for me lor..

All,
Talking abt nailing or cutting on our bed...hmm...this one I strongly believe cos I seen an example...My fren write on her bed, when her boy boy born, has a faint line on his face...Lucky now no more liao...Thats wat my fren told me lor...hmm....Its always better to believe it cos concern abt our precious BB =D..

Juliet,
this Birkenstock slippers, are they comfy?

ellysia, better not take lah, i think better to listen to yur mum. i say so cos i read some of the preggie books tat i bought from kino & my gynae also says the same, so i also refrain from doing my own herbal soup. oni taking folic, Probotics & Vit C which my gynae says ok to.

hey juliet, i initally lost 3 kg in the 1st 5 wks and now starting to put them back on, so think equates out. can still put on my usual skirts n pants though starting to tighten.

Hi feifei,

where to get ginger tea? I heard it also help to curb MS.

Shifting furniture means what? I hope everything is okie..

Veniz,

I may also cook my own herbal soup cos i prefer simple simple one, not sure my MIL one add wat items (cos some may not be suitable for me).

Birdnest, i intend to ask hb to get MIL to buy for us.. cos we wanna save $$.

iamsnow, my knock off time also 6pm leh, but I not so good as you, can knock off earlier. have to stay till exactly 6pm then can out of office

ellysia, u can get ginger tea from ntuc. it comes in a packet form. those 3 in 1 packet. very convenient. but I dun like ginger tea. i find it very yucky.....

birkenstock shoes r comfy if ur dun hv flat foot or high arch...i hv a bit of flat foot so it's not VERY comfy for me...but most pple quite like it...u can go to their stores here (they hv one in raffles city and world of sports also sell) n try them on and check the size then order online...

Tuesday iwent to see gyane but he did not give me any folic to eat...?? how??? I cannot remember when he give me folic for my first one already.. seems so far......

My GP gave me folic acid when i confirmed my pregnancy at week 5. I ate then gynae gave me more during my 1ast 2 visits. I dun tink i can finish them all during 1st trim.

Btw this is my 1st pregnancy and unexpected one (cos we never plan) so a bit caught aback then many stuff to settle. I have to freeze my gym membership for 12 mths. Also have to cancel my travel package to Jiu Zhai Gou (dec trip), instead we may change to another destination but haven't confirm any plans yet.

In addition, company got staff day whereby got games to play, so i have no choice but to let HR know my condition cos i cannot participate.. become helper, tink maybe by that day the whole company knows..

Ellysia,
Ginger tea can be bot frm NTUC lor, I bot Super brand one...those pkt type..Tried and find it effective for me..Drink liao tummy hot hot one..

iamsnow,
i start work at 8am but reach office be4 7am...hee

folic is actually a vitamin for the baby (if i din recall wrongly). When u do not have the appetite to eat, this pill helps to gave baby vitamins. If you don't find it right, u can go other normal clinic to purchase it if the appointment for ur gyane is far away.

I have my first pill from normal clinic, then my gyane gave me additional pills which last till the next appointment.

Ok tink i try ginger tea first before Eno.. i am trying to avoid medicine if possible..
last week i have heavy flu i also 'ren' and dare not take medicine, keep taking fruits.

Ellysia, my MIL most probably will get birdnest, but I am sure she will use hubby's cash, coz they have share bank account. So its still our money. Anyway, last month, when I was TTC, I already got my mum to get some from Thailand which she gave us as gift. So MIL doesn't buy also nevermind, can save $$ also.

feifei, when I was preggie, we bought a new bed, but when they shifted in, I wasn't around. But then, son comes out, with left leg toes, all shorter than the right leg ones. My mum suspect it because of the shifting of bed. But we can't do anything now, as son's toes will not grow out to be same as the normal ones. Lucky thing is he still can walk and jump around like normal kids, only toes do not look nice.

hi veniz, so now u say i get pre-natal depression or not lar...sian...

whopppeeee!!! 1/2 hr more can knock off. thanks god for all the mummies / mummies to be here, if not i sure went mad, today seem extremely long. finally can knock off soon...

btw, my stomach not reai bloated yet, not sure ok or not ley? i m 1.6m & wt 52/53kg b4 preg, now still ard the same wtg, shd be ok yeah....? *keeping fingers cross*

oh, n i do mending, etc stil but in the living rm, my mil also say cant do in bedroom. my hubby lagi better, ask me not to do even in living room, bring over to my mil hse n ask maid to do. my mil no choice, so offer to then do it for me in front of her son. HA! for moving furnitures, nailing all these, my hubby would do it at hm when i not ard lah. but in office, i still use scissors / penknife, etc if necessary. not patang, shd be ok, rite? i also not sure...

oh no veniz, i hope mine be okie! shucks shifted the bed and i am inside the bedroom some more

Why yr hb share acct with yr mum? he shd share acct with u wat..