(2008/06) June 2008

Hi jesslyn, at the moment, my hb gives my MIL $800/mth. I wouldn't give my MIL any extra $ to look after baby. But I would buy all the necessary items so that my MIL won't need to spend on the baby and I will set aside $200/month to buy my MIL things which she likes. The reason is cos my hb doesn't like us giving more to his mom... he thinks he's already giving alot...

but I'm open to getting a maid to help my MIL look after the baby though.

Oh.. just to add.. I give my parents $200/month. My ILs have 2 other children who are working and also giving them monthly allowance...

Hi luz,

yeah..me trying to think positively. But I think even with parents to help, I will still have to get a maid. We'll prob ask my MIL to look after baby till 1 year old, then ask my mom to look after baby. But the same maid will follow through. Cos my MIL not educated.. we are scared her dialect accent influence the baby. My mom is a graduate and studied child pyschology and music theraphy before.. so we feel she is a better stimulator for the baby.

Hi mummies to be sorry to intrude wanna check with u all anyone need milk powder ... for preggy woman one cos I have lotsa sample and I dun drink I find is a waste if you all need can email me [email protected] I can send to you all cos I feel is a waste ....

cheryl,
your tiny pimples come so fast ah. that time mine was in 2nd trimester then come ley, then is the chin and jaw area. i really gave up hope, then i see a specialist during the 3rd trimester bcos another mummy encourage me to see doctor. i tot no hope liao mah. so really is very individual case.

luz
ya lor i think hubby kpo better also lah. Last week I just quarrel with him cos his mum and my mum told him cannot eat mutton cos scared of 'yang dian feng' so I told him i read so many reference books also never say cannot eat mutton and we are educated people how can believe this kind of old wives tale. But he insist that if I eat and something happen only have myself to blame!

cheryl
me too I'm having outbreaks! Oh dear!!

Hi Cactus and Cheryl,
Trying my best not to over-react now. Was so happy to wake up without any of the usual cramps and breast soreness till I googled what it meant just now. After that, panicked till now.

My gynae is Dr Fong Yang. He runs 3 clinics and could be at one clinic or the other. He has an emergency number, but I don't think this can be classified as an emergency. I saw that he'll be around my clinic from 630pm today but definitely no slots unless I can convince the receptionist / nurse that it's urgent.

I haven't had my first scan yet. The last time I saw him was to get a second opinion over our 1.5 year infertility. Called them up earlier this week and the earliest he could see me was this coming Monday. Was so looking forward to see the scan and everything especially after reading so much about what you girls saw. Now I'm just scared.

Hi cactus_79 ,frankly speaking ur husband is given quite alot as for mine my husabnd gif $300 as we got other things to settle.& my sister in law oso got give my MIL allowances oso.but i just dun noe how much to add on to gif her?

cactus,
yup get a maid is best, if not very siong! bcos young baby and toddler more difficult to look after. normally elderly not so much energy to cope ley.
just imagine washing milk bottles and sterilizing, changing diapers, feeding. i feel that if i do it alone without help, i will be very stressful and tired.

luz

my breakout start at 1st tri but not so bad lah... btw, i m in my mid 2nd tri liao lah. few more weeks to 3rd tri... omg...

cactus! ur hb really gives a lot leh! must be high income earner la! kekeke

me give in total $600 to my folks...$300 each...give until i jelly leg & green face..haha..i dun think i'll increase $$ to my folks leh..but will pay for the bb stuff lor...my folks also noe we dun earn much, so won't ask for me...in fact, some time ago, she tell me no need to give so much, save some on our own...but hb n i not really the saving kind, so we'll jus end up spending more...might as well give my folks...haha...

HI Krispykreme,

I think you should just go to KKH's 24 hr clinic. Dont bother wasting time tracking your doctor's whereabouts. It should give you an answer immediately.

I'm not suggesting a miscarriage, but you are obviously anxious and it won't do your bb any good. It's best to get it settled now.

krispy
try dun think too much. when i knw i preg, cos i miss my period like 1 mth liao.. but gynae cant scan anything, in the end i realise i ovulate really very late tat y it only 1 mth later den i test positive.... when my gynae scan nth, i panick, cos scare ectopic... but heng, it is not

btw, hw many week u shd be now??? sometime too early might not be able to scan anything unless v scan

hello all
Initially I didnt want to say this as pantang but now I realised I must share my testimony to share God's grace and love for us all and let everyone know not to give up hope.

I'm currently 8weeks pregnant and have been a silent reader on this thread. I'm sorry to hear about littlemini and noscon's loss and hope this will encourage them.

The past 8 weeks have been a nightmare and I've already been hospitalised twice. On my 5th week I had red bleeding and I thought that was it, am I going to have a second m/c so soon? I was admitted into hospital and when doctor scanned me, could only see a sac and no baby yet. Praise God, the bleeding stopped and I was put on jabs, medicine and MC for next 2 weeks. I went to see gynae again at my 6 week, this time, gynae actually detected 2 sacs! But only one of them had a baby inside, the other sac was a blighted ovum. I was devastated to hear that but I was glad God at least gave me one gift of life. Everything went well for me and at my 7th week visit with gynae ( I was seeing gynae weekly, burning big hole in pocket..) he told me everything seems ok and had no jab that day. Who knew that suddenly 2 days after my visit, I had heavy bleeding again... this time it was worst than my first one. I was just standing up when I could feel the blood oozing down my legs, by the time I did a ultrasound scan, I had already used up 2 pads all full of blood, much more than what I normally will bleed on menses. On the way to TMC, me and hubby were prepared for worst and I was tearing quietly. Actually we were both very tired already as we had tried our best but still nothing seem to work. At that point, I thought of giving up, cause I was having bad appetite, MS, bloatedness and I keep bleeding. Then I remembered my ultrasound picture and how my little peanut looked and I prayed to God to keep baby safe and for God to do his will and we will accept his will. My sisters were praying that God keep baby safe in His hands despite these heavy bleeding.

God heard our prayers and kept baby heartbeat growing strong despite the heavy bleeding. Gynae said mine was a case of threatened miscarriage and warded me immediately. It was the thought that everything is in God's hands that let me sleep peacefully that night. 2 days later, gynae did another scan for me and baby had grown to 1.5cm and had a BPM of 159 despite all odds and I was discharged. Till now I am still having brown discharge, but I know I am in the safe hands of our loving father.

FYI, I had a dnc (miscarriage) done in Mar when baby heartbeat turned weak and stopped in my 7th week in my previous pregnancy. I am not a strong Christian and I kinda treated God like a vending machine, ie only come to him when I needed him. But I am hoping that through this miracle baby, my walk with him will be closer. My sister once told me about her friend who told God that if He ever gave her twins, she will come back to church and she really had twins. I was just thinking in my heart, God will you give me twins as a sign too to let me come back to you, but I will be contented with just one. And before I knew I was pregnant I had 2 separate dreams, first one that gynae scanned me having twins and the second dream that I delivered only one child. Only when gynae really scanned me with twin sacs then I realised the dreams were probably God's way to tell me he knows my heart's desire.

Womb bleeding is very dangerous especially in 1st trimester as there is the likelihood that the bleeding will just wash away the sac and baby. But despite all these heavy bleeding,baby is safe and growing strong and I know this is only possible because God is keeping baby safe in his hands

Sorry if I sound so long and preachy. I still have a long way to go and everyday I'm scared of having bleeding again but I feel more peaceful in knowing that I'm leaving everything to God's will. To all MTBs who had bleeding or not, let's not give up and encourage each other here.

Yah.. my husband is giving alot.. but that's not what he wanted to give actually. He used to only give $300, then MIL wanted more. So he gave $500. Then MIL wanted more. So he asked how much? MIL said $1k. Then after he proposed to me, he told his mom he had to give her less - $800. So it became $800 now. But pls beileve me.... finances are very very tight for us. It's quite crazy. Every month, I only have $300 to spend on myself. (luxuries/movies/shopping lah). Meals, I only budget $10/day.I work in CDB area..raffles place. no choice. My husband also very very thrifty. we dun have car

sorry for the long message, can please help me update my details pls... EDD: 4th June 08 and gynae is Dr LC Cheng (TMC), 1st child

I'm also having alot of bloatedness but the worst is the "wei suan", want to vomit but keep vomitting out air and gastric juices and no appetite....

ndzgirl,
wow looks like your hubby also very demanding when coming to the "rules" haha then hor we will have a hard time liao, aiyah i kept telling myself nm after 9 months, i can do whatever i like heee just tahan and shout at him if i cannot take it

krispy,
dun worry so much, really some mummy won't experience the MS and symptoms but still have normal bb 1. really envy those lucky mummies

Hi roxy,
Thanks for sharing your story. I'm not a strong Christian either... hb neither. It's a good reminder that He is always there for us and everything happens according to His plan and with a reason.

Thanks Cheryl!!!
How are you and baby?
Me still early only 8 weeks and had so much bleeding also very worried... but just leave everything to God ah....

Hello Cactus
You are welcome. Me neither is a strong Christian but wanted to share this story to encourage everyone not to give up, especially those who have bleeding.
My hubby not Christian also but I'm hoping he will be swayed by God's grace through our baby

Thanks so much for the words of encouragement. I'm currently coming up to 6 weeks.

I read more online and some were saying that the symptoms can be there for one day, disappear the next and come back the day after. Dunno why but I felt better after reading that. Haha... Maybe I'm just being extremely emotional and hubby isn't around, so no pillar of strength. So far, I haven't had any bleeding or spotting, so maybe I'm just one of those 'lucky' few. But how I wish I'm unlucky and would get some of the symptoms so I'd know everything is going well.

Roxy,
You've gone thru so much. I hope the rest of your pregnancy will be perfect and without so many worries. Hugs.

krispy

yes.. in my 1st tri, i have sore breast but sometime dun have at all.. so dun worry. as long as no bleeding or spotting..

who say i have no idea ah?? when i in my 1st tri, i keep worrying no stop... whenever i eat something den i realise cant eat, i will keep think think till my gynae appt... if i will to go see gynae whenever i feel not ok, my hb scold me,say i think too much, wont happen, think too much oso will happen

u shd be abt to see ur bb n heartbeat on monday...
the feeling is really good

Thanks Cheryl! Everyday I tell the little one I am proud of him/her coz he/she is so strong. But no matter what happens, me and hubby are prepared for it liao. We are staying positive and trusting God!! I'm also hoping the bleeding was due to the other blighted ovum but seems to be womb having blood clots, gynae says womb still unstable. I'm counting down to end of 1st trimester! Lucky you, 1st trimester over liao and no more MS liao!

Krispy... thanks!! Hope my testimony can encourage all mothers here, even if they have discharge/bleeding or not. I also read that MS means higher hormones and hence better. But my nurse told me not true, so dun worry so much. In addition you are not up to 6th week yet, MS normally appears after 6 weeks. Mine started abt 6 weeks plus too and I rather I had no MS. You are one of lucky few not to have....

Hahaha... Did you happen to have any other symptoms in your first tri?

I'm not even sure whether the uneasy feeling I feel in my stomach now is cause I panicked, or maybe my body telling me not to worry and everything's fine. Is it a compulsory thing for the gynae to do a blood test and measure Hcg in our first visit?

cactus, maybe after your baby is born, your MIL will say u can give less $$? My MIL told my hubby that when baby is born, he can give her less allowance cos we'll need the $$ more.
My mother is going to help us look after the baby but i'm not sure how much more to give her yet. I 'm giving her $500 per month now

luz
ya lor he super 'ba dao' man, I can't even scold him cos he more 'power' than me haha even though I pregnant he also wun give in one

roxy
your posting has touched my heart. I'm sure this time the baby/babies will be very strong and withstand everything. Do take care and rest as much as u can!

cactus,
i read you spend only $300 on yourself. me very guilty. used to be a spendthrift and had no savings. can u believe i spend thousands of dollars on myself every month? this is very shameful. now regret but no choice bcos i not working anymore. so savings is really very impt hor mummies.

krispy
no, my gynae didnt do blood test but got do urine test when he scan nth... i have real bad ms. but nvr vomit 1.... and i have cramp (like period cramp) during my 1st tri...

the uneasy feeling in ur stomach is fine, i have that too.

Jess, i give $600 to my own folks...hb bo xim one, only give $200 to his side..partly also coz am a higher income earner than my hb...

Cheryl,
Think I'll ask for mine. The previous doctor I saw said I had low hormone levels or something like that. That was one of the reasons why I had such difficulty getting pregnant. Was diagnosed by Dr Fong as having PCOS and scheduled to start clomid and treatment in Nov. But surprise surprise, suddenly tested positive last week.

Praying and hoping nothing goes wrong and bb will be born safe and sound. Praying for everyone's bb as well.

jess...think it's up to u bah?? it's the tot that counts rite?! unless ur folks wanna count everything lor..

my mum keeps saying she won't help me look after bb unless i get a maid to help...haha...i know she doesn't really mean it la...i'd reply her and say I can only afford one - bb or maid - u choose la! hahahaha...

yes. do take care. pray hard for u too...

i alway think this kind of thing really very miracle 1. i have few fren who doc say they have problem getting preg, and with very irregular menses. and they get pregnant, after that they become normal liao...

ndzgirl,
wow look like your hubby more fierce than mine ley. but try not to quarrel so much hor, bcos will affect your mood one mah. no gd hehee. for my case, i vent my unhappiness of his demands by just shouting at him, and try forget abt the incident lor. hiak hiak

Krispy

dun worry, I'm sure things are not as bad as u thought. Maybe baby is just giving u a break from all the discomfort u having. Meanwhile just take care and rest well.

luz
ya lor he very fierce one i so scared of him haha so useless right. But at the same time I so attracted to his manliness haha.

juliet,
your mum very modern ley, hehee she knows how to enjoy life and ask for a maid hor. share a joke hor, dat day i went to NTUC overhead a mummy in front of me standing in the escalator telling his around 14 yrs old son " Next time when you married got baby, dun ask me to take care okie? Mummy want to travel enjoy life liao" so that's y i think you mum is those modern type hehee

luz, ya ya! that's my kind of mummy! hahaha...even my grandma also damn modern can?? she told my mum to faster go on holidays n tours while she can (mum is 60, granny is 70++)! coz my granny now leg v. weak, cannot walk for too long...so told her daughter (ie my mum) to enjoy while she is still strong!

aiya, but my mum also "kou shi xin fei" one la...on the one hand say dun wan to look after, but on the other, so kan cheong abt my pregnancy...mothers......kekeke

luz
xiao nu ren haha i'm faking to be one but my hubby always say i always trying to be da nu ren always trying to defy him always ask me to be guai guai

hi ladies!

can't help butting in...cos my EDD is end May08/early Jun08. but my gynae in RH....
Will be having my Triple test & DS scan at abt 12 wks...seem to early from all yur posts here ley but tis is wat my gynae set for me...1st preggie, so also a lot of things reai dunno....

juliet, hahaa wow your clan of women all modern type hehee all mothers will surely dote on daughters one lah, i think she will still help, no mother will leave their daughter in times of help :D

roxy, Praise God for being by your side. not to worry, He wont forsake us even though we may forsake him at times.

just to share, last week my hb went for mission trip in Chiangmai and I was in pain since Fri thn my mum n sis sent me to hosp, i was worried sick as I was bleeding too thn hv stomach cramps, it cld be a m/c threaten too. thn my hb called n he and our frens prayed for us after the doc chked and said the baby is very strong even hv heartbeat. we were so happy.

krispy, not every pregnant woman will hv MS so dun worry too much. i hv MS till very uncomfortable. cnt even eat properly, had lost a bit of weight.

ndzgirl, can i ask if your age gap b/w u and hubby is big? mine is 6 years ley. i think this is more likely bcos of the age gap???