(2008/06) June 2008

juliet08,

I am a Christian...
BTW.. me also no mood to work....

RE: ribena

I dun think it will gain weight leh.. during my first preggy.. i Took every day coz i jsut have craving for it.. did not gain much weight .. only 14 kg thru out .. but mummies must be careful coz some of us our taste bubs maybe a little off. so too salty or too sweet we can taste.. that was what happen to me.. too salty and then suddenly at 5 months am high in protein ...

Juliet08,
i did the blood test during my first preggy too..

eh rena...what was ur blood test for huh? i was reading up abt anemia & pregnancy, then on the article, it says typically doc will do blood test on 1st visit to check for iron-deficiancy...and i've already made known that am anaemic ( i got thalessaemia) but doc nv test for iron-deficiancy nor give me any iron pills...hmm....

I took full cream milk everyday and my weight still can't increase. Instead it reduce by 2kg due to lost of appetite!! Going to be 8wks. What should I do...

it is fine to lose weight in the 1st tri, cos of ms and all... but 2nd tri shd be gaining...

i wish i lose weight haha... i have gained almost 8-9kg.. faint liao..

Hi juliet08, some doctors will take blood to test for HIV, Hep B and Rubella. For those with potentially threatened miscarriage, will also take blood to check HCG level (for comparison later). The blood is taken from arm. If for anemia, it is just finger prick.

babycupid,
me also hungry, just ate wheat biscuits...hee

iamsnow,cactus,
But hor, now drink plain water until tasteless leh...me drink PeelFresh lor...

cactus, so it's not v. common to do blood test on 1st visit lor? coz i was wondering how come she didn't suggest that i take iron pills since i am anaemic...guess folic acid works the same way too bah...

i can't wait for 6pm...i so feel like gg home now...

iamsnow,

The weight increase can be from our placenta bah since foetus is growing inside? I jus making the guess. Normal weight gain depends on size of mother too. I am a big size person, i gain about 8kg. Reasonable of gain will be from 12-16kg.

I think we all are happy so the weight just shoot up and we eat as we like yeah.

Confinement Nanny
-------------------
Play safe try to book early for those popular one.

Massage Lady
---------------
Same for confinement nanny too. I already booked mine
same as i use for previous one. Reasonable and have intro to alot others too.

i jus woke up from nap...so hungry now and munching chips!

hey juliet, me oso took when preggie wif meg. nurse said it is to test if i am anaemic. finger prick. then in 12 weeks when i did NT scan, they took like 5 tubes of blood from me to test for thalessiam and HIV and Hep B.

hi littlemini
very sad to hear...do take care of yourself in the meantime and remember we'll be here anytime u wanna talk.

juloet, think u better ask your gynae abt the iron supplements...my sis was anaemic and she had to take iron supplements during her pregnancy.

starmoon, dr wong didn't prick me for anaemia leh..i mean, it makes sense not to since i already told her i am anaemic mah...but wonder if folic acid is sufficient for the lack in iron...

iamsnow, how come so sudden...wad were u doing b4?

juliet, i guess it is standard procedure bah. but dunno why she didnt prescribe iron supplements to you.

krispykreme, can u update my details, gynae change to LC Cheng. Thanks.

juliet, i think shld be ok bah....maybe she didnt think u really need the iron supplements. if really in doubt, maybe u wanna call her to check?

sharon,

Weight gaining varis from mother to mother.. the most important is that bb is gaining and growing..
i did not gain weight till i was 5 months but bb gain weight

I had MS till 5 months..

Cynthia,

hoho so i am not the only one.... was your previous one natural birth? mine was c section so cannot wrap ..

starmoon, i was just sitting down at my desk. not doing anything special.... went to make cereal. now not so want to faint liao. but stomach still pain.....

jamsnow,

did you suddenly stand up? coz if you did it may be.... if there is no spotting should be saft but better check with gyane..

rena, no leh, I did not stand up suddenly.... my motions all now slow motion one......

just went toilet to check, no spotting... aiyo... don't know what is wrong...

cactus,
me find my mouth tasteless lor, so e only consoling thing is to drink orange juice..hee..yest evening i not much appetite, dun feel like eating dinner, hb try means and ways, ask me whether I wan eat pizza, mac or kfc..but i also no appetite..

starmoon,
I will be going for my oscar and thalisimia test on 20th Nov...5 tubes of blood???!!!! Oh dear, i scare draw blood one leh...tink I might faint...5 tubes...oh no...

iamsnow,
oh dear, wat happen? u ok?

fei fei.

dun worry lar.. not big tube.. jsut the small tubes.

Dun drink too much orange coz orange may cause phelgm to the bb...

iamsnow, think is blood pressure la...u seated down then stand up, even if slow mo, maybe the blood pressure a tad low that's y feel like fainting...think this could be one of the reasons..

Hi Rena,

Mine is natural birth.. so about 4days later my birth i wrap lo. Aiyo feeling so horrible esp i was TBF! But ok stil managing it.

Iamsnow,
What happen? No spotting shld be ok ah? U stand up very fast? Actually we tends to forget we are preg now. Tend to be in fast pace. But now esp 1st 3mth try to be bit more slow motion esp standing up etc..

Feifei,
Orange juice is advise to drink in moderation too as some says it may cause bb to have asthma in future. Try not take too much cold drinks too though I also cant control!

Sometimes alot ppl will envy been preg can eat alot food.. but actually it seems quite miserable alot we cant really eat. What we eat is what bb eating too..

so sian .. hubby not picking me up from work... haiz got to walk to the MRT so far....sian....

coming next month is worse... coz i will be signing contract with my company to do permanet part time every mornings.. so still got to take mrt on my own back...

But better than not working.. I was a SAHM when i was pregnant 5 months previously then until when my son was 17 months i decided to work part time.. 1,3,5 a week so now hook on to working....haiz..

Feifei,

I also no appetite to eat for 2 wks. Trying talking to ur baby. Today I talk to my baby n say 'Baby, mummy need to eat. Mummy very long never eat finish food. U guai guai hor. Mummy eat is also for u to eat.

In the end my lunch i'm able to eat finish. =D

Not sure issit my baby like to eat prawn mee. Cause certain things i eat can finish. Otherwise eat a few mouth, no appetite.

never come in for 2 days and this thread move so fast liao. Manage to finish reading the posts but read already forget haha so forgive me if I never reply you.

So sad to hear about littlemini. Must take care ya!

I had terrible diarrhea yday and no appetite for whole day, dunno if MS or due to the diarrhea keep wanting to vomit. Nearly fainted in the afternoon and found some fresh blood stains. Seen the gynae in the evening and was given duphaston to stabilise but still feeling worried.

Hubby scold me cos he say I shouldn't have ran in the morning say my bleeding is caused by it.

All ladies, please please take good care of yourselves and eat whatever you want to eat and dun worry about weight gain. It feels terrible to have no appetite at all!

hey iamsnow, if have bleeding or spotting (touch wood) you should go see doctor. Once in a while I get very intense cramps across my tummy. I'm told it's expansion of uterus. It's normal. Not sure if you are experiencing same pain as me.

feifei, if you dun have appetite, you can consider taking multivitamins but check with your doctor if it is safe to do so during your pregnancy. the common minerals we lack during pregnancy is iron, calcium and folic acid. Folic acid is harder to get from food.

Another thing, fei fei, don't worry about the blood test. you will only feel a slight pin prick when the needle goes in. The tubes will be attached to the needle to "suck" the blood through a vacuum system. I've not taken any blood test yet, but before the pregnancy, I did have blood taken to check for immunity against rubella, hep B and chicken pox... it was this system of blood taking.

Hi littlemini,take care of urself .

Hi feifei,wat is thalisimia test?i thought only needs to take Oscar test?I dun noe iszit MS to me nw everytime i ate finish my foods i feel like vomit & nw worst i dun have much appeitte.I feel like using my finger to vomit out the food i feel very Xinku.

ladies...being pregnant is the best excuse for being fat! hahahah...muz not starve yourself. i juz had a bowl of soup and 2 slices of bread....didnt have lunch earlier cos had late brekkie....now my meal times hay wire...i eat brekkie around 10plus...lunch around 3 or 4 plus.

feifei, me oso very scared of needles one...even the finger prick i oso scared...so everytime gotta prick me i will closed my eyes and divert my thinking to other things. not to worry....pain will be over very soon.

Hi Angie & feifei,eversince i am pregnant i always have very weird dreams smetimes dreams of my ex.Funny rite?or at nite 5am i went to toilet & i hardly can't sleep.I did told my husband abt all this he sae i think too much aldy ask me to relax..

jesslyn, thalessaemia is a blood defect - deformed haemogoblin if am not wrong. If both parent is a carrier, high risk of bb being a thalessameia major which means need monthly blood transfusion. When i got tested 10 yrs ago, a major won't live past teenage yrs..but now, think can be cured with suitable bone marrow...

so, doc will check this if either parent is a known carrier. or if both nv check b4, will check mummy first...if only 1 party has it, chances are bb may only be a carrier...

a carrier has not much negative effects..maybe just anaemic that's all...

jesslyn...me also leh...always got weird dreams n then keeps waking in the middle of the nite..that's y always so sleepy at work also...

Hi Jesslyn,
I have sent u PM, but no reply from you.
I also have weird dreams ... aiyo, shld give me 4 nos. then I can earn some baby milk powder mah. :p
I have been feeling very tired during day time cos cannot sleep well at night ...
always stay awake and listen to my hubby's snoring. Sian.
I asked my friend do I need the Oscar Test ... she said the test is for preggie 35 yrs old & above.
Hmmm ... better check with my gynae next week.

Hi Jesslyn,
Try to take small portions ... 6 meals per day. Then you wont feel so xinku.
I standby some preserved fruits in my bag.

jesslyn...me also v. xinku...always feel like vomitting...but *touch wood* luckily till now hvn't vomit yet...

i typically get better if i down some food..but when it comes to morning, i really cannot la...v. hard to swallow food...

so this morning hor, when i was alone in the lift, i talk to bb (although am sure the ears r not out yet) n ask bb to be good give me an hour, reach office liao will buy something to eat...then hor, so coincident, i bump into my cousin's wife at Boon Lay mrt! so we chatted all the way till i reach raffles plc n not feel naeseous...