(2008/06) June 2008

iamsnow,

Cabbage... I not sure. For me i take all food in moderation. Even I wish for lotong, mee siam even crabs i stil eat bt not much... Cos I remember I have terrible MS, so any food I can eat I just try.

Old wives tales - too much crab make bb cant stop moving... I not sure how true. I eat crabs for my 1st gal, she is active moving alot... but my frd ate too her bb not active.. so.. depends on how we want to believe bah.

cynthia, your moderation means finish one bowl serving or did not finish?

i have very bad MS. but when i eat sour / spicy things, I got great satisfaction. haha.... but i don't drink enough plain water coz whenever I drink plain water, I want to puke. so now result in a slight sore throat already.....

you 1st trimester take crab already? a lot of pple advise me not to take crab in 1st trimester leh.... i also crave for crab, but dun dare to eat....

iamsnow, moderation one bowl serving. BUT if cant finish better stop if not we will feel horrible again.

I take crab before i know i was preg.. but only 2 pcs. I take once if i not wrong b4 2nd trimster. Try to reduce seafood too. Like prawns. I stil cant resist it. so I take a few pcs like 5 hehehe.

Try drink barley water see if it helps? You able to take sour not bad. I rember mine was everything goes in everythings comes out. So basically I didnt gain but lose weight 1st 3mths lo.

Best to see doc. If not add little bit of honey not too much cos will give u phlegm.

Hi iamsnow,

Yeah, I've heard some MTBs taking red dates..cos supposed to be high in iron and good for mother and baby. But my MIL is quite strict with my diet. She said most things eat in moderation, except fish and milk/cheese.. must eat more. She doesn't cook with chinese herbs anymore.

ladies, try not to eat too much heaty things now cos if heaty, we will have sore throats more easily.. and we can't take cooling things now to counteract..

iamsnow, i seconded Cynthia's suggestion.

1) Cordeceps & American Ginseng is beneficial to consumer aft 4th mth

2) No cabbage juz yet
3) Eat in moderation
4) Shld take carbs in minimal amount

Rena, dhasedyl? It will cause dizziness.. take only when it's needed okie?

cactus, u r right... red dates are advisable to consume too... I suppose yr MIL will be doing yr confinement ya? kekeke...

galz, can eat cup noodles or not huh? i dunno wat to get from outside leh...so sian! dunno how to restrict my diet...gg crazy!

shell fish contains toxic so it is best to avoid them. muz dig out my magazine then can know exactly. also avoid sharks fin cos they are high in mercury content

juliet, you know crabs have 8 legs right? So if you pantang, u think about if eat crabs, when baby is born and is very active, hands/ legs may touch here and there and be very active. Get the idea?

Also, as crab is like falls under the shell seafood category, try to avoid like how we avoid prawns, oysters, clams, etc.

oh..........ok ok...i get u...er...but bb brain hvn't develop now rite? maybe bb hasn't sense it..haha...

am really gg crazy..everything also avoid...now dunno wat to get for lunch...

Hi Sparks,

I dun know who would be doing my confinement...
My mom is still working full time but she has 48 days of leave next year (rolled over) and my MIL is full time housewife with her hands full with her 2 yr old grandson. I stay with PILs on weekdays and back to my parents' home on weekends. My own grandma is quite young. Early 70s and she may also help me with the confinement. Not sure yet. I'll start planning these things after I enter 2nd trimester.

I think I've been eating most things wrongly... cos initially didn't realise I was pregnant...

I ate half a coconut, 4 big slices of watermelon, soft cheese, during the first 4 weeks. I experienced cramping when I ate coconut and watermelon though and listened to my body and stopped eating those when cramping came on. Thank goodness no bleeding or anything. I still experience cramping a couple of times a day and feel worried..

Juliet and catus, I am sure its ok when we do not know and had eaten food we shouldn't/ should avoid. Now you know what is good and not, try to eat accordingly.

Like me, was very noti yesterday. Cannot think of any breakfast to eat, so I had a plate of fried kway teow with cockles (asked auntie to cook cockles longer). So I feel that I am a bad gal so will not eat these stuff again, heehee.

it's the try to avoid that's killing me...coz all along, am a total junk food eater..haha..i down soft drinks like nobody's business, eat chips like my proper meals..hahaha...

Yeah, Veniz. I'm trying to keep myself busy at work to take my mind off the worry. I have a feeling I will be able to carry the fetus to full term cos it survived so many "rubbish" and physical exertions and could even been visualized through a scan at less than 5 weeks and looks normal... so I'm still keeping my fingers crossed.

Sparks,

thanks for the advise.. some how each time when i was pregnant i am sure down with flu and cough.. I really hate having cough... I remember during my previous pregnancy i had permanent nasal congestion till birth.. each night i can't sleep...

RE: confinement ..

I think i am the most kiasu person coz i have already book my confinement lady.. hee hee

gals....this shld be my last post here...just to update everyone who is concern about me....

after 3rd opinion done at Mt A, result still remains the same...the bb is nt growing at all, can consider alrdy dead in the womb...so my final decision will be to d&c and try again next yr...can take out my nick fm the list le...im nt able to join u all for the whole journey...thanks gals, for the praying and blessing....

littlemini, be strong k? have a good rest and then can ttc again. you r still relatively young...

i know nothing can cheer you up now..give urself some time to grieve then move on...

littlemini2,

be strong and remember it is not end of the world.. i have been thru it 2 time in my life and finally the lord gave me my son.. do think positive.. if not will cause depression. Think it this way.. The lord knows tat the bb is not growing well thus taking it away.. if there are problem with the bb the one who suffer will you you and your hubby..

dun think too much.. you are still young and can try again two months later...

Our father in heaven will only give the best gifts to his children

Hi cactus, cynthia, feifei, rena

Thanks. I did not see doc yet. I had sensitive cough b4 preggie. I stop the medication sometime ago as it makes my ADS worse. Luckily, it seems to improved after i start to experience vomiting.. Somehow, it was triggered again this time due to my sore throat.. Cos my poor appetite force me to take very heaty stuffs like milk, cereal, biscuits, bread to curb my gastric pain.. last night was a hard day. I was practically going to scream as my spine ache and pain like anything, and my whole body like collapsing and yet i cannot do any stretching for my BB's sake. Luckily my hubby makes me pop 2 panadols and i fall asleep after that. I was hoping i can take some cooling stuffs to curb those heaty food. It's really difficult as there is so many forbidden food and medicine now.

Littlemini,
Sad to hear that...but pls be strong ya...You can still try again ya =)....Rem, dun give up no matter wat ya... take care..rem to do a mini confinement after the d&c hor...

cactus79,
woa, u still take watermelon? me long time nv eat liao..missing it =)..

Only 1 or 2 days din log in ... already so many posts.

iamsnow,
I bot my clothes from Carrano too. Also spent almost $150 for 3 tops 3 bottoms.

Precious moments,
I am staying with my MIL who is very unhygenic and vulgar. I saw her putting the food into her mouth to so-called cool down the food and then put the food into his niece mouth after that (those traditional aunty's way ... yucks!!!) ... scolding vulgar language in front of the young ones ... giving junk food ... lifting up her clothes to clean her mouth after meals (not wearing any bra). My MIL wants to take care of our baby in future, but we cannot say no ... cos she already assumed that we will let her take care as we are staying with her. I cannot imagine my baby under her care.
Baby is God's gift ... and it's innocent. Pls dun terminate this new life.
Try to talk to your husband again ... tell him how you feel. Dun suffer alone.

feifei - I didn't know I was pregnant at that time mah.. that's why ate watermelon and coconut. These days only eat papaya and apple...

gals, just now I went to weigh myself, I've put on a few kgs since my pregnancy. now I'm only in 7 weeks leh..... aiyo. the weird thing is that my appetite did not increase leh. I merely ate a few more biscuits to curb my MS..... sob sob... so much weight, how to shed off lateR?

I think some weight may be caused by fluid retention. Lately I feel quite bloated. I think it's retention of fluids. But I lost 1kg... I'm at 5 weeks.

I'm making an effort not to snack but to drink milk if I'm hungry. And I drink just a couple of mouthfuls each time... very scared of putting on weight.

I heard it's not necessary for us to eat alot. Now just eat nutritiously. Last trimester, then increase food intake. Cos when pregnant, we don't walk so much or so fast, don't do so much sports, so harder to shed off calories.. so in order not to put on so much weight, just have to try curb hunger.

I think heart starts to form at 5th week.. so should be able to hear heart beat by 7, or 8 weeks? I'm going for my next scan at 8 weeks.... I hope to be able to detect heart beat and date the pregnancy better.. cos now, 25 June is still EDD based on LMP.

babycupid, i think I gained around 4kg since pregnancy. my next scan is next week. but first scan done already. heartbeat dedected....

cactus, i also feel very bloated. tummy feel so tight.... aiyo...

i seldom feel hungry actually. only feel like vomitting. when have such feeling, i will eat some biscuits to curb the feeling loh.... also drink quite a lot of ribena coz can't take plain water....

iamsnow,
hw many wks when u 1st detect the heartbeat? some ppl can detect as early as 5 wks and some can only detect at 6/7wks

Hi iamsnow,
I think ribena causes us to put on weight. My husband's nephew grew very very big sized when he drank ribena. Also, for me, if I drink fruit juice, I will put on weight even if I dun eat any thing else (when I'm ill with flu I lose my apetitie but still put on weight cos I drink alot of fruit juices.. like 1 day 3 packs that type)...

cactus, ribena and fruit juice will put on weight? aiyo.... then what should I drink? I can't drink plain water leh....

Hi babycupid,

I don't have a gynae yet. I will prob only go to a specialist when I am about 32 weeks. I confirmed my pregnancy at a polyclinic. Doctor refer me to KKH cos suspected ectopic pregnancy. Saw a doctor there. She did a scan for me at 4 weeks 6 days. Confirmed sac was there as per normal pregnancy. Doctor at KKH asked me to return when I'm at 8 weeks cos dating scan and also to confirm that pregnancy is developing well. I think after this scan, I will go back to polyclinic if pregnancy is confirmed not complicated, cos polyclinic is just opposite my home.