(2008/06) June 2008

Hi ladies,did any1 of ur gynae ask u all to take the Oscar test?Will u be taking?I think the oscar test can only take when the baby is 12 wks or 14 wks?

my gynae advise me on 4 things.
1) no raw food
2) no blue cheese
3) no alochol
4) no sex

i must admit i love fresh oysters and sashimi. that time i went hotel buffet with my colleagues. had to refrain from all these food.... my saliva keep drooling.... aiyo, it was such an agony seeing them eat.... haha....

Every pregnancy is associated with a small risk of
chromosomal disorders, which are abnormalities involving the genetic makeup of the baby. The most common disorder is Down syndrome where there is excessive genetic material from an extra chromosome 21. Likewise, excessive genetic materials from extra chromosome 13 and 18 result in Patau syndrome and Edward syndrome respectively. These disorders result in mental retardation and frequently, heart defects and other physical abnormalities.

It is done through an abdominal ultrasound scan to
measure the nuchal translucency together with a blood test (about 5ml) to measure the two hormones (free HCG and PAPP-A).

The test is done between 11 weeks, 3 days and 13 weeks, 6 days of pregnancy. It is done though an abdominal ultrasound scan.

thanks for the detailed explaination sparks. wah, so cheem. will the gynae advise to do the test when it's time?

kekeke..
All u need to do is "ASK" ..

yeah, i find this forum very useful. a lot of information. very useful for ignorant pple like me..... hee hee

Ladies, u can get a free baby journal and cd from all national library. Just ask the info counter.

I just saw my gynae, edd change to 30 may..

iamsnow, ur bd on 31may, edd on 5june. Mine bd on 6june, edd on 30 may... can we exchange edd?? heehee

My ms getting from bad to worse ... now already need a plastic bag by my side to vomit just in case... feeling very uncomfortable and always thought i got fever...measure abt 37.1 - 37.2 degrees...

Anyone with the same symptons with me?

Hi bb, i dun have much MS yet, now only 6 weeks. I think our temp will be higher when pregnant, so dun worry too much. someone mentioned to take a biscuit to cut down on MS.

Mei, anyone can get the baby journal? or need to deliver 1st?

hi iamsnow, sparks & jesslyn
thanks...in laws very kan cheong oso and forbid me to carry her or heavy things...so now i like queen...hahhaaha....but i still play wif my girl and ask hubby to carry...i can only carry her on the bed or while seated so dat her weight is not totally bear by myself.

me oso starting to feel nauseous now....feel very bloated and juz had 7-up to help me burp....now feeling sleepy again though i took a nap earlier....wonder if it is the medicine that makes me nauseous and sleepy. i'm not planning to take the NT scan and OSCAR test for this one...was thinking what if it turns out bad and then i wil be worried so i think i might juz skip it totally. i did it for my #1...guess #1 everything more kan cheong bah. hahaha....

just found this online re: side effects of duphaston:

Medicines and their possible side effects can affect individual people in different ways. The following are some of the side effects that are known to be associated with this medicine. Because a side effect is stated here, it does not mean that all people using this medicine will experience that or any side effect.

Headache

Nausea

Dizziness

Bloating

Skin reactions such as rash and itch

Breast tenderness

Menstrual spotting between periods

The side effects listed above may not include all of the side effects reported by the drug's manufacturer.

guess i'm suffering from the side effects now.

my frend oso warn me not to take brown beans.. the flat yellow nut in kachang puteh.. she said it will caused jaundice...

hi starmoon,
glad that u r alrite now and able to see bb heartbeat.. take care n rest well.. so r u on duphaston now? me too.. i tink bloating yes lor.. i always feel gastric.. bery xin ku..

Hi Starmoon, hopefully monday I will get a gd result...today took another blood test and hb ask gynae is it anything wrong with nt able to detect heartbeat at 7wk...but gynae nv gv a definite answer, he just say taking blood test is to make sure bb is ok since scanning cant scan anything, and ask us not to worry...

Starmoon, u must take good care....

Updated as of 20 Oct 07

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Age</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Child #</TD><TD>Area </TD></TR><TR><TD>mei</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>30-May</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>lst</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>feifei</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC or Mt A</TD><TD>lst</TD><TD>Compassvale Lane </TD></TR><TR><TD>juliet08</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>lst</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starmoon</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr TC Chang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>littlemini</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>lst</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>iamsnow</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr sf Loh </TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>lst</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angie_bb</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>11-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>lst</TD><TD>Hougang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jazol</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>11-Jun (TBC)</TD><TD>Dr Jen</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>lst</TD><TD>Sengkang East Way </TD></TR><TR><TD>Veniz</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>14-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lim Teck Chye</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Redhill </TD></TR><TR><TD>teragram</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>15-Jun (TBC)</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>lst</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jesslyncheong</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>23-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>lst</TD><TD>Hougang </TD></TR><TR><TD>ND's girl</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>26-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>lst</TD><TD>Punggol</td></tr></table>

iamsnow,
U born on 31st may? Me too leh....wua....so qiao leh..

starmoon,
Really gald u are ok now...must listen to gyane ya, must rest more =)...Take care...

jesslyn,
Yes, the Oscare test will be taken in our 12wks...Its better if we can apply for the FBI card frm TMC cos will be a 10% discount for the oscar test with this card...But we need to pay $128 for this card for other benefits...Not too sure wat other benefits they hv leh...hmm...maybe I will ask my gynae on tues =)..

Mei,
I hope my EDD can be on 31st May same as my bday =)...hee

All,
Yup, u can get e journal frm National Library, i just got my copy from Sengkang Library yest...comes with a CD and a nicey yellowish journal book...Inside are some tips as well..., there are some discount coupons too =).

littlemini,
dun worry too much ya...U will get the good news on mon...=)

Feifei...ya, Hopefully good news....gan cheong and worry now, though my gynae kip telling us nt to worry....maybe with blood test, can test more accurate on hw many wks i am now,rather base on menses date...

I tot of applying for the FBI card too, but nt sure worth or nt...

littlemini,
Ya lor, dun scare yourself ya...the blood test shd be more accurate de...=)...

Ya lor, me also leh...TInk I will go find out more on this FBI card on tues =)..

hi babycupid
yah i am on duphaston and progynova (hormone pill). how come u taking duphaston too? u got spotting?

hi littlemini
did gyne do tummy scan or vaginal scan? maybe if tummy scan bb too small so cannot detect yet? I did a vaginal scan as gynae said bb too small to do tummy scan now. yah dun worry too much since gynae oso said so. u oso take care yah...thanks for updating the chart. me in Eunos area.

hi feifei
thanks...yah will listen to gynae and rest more. I have the FBI card...last yr applied when they got Citibank promo...i paid $98 for it. U get 10% off for Oscar and all the detailed scans. U also will get $100 off hospital bill when delivery. And if you join the antenatal class, there is also a 10% discount. And if you see Dr Ong (PD) after your baby is born, there is also a 10% discount....the discounts are pretty good...there are also discounts given on merchants like Mothercare when u purchase over $50 and some maternity clothings from certain shops....i cant remember liao. i think it was quite worth while cos I already get back the value when they deduct $100 off my hospital bill when I delivered. And this time I was admitted for 2 nights, the FBI also gave me some discount on my hospital bill...abt $60+ this time. not bad lor I feel....the card is valid for 2 years....think the earlier u get it the more savings u get lor.

hi starmoon....tummy scan....maybe too small...my hb say maybe im nt even 7wks, cos cant just base on our menses date and the scanning date....i oso duno hw true, but hope the blood test result will gv me something to assure me...praying hard now....

roughly when should we start applying for the FBI card?

starmoon,
yes.. i had light spotting on 9oct.. so went to see dr adrian so he gif me tat to stablise.. littlemini was given too but with no spotting... say it helps the bb to grow.. so dunno.. jus take it!

Starmoon,
Tks for the information on e FBI card...Seems really good hor =)...WIll check out more on tues =)...

how come u haven go rest? go go go...hv an early rest hor, rem dun carry heavy things ya...

Oh ya, starmoon, so now u are hw many weeks?

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Age</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Child #</TD><TD>Area </TD></TR><TR><TD>mei</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>30-May</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>lst</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>feifei</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC or Mt A</TD><TD>lst</TD><TD>Compassvale Lane </TD></TR><TR><TD>juliet08</TD><TD>24</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>lst</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starmoon</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr TC Chang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Eunos </TD></TR><TR><TD>littlemini</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>lst</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>iamsnow</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>5-Jun</TD><TD>Dr sf Loh </TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>lst</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angie_bb</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>11-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>lst</TD><TD>Hougang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jazol</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>11-Jun (TBC)</TD><TD>Dr Jen</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>lst</TD><TD>Sengkang East Way </TD></TR><TR><TD>Veniz</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>14-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Lim Teck Chye</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Redhill </TD></TR><TR><TD>teragram</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>15-Jun (TBC)</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>lst</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jesslyncheong</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>23-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>lst</TD><TD>Hougang </TD></TR><TR><TD>ND's girl</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>26-Jun</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>lst</TD><TD>Punggol</td></tr></table>

hi littlemini
i see...perhaps datz the reason cant see yet...not to worry since oredi did the blood test...am sure will be fine. i can't remember but i think if u apply after u are 5 months, charges is higher i think...next time u go TMC, remember to go to the counter near the admission to take the brochure to have a look. dr says based on bb's size seems like i'm 6 weeks now...he said the EDD for the first 3 months not so accurate to base on last menses date cos of bb growth. so i think after 3 months EDD will be more accurate bah. my scan pics did not put the week i am in and he did not tell me my EDD.

hi babycupid
oic...help bb grow ah...hahahah. dun think so leh...i read online it seems it helps stop the bleeding. the duphaston u know muz eat after meals leh...maybe datz y cause gastric ah if eat before meal? me guess lah. so far me no gastric from eating the med.

hi feifei
yah...gg to sleep soon...waiting for my girl to finish her milk. me very tired liao oso. nitez nitez

is the FBI card only available at TMC?
I will definitely take the Oscar Test, I did it when for my number 1 as well. just to make sure the pregnancy is ok :)

Ladies, what're the differences between Oscar test, NT test & maternal blood test? And what other tests shd we take?

Littlemini, can update my area for me too? Me at SengKang. Thanks.

feifei, got chance leh, ur bd and edd so near!

Hello Everyone, nice to meet all of you.

This is my first post.

Hope to find out more from you girls for a first-time mummy

hi all... i'm back. hahaha today went out for lunch with my buddies at sizzler. gosh... feel so full n bloated though i didnt eat alot.

now feel still bloated, but stomach also felt a bit hungry. so had a slice of bread... to curb the hunger.

tv showing the maid on channel 8 *gulp* told myself not to watch so dun scare baby (hehehe though heshe's only 5+ weeks)

tmr's sunday... monday's the first visit to the gynae... so excited. my gf (who is my baby's upcoming godma) is also excited for me, and she actually went to the national library near her place to borrow 4 pregnancy books for me!

everyone's excited n happy for me. my mil's sharing with me how n what she went thru when she was preg with my husband n his 2 siblings...

hehehe take care girls, while i update again. the thread's moving so fast... i cant keep up, casue i cant really come in n chat during ofc hours. and weekends usually spent with family...

till i come in again girls... will update u girls once my details r avail for updating the chart!!!

littlemini, thanks for updating.

mei, how nice if we can exchange our EDD and bd hor.... hee hee, then our bb will have a good chance of same bd as us..... haha....

feifei, your bd same as mine? whao..... really so qiao. exactly one year difference only.

bb08, I have very bad MS also. I carry along a plastic bag with my in my handbag just in case I vomit. once I almost vomitted in the MRT. thats why from then since, I carry it whenver I go. My MS is esp bad in the evening and at night.... just now I went out dinner with my hubby, my whole face turned pale coz wanted to vomit all the time. and I burp a lot.... hope the MS will go away soon. really very 'xing ku'. all my clothes cannot wear already, coz too bloated.

just now went toa payoh to buy maternity pants and tops. the pants are real comfortable. I think the selection better then kiddy palace.... and it's very cheap! bought 3 top and 3 bottoms, total only $150. can wear until full term.... hee hee.... so happie coz finally got comfortable clothes to wear.....

welcome mogudog! how many weeks are u now?

hi littlemini,
can u help me add my info again, seems to have disappeared... age 30, 1st child, dr chua, upper bukit timah

oh ya, EDD 15th june.

starmoon, i'm also taking duphaston, due to bleeding earlier. now i now why i have nausea! prob due to the medicine, now poor appetite.

iamsnow,
So you also got the maternity clothes from that shop too? Me too.
I have already start wearing cos unable to hide further.
My friends said my tummy is very obvious ... maybe cos i can eat a lot. :p
I always feel hungry, except morning ... not so good appetite only in the morning.

angie,
i am only 5 weeks starting, but my tummy also big big ley, i wearing maternity tops now. v strange. i crave for supper each night, maybe this explains my weight gain in tummy too :D

just to share abt oscar scanning. done around 12th wks. cost me $312.90 at TMC last year to do it (without FBI discount)
the report will state the estimated risk for trisomy 21 and trisomy 13/18 at 10-14weeks gestation.

I'm new here... have been reading your posts and hv now decided to contribute. My hubby's away on a business trip for 2 weeks and I'm hoping to find some company here, cos noone except my doctor knows about the pregnancy yet. Very 'xinku' to keep it from people but we decided to only tell when i've past my 1st trimester.

Just to give a little intro, my baby is now 6 weeks 3 days. Went for my first gynae visit last Thurs and my hubby could see the heartbeat thru the vaginal scan. EDD is 12th June and I'm also having morning sickness. Praying hard that it'll go away soon. I try to eat whenever i feel like vomitting and it helps at times cos i think sometimes i think it's just an empty stomach that's causing the nausea.

Where is this Toa Payoh shop that you guys are talking about? I used to feel very bloated a week back but now my tummy is getting smaller. Think it's because my trips to the toilet are more productive nowadays
I'm thinking of checking the shop out next time when i'm there in case the bloatedness comes back again.

Fudgy, are you there? Seems like everyone in here is younger than us. Was so happy when I saw your post. I'm 33 too. I was so happy that the test turned out positive when i took it. Cos you know what they say about pregnancies becoming more dangerous once you pass 35.

Hi Ng

cheeky here.... jsut happened to see ur post, i'm also new here... but i seldom haf time to come in here that often cause my ofc not so convenient.

congrats! ur lil one is 6 weeks! mine's (accordingly to my mum-in-law's ("MIL") calculation), my lil one will be exactly 6 weeks today. hahaha...

to all

tmr i'll be going to the gynae with my mil, as my hubby's on a full week course outside his office. paid for course, so cant skip..

i'm v excited for the first gynae visit, and have been reading alot from books on pregnancy q&a.

from what i gather, now its only abt 2mm in size... and the head n chest shld be forming inside me now.

but also subconsciously also worried if baby'll be healthy. read about blighted ovums and all...cant help but worry, but i know God'll watch over us and the lil fetus inside me.

my stomach aint big to command maternity tops or bottoms yet, but somehow feel very bloated all the time. always wanna burp. no MS so far (thank god!), and i believe if there's gonna be, it'll be appearing soon... prob 6th to 7th week onwards.

dunno if i intro-ed myself, dun think so huh.

i'm 27 this year, and my hubby's 28. this is out first lil one, so everyone in the family is very excited for us, esp my mum-in-law. and my best friend, hahaha... she was the one to borrow those pregnancy books for me!

hey mummies, can i ask - any of u had weird dreams? haha i dreamt abt being preganant and dunno what-nos. farni dreams. maybe i tink too much during the dayl, thats why at nght have weird dreams. hehehehe...

Hi Ng,
Welcome =)...Congrats too...

I also feel that empty stomach will caue nausea one...try to hv some biscuit to standby...or milk..

Cheeky,
Hi ya...so far I haven have any dreams leh...
1st child everyone will be gan cheong one lor, ur best fren so nice hor =)...hee

kekekeke yep feifei

she's my bb's godma... hahaha appointed one even before we TCC, and woila! so fast she can realise her dreams liao. she also surprised we were so "efficient" hehehee...

for the past 3-4 days, feel very tired throughout the day. And also at night sleep early... last 2 nights i fell asleep by 11pm, which was very early. cause my usual sleeptime's ard 1-2am. haha... and on sat n today, i woke up at 730 and 830 am respectively... hmmm. think my bb is a very cheeky rat too (gonna be born in the year of the rat ma!)

hahaha... my mil's happy,. she said rats good. rats v smart... very witty. hahahaha!
last night was looking at baby names... dunno the gender of my bb yet... but hope its a boy. was looking at "ashton" for boy or "ashley" or "ashlyn" for a girl... like the anme "brayden" for boy too...

just looking thru, havent really looked into the names. now most impt thing is to see gynae make sure baby safe n healthily growing first.

taking folic acid n healthy diet.

drinking hi calcium low fat milk liao... u girls taking annum? i dunno how leh, dunno nice or nto. scared i dun like the smell.
ntuc selling only one size at $22+ i tink.

Calling for Mei, Calling for Mei!

u mentioned that we can "get a free baby journal and cd from all national library. Just ask the info counter. "

Really?

cheeky,
hee...ya lor, really eficinet =)...

Me also couldn't sleep beyong 8am one, tend to wake up early, also duno y..last time i can sleep til 10am on wkends...

Me tot of names of my bb liao, if ger, will call her Charlotte, if boy, Gerrad =)...heehee...

Ya lor, must hv healthy diet but hor, sometimes also eat juck foo dlike mac and KFC =)...hehee

I haven take Annum yet cos wan to take some samples fmr my gyane on tues to try out 1st...Now i drinking Meiji chocolate milk =)..