(2008/06) June 2008

feifei,

actually allegy issue can be v serious. if bb is allegic and taken certain food too early, it can even result to death. this is wat i read in article. so wat yr hb said is not correct.

I told my MIL tat pd say cannot let bb eat solid food before 6mths bec of his allegy. so we have agree on tat topic.

Babycupid,
haiz..Ya lor, mothers always want the BEST for their kids de =D..Ahyo, y he so gan cheong...actually my mil will also do that lor, but when my hb explain to her, she nv mention liao..hiaz..

Ellysia,
ya lor, dats y..now i need to find a page on the allergies effect to show him..Do u happen to hv any web on this? Wan to show him proof lor, if not he tink i "listen frm this forum" again..hiaz..

feifei,

board books - famous ones are thomas the train series. sesame street series. those are good. wat u can do is to go bookshop see the actual books, then order online cos online is cheaper. compare the price.

these r the books i order from amazon spree. just receive it but i haven't take a look.

Item #01
Item name: Daddy and Me (Board book)
URL: http://www.amazon.com/Daddy-Me-Karen-Katz/dp/0689849060/ref=sr_1_7?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1221037148&sr=1-7
Quantity: 1
Unit Price: US$ 6.99

Item #02
Item name: Fisher-Price Little People Worlds of Adventure: A Look Inside Book (Little People) (Board book)
URL: http://www.amazon.com/Fisher-Price-Little-People-Worlds-Adventure/dp/079441446X/ref=sr_1_47?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1221037641&sr=1-47
Unit Price: US$ 9.99

Item #03
Item name: Goodnight Moon (Board book)
URL:http://www.amazon.com/Goodnight-Moon-Margaret-Wise-Brown/dp/0694003611/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1221020036&sr=1-1
Unit Price: US$ 8.99

Item #04
Item name: Open the Barn Door (A Chunky Book(R)) (Board book)URL:http://www.amazon.com/Open-Barn-Door-Chunky-Book/dp/0679809015/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1221020266&sr=1-2
Unit Price: US$ 3.99

Ellysia,
tks ger *muacks*..wan to show him PROOF..if not he tink we having auntie talk here lor..sometimes so angry..I told him in here, we learnt alot form each other, get to know alot of infor de....

How u order those books? how they going to ship to spore cos i nv order online overseas b4 leh, mountain turtle..hee

feifei,

YUP my hb is the same lor, i always have to find articles to show him. i say forummer say xxx, he always dun believe, tink its auntie talk. so i can understand. tats why i spend so much time reading these articles.

u just join those spree through this forum. very easy one. i chose postage. the spree organiser charge me $3 for postage.

i did rebonding. avoid the roots.

shycloud, my hair also drop liao mad now. the whole floor all my hair! wah lau. sian man.

feifei,

board books are usu small, for children size. big pages with colourful pixs. simple words. hold yr bb together and sit together, read to her. I always let my hb do it. he read it to my bb.

u can view articles on solid food at http://www.keepkidshealthy.com/infant/startingsolids.html

u can also see this article: http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/157774/how_to_tell_if_your_baby_is_ready_for.html?cat=25

Before the age of 6 months, a baby's digestive tract is not developed enough to handle the extra workload of digesting solid foods. Introducing solid foods too early can cause constipation, gas, and spitting up. In the long run, babies who have been introduced to solid foods before the age of 6 months can run the risk of developing diabetes and gastrointestinal disease in later childhood and into adulthood. Early introduction of solids also increases the risk of food allergies in children.

sandra,

understand as long as dun touch the roots is fine so i tink rebonding not ideal but colour maybe. however i dun dare to do.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">i oso want rebonding but scared now drop so much..after rebond if carry on dropping will look thinner? hair i mean...</font></font>

What isn't a sign of readiness
If you ask your grandparents or your neighbors, they may tell you some "surefire" ways to tell if your baby is ready. But these signs aren't always true indications of readiness for solid foods. When your three-month old begins to watch you intently as you eat, this does not indicate that she is ready for solid foods. She's just interested in everything you do. She may grab at your food and cry when you don't let her have it, but again, this does not mean she's ready for solids. Babies want to play with everything. Your food is no exception. If a baby is fussy at night or seems to be unsatisfied after a bottle or nursing, this also does not necessarily mean that she is ready for solid foods, especially if she doesn't display the signs of readiness outlined in this article. Solid foods will not help her sleep better at night - in fact, it may make her sleep habits worse if her tummy is not ready for solid foods, because she will have stomach pain and possibly gas as her digestive system struggles to deal with this new food. And never ever give a baby cereal (or any other solid foods) in a bottle. This is bad for a baby's digestive tract, and it is a choking hazard.

Again, before starting your child on solid foods, talk to her doctor. Only your doctor can determine whether your child is truly ready for solids, and if he asks you to hold off on solids, listen to his advice.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">i am still quite reluctant to introduce semi solid yet.. byt my PD very funny lo.. keep asking whether i hv given bb cereal.. and tell me to give fruits oso...</font></font>

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">my PD asked "hv u given the bb cereal?" I answered "once but he dunno how to eat yet"..then he said "your bb not stupid ok, will noe how to eat" then he asked did he wake up at nite? i say "yes" then he asked "what time is last feeding"? i say "12" then "next?" i say "4" then he say put some cereal into the last feed so can last him longer..</font></font>

Ellysia,
Tks ya...I reading the articles too...I intro apple afew days ago liao..tinking of giving my ger the potato or peas this wkend..

The web frm e 1st link says that best to intro fruits onli at 6mths lor..

Hmm...that means best to intro solids to bb at 6mths?

u know hor, I 1 wk never feed my bb liao cos my mil staying at my hse now..so evening time by the time i reach home, bb already drank milk..the next feed is 1am+ liao..hiaz...so sad hor..

*sigh*, my hair also dropping like mad.. so scared tt i'll go bald.. dare not brush my hair or even use fingers to run thru my hair..

ellysia,
hee.. u seem very well read leh.. thanks for the info n reference sites..

ioio,

yr pd at least ask u questions My pd dun even have time. just see see then jab then go liao.. somemore he is popular..maybe too many patients liao.

anyway the last appt he ask me whether got introduce or not. i say haven't. he say cannot introduce before 6mths lor.

feifei,

ya 6mths.

i tink u better dun introduce peas. i read somewhere its consider higher risk for allergy food which shd be introduce much later.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">my PD like so gan jiong to introduce semi solid to get him ready for solid.. dun noe y leh... funny hor.. but so far i got no time to feed him cereal as a meal yet.. as reach home so late liao.. unless it's weekend then hv more time.. oh ya.. PD mention strictly no egg till 1 year old.. </font></font>

shyclou, iamsnow, my hair also drop like mad.. each time i see 1 big pile ..i ma mu le... now im seeking hair treatment at this centre for hair loss... not expensive, each time only $25.. it's supposed to treat ur scalp so the hair follicles will grow back when ur hair drop.. duno work or not, but since not exp, just try...

hi felicia
Yes... Me been very busy at work too... that is why seldom log on ... these 2 weeks more free, so can come in to catch up with you all

hi feifei
Hubbies are always like that de... dun be bothered by them... im coming bk next sun, let me know if u want anything

hi ellysia
Anti dust mite bedding only work for a while... if really worried abt dustmite, might want to invest in a vacuum cleaner/dustmite cleaner. Dustmites "give birth" every 21 days, so by right, once every 3 weeks must use the anti dustmite cleaner to kill them.. but me and hubby too lazy, buy liao.. put it there like white elephant haiz.... but when u use, the water is grey and dirty all the dustmites killed... eeks The one we are using is Rainbow system

Crystal, I agree with you about not putting faith in horoscopes. but I hate it whenever what my mom says come true when it comes true. sometimes that happens and she proves me wrong, then she nags at me for months! I can't take that sort of thing. that's why I rather avoid a tiger baby, not that I believe it but because she warned me not to have a tiger baby. my mom's educated but she still errs on the side of caution because perhaps, people tell her things and if things happen, she will regret not having told me or not heeding their advice. Life is just like this. Something like, for our wedding, my mom's a christian. She doesn't believe in good auspicious dates but when my ILs wanted to choose a good date, she also didn't object but instead said, for our good, please ask them to choose a good date. she rather believe than not to believe in such things. that's why I rather avoid conceiving a tiger baby. That's why I feel some pressure to have a baby soon. but because of my c-section wound recovery, I don't dare to conceive so quickly too. that's why only giving myself one chance in March next year to try. I'm keeping my fingers tightly crossed!

Hi ladies..

Ellysia,
Really huh? Then i better dun intro 1st..will intro potato 1st lor, then pear...tks for telling me ya...

Zuen,
Tks..ya lor, haiz...

Roxy,
tks ger..Wow, u went for so long?Envy wor..
Okie...i go see see and let u know ya..tks...

cactus,
wow, terrace hse, must be bery ex lor..Jiayou for ur TTC ya but dun give urself too much stress..

wow.. cactus.. terrace hse~ not in my this life i ever tink of getting it.. lol.. condo bery difficult already..

star,
I got the stuff. Thanks. It just makes me want to shop more.

Feifei,
Online shopping super addictive hor. Sob! I haven gone to the BPs for awhile. After this will go in and see. Hehe.

Have been feeling down this few days. What's bothering me? Actually I don't really know.. I have been reading a humble mummy's blog. About raising her son with hand me downs..furniture that is given, hand-made etc. and after reading, I have been reflecting on the things that I have done ever since my daugther have been born. Come to think of it, I have not done much but spend ALOT of money on "WANTS", rather then "NEEDS". Buying tons of clothes, expensive stroller, carriers, toys,and what not. Are they really needs? No...actually...
Reccession is coming or rather have started...we will never know what will happen next.Sprees, BP..all super addictive. God knows how much I have spent...I don't even DARE to calculate.
Its going to be hard...very hard to control myself.

Star
How much is the walker?

I'm very confused by my boy. He doesn't seem to want to drink milk. Yesterday, he only drank 1litre. Usually, he drinks 1.2litres. His hands just come in the way of the mjilk bottle when he drinks. He's so strong now. I don't knwo if I'm force feeding him or if he is just trying to hold te bottle but has poor motor skills. the paed told me to offer him milk every 3 hours. Sigh...

Then, tomorrow he's going for his 2nd DPT jab. Keeping fingers crossed everything will be ok. MIL told me babies may have fever. he was okay from his 1st jab. Hope he is okay after his 2nd jab too.

It's strange that it is so natural to worry about our babies.

my boy has been rejecting the bottle! anyone has any exprience with this?

I' BF - mostly latching . sometimes my parents bottle feed him but the last week he has refused the bottle and will only latch.

<font color="aa00aa">I was late than usual today as i bought my #1 to childcare. She was the 1st to arrived childcare!! And she give an impression like 'oh...how come nobody?" My hubby and mil bought my #2 back to Malacca to settle my mil's insurance matter, so left me and #1. Oh... i'm goin miss my baby for few days!!!

Cactus, terrace house! wow, ur hubby's dream house, rite? (if i remember correctly). So u must really be looking forward to the day where you can finally had your home sweet home. I'm sure you'll be busier as need to source and purchase furniture. You plan for any reno?

Babycupid, you can get one terrace at Malaysia. hehe....</font>

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, beside rejecting milk, does ur boy had any oths sign? Coz some babies will reject milk when they start teething coz their gum not comfortable. Do monitor for few days.
Or maybe he's just being playful! hehe...</font>

Morning ladies...

Star,
wow, another spree again?heehee...so tempting...errr...the walking tingt hor, is it useful?When can let bb use?

janivy,
Dun be stress ya...sometimes hor, its like that de...My hb always tell me, if u tink u are unfortuate, there are more ple worst than u...which I feel its bery true lor...The onli way not to buy anyhitng is NOT to go to the BP thread....thats e onli way...I myself is trying lor..

I was upset yest also..My ger was abit cranky yest, tink its her gums that makes her uncomfy, i applied teethign gel for her, can see her gums bery itchy, i gave her teether lor..>Then she started crying liao, then my mil came into the room, say bb is looking for me liao, she onli wants ME to pat her to sleep =(... I was so upset and angry with my ger that i left the room, dun wan to see her until she slept.I know can't blame her but it really pains me that me as her mummy cannot pacify her.So was telling my hb this morning, duno whether I will lose a bb while I got my degree anot...

U know hor, I 1wk nv feed my ger milk liao leh...Really so upset that i dun feel like seeing her anymore...but I tell myself she is young, duno anything yet lor..

kye,
Few wks ago my ger also like that..I tried putting her on her mattress and feed her lor...or use spoon to feed her, she ok leh..Mayb u can to give it a try...

hmm.. i tink i am not a gd mummy leh.. cos i dun feel anything even i dun feed my boy.. my maid has been doin so.. on n off i will feed.. but cos i haf a paper to take tml so i let my maid take care everything.. but i dun feel guilty sad or wat lor.. or mayb cos my boy still wans me? cos whenever he see me he will be superrrrr happy! tats bery assuring.