(2008/06) June 2008

feifei,

i tried putting him on mattress, he refused too. just tried spoon feed, he'll take but that's not a long term solution?

<font color="aa00aa">star,
can pls reserve one slot for me 1st? need hb's ok b4 i can buy ley, so will show him the specs tonite &amp; let u know by tomolo is i get the approval, can? TIA!</font>

Babycupid,
Ur boy so guai lor...for me, i also duno lor..bery sad and low morale today..Din sleep well yest also..Alot of things flash to my mind, tot of the time when i went for inducing, when for csect, all the latching, and care I given her...haiz...mayb I silly lor, go tink of all this but soemtimes I can be quite -ve de..

U having exams tmr? Mine is on the 4th lor..3 papers..

hihi mummies...

seems like everyone has got something that makes them guilty... i'm not alone it seems. my frens have all been planning for year end holidays, i felt so left out. cos i cant bring my boy along nor do i wanna keep leaving him with other people. cos it seems a bit irresponsible to drop him for my personal fun and enjoyment. once in a while, maybe ok. but not when it gets too often. already leaving him at my MIL's every sat nite.. actually is to keep my PILs company. i dunno la, i just felt awkward to leave him there when i go on holiday...

then i felt that he's tying me down. crudely to say, machiam a burden lor. so bad rite? well, can nv have the best of both worlds la...

kye,
its their passing phase lor, they are always changing and always hv funny patterns de...So meanwhile, hang on ya..Hv to try means and ways to let him drink lor..OR could it be the teat hole too small for him?

feifei,

dun be too concerned over this. some MILs like to "show off" that bb is now sticky to them... it's like that one. my MIL looks after my boy 3-4 times a wk, and she claims to know his patterns inside out liao. just let her be lor... i listen and forget it.

a nurse once told me, dun b agitated with ur bb cos they will pick up on it.. so let's just love them the way we can.

Janiviy,

u're not alone.. I feel down for no reason too.. Or is yr menses coming?? could be due to mood swing bah..

Personally, I'm a "budget" person. Will only spend on needs.. and most of the time, price will be the priority.. cos I came from a poor family.. I got no toys at all when I'm young and my parents are very thrifty.

Even now, for my bb, most of her things (clothes, toys, strollers, carriers, walkers, etc) are all pass down by relatives and friends or I buy from WTB/WTS. Feel that they'll outgrow them very fast, therefore, will not spend $ to buy new ones, unless no choice.. Whenever, I wanted to buy something, I'll discuss with my hubby and friends if they're really necessary and the pros and cons of having the item. Else, will give it a pass..

Eg. I'm considering the bumper playmat as I got 2 dogs at hm, my floor is always dirty and lots of fur flying around. But after much thoughts, will give it a miss.. cos I got 2 "seahorse" mattress at home, I'll use mattress cover and wash more diligently. This saves me $100+ bucks fm getting the bumper playmat.. My friend also told me that the bumper playmat will be more dirty after using for a few mths.. so it's abt weighing bet pros and cons...

But I'll spend on educational items, like books and flash cards.. They're more useful in the long run..

Always remember, dun shop on impulse.. this will save u lots of $$..

Hope it helps..

bleh,
Its like that lor..once hv bb liao, all tie down de..Dats y alot of ple tink along time b4 they decide to have bb lor..I wanted to go for short trip aft my exams next mth, but my hb told me "ni hao yi shi throw bb to my mother meh?"..This question leave me dumbfolded lor...really..

seems like all babies got sama sama patterns.. haha..

my gal also dun want to drink, we also got to try out different patterns to make her drink..

the latest position is to elevate her head using our blanket, then she'll turn her head to watch TV, then she'll drink... (*faint*)

No choice.. got to follow her pattern rather than letting her go hungry and cry... haha

<font color="aa00aa">kye,</font>
<font color="aa00aa">my ger also reject bottle, so i spoon feed her wif cereal and she wan it...
i try usin breastflow bottle which i saw many mummy recommand but she also dun wan...</font>

<font color="aa00aa">crystal07</font>
<font color="aa00aa">u keen in enfalac milk powder izzit? pls sms mi @ 98533307 cos my pc very lacky so hardly online...</font>

hi feifei,

me gg for holiday soon (5-11 Nov) to Bali.. no choice to throw my girl to bb sitter for the entire trip.. if now dun go, then cannot go le..

My girl starts to recognize pple le.. She cried when my parents wanted to carry her.. Only 1 wk nv see.. (*faint*)

When bb starts to sit/eat/walk, more difficult to go tour (i feel they'll be more "manfan" then).. so wanna go, quick quick plan le..

bleh,
Tks ger...its really true lor..

Warrior,
tks for sharing this wonderful advise with us...I too come frm poor family, but funny ting is I feel that last time I dun get to hv this in my childhood so now since i can afford, wan to give the best to my ger but moderately lor..haiz...must change my tinking...

gd morning ladies!

cactus,
u stay near tanah merah area. i'm also living in that vicinity.. maybe we can meet up? u start work already? i'm still on leave, going back to work next jan.

dun stress abt ttc.. let nature take its course bah.. i also intend to hv my #2 b4 i turn 35 yrs old, that means i gotta ttc again by next year but there r so many considerations. most importantly m i able to divide more attention given my #1, hubby, pil, my own parents n work commitments. Finance also an issue..

janiviy,
i guess it's pretty common for parents to splurge on their kids, especially for those middle/ high income families... plus if it's ur 1st child, sure to splurge some more..
i think importantly in our parenting, as the child grows up, we need to inculcate the right values, teach them money sense n differentiate between wants n needs, else they may take things for granted next time..

feifei,

i oso waited abt 2 yrs after my wedding then plan for bbs... if still dun conceive, will be too old liao. cos i want at least 2 kids.

even tho mentally prepared to lose many things over gaining bb, sometimes still a bit hard to come to terms with it. just envy them lor. i can jolly well leave bb with my ILs, n they are happy to look after for me oso. it's just me feeling guilty la. like my hb says, i always try to shoulder too many responsibilites that i dun let myself take a breather. frankly, i dun like to rely on ppl ma. i scared see ppl's face colour or owe them favours.

feifei,
yes lor.. tml 1 paper.. den nov 1 more paper.. den i will say bye bye to my sch!! have been pushing these 2 papers for few times le.. cos of my preg, delivery, confinement.. the momentum lost and trying so hard to start my engine again.. zzzz...

yes yes! i agree mils always like to show off! how much they koe our bbs.. inside n outside, top n bottom, left n right, front n back! damnz.. really buay tahan.. yd jus told my frends.. really need to close 1 eye.. and i told them now i am closing both my eyes!!! not only 1.. haizz... i really wish i can jus leave my maid wif my bb at home! but i koe my hb will sure to *OBJECTION*.. haizzz...

tok abt traveling.. freedom.. burden.. hmm.. i oso have the same feel.. i will feel guilty leaving my boy with someone and i go out to enjoy.. buttttttttttt.. ask me dun go i will die~ haha.. so bad of me hor..
like asking me to give up my Mahjong for my boy.. abit difficult leh! i jus minimise the sessions.. lucky my hb is ok wif it.. i agreement with him b4 bb.. *u cannot stop me frm MJing hor!* kekeke..

warrior,
ya lor, now they wan to recognie ple liao de...cos when my mil open her arms, ask my bb wan carry anot, my bb automatic will bend her body towards my mil...she doesn't bend towards me when i do that...so sad u know..TInk one day i sure quarrel with my mil de..hiaz...

Cos afew days b4 i came bk to work, when I need to bring my bb over to mil hse, i cried, drop tears..my mil saw, ask me wat happen, then i said nothing..Then she went to tell my mum that I bu fang xin her to take care of my ger *faintz*..I mean hello, the bb is mine lor and I hv been takign care of her for e past 3mths, now need to move her to inlaw hse, sure bu she de mah...Thats wat i told my mum lor..hiaz...

Soemtimes feel like quitting my job and take care of my ger myself, but too bad my hb dun earn alot so cannot lor..hiaz...

Hai, k lor, dun wan talk abt this liao, paisei to dampen and complain here...heehee...Any new topics to talk abt today? =D.Lets bring our forum mood back
1815511.gif

Anyone going john little?Cos my fren told me they having 20% discount lor, wan go there get a magmag for my ger...

<font color="ff0000">ariesann

yesterday went i came back from work...
my mum told me dat my gal can flip by herself liao...so happy

yr bb will too.....soon.

feifei,
dun be sad lah... at night when i go fetch my gial fm bbsitter, IF i'm late, she either dun want to look at me (turn here &amp; there to avoid eye contact) or she dun want me to carry.. haizz.. sad, right??!! sometimes feel tt she preferred bbsitter cos they full-time entertain her and bring her out everyday...

Me too, think of quit and look after her, but cannot lah, things so ex now and hb not earning a lot as well..

Why JL everytime got sales one??!! Haizzz, nw I dun rush for sales anymore.. it's so common.. just buy when necessary.. dun waste $$

Hi felicia,

I think my boy may be teething.. cos little appetite and keep playing with the teat...but many weeks already leh!! Just have to hang in there. I tend to think by the time I figure out what's wrong with my boy, he'd have already grown out of the prob liao! My bb only stays awake for 1 to 2 hours each time... so his play time is really precious to me before he goes back and nap... really going to miss playin with him when I return to work!
Yes, the home is our dream home cos it's very convenient.. near food, market, and mrt station!! Pity it is not walking distance to shopping mall or library (used to this sort of convenience cos my parents' place is also walking distance - 1 bus stop or less - to all those amenities plus shopping and library.. but just have to adapt I guess. Yes, we'll be doing simple renovation. Basically painting, polishing the flooring, getting custom made furniture for the bedrooms. It's 2400 square feet... it's going to be a mammoth task!

Warior, my bb will only drink milk if he is lying on the mattress! Sometimes, also dun want to drink! Me very concerned but just have to take the cue from the baby. no choice. cannot force feed mah.

Sandra, I'm still on leave, but I'm presently staying at Tampines. My new place only moving in prob mid next year... June perhaps, in time for baby's 1st birthday! Only collecting keys in January. Need time to do renovations. Yeah, let nature take its course, but need to do some planning too, I feel. No point trying and trying when I'm not fertile, I feel. I'm not fertile now cos exclusively breastfeeding still and according to LAM, it is 99% birth control. Then again, there are some women who are fertile despite LAM conditions. So perplexing! :p to increase my chances, at least, have to cut down further on breastfeeding and stop expressing at night now...

bleh,
I can understand how u feel lor...But hor, for us, no choice

babycupid,
Ur last sem liao?good leh, me onli 1st sem =(..long way to go ...hiaz..

i think my baby's too used to my nipple liao... cham.... dun want to take the bottle. maybe i just go straight to cups. how old before they can use cups?

warrior,
true lor..hiaz..the baby sitter near ur hse area?
Me 1 week nv feed my ger, nv bath her liao...can imagine..

cactus,
acutally envy u lor, but hor, terrace hse big hor, then hsework also headache unless u get a maid or those part time cleaners lor, if not bery tedious for u wor..

Tink ur boy also start to teething lor..

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, 2400 square feet??? Tats how many times of my flat leh. hehe...
Hey, maybe we can have a gathering at your place next time? No worry of not enough space. hehe.....</font>

kye, I bought a nursing cup, meant for 3 months onwards. but my boy can't use it yet cos he cannot control his hands. He can grab the 2 handles, but cannot direct the teat properly into his mouth...

kye, wat time of teat are you using? Maybe you can try nuk? Coz that time I recommended my cousin in law and a fellow mummy to use nuk teat as it is shaped like our nipple when baby suckle, it works lor. Think you can try if you want to.

Janiviy, please dun think so much leh. We shall enjoy life and what we want while we can.

About Guilt, I also leh. yesterday went to makan with a friend, got my mil bring baby home to take care first, then when she was feeding her at 8plus, my gal kept crying (I suspect she realised I am not around to latch her on). And she was crying when I was back and was in shower. Only when I accompany her, then she settled down. Told my mil when she about to sleep time, cannot talk, tv on loud loud one, but she still clapped her hand, called my gal loudly, hee, think she wants galgal to get use to noisy environment.

feifei, actually no need to envy me. it's out of necessity that I need a home with 4 bedrooms loh. and we thought no point buy condo cos condo is expensive and hard to sell. easier to sell terrace house with 4 bedrooms than condo with 4 bedrooms in the future.

feifei,
ya.. bb sitter is near to my hse. Last time think of putting her there n bring her back only wkedns.. but feel like minimum bonding.. so bring her back every night..

enjoy and play w her when u see her the next time..
dun think too much le..

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, is ok de! I'm sure no matter wat, ur living will be much bigger than my flat. So enuf for our babies will do liao. By then maybe some of our kid start walking liao, so got back yard for them to walk. hehe.....

Your philipino maid just assigned to take care of your boy only? Dont ned to do housework? so nice.</font>

Hi gers,
No time to come in this morning cos late for work. ;p

ariesann,
My bb oso cant flip. She's already 5.5mths liao but she's preemie. Haiz, I gave up worrying liao. I just hope that she's one of those babies who dun flip but start sitting and walking str away. Haha.

Feifei,
Dun be too sad ya. When I went overseas for 3 days, bb oso at mum's place cos hb cant take care alone. I was so worried that bb cant recognises me when I come back. Heng she can but tsakes some warming up. I cant the BM smell helps. ;p I am actually more worried that bb will be too close to maid, afterall, my mum still part of the family bah. No choice de, sometimes, we just need to let go since we are not the main caregiver. Jia you ya. Hugz..

Re: Recognise people/ home
My ger seems to recognise home wor. Not sure about the people part cos she dun cries when others carry her. We go to in-laws' place every week but for the last 2 visits, she cry like anything lor. Last visit was very, very bad. I cant even step into my in-laws' place. The moment I do, she started crying very badly and non-stopable. For a moment, I tot got spirits.. Then the same thing happen again yday at HOME! But hb noticed her stareing around before starting crying, so we guessed she forfot about her own room after not coming home for the past 3 days. -.o" My mum says that it is normal for babies especially nearing night time. Any babies oso like that?

Felicia, no. She is also supposed to do housework now. cos I'm still staying at my parents' place. My parents stay in a 5 room HDB flat so she needs to do housework. actually, I also never tell her when we move house, she doesn't need to do housework already. I kept quiet about it. better is to let them do more work than less work. But I did tell her priority is the baby and it's okay if she doesn't have time to iron clothes, wash clothes. In fact, I do the cooking for dinners now and I also help out with the washing up like the milk bottles, etc. But when we move house, I will get another maid for the housework but I will tell this present maid that I'm getting another maid to HELP her with the housework. It doesn't mean she no longer needs to do housework. Cos I will be sending my boy to classes when he turns 3 years old.. and during those times, there's no need fr her to look after him. IN fact, when my boy is about 2 years old, I would prefer him to spend more time with my parents (my parents will be looking after my boy by then) because they can teach him skills.. and I would then terminate the Indonesian maid. Just that during the baby years, need an extra hand with the housework, if not will be tough on my present maid. not easy loh.

ZuEn, my baby can't flip. He is 17 weeks now. But he can lunge forward when I place him on his tummy. don't stress. I think every child develops at his own pace. important is we give them sufficient opportunity to develop. that's most important.

can mothers share how long their babies wake up for? My baby wakes up for about 1 to 2 hours, then will take a short nap after that. is this normal?

ZuEn, BabyCupid, my boy likes to go to new places. can go to other pple's houses, and okay with other pple carrying him. but he will only smile readily at familiar faces. When he is uncomfortable, he may not smile when carried by a stranger, and instead will smile at me or my mom who may be standing a distance away.

cactus,
my boy can slp frm 7pm to 7am ++ sometimes.. normal days are 9+pm to 7+ 8am.. during day time he slp less.. mayb 8+ wakie.. drink milk den play slp at 12+ 1pm.. den 1hr or so.. wakie drink milk and play again.. till nite..

BabyCupid, I find your boy like those happy go lucky kind leh, like his looks lor, hee, as if he can be friends with everyone one. Oh, btw, I showed my nanny your boy's facebook photo she say good looking.

oh dear!! Then my baby boy is really oversleeping liao!!! he is waking up for 1 to 2 hours, then need to nap again!!! Gosh!! Dun know what to do with him leh.

ZuEn,
my gal will look up/down, left/right non stop even when i bring her to the kitchen and living rm, not to mention other pple's hse..

(We always stay in our master bedrm cos we rented 2 rms out and there're tenants using the living rm.)

Veinz,
I'll try nuk teats then. thanks for your advice. really at wit's end already.

Cactus,
what's a nursing cup? is it those with handles but has a normal teat for the baby to suck? I've trid that too. he rejected it, sigh.
You're worried abt baby oversleeping, I'm worried abt my baby not enough sleep! LOL. really alot to worry

zuEn,
Tks ya...Yes, my bb also like that..They recognise plc one lor so i worry that when i bring her to my mum hse, she will cry n cry..hiaz...

ariesann,

my baby born on 16th June,he's 4 months +, also cannot flip yet, i try to turn him sideway, he will turn back to be on his back, seems like dont want to flip. but when he is in bouncer or lying on his back, he wants to sit up, like raising his head up.

veinz,
haha.. say thnx to your nanny ar.. handsome boy.. hahaha.. still early to say.. ya i can say he is a happy bb.. bery easily smile, luff, excited kind.. but the funny thing is when u bring him out hor.. he bery busy looking at things and focused de.. so he wont smile tat much compared to be at home/somebody hse..