(2008/06) June 2008

MLP,

Just now i have meeting then it cross over my session so end up i go pump late then cross over my lunch time. so i rush rush then also accidentally knock my funnel against the bag, end up sterilise and clean again.. want to rush end up even slower.

For me if i throw milk or spill milk my hb dun feel anyting.. he always say can replendish back.. but he dun understand how hard we need to keep up just to maintain. its the effort.

ioio,

My PD says its normal for bb if dun poo for few days.

Zu En,

ya me also 7-8 hrs no pump also no engorge. engorge we feel pain. no engorge we worry ss drop... sianz.

feifei,

My boy haven't take 5-in-1, going to take soon. i dunno can take rotavirus together on same day or separate days.

me didn't know abt rotavirus. only recently my boy got 1 day he poo 10 times according to my MIL. i get so worried for few days monitoring. by right total bf shd be safer but i still worry, so tinking to get the vaccine.

me in office usually pump around 3-4 times. each time amt not the same. total for 4 sessions around 780ml. then go back home latch 2 times.

Veniz,

To increase yr output at night or during those times where u have lesser milk, drink water after u finish latching/pumping so tat next latch/pump u will have more milk.

alternatively another way is to pump 1.5hrs after yr last latch, then another 1.5hrs u latch again. If ss is low then dun pump too much during this interval but just 10-15mins to stimulate.

Ritzy, keep your milking motor going! Its still not too late to give bm to your elder son. Once u hv established stable ms, u can add the expressed bm into his milo or milk.

shern,

i dunno how to handle the cradle cap but according to internet article, say to leave it alone it will clear off. as for his bb pimples was told by pd tat no solution has to wait for it to clear on its own too.. my mum said cos i didnt drink a lot of coconut drink only drink a little.

felicia,

i dunno tat avent can be used only 5 times. i intend to use until it got wear n tear.

ya the bottles take up space but my fridge has a separate freezer and is quite big, so far i still have space but running out, now approx i have 60 bottles inside. i dare not use milk bag cos i v lun zun, scare i spill or wat.

my bb somehow dun like thaw milk. usually i gave 1 bottle of thaw and 3 bottles of fresh milk to my mil every day. then the rest of fresh milk i freeze it at home. but somehow he didn't like to finish the last bottle, which is also the thaw one. but dunno is it bec he is waiting for me to come back to my mil house or he dun like thaw milk.

so i'm not the only one kena spilled milk.

btw, yesterday when i complete pumping milk, i notice a drip of milk on my nipple and it's abit reddish one... i know bm is frm blood but anyone encounter tis b4?

ellysia,
my ger also dun like thaw milk. in fact refuse to take. i mix thaw milk with fresh milk. she 'mian qiang' take a little.

u can try....

sharon,

do u want to bring yr bb to see pd?
just in case fever or wat.

it can also be bec' yr bb just happen want to start on solid food? cos i knew got bb want to start on solid food then will act like dun want to drink milk. but since yr case is after jab, play safe see pd?

iamsnow,

i dunno tat thaw milk can be mix with fresh milk, safe?

MLP,

could be u pump too hard and got bleed a little?

ellysia,
i think shld be can. coz many mummies advise me on this. they say mix is ok. thats y i try. my ger drink liao ok leh. no LS, no constipation. as per normal. just make faces coz the milk not as fragrant as total fresh milk

iamsnow,

haaaa.. really.
my MIL got mix before but it is bec 1 container got more milk so she try to balance out. then recently i still tell her not to mix in case she mix thaw with fresh. cos after my boy got 10 poo times during tat 1 day i get so scared.

shycloud,

initially is even more during ML.
if ms reduce then maybe i take fenugreek lor. so far dare not take cos scare of side effects.

ellysia..
urs is prob more on a surplus...how i wish i can achieve that.

fenugreek side effects? like wat? me still taking it happily.

<font color="aa00aa">ellysia, i had about 40glass bottles for my frozen ebm oso, but as it can only fill up 80-100ml and took lot of space, tats why i prefer milkbag. Btw, there's once i found my glass bottle cap was open coz of expansion due to frozen temperature, ended up i throw away the 2 bottles afraid some bacteria. So, now i dare not fill up too full on the bottle.

So far my ger is ok with thaw frozen BM, maybe i had been giving her all this while. I'll thaw 2-3packs everynite and transfer to avent cup the next day. Actually my mil oso mix it when need to balance up the milk intake for my ger. So far my ger take it quite well.</font>

janiviy,
my boy oso using the teat 6mths to 12mths size 2.. he long ago dun wan size 1 already.. his pacifier i oso changed to bigger ones..

shycloud,

i purposely create surplus during ML cos i tot need to store more in case ss drop when start work. so i pump after latch at night. i scared if he growth spurt then i cannot match demand.

babycupid,

how u know yr bb need size 2?

Felicia,

cannot fill up too full for any container. wat bottle u get, only 100ml capacity? i get pigeon, max is 160ml. but i store like 120-150 cos my bb dun drink tat much yet, i dun want to waste milk. i got store some avent 180ml and 240ml, considering to let him drink when he need more milk.

iamsnow,

i dunno is it bec she mix or wat. tat incident happen on 2nd week when i start work. i only start giving frozen milk when start work. previously during ML i seldom give only gave once or twice when i go out during weekends.

didn't let bb see pd, cos next day he poo normal time so i tink maybe ok liao. my mil also get scare cos keep changing diapers.

one thing i dun like abt my mil way of handling my boy.. she like to change diapers or place my bb at the sofa or at her bed. Although she got put the diaper protection sheet beneath, i feel not hygienic cos she bring this sheet to places where she want to change his diaper or put him. then put the sheet back to his bed.

dunno is it i fussy or wat or is this consider ok.

shycloud,

i also stop my nite pumping when i start work. impossible cos the zzz monster catch me. sometimes i am so tired tat my bb cry i also dunno. then my hb got to wake me up.

ellysia,
hmm.. cos the teat of size 1 is small and he kept sucking bery hard.. and couldnt suck well as too small.. den i go buy size 2 to try... it fitted nicely in his mouth and he suck normally.. i dunno when to change oso.. jus trial n error.. i bot all kind of sizes.. size 1 small n medium n large holes.. size 2 small n medium holes.. so size 2 medium best now..

ellysia, fenugreek got side effect? tot only the milk tea has...ya, cradle cap can actually leave alone but read tat some moms use calendula with gd effect, as for pimples can use cool boiled water to clean face regularly esp after feeding. dunno bout the coconut juice but tot it's so tat wen bb pops out dun have the whitish layer...

i usu wash the changing mat if i've used it outside, but i have 1 at ILs plc &amp; 3 more at hm. i'm only ok if use on my bed cos i know how often my sheets r changed

danryan, my boy's also using no 2 teat

shycloud,

i read up this website kellymom.com. got many useful bf articles.

shern,

i read got forummers feedback got side effects. if u read up on fenugreek on internet search, can see.

my bb born got whitish layer of skin then peel off within 1 week. pd say cos my bb is born v close to due date. then the pimples he say is bec due to hormones. i read some internet articles say is hormones from placenta.

ellysia..
ya knew abt this too...but home no internet access so lotsa things i found out only after i came back to work after 2 mths. nvm lah..better late than never..

iamsnow

no pm fr u leh...i wanna pack my things going back now....will read yr pm tonite...

take care all mommies......have a nice journey home...chao

ellysia,
the teat is bigger hole cant really see the diff.. kekeke.. but i believe its slightly bigger..

ellysia....
my maid taught me a method to get rid of cradle cap and it works...
abt half hr before bb bath, apply baby oil on the scalp... then wash off during bath...
she did this when we noticed the cradle cap was coming and it is effective in controlling it...

<font color="aa00aa">hi veniz / feifei / shycloud,
just back from the snef brief couple of hrs back. where would u gers like me to start? wat would u like to know abt the parenthood rebate? let me know n i try to share as much as i can here.

<font color="aa00aa">ellysia, the glass bottle i used was from hospital one. Some can only store 80ml, if store more the cap will kena burst open. But now, mostly i freeze using milkbag liao, can store more.</font>

leng leng.. thanks! my bb poo liao and a lot accordingly to my mil.. from my experience.. the longest he nv poo is 3 days.. and today is the 3rd day but mil dun noe n make a big fuss and ask me to look for solution myself.. ;(

ellysia... about mil.. i can understand... sigh.. how i wish i can quit and take care of him on my own..