(2008/06) June 2008

Ellysia, acutally i am thinking not to take epidural cause most of my relatives said not very good in the future.. I wonder if it is a myth or true...

Grace
i see....coz if right now we can tahan the contraction....why not to have normal delivery than taking epi....so dats mean taking epi will have less contraction pain....

yes, if induce the contraction pain is much greater than the one which you have feel it daily...

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">ellysia.. my friend walk down the stairs... yup yup.. be careful.. must have someone beside you...</font></font>

jesslyn

u can go http://www.yahoogroups.com then sign in with yr id and password u can see liao.

grace,

I am not sure whether the effects of epi is true or not.

If i got real contractions and i can tahan i prob dun take epi.

But if induce, tink must take epi or else cannot tahan and my pain threshold is low.

wow ellysia, envy your sleep time... how glorious to wake at 11am!
enjoy your time and space now, and hope "it" will happen soon! is your amniotic fluid level ok? if so, i figure it'll still be ok since anything from 37-42 weeks is considered full-term...

Danryan, from what i understand from my sis is that less contraction pain. Maybe we can ask the expert here.. Ms Cactus! =D She had lot of info!

Cactus: what do you tink?

Hi Ellysia,feifei gynae is the same as mine dr khi frm ACJ ...gynae told me my baby nw is 3.3kg she scare if baby grow 3.5kg is hard to natural birth tat y she ask want to induce ornot?similar case as feifei...

Grace
hehehe....me also waiting for cactus reply...

my 2nd delivery is dat bb 3.05kg and was induced...can feel the diff wif my 1st one which is normal...

sigh.. i seems to be doing more when on MC. Cant stand looking at nice sunny day and not doing laundry. And also the housework to be done. Dunno whether any mommies here are also like that.

Just curious, anyone here decided to send your bb to babysitter/nanny once ML is up? I am intending to send my bb to the same babysitter that is looking after my first boy. Just wondering what is the market price now. I am waiting for my babysitter to quote me the price this evening. In year 2005, the standard rate was $500. Hope can get more up to date rates from any mommy here.

ioio
Yeah, the western compute 40 weeks from last mense date. But Chinese has different calculation, n i tink they take fr conception date.

Ellysia
So u last mense date u did note correctly? Nt irregular then? Sure, will b honour to post your Baby Arrival.

bring marriage cert for reg baby cert rite?

If we are not registering on the same day, can we come back a week later to the hospital to do the registration, instead of going to ICA?

jesslyn: the marriage cert is needed when making baby's birth cert.. so it would be good if you can bring your marriage cert along with you.. unless you wan to make another trip to make the baby birth cert..

Ellysia, I'm not in yahoogroups yet.

Grace, it is true there may be side effects to you and your bb if you take epidural but if cannot tahan the pain, it may be better to take epidural. it is a double edge sword. only you can decide and each labour is different too. in terms of pain and duration.

yum, am eating bakzhang now. Been craving for the Joo Chiat bakzhang,scared no chance to eat after bb comes. So, finally having it now

Hey Nss, Yes! I will be sending my girl to Nanny. I heard now Market rate for 5-day is $550. That mean evening time, you will need to fetch the baby. =) For me, what i did was.. I went to paste flyer around my block coz nearer better as least can save travelling time. =)

nss,
me also sending my girl to nanny who is at my block and few floors down only and she is my MIL's old friend so she only charge me $450. I will be fetching her back everynite.

Thanks, nss! Yup, Danryan. Doctor will look at the CTG print outs and tell you when to push. you only push when you have a contraction. Erm, some doctors will turn off or turn down the epidural dosage to let you feel some sensation of pressure so taht you will auto push.

But a word of caution. if you don't accept any pain relief from the time labour starts, your body actually produces a chemical which helps your body deal with pain (if you are relaxed) and this is proven to be more effective than even epidural. but very very few mothers can acheive the total relaxation attitude during labour due to anxiety, fear and medical intervention. Once we accept pain relief, our body stops secreting that nautral chemical substance, and we actually feel more pain than if we didn't accept pain relief. For example, without pain relief, our pain may be 6 on a scale of 0 to 10, 10 being most painful. With pain relief, our pain may be 8 due to decreased hormone secreted.. but our perceived pain may be 0 or 1, due to pain relief. So once epidural is stopped or reduced near pushing stage, we may feel alot alot of pain or more pain than normal.

hi grace, christina, thanks. does this rate includes food once your kid start on solid food? The rate I was paying for my first kid is not inclusive of food.

Wonder anyone had 2 kids with the same bbsitter? Will it be the same pricing even if the first kid is at school for 3 hours everyday? I prefer to send them to the same bbsitter as this means less logistic headache for me. If only hb agrees to getting a maid....

jessyln, star, I think the ROM cert is required if you want to make medisave deduction from your husband's medisave. And also for birth cert registration

cactus

thanks so much for yr explanation. Just curious lah...coz some mtb here already plan to have epi although this is their 1st time delivery.

Fennie - Wide gap or not, its no problem lah. As my mom always say, its how the parents teach the kids to love each other. My cousins kids are also quite far apart, about 6 years. So far, they are OK.

Talking about epi, when I had my #1, I wanted to go natural. The pain was out of this world for me. After 4 hours of pain, I cannot take it any more and ask for epi. Heng ah, still can take epi. Then it was 8 hours of heaven. When it was time to push, I could still feel the baby pushing himself out. The nurses will scream - Push! So no worries in that department. 3 pushes and my boy came out!

Hi star,i haven chosen my shifu but he want the baby date &amp; time when the baby out so tat y i haven choose the name...so my husbabd sae when baby gif birth aldy he will call the shifu &amp; tell him the time &amp; date then he will call us tmlr &amp; pick the name frm him...How abt urs?

Finish lunch and i do a bit of housework. Just like tat i sweat all over my t-shirt, have to bathe and change another.

My bb is become bigger and his kicks are nowadays very strong. Yest i have cramps and ache at V area whole day but not those with interval type. It make me agitated slightly + the house spoilt lights prob get me quite edgy.

I dunno why so many trial runs for me.. sigh i rather pain 1 go shot then go give birth liao. so many trial runs.

On epidural:
I asked for epidural during my first one. For my second one, I am thinking of going natural without epi, as hoping to experience what labour pain is like. My hb was highly against not taking epi, think he scared that I cannot take the pain and kill him. Now in dilemma, dunno to take epidural or not. Anyone here deliberating opting for NO Epidural?

peacebloom,

Yes last check my fluid is 11cm whereas the benchmark is 6cm. My bb still have water to swim around.

jesslyn,

U are now in which week?
OIc so we are same clinic me under dr wong.
yes 3.5kg is considered very big..

My gynae still told me 3.4KG shd be no problem for me bec i am tall.......me 1.68m tall.

cactus,

In order to counter that chemical reaction, i will tink its better to learn from ah mor example.. i remember she told the nurse she want min dosage of epi and she can even feel during the last stage.. tat is quite good i tink... i tink if i get epi i will get min dosage.

my colleagues told me only no 1 may need epi after tat, no 2 and no 3 will be less pain and thus no need epi. since they are all experienced mums with 2 or 3 kids i quite trust their opinions.

why u dun join yahoogroups?.. TF no invite cactus?????

jess, JP is correct, must bring original one.

Hi Connie, I had that menses cramp too. It is different from contraction leh. For me, contraction is more like tightening of the whole stomach area, whereby menses cramp lower and more painful.
Not sure is it the same with the other mommy. Ellysia, is yours like that too?

connie,

yes contractions is menses cramp pain.

nss,

My experienced colleagues who take epi only take for no 1 afterwhich no 2 or no 3 no epi cos shorter labour hours and less pain, also they say below is more flexible and bigger so easier to give birth.

Ellysia
I'm so so sooooo glad u ask Cactus tat Yahoo qn. I've always been wnting to ask n wonder y too tat she nt joining leh. I tot she wnt to stay secretive. No email, no photo, no msn, etc.. ya lah, no msn or yahoo i can understand cos her office firewall. But then hor, can do from home rite, huh, Cactus? Joining or not?

Jess and JP,

Original marriage cert. No photocopy.

I put my original mariage cert in a document bag and put next to my hosp bag.

nss,

Nope from wat i understand from dr and articles, tightenting of stomach area is braxton hicks contractions and definitely is false.

Real contractions are menses cramp pain but sometimes can be false alarm only pain for less than 1 hour and not persistent.

TF,

I always wonder too haaa!

actually i ask cactus for her msn at home i can tok to her at nite.. but didn't have her email address and didn't see her reply.

cactus,

join le...