(2008/06) June 2008

Ellysia,

Got good and bad, your boy only watch tv for a short period, mine i think if continue the whole 1 hour of mickey or barney he sure sit there till forget about us le. so unhealthy. bringing him to cc to shorten those exposure of tv lor

oh really ah? so your boy dont cry when u not around ah? wow. so independant. i hope my boy will react the same way too =)

Thanks for the info of stuffs to bring to cc! esp pertaining to the special bath for my boy.

Eve,
Dun worry ger, ur boy will slowly adapt de..but hor, u hv to be "hardhearted" at times lor..even if he cries n cries there, u just hv to dump him there and let the teachers handle him..I know its bery heartpain but no choice, soon they will know they hv to stay there even if they wail...=)..

The CC give u a list? hmm, diapers, water bottle, another set of clothings, diapers, their snacks, FM...

U know hor, for the 1st mth hor, char likes to hang her barney water bottle at her neck cos teacher told me, its a form of security lor..And then we let her bring her chuo chuo there so she can hv a sense of security when she naps =)..

Felicia,
I see...Huang yishi is at room 9 lor =)...
Hmm, ur gers scare of dark?cos at first at e disney on ice, when e lights went out, char panick for awhile, then when she heard donald duck voice she ok le..haha...

Eve

anyting tat he use, u paste his name label on it. I bot the name label maker which can make waterproof labels.

Anyway during the trial, u can stay with him in the morn and afternoon u can try to hide for short time (maybe 30mins) to see his response.

The teachers told me not to force him to join in the activities but they let him walk freely inside the classroom to explore and join in when he want to. My boy always walk around the room while everyone is having their activities. Only after he attend few months then teacher report tat he is able to participate better in the activities.

My boy doesn't have a chou chou so he didnt bring chou chou to sch.

FEifei, Ellysia,

i hope my boy can settle fast loh. i already prepared for all the crying, nightmares, blah... think i must not show the anxiety when i leave him loh. ohya, how long is your trial period? hours or days? the principal told me if can just stay for half hour then leave the class. go hide somewhere lo. the longer u stay the harder he can adapt. haiz. i think its me who has the separation anxiety. haha

oh my boy got chou chou but so smelly la. maybe just bring his fav mickey or barney soft toy there? hee hee

2 days trial. 1st day my hb attend. 2nd day i attend.

I stay with him half a day. afternoon then i hide. When i stay with him, he keep running to me and can't participate in the activities well. But when i left him and hide, he participate better. In the afternoon when i left him, he play along happily for 2 hours, but later he start to cry. so i come in and carry him awhile etc. bring him home early at 5pm.

Yah i tink sometimes is we ourselves can't let go.

For the trial, dun tink u will need the chou chou cos he probably won't be staying there for long alone. Cos u may also bring him back earlier too. No need to hurry to bring so many stuff, u can observe during the trial and reconfirm with teachers on the stuff to bring.

Ellysia,
so u mean after the 2nd day, the 3rd day onwards he attend full day by himself already? wow. he can adjust to school quite well leh. thats very good.
hows the teacher student ratio like? dont mind if i ask? the school my boy attending is about 1 : 8 lor. the max liao. but the principal mentioned all the kids already there for more than 6months. so quite independant already.

Morning ladies...

Ellysia,
last time my ger bery scare of dark de.... then we slowly bring her out of it lor..

Eve,
The trial was abt 3days lor, I stayed with her for 3days, these 3 days we slowly increase 1hr longer than other day...then by the 4th day, she know we will leave aft putting her there, so kept on stickign to us, but we still stayed there, until she was engorsed in doing activities then we left quietly and stand outside the door to peek at her lor...

U hv to be prepared for at least 1 mth for ur boy to adapt lor..And also , falling sick during the 1st few wks are e worst..I rem char started in cc in April, throughout april, she onl iwent to sch for abt 1wk+ cos on n off sick..lost alot of weight...But come to think of it, which kid go cc will be fat fat de..hee

I tink moe has a standard ratio of 1:8 lor...

I wanted to bring my girl to Barney too but it is so exp n so far! Then must buy a fix for her too. Heartpain. N e show dates are near to my edd. If I pre-matured again, maybe already give birth liao. Hb not kern but lil zu-en likes barney, I think she will enjoy. I saw they have discount for friso buyer but tat means have to do manual booking at sistec counter?

Eve

No. He was on half day initially for 1-2 months cos he was on half day program tat time.

My boy class is currently 3:8. But initally when i put him there, it was 1:4. Then later they combine the infant and tots class cos infant gets older. So it become 2:6. Then they recruit 1 more teacher and more students, so now is 3:8 lor. Even with this good ratio, my boy still get sick every month. And he also got into 3-4 allergy incidents when he either touch or consume his fren's food tat he is allergic to. Adv is he learn many words, more independent & listen to instructions at home.

To-date my boy attended 6 months CC liao but will still whine or cry a bit and want to be carry when i drop him at CC. First month is the worst, cry until v chiam when drop him off at CC.

Usually in the morn he doesn't want to walk in and want to be carried & carried pass to teacher. Then if teacher put him on the floor he will run to me n want carry. It oso depend which teacher is on duty cos he prefer one over the other. I will usu carry him (if he cry and want to be carried) & then pass to teacher (again), repeat this action. Then before he whine again, i quickly say bye-bye (kiss him goodbye) and run off.

I saw 2 of his classmates come in will always guai guai walk in and no cry one. dunno why my one is still so stickly. But i know after i left he will be able to enjoy. in fact teacher say he usu will not cry for mummy after i left, though some of his classmates will.

zuen,
How are u doing? in ur 3rd trimster liao? times flies hor...Yup, u can buy the friso FM then take e receipt to JP sistic counter to get 20% discount =)....

Feifei,
Ya lor, just entered 3rd trimester, now 27/28 weeks liao. So far so good. Hehe. I was about to drop e idea of catching barney show liao, but tempted when I see u all bringing your kids. Lil zuen likes Barney too, I think she will enjoy. Hehe. She can watch e entire VCd so watching e live show should b quite alright bah.

Morning ladies..

Zuen,
Time flies hor =)..

Bring lil zuen lor, i tink she will love it leh =)...Char love Disney on Ice when we brought her there =)...We tot she will cry in e dark but she din, even clap and shouted "Yeah!" when all e audience clapped..haha...We so paisei..hehe...

Morning mommies,
long time since i post here... hope stil can remember who i am?? keke

Can i ck if anyone having problem in gettin the child to speak?? My gal stil dosent speak much. the longest is only "wo bu yao".. no more 3 sentence.. seems like her speech development v v slow leh.. shld i b worried? any suggestion to aid in makin her speak more???

Hi poky,
nice to see u here...hmm..char also dun talk much le, i rem last yr when we bring her to e PD for assessment, PD said her speech bery bery slow lor...and said hor, for her age, she shd be able to speak in single words le..Made us so worried...I find that aft she attended cc, her speech slightly more now...

Hmm, when is xuan going to sch? Jan? Hmm, if u are really worried, y not bring ur ger to ur PD and asked to be assess? I feel every kid is diff ..I still rem my mum telling me, my bro can onli speak at 3....

Hmm, meanwhile, u can try to talk more to her, encourage her when she talks, do u let her watch vcds? Which one she likes most?

feifei,
i hvnt bring her to pd assessment yet.. think the next schedule stil along way to go...

the childcare we plannin to enrol her in, only b starting in Jan 11 leh.. now is still under construction. i also hopin she will get motivated to speak in the center... but now stil got about another 5mths... keep readin about other kids her age can speak in sentence, hold conversation... so thinkin if there anythin i can do in these 5mths lor....

talk to her, she also stil eh eh... even callin me, also lazi... piangz.... we let her watch barney, barbie, wiggle, etc. she watch but no sound come out of her de... =(

Hi Poky!

Happy to see all of you here once again. hehe
With regards to speech, spenser also not talking much yet wor, at least your girl still can say wo bu ya. mine is only 1 syllabus and not even calling me yet lor. haiz... me also worried.i spoken to pd she mentioned at this age should be using 2 to 3 syllabus. but then my doc client who handles autistic child says some kids tend to be slower. also attending cc should help lor. so im enrolling spenser to cc this october. =)

Eve,
haha, thx for the welcome. =)
but tat "wo bu yao", is the only 3 syllabus... the rest r 1 syllabus also. but even those 1 words, she also v stingy... sigh...

hmmm... think i have to wait til nxt yr jan to c if childcare help liao... =( originally wanted to enrol her back in the positive classes.. cos i realise she make more sounds when attendin the class, but once the classes stop.. she bcome "silent" again.... but my hubby refuse to attend the lesson with her leh... i also cant attend with her. no energy... sigh...

or is there any lesson that similar but dosent required parents participation???

I read in babycenter article that 2 -3 years old is language major advancement.

Poky

I tink parents accompany is actually the main key to language development, rather than watching shows. If watch show is oso ok provided parents sing or tok abt the show to encourage their interest.

Tis age classes all require parents participation. I tink only 3-4 yrs and above then no need parents to accompany.

Eve

Attending cc definitely help. My boy learn to speak 5 syllabus after he attended CC. yr kid will learn to speak more when he attend CC.

Extract from babycenter:

The little sponge following you around has big ears! So give her plenty to listen to. Research shows that preschoolers whose mothers talk often to them build bigger vocabularies. And kids with fathers who also frequently talk to them develop even larger vocabularies. (Moms tend to use more comforting and nurturing words drawn from the child's own world, while dads are more likely to talk about less-familiar interests, researchers say.)

Your 2-year-old now
Your preschooler's vocabulary is on its way to becoming dictionary-thick. The typical 24-month-old knows about 50 to 75 words and is working the next big milestone: stringing them together into phrases and sentences. Two-word noun-verb sentences are typical at 2: "baby sleep" and "want milk." He'll probably begin expressing himself in longer sentences as the year goes by. If your child uses fewer than 20 words, he should be tested for hearing problems.

First sentences tend to be short (two to three words) and to the point: "Mommy help." "Play ball Daddy." Or a preschooler may echo a group of words she hears often, like "Go bye-bye" or "All gone."

Some ways to encourage your 2-year-old to speak in sentences:

Expand on her bare-bones phrases in your reply: "You want Mommy to help you put your sock on." "Okay, Daddy will play ball with Lucy."
Don't correct her grammar. Casually repeat the sentence using the right words, but it's way too early to point out mistakes.
Don't insist your child repeat a full, proper sentence. Prompting, "Can you say, 'Mommy, help me with my sock?'" only disrupts the flow and frustrates your child.
Read often in an interactive way, asking your child questions about what he sees on the page or what he thinks will happen next.

How Parents May Be Stifling Their Toddler's Language Development

Many parents ask speech-language pathologists if they are stifling their child’s language development by using baby talk. This depends upon what your definition of “baby talk” is. The important thing to remember is that children need to hear simplified sentences if they are to have any chance of being able to imitate them. Imagine yourself if learning a foreign language – when you hear short clear phrases frequently enough you are more likely to be able to recall and use them.

Simplify Sentences, Not Words
Simplifying sentences doesn’t mean that individual words needs to be simplified. For example, when offering a child a banana to eat, it’s best to say, “Would you like a banana?”, “Here’s a banana” or simply “Banana?”, rather than saying, “Would you like nana?”, “Here’s a nana.” or “Nana”. As previously mentioned, children understand more than what they can say, so teach them the correct word (and pronunciation) from the start.

Always Model Words Correctly
Children are likely to initially struggle to say a word like “banana” correctly, perhaps saying “nana” instead. However, it’s important that adults continue to model the correct pronunciation (but not in a way that puts any pressure on the child). Aim to indirectly follow up an incorrect pronunciation from a child with your own correct model, as just hearing how it should be said in the right context is helpful to children. Don’t indicate to the child that their pronunciation is wrong (unless their speech and language skills are delayed).

A conversation may be:

Adult: “Would you like a banana?”

Child: “Nana!”

Adult: “Banana! Here’s your banana.”

Simplify Sentences to Support Toddler Language Development
When talking to children try to use sentences one word longer than the sentences that they are already saying. This will make it easier for them to attempt to imitate them. If they are still saying single words, continue to use single words until they have at least fifty single words in their spontaneous spoken vocabulary (expected around the age of two years), before targeting two-word phrases.

Record Spoken Vocabulary in Toddlers
It is helpful to start a list of words that a child is saying (spontaneously, not imitated) on a sheet of paper kept on the fridge where it can regularly be accessed and added to. The page may be divided into nouns (labels for objects/people), verbs (action words), greetings and other words. This will indicate how many words (and the type of words) a child has in their vocabulary.

Toddler Speech and Language Development
Speech development and language development are often closely intertwined during the toddler years, and it’s not until preschool that these skills can be more clearly separated. In the early years, normal speech and language development includes incorrect pronunciation of words. This may include “nana” for “banana”, “lellow” for “yellow” or “deen” for “green”. These are all examples of phonological processes that speech-language pathologists can discuss further if there are concerns. Should these types of speech errors be occurring during or beyond the preschool years with no sign of resolving, please seek the advice of a speech-language pathologist.

Although it’s good to always keep in mind that children develop at their own rate, it’s also important to ask for support if you have any concerns. Too often parents delay making an appointment with speech-language pathologists, which can sometimes lead to bigger language delays. Remember (as with all specialists) that there are often lengthy waiting lists to see these professionals. Early intervention can make huge differences to a child’s speech and language development.

Ellysia,
Thx for the info.

I do sing n talk to her while watchin the shows with her. even reading books, etc... she can understand wat we sayin. cos she will react in appropriate action when we ask or tasked her somethin. but jux tat she refuse to open her "golden mouth"....

20words - 20 single syllabus?? then she have la. but juz dun say often only. consider???

then i think i have to place my bets on the childcare liao... how i hope the center faster finishin construction.... =(

Feifei, Ellysia,
Thanks for the info on the cc your kids attending =) i hope my boy can adapt as fast as your lil ones hehehe

Ellysia,
wow the school your boy attending has very good teacher student ratio leh.
i went "shopping" for few CCs, most with 1:8 or 1:6 the best i saw.

Zuen,
I think the barney concert should be nice lor. i saw the concert on dvd its very entertaining n all kids will sing n dance. hehe

Eve

Yah tats one of the main reason we selected tat CC. Maybe oso bec' the CC r located at those landed housing area, so not so many people. those CC near to MRT always have a lot of people queuing.

Disadv is not so convenient so if my hb is not free to fetch, i need to take cab cos i dunno how to drive.

Any optional jab to give your kids before attending CC? like flu vaccine? Hep A & B? Do you think its good to give Flu vaccine to reduce the risk of getting sick so often in CC?

MOrning ladies..

Poky,
hmm, dun worry ya..soem kids are slower than others de..Char also at first dun wan to call me at all, all she call is DAddy....so then i started asking her to call me when she wants something taken, or when i come home, i asked her to call mummy...

I find that hor, its good to bring her for classes within these 5mths b4 cc starts leh..hmm..how abt race kids at Great World City? Hmm...now ur MIL takes care of ur ger? Does she talk to xuan often? I feel our gers need to be encouraged to talk de...then it makes them feel proud =D..Or u should let xuan mix ard with more kids, interact more... Now hor, i try to bring char to meet with my fren's kids or go out so that she can communicate with them more..

But ever since she goes cc, she learnt alot alot..Good and bad..haha..but she can speak abit more and "act" more too...Duno to laugh or get angry..hee...

Eve,
No prob ya...Just hv to prepare urboy for cc lor..But hor, must be PREPARED that might fall sick the first few wks..Now I am giving char the brand's Vit C and multi-vits lor, so far she likes cos its chewables =D...she goes bitting it lor..

There are no med to prevent kis frm falling sick de.. Its to build up their immune system lor..Do u realised that everytine ur boy gets fever, he grows taller? ;)..

Morn all,

Ellysia,
i also thought so the flu vaccine have to be taken yearly and supposed for those who travel frequently that may have higher chances to catch those serious flu. anyway thanks!

Poky,
i also didnt expose spenser to any classes since the last that i attended with u all(half way thru only hahah) coz he seems to dislike classes leh. so now waiting for him to get enrol to CC loh. hoping tt since its not accompanied class he wont be so sticky then can interact more lor.
January very fast de, meanwhile just input her with more new words and more activities so that when she talks talking most of the stuffs she know liao.

Feifei,
yeah i have to agree when the kids fall sick they become thinner but after tt they seem to have grown up alot overnight. hehe

brand's vit C? where to get huh? pharmacy ah? is multivit heaty? so far i only give my boy fish oil lor.

Eve,
U hv to give spencer afew wks to adapt to cc lor, so for a start, u will expect him to stick to u, cry when u bring him there, dun wan to wear e uiniform or dun wan to go it etc..But trust me, he will get used to it de..give him 2-3wks lor =D...

Brand's vit c u can get frm anywhere one...I tink multi vit is heaty lor, so far vit C is ok wor..I tried giving char colostrum but she dun like..hiaz...

Feifei,

ya i also mentally prepared for all the pattern he will give. most theory know or have heard liao, now just to wait for the practical "lesson" lor. haha but im definitely looking forward to him attending school lor minus the sick part. sigh. so heartache hoh when the kids fall sick.

thanks.. maybe i should go get some vit c for him hehe give vit c daily? then if sick give extra?
so u never bring char for hep A or B huh? coz the clinic assistant of the PD called telling me to go for Hep A and B. i also dont know whether to take or not. so many vaccine..aiyo scary when we were younger where got so many jabs?!

Eve,

Ya lor, i tink he will enjoy cos alot of activities lor =D..Which cc ur boy is going?

I dun give daily wor, alt days cos scare too dependent on the vits =D.. Hep A or B? Hmm, cos she had e 6-in-1 jabs liao wor..I told hep jabs are in liao..

Trick to teach yr kid to call u mummy..

u can repeat words like "mummy bring u outside"..
"mummy bathe u, and dress u up" etc.. "come to mummy", "mummy read books to <child's name>"..Point to child and say his name, then point to yrself and say 'mummy'. i use this method and it works. Read somewhere tat if u keep repeating a word together with the kid's name, he will remember tat word better.

I give multi-vit, the yummy bear series. He like it bec' he tink it is a sweet.

If sick, give real fruits is the best.

anyway, i heard from a doc before that those supplements work only if u take fruits. else it is not v effective if the person didnt take fruits.

Eve

dun worry. i tink yr child will learn a lot of words when he go cc. my boy can now even sing songs. Tis morn teacher just show me tat he can recite many different type of birds' name by looking at flash cards.

Feifei,

Boy going to Cherie Hearts at my workplace lor. going to start him off with half day first. then fetch him back during lunch time. abit rush for me lor so hope he adpt fast then change to full day soon. hehe

No leh. 6in1 not included wor. its optional for hep a and b? dunno leh the clinic ass called and told me its optional so ask me to decide lor. later i go google and find out more hehe

Ellysia,
i always say mummy here n there, previously he call me dada now call both me n hb daddy. faintz lor. its like very difficult for him to pronounce the words leh. then he gets v angry when we force him to talk =( hes v noisy de, will go dada lala ah...and all the gestures lor

Ellysia,
ya i read to my boy everyday lor. He will pick the books he want and pass to me lor. I love the bonding time during the few minutes of reading. hehe after which he will run to his toys in a flash of lightning hahaha then left me stone on the bed.

Feifei,
Ya both rather near lo. the most i tabao back to office to eat lor.

Feifei,
Yes, I think we r bringing lil zuen to e show. I am so tempted now. Hehe. But e fix r so exp n lil zuen even need a tix with no concession??!!! I think Barney out to rob our $$. Haha.

Poky,
I have no prob with lil zuen's speech. She's talking alot even b4 she starts playgroup, but I think it is bcos of her elder cousins. She can sing so many songs n her longest sentence is 9 words. But she is still painfully shy n clamped up in front of strangers. -.o" I m having prob trying to correct tat.
I think we need to attend enrichment class with them now. It will also help us see if they are learning wor.

Eve,
I also got Barney vcd of actual concerts but those are ang mo children. I scare lil zuen clamped up during the concert n daddy n mummy end up monkeying to ease her n leaver us tired + poorer. Haha.

Eve

during the inital stage, my hb also rush from his office by taking cab during lunch time to fetch my boy from CC and then put at MIL house. He did tat for 2 weeks before we let him start school bus. My hb feedback v shag. Later on, when he is on full day, my hb rush from office to fetch him too. So he has to bring work back home.
We r waiting for MIL to be better, then we may activate the sch bus to let him take the bus to my MIL house, so tat it is not so rush for my hb.

Looks like u r a diligent mum! Then it shd be fine. He can speak at least 20 words ored right?

ZuEn,

My boy is oso shy in front of strangers, so he doesn't speak much when with strangers. people tot he not toking much haaa. But at home he toks a lot.

At least yr gal got cousins to accompany. My boy is the only kid in our family.. no cousins yet.

Zuen,
Ya true lo, those are ang mo kids so more participtaion from them bah. maybe ours just sit on our lap and sing and watch thruout? haha just hope they will enjoy.
i heard they dont check tixs lo. if kid can pass off as 2 yo then prob can just get 1 tic lor. coz end up sure on parents lap. but i rem lil zuen is rather tall for her age.
aiya they should have like half price for kids hoh..

Ellysia,
i expect to be damn rush lor. hopefully can just pick him up then faster bring to my mil then tabao my lunch then back office within that 1 half hours? hehe
umm..20 words should have bah but not all w correct sound lor, consider or not huh? hehe

Zuen,
hehe, brign soem snacks and drinks along to entertain her lor =)...dats wat we do lor...Hv to buy tic for them cos they over 2yrs old liao...

Ellysia,
My girl looks at e floor when she's uncomfy with strangers. So hard to get her to warm up lor. Duno how to help her open up. When we brought her to enrichment class, e rest all busy running around, but she clings on to me.

Eve,
Better dun take risk. Later one of us kena jam outside. I no strength to carry my girl, my hb never try taking care of her alone yet wor.

Feifei,
Oh, can bring food n drinks in ah. Ok, ok, will do just tat.

Im back to SAHM again. we finally decided to withdraw baby from her childcare after 6months there. we found that she keep fell sick. And we are very tired of seeing her sick. So decided to give-up my full time work and look after her myself.

Anybody know of any work from home job, as was thinking of working from home so that i can also look after my baby. If there is, pls let me know. Thank you.

Zu En

My boy will face away or run to my hb for carry if he see strangers, or people whom he met less often. He also will only speak more when he is more comfortable with the environment and people.