(2008/06) June 2008

The other day i was commenting to my colleague tat recent new generation names are getting more and more complicated, unlike the usual Mary or Jenny which our generation used more frequently. Some names are really hard to pronounce until we dunno how to pronounce.

MLP... im sure he will dote on meimei when she pops out... isaiah will take handkercheif for meimei when she salivates, or he will bring his toy to her to play.. now his current pet peeve is wanting to hold mei mei milk bottle n feed her... sometimes he siao siao will beat her also then we scold him.. its so fun to see the 2 of them together...

Mag, athan can sleep alone? so smart... we still cannot do that yet...

btw anyone bought any right brain materials or started showing them to ur kid yet... any recommendations on wat to get?

MLP,
he will surely be jealous, but jus make sure u spend time with him as well after Celeste is born and he'll be able to appreciate his sister soon. get ur hubby's help to be more involved and spend time with him as well.

Mag,
yeah, going to be a busy 2011 for us. if we're planning for #3, it'll be an even busier yr.

all kids are cute and smart! my gal is prob lucky cos she can learn from her brother. but it means she picks up all the wrong things as well. when she throws tantrums, she follow the bro's pattern, cross arm, pout. She loves saying "dun wan" and "no".

good to know Athan is speaking more. I think going to sch helps.
slowly lah... cos i think boys dev tend to be slower than girls.

Roxy,
Isaiah so sweet towards meimei, good job u've done. I hope Athan can do the same too.

Actually we were planning to let him go to bed alone for the longest time but never got down to it. Last nite I had a visitor at home so after Athan had his milk, I brot him to room, I din say anything & left the room but I saw him just sitting on the mattress waiting for us then I told him to lie down & sleep cos mummy & daddy got visitor & we'll come into the room once we're done, he nodded his head. 30mins later I came in to check on him, he fell asleep already. Good start for us so going to try again tonite. Hoping it works again.

Soyabean,
I'm wishing u in advance that u'll get No.3 soon ya. Your gal really so adorable, follow kor kor's pattern somemore.

Alot of ppl told me already that boys tend to be slower so I'm just keeping my fingers crossed lor that Athan's normal. Thanks ah..

Mag,
when i hv news, i will let u all know... keke...
my boy oso talk quite early, but not as fast as Eve. He started talking ard 17 mths. my hubby is always saying he takes after his mother (i.e. my MIL)... haha...
but i must oso pay credit to my maid, cos everyday when she is free, she will take time out to teach Eve to recognise and read words.

My boy started talking before 1 year old but is only words with no meaning. He start to speak with meaning from 15 months or so i tink..recently he can speak short phrases.

But sometimes he catches the wrong meaning again. Like i teach him to say 'i want water'.. and he though this is 'water' so he will say this either when he wanted someting else (not water) or he see water. I also taught him to link colours and objects together cos he ored know how to say all colours. So i say 'yellow car' and he says 'yellow car' even when the car is not yellow colour.. pengz.

soyabean

at least yr kids throw tantrum is cross arms and pout. My boy when throw tantrum will shake his face and roll on the floor or kick around.

mag, isaiah cannot speak yet also, only basic words like mama, papa.. he communicate to us in gestures super funny... but he is toilet trained now, when he wants go toilet he will go shh shh.... so envious ur boy will sleep on his own.. mine still want pat pat to sleep

Im sure athan will dote on his mei mei, when is ur edd? I think the most basic thing for gor gor to love mei mei is not to beat/scold gor gor due to his bad actions... initially isaiah will beat mei mei head n we will scold him and tell him must sayang mei mei etc but we dun beat him because of dat or be very fierce towards him n we make it a pt not to neglect him when mei mei is around so he dun get jealous... We also try to get him involved in wat mei mei is doing, such as asking him fetch this for her,do this for her.. so overtime he becomes very helpful to her n sometimes quite sticky, he'll want to climb into her play pen n hug her...i tink toddlers at this age are very helpful n loving in nature, just need to bring that side out from them...

i been trying to toilet trained rex recently...but not successful...i think he's not ready...

always ask me to help him put on diapers when i just let him wear the training pants. so ended up wear another shorts on top of training pants....

however when he wet the training pants...he still didnt make any noises....hai....

rex start too talk much more nowadays....still one, two words...not sentences yet...

but recognise lots of things and can pronounce it better... and will fill in the blanks when we sing those nursery songs...

I didn't try to toilet train my boy. But i tink he is semi-ready as occasionally he will pull off his diapers and want to go toilet. Sometimes he will pull off his diapers when he want it to be changed. I tot child care will help to toilet train but looks like they still let him wear diapers in school.

calling for zuen... help!! dat time u were shortlisting qdees yunnan and ichiban montessori did zuen attend the lessons n was it good? im tinking put isaiah there at either of them... any feedback? thanks

Ellysia...
there are many kids in CC. imagine if they hv to toilet train each one of them. faint... we as parents shld also help to train.

Roxy, Jenny,
My girl oso toilet trained during the day now. she will tell us when she wan to pee, so she only wear diapers when she nap and at night. It took us abt 4 days to train her. 1st few days were tough cos she cld only tell when the pee is coming out and she will end up wetting the floor. but after a few tries, she got the hang of it and cld tell us in advance.

she is now even using the adult potty to pee, with a kid's potty put on top. she refused to use the kiddy potty we hv. :p

Hi ladies, thanks for the tips to take note to make Jayden not be so jealous of his meimei when she's born. It definitely won't be easy to juggle doing confinement, spending time with Jayden and looking after the baby. BUt I'm sure seeing the two of them playing later on will be worth all the efforts!

Mag, Jayden is attending PM CC since March. He enjoys gg to school and his speeches developed very fast.

I'm sure Athan and Isaiah will start to express themselves very well soon. How long has Athan been attending school?

Lucky you that he takes to your hubby! Jayden very sticky to me. At least you can "fang xin" go and deliver and rest well when you are back. Hope Athan can continue to sleep on his own tonight.

Roxy, Isaiah is such a good kor kor! You've done a good job!

Re: Toilet training
My boy can't really do it for pee yet. But for poo poo, he will tell us. We are still training him at home...

MLP
to be able to tell when poo is a good progress
i know of kids who up till 3-4yo, still insist on pooing in diaper and refuses the potty.

soyabean

did u use training pants?

But i dunno if i toilet train him but he still wear diapers at school, dunno is it confusing to him.

also we can only train him during weekends.. not stay at home mum so not so easy unless CC willing to train too.

Yesterday my boy speak 3 words sentence. he said "zhezhe sit taxi" when hb and him are on taxi. My hb is amazed and told me, cos previously he can only speak 2 words phrase.

morning...

it's so funny last evening....i bought rex for his mmr n chickenpox jab....

he is so excited to be at the clinic...when reach, he will rush to the playhouse and play....super hyperactive...jumping and dancing away...singing his abc song...."but not complete, will skip alphabets or restart..."

he really thick skin ah...didnt make any noise at all during the jab...but keep asking doc to give him biscuits and toys....buay tahan...

hi ellysia....same same

yesterday rex started saying 3 words sentence...and quite a few....omg! he is growing fast....out of sudden...

Ellysia,
no, didnt use training pants. actuali for both my kids,once they are used to pee in potty, they will not pee in diaper even if they are wearing it. they will insist we bring them to the toilet.

maybe wat u can do is speak to the CC and let them know your intention to potty train him and see what they say. coordinate the training lor...

MLP,

Soyabean,
U r blessed to have a dedicated maid.

Roxy,
I also envy u that Isaiah is toilet trained already, Athan's still not ready. Very soon Isaiah will be able to sleep on his own too, they r getting more & more independent already.
I will def heed your advice to improve relationship btw Athan & meimei. U have really done a good job wif Isaiah. Kudos!!

Jenny,
Hey congrats ah!! Rex also very capable leh can say so many words. Has he started school yet?

MLP,
Athan has been in school since early Apr, def can see improvement in his speech since then, even willing to feed himself for the entire meal. He also enjoys school alot, managed to stop crying after less than 2wks in sch. Everyday go school machiam superstar, waving to his frens & they will call his name. I asked him "Hello Mr Leow! Send u to school is to learn things but u come here to socialize & be superstar har?" Athan can nod his head & tell me "Ya!" wif a super cheeky smile. Tak boleh tahan... My hubby saw & looked at me, I asked him "Your Son??"

He managed to sleep on his own last nite again so hopefully it stays that way permanently. Keeping fingers tightly crossed.

Jayden so clever, poo poo know how to say. Athan be it pee or poo also dun know how to say yet. Haiz.... Being mummy is really tough, so many things to teach, really very chuan4.

soyabean

We usually let our boy pee at his potty before he bathe (so tat he doesn't pee when i am dressing him), he oso will occasionlly request to pee at the potty but he doesn't do it often.

Mag, Athan so cute! Superstar at such a young age! got potential sia!
Yes, being mummy is really not easy. Let's Jia You!

Ladies, i've confirmed gg for Csect tomorrow at 2pm tomorrow. Wish me luck! *nervous* Gg to try grab as much rest now.

Hi mag

rex not schooling yet...i'm teaching him myself currently...gg to playgroup next yr,

hi MLP
all the best to u. keep us updated!

Roxy,
So nice, isaish are toilet train. Zac still not. I asked the teacher in cc n they comment that he still cannot talk so not so early. But he do show sign n teacher Maria said will try training in July/aug. Zac will remove diaper n pee in the toilet . But he sit on the toilet bowl instead of standing. I let zac wear the training pants but the most 2times n the 3rd times on the pants already. His interval can be less than 15min pee once. Sometimes he refuse to wear diapers but he like the red training pants.

Have u pay the deposit for the cc?

MLP,
Congrate. Not easy to take care of 2 especially when the gap is small. At times, I almost give up.

My boy has beens singing a chinese song since last weekend, he picked it up from school. We r guessing cos a few words are incorrect. when my hb guess it correct and sing it out, my boy is v happy. He seems to be happy when he say someting n we r able to understand wat he meant. He is also learning to say 'I want (someting)..". sometimes pausing to consider wat words to say. I trying to teach him how to put the words in short phrases in order to express himself.

Bot table and chair from Ikea tis weekend and he is v happy, sit on the chair and read books on the table.

new washing machine just delivered, bigger capacity so able to wash clothes faster. But the old problem is still not resolved. Previously the hose keep getting loose from the tap and leak water when on the washing machine tap. After new machine come and installation, 1st day is ok. 2nd day the hose come loose again and leak
Dunno is the installation no good or my tap got problem.

Morning ladies..
Hows all e mummies doing?

MLP,
Congrats!..Do post photos of ur NB bb when u are free ya... =)...

soyabean,
Char also sometimes will say shh shh lor so we still trying to see if she is telling e truth wor...How shd I encourage or toilet train her leh?

Ellysia,
I also have the same problem as yours on the washing machine. They replace the pipe and seal the connection side. Hope this round it will last longer.

Your boy so good, can sit and read. My sis gave me a portable table with chair and my boy climb n jumb on it. end up keep in the store. Hopefully , when mei mei grow older, he will be more discipline and use it properly. My MIL comment that mei mei is more naughtly that brother.

Connie

U ask the plumber to help?

Previously he dun sit on small chairs, but maybe now he is used to the table n chairs in CC so he learn how to use it lor.

Leng,
Haha. not yet. But he seem to like red most. red t-shirt, red pjamas. haha.He almost choose the pink/red water bottles with princess, almost faint.

Ellysia,
No, BIL do for us the last round but he back to M'sia last mth. So in future I have to engage 3rd party cos noone to help. HB will be helpless in all these stuff.

Potty training
My boy refuse to wear shorts or diapers after he remove it to go pee. hb kept giving the diaper to him n he kept putting it back. They spend half hr to get him wear it as we are going out to see doc. Wonder can we request the cc to train him earlier?

Anyone provide pull upto the cc while they train ur bb?

Sorry to interupt.

I have two brand new Hippychick Hipseat for sale. One in burgandy and one in black. Bought them two weeks ago from this website (http://www.cutiesjuniors.com.sg/shop/storefront/browse.asp?cat=1000&path=1000) for $90 each. Wanted to use it on my son for our trip but he refused to sit on it.

Am willing to let go at $80. Please PM me if interested.

Attached is the link for more details for Hippychick Hipseat. (http://www.hippychick.com/index.cfm/children/Products.Details/product_id/15/subject/hippychick_hipseat)

Just to share a discovery abt toilet training for my boy.

Sun morning after my boy woke up, I removed his diaper & told him we r going to shee shee in the toilet. He lifted up his t-shirt & stood there staring at his penis, 5-8secs later his pee came out onto the floor & my immediate reaction was to praise him & applause. When he was done, I asked him if he's ready & he said Ya so I put on his diaper again. Did this ritual for 5-6 times thruout the day at my mum's place & my new place. He managed to keep his diaper dry for many hrs & he only used 2 diapers thruout the day until next morning.

He had bad rash over the wkend so yesterday din go CC so I did the same ritual again & he managed to keep himself dry. Was at my cousin's place last nite & asked him if he wants to pee, he said yes so did the same thing & 1.5hrs later b4 we were making our way home,I asked him again & this time he offered to pull down his pants altho unsuccessfully, he managed to keep his pee until he reached the toilet.

I've mentioned that my boy still cannot tell us if he wants to pee or poo so I need to ask him every 1hr or so. Called his principal yesterday & told him Athan might be ready for toilet training & she said fr my description, it seems he's ready so will ask teachers to help. Was told to prepare pull up pants & they'll c how he is today.

Connie,
When I enrolled my son to CC in Apr, they told me toilet training will only start next year. Luckily principal was supportive when I told her Athan's ready. Maybe u can speak to your boy's CC abt this issue. Main thing is dun pressure your boy. I think I mentioned that I actually wanted to start toilet train my boy end of the yr but since I discovered on Sun he's ready so decided to go ahead wif it. CC will let him pee into the mini toilet bowl, hopefully Athan can do it.

Btw, I made a mistake by letting my boy pee on floor cos my stool not high enuff for toilet bowl so this is one thing I must try to modify for my boy.

Mag,
How to train them pee in the toilet bowl? Mine now sit on the toilet bowl.

Leng,
Thanks. Will go n buy. My boy fell down from the toilet bowl on Mon morning. He wanted to come down, turn n fall with his face down on floor. He usually climb up n down by his own.

yest can't post.. got a funny error message.

Thx connie, i hope my washer prob can resolve soon.

I checked with CC, they are doing toilet train when they see tat the kid show signs of readiness like will tell the teacher before they pee or poo. Cos so far my boy hasn't try to tell them so they didn't train him.

I have the ikea stool ored but haven't let him use it.

Btw u use a kid size WC cover? cos i tink the adult one is too big, i scared he will fall inside.

Connie Lim (connie_lcl),
sit because trained by ladies,
ask daddy to demo!

Rem to use a non-slip stool,
don't put the stool facing the bowl, he has nothing to hold on to,
put on the side of the bowl, near the WC water tank,
he can lean/hold on to it while getting up/down the stool.
Rem to use the side away from the washing sink,
cause it's common for kids to hit their head when getting up the stool at that height.

HTHs,
Leng Leng

Ellysia,
I have both. The kid one is use in the kitchen.
I have 2 kids toilet seat. He will put the toilet seat on wc and climb on it.

Leng,
I bought the one u said and another taller one.
Will see which one to use. the wc is inbetween the basin n the shower slide. If I put near the basin, I worry he start playing wif my stuff. He ever pour away 1 bottle of toner n play in the wc. If he get hold on the toilet roll, all the paper will end up in the wc. haahaa

Leng,
Thanks, will go get that stool.

Connie,
I dun know how the teacher will train Athan to pee into toilet bowl, have yet to ask.
For myself, now temporary still let him stand & pee on the floor until I get a higher stool for him. Get your hubby to bring your boy to toilet everytime your hubby wants to pee, stand & show him. That's wat I told my hubby to do. I bring Athan to toilet wif me everytime I pee or poo so he already knows that pee & poo must go toilet & no where else. Maybe that's y everytime I remove his diaper, he can hold his urine until we reach toilet. All the while since Athan was 10mths, I already make him stand & pee on the floor(which is obviously a mistake on my part) everytime he takes his bath.

I didn't buy the taller stool bec i scared he will fall down. Only bot the shorter one, originally intend to let him reach the sink to wash hands but in the end didnt use. Guess can let him use the wc once i bot the child seat.

sorry to interrupt here..selling this brand new 2-pc swimwear I bought from a BP here recently. Its too small for me so need to sell it off. Pls email me at [email protected]. And ya, free delivery to ur plc. Price: $29.90 Tks.
4177873.jpg