(2008/06) June 2008

Ellysia, I fed my son ice cream on his first bday, coz his bad mummy bought swensen winnie the pooh ice cream cake for his bday celebration.

If Yuzhe is ok with eggs, I am sure he can take cake bah. Maybe you want to test try him on cake first?

Recently my boy is allergic to tofu, which i intro on last weekend. Over a few days, his eczema spots suddenly become a lot.

Veniz,

I tinking to test drive egg first then see how, before he turn 1 yr old. Dun want another 'face outbreak' after he eat the cake.

When can we give egg yolk, and egg white?

<font color="aa00aa">veniz,
yur MIL very one-kind ley i feel. i hate it when parents are discliping the kids &amp; PILs interfer to sayang them. of cos, kids will run to them &amp; disobey the parents lar cos got shield mah. maybe a good idea to put yang in full day cc or something after all just to break him from your ILs' span of influence. but i salute u on being able to stand yur ground wif yur ILs, i dunno if i m able to do it or not if i m face wif a similar situation.

ellysia,
nah, gwen nvr bite her tongue like yur bro did...</font>

<font color="aa00aa">crystal, wat jab gwen hvnt taken? coz my YuJie her so-called last jab was taken when she's in 6mths old, and the next one shall be 1 yr old.
I can understand your feeling.
Still remember my girl hv fits few mths back due to fever, tat i almost scare out of my wits.
Anyhow, all is past liao, just took it as an experienced lor.</font>

ND's girl and Crystal, no choice, even hb is not on my side when I say I want son to go CC. He always think his darling mummy, sis are the best pple in the world, but hor, they re really not tat good one. MIL can say other pple's children go to Private sch, not even good for national schools, but she never think tat, her own children also, hb goes overseas uni (also private wat) and sil only A level's. She can say pple's kids where got clever. Haiz, lots of stories, only that I do not want to argue niah.

I didnt stand up to her till recently, coz I told myself, if I do not do it now, next time who is to discipline my child? Them? Nono, coz she can lie to me infront of me, saying he never play that bloody gameboy my sil always let him play coz its spoilt, but next thing is my son can tell me he played it eg. last night. Innocent children never tell lies, esp kids like him so chatty.

crystal,
me can understand how heart pain lor cos me cry wif chloe also when she cry lor. Me last week just "completed" my 4d3n stay in kkh too.

<font color="aa00aa">felicia,
think it is prevar 4...
fits very scary de cos of this epi, i went &amp; read up on this area &amp; there are post effects &amp; meningitis, etc...

veniz,
true, kids dun lie &amp; cant lie de...maybe until they are 8yrs old or so, they may start to try to lie. in the meantime, i take a kid's word over an adult. i agree wif u tat it is time u take charge of yang, if not as he grows older, will be so much harder to discipline liao.

chris,
poor thing *hug hug* i feel completely for u &amp; chloe. tat time i try very hard not to cry in front of gwen when she in KKH cos i m told bbs can feel yur emo de. but the last straw broke when they draw blood from her &amp; refuse to let me c how they do it. gwen simply cried so loudly from behind closed doors when the min b4, she was grinning at me, my heart jus broke into pieces too &amp; i cried along wif her...</font>

veniz: ya.. i agreed with crystal.. i 'pei fu' u for standing up to your ILs... Hopefully i can do the same thing as u when i'm faced with similar situation..

but i dun like your ILs.. not standing on your side de..

ok! thurs i'm ok with lunch but never been to amici restaurant before.. what cuisine they serve? amici sounds exotic.. hahahaha.... MLP, Iamsnow, shern n soyabean all work around there is it? thats why can have lunch there?

crystal: true lah.. u were alone, if i were u, i oso wouldnt know what to do... but like what felicia said, treat is as an exp lor...

ellysia: my PD told me now can intro egg yolk liao but egg white onli intro after 1 yr..

<font color="aa00aa">chris/angel,
yar, tx god it is history liao...i count my blessings every day... okie, time to head home to my lil darling liao...chat tomolo gers, bye...*wave*</font>

AngelZ, its italian cuisine. Their tiramisu is to be said one of the best in SG. I have a 2 for 2 main course discount card, so thinking of going there to try it out. I will sms you the details soon. Please get your mil or mum to help you with Sheryl hor, coz later I scared you say cannot join me/us.

About my IL, have to stand firm about son, since my hb also heckcare. Crystal, in fact, Yang does know how to tell lies now, but I am sure this was learnt from my mil, since last yr, caught her telling lies to me several times, all for small matters. Big issues tell lies, sometimes still can understand a bit, but teeny weeny lies, for wat?

<font color="ff6000">crystal

Hanhan was down with rashes. Not itchy just red spots all over. So brought her to the PD.
The PD examine her all over and said nothing is wrong with her. Since she is so active and responsive, then she most probably could have been viral infection.
Then just like that with no medication cost me $45.
End up, normal heat rash that start to subside on the next day after drinking barley.

Re : Draw blood
mine also kena draw blood when she was a week old then. so poor thing. hand is so small and cant even see the vein lo. My hubby want to be with my girl but the nurse tell him its best that he dont see it. :-(

<font color="aa00aa">crystal,
my #1 fits was due to fever, so as long as her fever does not 'maintain' at 38degree for long period, wont relapse lah. But once she got fever, now i phobia lor coz of the fits episode.</font>

veniz: oicic.. okok.. me mountain tortoise so never go before..

hahaha.. i planned to ask my MIL to help me take care of sheryl.. but if she can't make it then i will bring sheryl there myself la.. can take cab ma.. hahahaha...

wa.. your ILs not very good role models for teaching values eh.. like that how to make sure your kids learn the right values when the grandparents are indulging him? your husband won't care if next time your boi tell lies to him?

angel_z, I also never been to there before. I heard about this restaurant but never went in to eat. According to Iamsnow, she said its quite good, and a friend who did mural wall painting for the restaurant, said the whole place smelled wonders when he was working on the wall.

Anyway, about IL, they can even lie to my hb when he pressured them into answering him, so you get it? Wats to come will come. Maybe its my karma, coz I used to lie about my grades to my mum when I was young coz she would cane me upside down no matter how good my results were. Anyway, lets move on, dun want to bored the gals with my case.

veniz: okok.. the lunch at the amici restaurant can be an eye-opener for me then.. heehee.. u sms me the details la...

huh? they even lie to your husband... wa.. best liao loh... then in that case if they mean to lie to u oso can't avoid liao.. guess the onli way now is to minimise contact between your boi n them le.. if not later your boi difficult to discipline eh...

Just to vent out my anger here, so sorry about that. I feel my MIL looking after my bb is very nosy, she keep saying "ah yo yo ah yo yo" hear liao so sooooo sian loh. Every little thing she will say that...hai...wanna have a rest also keep hearing her voice rather than my baby lol.

Roxy,
Thanks for your email. The PG cake doesnt come with topper huh? Any idea where we can find SS theme toppers?

Crystal,
Why is your jab package so expensive ah? I oni took 6-in-1 and rotavirus. You gave gwen peumoccocal (pardon the spelling) is it?

Ritz,
Yes Bali has MP Value Pants. Bought from Carrefour. Found the trip quite fuss free - latched on most of the time and only bottle fed once. As for jarred food, u may want to bring ur own. Carrefour didn't have any decent looking jarred food. No Heinz or Gerbers. All quite dodgy brands. Even the milk powder also looks different. But MP pants so far so good. Bought 3 packs to stock up cos offer at that time

zuen, try the party supplies bp in the forum, they sell a set of toppers for abt $10 - $11, I think. If not, search in ebay.com.sg. I found before also... actually I find the sesame street figurines on their cakes quite cute le, so unlikely i will be getting theme toppers, save $....actually you and me should share the scene setters, banners etc since both want sesame street theme :p

Helo!

Wont be going for this birthday bash. Not sure how long I will be tied down with my renovation &amp; alot of weekend burn. Worry the date might crash with my moving house period lo..

Egg Yolk
---------
Can be introduce from 9mths. Egg white must be tried when 1 yr old as need to test any allergy before going for MMR in 15mths

Veniz,
Ur IL pattern is always like this one.. lucky vivi is with nanny not with them. If not ah... headache. When your son older &amp; vivi more easy with both your side and try to re-value again liao.. Don worry. Mother is always mother. Kids will listen one.

Angelz &amp; Cyn, can't separate my son from them coz they are main caregiver. The only way is to force him to come home on Tuesday evening, leaving him to stay over there on only Thursday night. Cyn, I told nanny yesterday, if she doesnt want to take care of Vivi when she is older, I will send her to childcare to let her learn more. Seeing my son this way, I do not want her to follow suit. Angelz, my mil lies to her son, but overall, come to think of it, she is not tat bad. She still helps with some stuff, like cook for us, etc. Yang's milk powder she buys one, and never get $$ back from us even when we told her to let us know.

Shinely, maybe tell your mil not to say aiyoyo? My mil will say 'tamade' when with some aunties, then out of habit, small little things will scold this word. I told her not to say this word infront of my son. Also, when hb quarrel with sil, they will call each other to go eat shit. He also learned this. Headache...

crystal - So sorry to hear about your traumatic experience. Sayang2!!! Wow...if the PD made a wrong call, this is a serious matter. I remembered Gianna having fever on Day 1. I also went to A&amp;E at KKH and was admitted. Thankfully, the doctors there know my PD and Gianna was treated quite well. However, I was not too pleased when they needed to draw blood and did not allowed me to enter. When I heard her screamed, I was in tears outside. Change PD, please!!!

shinely - Baby rejecting milk? Teething maybe?

Felicia - I know how you feel. Sayang2! Gianna also. Its a viral thingy...so, it takes longer to heal. But, seeing her coughing, runny nose, etc...heart pain.
How's your knees?

ND's girl - No worries, my #1 who is 2.5 yrs old still whines till he gets his way....ha!ha! Don't worry your head off...when #2 is being placed in your arms, its that magical feeling once again...ahhhhhh!!!

Roxy - No experience with growling...but my #2 loves to blows and makes the pooooo sounds like she is blowing a balloon or something...haiz!

Veniz - So sorry to hear that you are having IL's problems. Is there another way to get around it?

Haiz..got to run now...no time to read more or post....feeding time!!!

Nite!!!

<font color="aa00aa">JP,
My knees on and off will have pain especially in the morning lor. So still oklah, just early sign only, so need to follow up with the doc again and shall see wat to do after i stop bf.

QN: when u stop BF, do u totally stop w/o latch on or pumping? Now i have reduced to one pump per day. So if i wanna stop, just stop w/o pumping? I got a silly thinking, where'll the milk gone?? Coz now i still can pump around 250ml-300ml for one pump session. So if i stop totally, will it become harden in my breast? Sorry for aksing silly qn, but i'm an idiot when come to this issue. hehe..</font>

Morning ladies..

Wow, lots of posts to catch up..

crystal,Felicia,
hows ur gers now?

crystal,
Can understand how u feel cos must be feeling so helpless lor, see gwen suffering frm pain but yet can't help her...Dun worry ya, its ove rliao..Now ur ger is a hppy ger ger =).

christina,
How come u went to stay at KKH leh?everything ok?

Star,
Glad that hanhan is okie now..nowadays, PD charges ex lor..

<font color="aa00aa">hi gers,
Good morning….

Star,
Glad to hear tat hanhan is well &amp; happy now…
True lar, sometime certain things not to c is better. But contradictory for me at least cos I feel at least I c liao I know wat is happening….

Feli,
Was yur #1 fever &amp; fit due to a scare tat she possibly had encountered? I heard tat for bbs / small kids, if they ve a scare &amp; then fever, chances of having fit is higher…I can understand yur anxiety cos fit is definitely no small matter &amp; is dangerous for the bb/kid themselves.

Zuen,
Yup, I KS lar, give her all the necessary jabs, peumoccocal as well.

JP,
Phew, tx goodness Gianna didn't have the awful experience tat Gwen went thru. It was definitely horrible…
I m now taking steps to c the PD after tat epi of KKH. The original PD saw tat I’d namecards of a couple of other PDs in gwen’s health booklet so ask me why, I told her it is always good to ve other doc’s consel than limiting myself to one. She kept silence after tat. The oni reason y I m still wif her is cos of the jab pkg tat I oreadi paid for. When I m done wif the pkg, I definitely go elsewhere. In tis instance tat now gwen is sick, I m seeing a PD from SBCC instead.

Feifei,
Txs for yur concern, she jus develop a fever yd nite. Has been sponging her. If not subside, will bring her back to SBCC tonite to see the PD.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">RE: Stop BF-ing</font>
<font color="aa00aa">I got medi from my gynae then to stop the flow. I jus simply dun pump anymore once I on medi, it does leak but I left it be, abt a wk or 2 later or so, it dries up completely…</font>

<font color="aa00aa">RE: Gwen’s encounter at KKH</font>
<font color="aa00aa">I didn't reai talk abt it here in forum way back in Aug08 then when it happen was cos it was reai painful for me to even think abt it. But I could understand perfectly when chris &amp; the other mummies were describing the pain they &amp; their bbs where going thru but I couldn't share much cos I would tear when I think back on the incident. Till today, I ve develop a phobia whenever there is an ambulance siren going on. I recalled during tat period, we were suppose to go for a gathering which eventually I missed cos I was in the hospital. Now tat some time had passed, I would rather choose to forget abt tis bad epi if possible…..

Here’s the pics of gwen when she was in KKH then….</font>

2241001.jpg
2241002.jpg

zuen, i tot the pg cakes have ss figures on the cakes le? from what i understand when i spoke to pg, ss figurines are free and they provide it... only if you want other designs then you have to source and provide them...

jp, so cute!!!

crystal, gwen looks so chubby then.. want to pinch her cheeks!! dun brood over this epi.. she's cheerful and fine now...how's her cough?

<font color="aa00aa">crystal,
My #1 always have fever on and off. Normally around 2-3mths, she'll fall sick once since she enrolled into CC. Even before CC, she will occasionally hvin fever, i have been to KKH for emergency 3times within 1-1.5yrs. All was treated as emergency case. The last one in KKH is when she have the fit. I dont think it was due to scare, just thats the only time her fever does not decrease after few days. She was happily playing (despite hvin fever) and suddenly hvin fits. This is oso the 1st time i got to know any fever remains at 38degree and above for days, will resulted fits in young kids. This is called febrile fits.
So now, whenever i hear a slight coughing or measure slight fever from her, at 37.5 degree, i'll bring her to see doc liao. I dont wanna become a regular in KKH. Is a terrible feeling

Btw, Gwen is so chubby!!!</font>

Good morning, mummies

JP
hehe ya i'm waiting for that magical feeling

Felicia
when I stop BF, i totally stop both latching &amp; pumping. My breast were engorged for about a week. But after that when you squeeze will still have milk flowing out. Last time my fren told me that the milk will be reabsorbed into our body.

crystal
so heartpain to see the little ones strapped with all sorts of stuff. Gwen was such a chubby baby! So cute!

How do u intro egg yolk? i mean in terms of preparation how to separate it from egg white?

Re: coughing

I read in some articles tat if keep coughing it can be pneumonia.

Felicia,

U can try to pump only 5 or 10mins instead of the usual time u use to pump. Just pump to relieve but not until there is no more milk.

ND,

When u stop latching, did yr bb keep asking for latch?

Yesterday my bb wake up at 2am and refuse to sleep after tat, my hb have to carry him. Today both of us v tired.

<font color="aa00aa">roxy, feli, ND's girl,
she was then, but lost quite a bit as well after during &amp; after discharge from KKH.
yes, she is back to her cheeky self now.
currently, she is still coughing &amp; now having a fever. so we are monitoring.

feli,
oic...must reai take care ley. *hugz*</font>

ellysia
initially my gal kept looking for my breast and she will pull down my blothes. Was more difficult for me cos I used to latch her to sleep every night so had to kick off her habit totally.

crystal
as long as she's fine now, that's more important. I always worry that my girl is too small sized like never grow much but she's always so happy and seems healthy which is most important to me.

ND's girl, you go see my facebook, my son's height. He is the shortest and smallest size kiddo in his K1 class. But I am not worry, coz he may take after my bro, who was very skinny and small. Now he is big and getting fat, lol.

BTW, just to share, my son's immune system is all along very weak. When he was a baby, I had my fair share of going to A&amp;E at KKH, waiting for hours. When ever he had fever, he will vomit out all his milk, refused to drink medi, milk or even glucose which doc asked me to give him. I can only secretly feed him milkwhen he was in deep sleep coz only then, he will accept food. Its part and puzzle of a life and how a baby is like, coz now, Vivi is different from him. So every kids are different and when they grow up, they will grow to be stronger and will not be so difficult for us. So you all first time mummies, just hang on first.

ND

I worry when i need to wean off the night feeds.

When u feed yr bb bottle, do yr bb accept u feeding her bottle?

Dear all,anyone using humidifier?Recently have been thinking whether to buy humidifier or not,as Nicho always wake up for water at nite.

I have a weak constitution all along. Always keep falling sick. Got 1 year i finish nearly 20 days of MC.

When i am small, my parents once bring me to see chinese doctor bec all the western medicine can't cure. maybe if u find the western medicine dun cure, can try chinese medicine.

Fen,

wake up for water and humifier got any relation? I dun see any relation.

Singapore is ored so humid, need to have humifier? If too humid can also lead to growth of more dust mites and mildew.

crystal,
i can feel ur sadness in your posts lor..cheer up ya, its over, and gwen is doing well now =)..A Happy ger ger =D..