(2008/06) June 2008

hi fen

actually my bb still wakes up in the middle of nite for milk....

i also dont think he is hungry.....but just addicted to sucking of breast milk loh....

i tried to give him bottle of water and milk, he just refused....

wonder how....

Fen,

At this age, bbs shld be sleeping thru. if you keep doing this...it will be a habit. Its not about hunger or being thirsty. Bb tend to have a sleep cycle, (just like us adults when we toss & change position when sleeping)..so when your bb makes noise & sucks his thumb, he is just trying to get back to sleep, if he is not making too much noise, ignore it,let him be...or just gently pat him to sleep if he cries/whimper etc.

<font color="aa00aa">The Books Warehouse Sale
Up to 80% off

Mar 14- 22, 2009
Mon-Fri, 11.30am -8pm
Sat-Sun, 10am -8pm

438 Ang Mo Kio Industrial Park 1, Level 2
Off Ang Mo Kio Ave 10 (JCS Building,
Formerly known as Pansing building)</font>

morning ladies!

TGIF!!

Yest night me and hb decided to stop latching bb to sleep for nighttime. My bb keep confuse and keep asking for 'mum mum', then i carry awhile and he see me no latch then he cry and want to grab the nursing pillow. So in the end i keep away the pillow and hide inside the study room then let my hb coax him to sleep. Trying tat bec recently he keep waking up in the middle of night then if i latch awhile he will push away and cry or keep asking for latch.

Doing this is bec i saw an article yesterday, share with u all:

Feeding your baby to sleep - where's the problem?

Night is falling. You've given your baby a bath, put him into his pyjamas and sung him a song. Now you're sitting in a quiet, darkened room, peacefully watching your baby breastfeed. Before long, he falls asleep. Gently, you put him into his cot, turn off the light and leave the room. When he wakes three hours later, you feed him again and he falls straight back to sleep.

You follow this routine every night - and therein lies the problem. While breastfeeding to sleep seems like a healthy, enjoyable night-time routine for you both, in fact it may be a recipe for future problems. A technique that seems to be a simple, easy way to get your baby to fall asleep can lead to poor sleep habits that interfere with your child's ability to get a good night's sleep.

All babies (and adults, for that matter) wake up a number of times throughout the night. Most of us simply fall back to sleep. If you regularly feed your baby to sleep, however, he'll need that same cue to help him drop off again during the night. This is true whether your baby sleeps in a cot or shares your bed. Although it may be much easier to breastfeed during the night if you and your baby are co-sleeping, it will result in more middle-of-the-night awakenings for both of you.
Breastfeeding and sleeping - the connection
Adv

Several studies support what most breastfeeding mothers already know: breastfed babies take longer than formula-fed babies to develop a pattern of sleeping through the night. This is because breastmilk is easier to digest than formula milk, so babies get hungry more quickly and wake more often during the night.

Secondly, since breastfeeding is comforting and calming as well as nourishing, it doesn't take long for a baby to make a connection between feeding and sleeping. After a few weeks of breastfeeding your baby to sleep, he will not know - or want to know - another way of falling asleep. So, whilst your neighbour's baby stirs at midnight, snuggles into her favourite sleeping position and goes straight back to sleep, your baby needs you and your breast to settle down after he wakes.
Try a change of routine

Does this mean that you should never breastfeed your baby to sleep? Of course not. Feeding your baby to sleep is a wonderful experience but you should do it once in a while, not every night. One way to approach this is to make the breastfeed a part of your bedtime routine but do it early, so that your baby doesn't learn to directly associate that part of his bedtime routine with sleep.

After your baby has finished feeding, read him a story, sing him a song or change his nappy one last time. If you separate breastfeeding from the act of falling asleep, even by a few minutes, your baby won't need to feed to fall asleep.
Help him fall asleep on his own

If he already has formed this sleep association, don't despair: it's never too late to start teaching healthy sleep habits. Here are a few ways to get your little one on the road to falling asleep on his own:

• Breastfeed earlier in his bedtime routine or decrease the amount of time that you feed him at bedtime.

• Instead of feeding him as part of your bedtime routine, breastfeed him earlier in the evening.

• Keep in mind that you need to make these changes only at bedtime. Once your baby starts falling asleep on his own at bedtime, he will quickly begin putting himself back to sleep during the night.

How breastfeeding mums can get more sleep

Here's something else for a breastfeeding mum to think about: are you getting enough sleep yourself? To help you get the rest you need, ask your partner to help out during the night-time feeds or awakenings. Breastfeeding doesn't have to - and shouldn't - make you the only middle-of-the-night parent.

Instead, consider these alternatives: express some milk before you go to bed and your partner can get up with the baby to give him a bottle of expressed milk or formula. Or, when your baby wakes during the night, let your partner do the feeding while you express in a separate room and then go back to sleep. After all, expressing some milk may take only 10 or 15 minutes, while feeding, changing, and lulling your baby back to sleep can take much longer. Find the system that works best for you and allows everyone to get as much sleep as possible.

Remember, breastfeeding your baby to sleep can be a wonderful experience but it may lead to sleep problems - for you and your baby - in the future. Feel free to feed your baby to sleep in the middle of the night, when both you and he are out of sorts or when it seems like a special moment. Just try to avoid making a habit of it so that your baby depends on it. By doing so, you'll help your baby establish good sleep habits that he will have for the rest of his life. Sweet dreams.

^

ellysia: so in the end your hb manage to coax your bb to sleep without having u to latch on?

seems like u n hb didn't get a good night sleep...

Fen,

He not thirsty or hungry.. its just bec he is used to sleeping by sucking.

Also, by feeding him so much water in accumulation during the day, its not v good as bb can't drink too much water.

good sleep habits: nine to 12 months

Typical sleep at this age

By now your baby is probably sleeping about 10 to 12 hours at night and napping twice a day for an hour and a half to two hours at a time. Make sure he's getting enough sleep - sleep is crucial to his development. Try to stick to a consistent nap routine, too. If that slips, you may have more trouble getting him to sleep at night, and he may start waking up more often.

How you can help your child settle and sleep
Advertisement

This is a time to continue working on the techniques you and your baby learned in months six to nine, including:

Sticking to a consistent bedtime routine.
You and your baby will both benefit from a nightly bedtime routine. You can opt for the tried-and-true - giving him a bath, reading him a bedtime story, and tucking him in - or add a quiet game, too. Try to follow the same routine every night; children thrive on consistency and feel more secure when they know what to expect.

Making sure your child has a regular routine for bedtime, and naptimes.
Bedtime may also go more smoothly if you make an effort to keep the rest of your baby's daily routine consistent, too. If he naps, eats, plays, and gets ready for bed at about the same time every day, your baby will be much more likely to fall asleep without a struggle.

Giving your child plenty of chances to fall asleep on his own.
If you want your baby to sleep through the night without calling for you, then he will need to learn to fall asleep on his own. If he depends on being rocked, sung to sleep or breastfed to sleep, he'll have trouble dropping off again and will probably cry if he wakes up during the night. If that happens to you, you can read more in the approaches to sleep problems section below about the variety of strategies that experts suggest for dealing with this problem.

Potential pitfalls

Starting at about five or six months, your baby began hitting some major developmental milestones, including sitting, rolling over, and possibly even crawling, pulling himself up, and taking a few steps. At this age, he's refining and expanding on those skills, which means he may be too excited to fall asleep or may wake up at night to practise. If he can't soothe himself back to sleep, he'll end up crying for you. If so, most experts agree that it's fine to go in and check on him, but they disagree about what you should do next. To find out more about the different options, see the approaches to sleep problems section below. (A quick note: This burst in development isn't the same as a growth spurt, so feeding your baby during the night won't help him sleep better; in fact, it may prolong the problem and make it worse.)

Your baby may also be waking up at night more often due to separation anxiety - he misses you when you're not there and is worried you won't return. He's likely to calm down as soon as you enter the room and greet him. If he doesn't settle quickly, see below to find out some solutions the experts recommend.

Approaches to sleep problems

What's the best way to respond to your child once you've tucked him in? Experts are quite divided on this issue. Look through some of the suggestions below from a variety of experts and choose a strategy which you feel could work for you.

Approach 1
Do a simple checking routine. If your child is crying, go back into his room. Pat him on the back and tell him that everything is OK, but that it's time to go to sleep. Don't pick him up or cuddle him; be gentle but firm. Leave. Wait about five minutes, then check again. Do this repeatedly until he falls asleep, extending the time between each visit.

Approach 2
Help your baby make appropriate bedtime associations with a consistent bedtime routine. Don't hold or rock your baby to sleep, and don't use breastfeeding, a bottle, or a dummy to send him to dreamland. While they work in the short term, these methods can teach your baby to depend on being put to sleep, rather than falling asleep on his own. If your baby won't fall asleep, try letting him cry for progressively longer intervals of time, starting at five minutes, increasing to 10, and so on before you go to him. After each interval, you can spend about two to three minutes with your baby, reassuring him by talking to him and possibly patting him on the back. Don't pick him up or rock him.

Approach 3
Help your baby learn to settle himself back to sleep. If he cries, wait five minutes before going back into his room, comfort him, and continue to return briefly every five to 10 minutes until he falls asleep. Make sure he's okay, but don't turn on the light in his room, rock him, or walk him, and don't give him food (a drink of water is okay) or take him to bed with you. Be brief, and try not to do anything that rewards him for crying for you. He may be calmed just by the sight of you; many children this age are going through separation anxiety and simply need to be reassured that you're there. Experiment with new strategies. Try leaving the door to your baby's room partially open so he can hear you and be reassured, or give him a transitional object such as a blanket for comfort. If you can, don't resort to giving him a dummy. It can fall out of his mouth, and if he can't find it, he'll end up crying for you.

Approach 4
Renew your nighttime routine (or start one if you haven't already). Stick to a regular bedtime, and try soothing your baby but be firm about going to sleep. You can breastfeed him or give him a bottle if that's part of your bedtime routine, but don't leave a bottle in the cot with him, as that can contribute to tooth decay. Put him in his cot before he falls asleep or else he'll learn to rely on being put to sleep by you, rather than doing it himself. If he calls for you in the night, don't get your baby out of his cot. You can tuck him in, pat him, or soothe him (when he hits his first birthday and his risk of cot death falls, you can also offer him a transitional object such as a teddy), but do as little as possible. The goal is to encourage him to find his own way to fall back asleep.

Approach 5
Comfort your baby to sleep. Rock him and lie down with him until you see that his face is motionless and he's in deep sleep. You can also try moving his afternoon nap to an earlier time and making it shorter. Stick with your bedtime ritual and to be firm about going to sleep. Let your child know that when it's bedtime, it's bedtime. If it helps, try setting an alarm clock to go off about five minutes before it's time to go to sleep - that way the mandate is coming from an external source, not you. If he wakes in the night, be flexible. Don't let your baby cry it out; instead, try to find the source of his wakefulness (such as a full nappy, hunger, upset routines during the day, a stuffy nose, or even irritating pyjamas). Increase his daytime attachment to you (breastfeeding, wearing him in a sling, and so on and let dad play the role of nighttime co-comforter so both parents can help the baby fall back to sleep.

There is no "right" way to encourage your child to settle and sleep through the night. You need to choose an approach that will work for you and your family.

Water Intoxication in Infants
For healthy adults, nothing seems to quench a thirst better than plain, pure water. We're encouraged to drink several glasses a day to keep our systems in balance. But for children under 1 year old – and especially during the first nine months of life – drinking too much water can be dangerous.

In fact, according to pediatricians like James P. Keating, MD, medical director of the St. Louis Children's Hospital Diagnostic Center, too much water dilutes a baby's normal sodium levels and can lead to seizures, coma, brain damage and death.

Breast milk or formula provides all the fluid healthy babies need. If a mother feels her baby needs to take additional water, it should be limited to two to three ounces at a time and should be offered only after the baby has satisfied his hunger with breast feeding or formula.

Dr. Keating also recommends that parents avoid participating in infant swimming lessons. "Repeated dunking of infants can cause them to gulp water and has caused seizures in the infants at the poolside," he says.

Since the brain is the organ most susceptible to water intoxication, a change of behavior is usually the first symptom in older children. They may become confused, drowsy or inattentive. They also may suffer from blurred vision, muscle cramps and twitching, poor coordination, nausea and vomiting, irregular breathing and weakness. If you notice any of these symptoms, call your pediatrician.

angel,

Yup. He is suppose to sleep at 9plus. Yest i latch him earlier than usual timing at 9pm. Then hb coax him but he dun want to sleep. So put him at his cot to play. Around 10pm then hb carry him around to fall asleep. Tis morn we have a good sleep.

Last few days have not been good. He keep waking up and refuse to sleep later. We realise it is bec we have reverted back to the method of latching to sleep. Previously my bb is able to fall sleep on his own, but due to teething period he has problem falling asleep, so end up use latch to sleep method. Now have to retrain back to old method n train him to sleep on his own.

I realise tat when use the latch to sleep method too often, my bb have prob sleeping at the car seat and other places too. And he stop using the self soothe method to coax himself to sleep.

crystal...
sori... i hvnt had time to popby the PO. i hv brght the banners to office today. will dropby the PO during lunch sometime next week. i will post it out when i go there then u transfer the postage to me, i willa dvise again. sori for delay. been reali busy...

its ok. i only decided recently tat i need the table cloth. maybe i just buy from the shops at GWC, since i also getting balloons from there too. Not getting balloons from spree bec' intend to get the shop to inflate on the spot.

<font color="aa00aa">soya,
no worries. would just like an update lar. can understand tat tis spree are extra wk for u &amp; u r oni helping us out. i m cool. thanks again for the update.

ellysia: oic.. ya.. teething period = sleepless nights.. do take care..

soyabean: ok.. will proceed to transfer the monies to u thru IB shortly.. trying to log into IB now!

thanks for organising the spree!

crystal..
thanks for understanding... my aim to go PO today lunch dashed liao... raining cats and dogs now...

angel...
welcome...
ur amt is S$16.77... i did the calculation liao... hehe

Yo crystal,

I miss u &amp; our ladies too leh. Was busy the past week cos FIL's sis passed away last Fri so have been busy helping out wif the funeral &amp; MIL went for eye surgery last Fri too so need to rotate wif FIL to take care of her so no time to log in lor.

U brot Gwen to SBCC too? I heard that place is good, I brot Athan there when he was 6+mths for assessment &amp; the feedback I got fr mummies I met there is good. They got diff PD specialising in diff areas. Dr Vella/Dr Koh/Dr Ong/Dr Ngiam r good for cough. I saw Dr Vella, very patient &amp; old Indian guy. He answered alot of my questions too during the assessment.

Mag,

regarding the yogurt, i saw at cold storage Yobaby but dun have the plain one (without any flavour). wat flavour u bot for yr bb?

Ellysia,
I could only find plain yogurt &amp; Yobaby has the lowest sugar content so far (6g nia). I'm using that as the starter cos I make my own yogurt now. At least I know confirm no added sugar cos I use fresh milk to make.

Ellysia,
Maybe u want to make a trip to Thomson Plaza &amp; get it fr there cos I know Cold Storage only sells baby yogurts wif fruits, no plain ones unless it's adult type (Horizon Organic Yogurt).

<font color="aa00aa">Mag, finally saw u here!
Hey, wanna told you, my hubby bought the muscovlan. But hor, the pharmacist said not recommended for kid below 1 yr to take leh.
Anyhow, YuJie is much much better liao, just occasionally will have bit cough nia.</font>

soyabean: oh.. i onli need to pay $16.77.. i aledi made payment of $23.03 to your acc.. i guess use it for shipping and the rest can refund me..

mag: where were you? studying for exams?

<font color="aa00aa">soya,
yah,raining heavily, u work ard RP too?

mag,
sorry to hear that. yur FIL is coping ok?
yes, gwen saw dr vella a few days back but i've heard from my ex-colleague tat his ger see dr ngiam &amp; dr ngiam is the best of all the docs there.</font>

Felicia,
glad to know Yujie is recovering well. I also read that Mucosolvan cannot b given without medical advice to child <2yrs so that time when Athan's condition improve, I stopped immediately.

Angel,
My FIL's sis passed away last Fri &amp; my MIL had eye surgery on Fri too so had to help wif funeral &amp; rotating wif FIL to take care of MIL.

Crystal,
Ya my FIL expected it liao cos her sis had cancer so he only grieved abit nia.
Fr wat I've heard, Dr Ngiam is the best too but I think the clinic is really crowded lor. That time I brot Athan for his assessment on a wkday after 2pm &amp; already alot of ppl called in the morning &amp; take afternoon Q number liao. Really Kua Zhang!!

Just want to ask mummies here, wat is the procedure for polyclinic assessment? Planning to bring him to AMK Poly next wk for 9mths assessment.

All along Athan's assessment is done by GP who gives jabs &amp; the last assessment I brot him to PD just to make sure everything is functioning properly.

<font color="aa00aa">Mag,
Anyhow i just keep the mucosolvan as my #1 oso always hving phelgm, so might came helpful. (hopefully dont need lah)
Btw, is must be tough for you and FIL during tat period. But i'm sure everything is passed now.</font>

crystal...
me work on buona vista.
we ordered lunch in...

felicia...
my GP oso gave my ger mucosolvan for phelgm recently leh... but she started another round of runny nose, cough and phelgm... this round he gave her ventolin. wat happen to yujie?

angel...
orh... will use that to offset shipping... thanks.

<font color="aa00aa">mag,
yar, e Q was reai bad too when i went wif gwen at 7pm in e evening. initally the nurse rejected registering gwen, asked me to bring her to another clinic cos they ve too much patients + i didnt call to take q #. i was reai mad cos how would i know + so late liao, go where else to see PD at last min? but no choice lar, so keep begging the nurse to register gwen lor. literally begging her sia b4 she reluctantly register her...i waited till almost 9pm to c dr vella...

soya,
oh, i tot u also RP, then can arrange to pick up from u here.</font>

mag,

erm...what assesment??...PD just ask me to bring in for another jab after her birthday, last jab was at 6 mths leh...never heard of 9mth assesment.

<font color="aa00aa">Soya,
My YuJie was sick for weeks, with lot of phelgm (plus coughing and running nose- got from my #1). Then Mag recommend me mucos to clear phelgm. But the pharmacist said not recommended for small babies. Anyhow, YuJie is in recovering stage now.

Leng Leng,
I dont think is was due to the pill. Coz i din take pill and hvnt totally stop oredy, oredy reduce 1 cup size leh.</font>

felicia...
my ger too.... alot of phelgm lately... then cough and runny nose... she has been taking med for nearly a mth liao.... v sian leh...

<font color="aa00aa">one size from pre-preggy.
If count from Bfing, then almost 2 size leh. Coz i see not so 'bak bak'.
hehe.....

soyabean, my ger also taking for nearly a mth liao. I hate seeing her drinking all this med everyday.</font>