(2008/06) June 2008

Yest nite my boy dunno why his temperature increase to 37.8/37.9 then we give him panadol, this morn seems better but still warm warm.

Crystal and Felicia,

i oso haven't plan anyting. ored read forum comments and surf some website.

<font color="aa00aa">soya,
*wave* i m keen as well. pls let me know (thru PM) if u going ahead wif this spree on the party stuff. thanks!

ellysia,
at least u started surfing the sites &amp; all, i havent start anything ley. so up to neck wif wk, projects, maid issues &amp; another upcoming biz trip tat i m pulling my hair liao.</font>

any baby reject milk?
My girl reject milk le..can whole day don't drink milk, so no choice i add milo in her milk and she love it. Finished in in mins...haha..

maybe bb same as me, don't like drink milk..haha

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">ellysia.. teething? mine last wk oso.. shoot to ard 37+ but no cough, flu..etc... we jux give a few times and monitor.. realise his gum swollen..</font></font>

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">shinely... better not to add milo at this stage as choc not for young baby... </font></font>

<font color="blue">hey bon,
ok..next thurs we meet @ amk hub @ 12pm ok??we meet @ the taxi stand there..pm me ur hp no leh..hehe..

veniz,
haha..yah lor..she bz woman..for fri i still not confirm hor..cos my testing time not fix yet.. let u noe soon..

liewz,
long time no c..ur daugther also bogeh ah??hehe..

crystal,

Just find a restaurant tat do everything? i am trying to get those. simple simple can liao.

feifei,

Kindermusik class seems interesting. But i dunno got time or not. yr gal attended many trial class liao hor.

cactus,

wat bumper playmat? is it those rubber type? i bot rubber type one, got 4 pieces to combine to 1 piece. can be taken out if necessary. i find quite good.

eczema - u got take steriod cream from pd? can try california bb cream also.

shinely,

choc got caffeine i tink.. and bb can't absorb well at this stage it will add strain to her body. MILK is also a high allegen food and shd be only intro after 1 - 2 yrs old.

<font color="blue">hey crystal,
u are not alone..i hvnt even think of wat to do..maybe like u lor..juz order buffet n do some deco @ home..hehe..

soya,
eh..count me in if u organising the party spree hor..</font>

Why should I wait until after 1 year to introduce milk?

One of the main reasons you should wait until after baby is 1 year old to introduce milk as a formula/breast milk replacement is that milk/dairy hinders the absorption of iron in the body. Milk is also much harder for baby to digest than breast milk or infant formula.

Milk by itself does not contain all the nutrients of breast milk or formula and should never be used as a substitute until after 1 year of age. The cooking of the food that contains the milk will aid in breaking down the milk proteins so that many babies who are 8 months+ are able to have baked goods that contain milk.

As noted on our solid food chart for the 4-6 month old baby, we indicate that dairy should not replace breast milk or formula until a baby is 12 months of age. There is a possibility of serious health risks should breast milk and/or formula be replaced with cow milk, particularly at the 4-6 month age range!

These risks include Iron Deficient Anemia. Cow milk hinders the absorption of Iron and can cause anemia. Iron is crucial for baby's healthy development. Besides the risk of iron deficient anemia, if your baby drinks cow milk to replace breast milk and/or formula, baby will not receive enough Vitamin E or enough EFAs (essential fatty acids). These nutrients are also crucial to healthy growth and development.

Your baby would also receive levels of protein and sodium that would be too high for baby's fragile system to handle. Cow milk protein is very difficult for an infant to digest and absorb. While formula may be cow milk based, the proteins are "pre-digested" and cultured in a way that make baby's tummy better able to tolerate them. Believe it or not, the levels of sodium (and potassium) in cow milk are very high. Too much sodium might cause an infant's kidneys to fail and as we know, high levels of sodium can lead to high blood pressure.

These are a few of the reasons why the AAP and other pediatric authorities do not want babies to drink milk as a replacement until 12 months of age. As you know, breast milk is the most perfect food for infants and babies could survive on breast milk alone for the first 12 months. Formula, while not the perfect food like breast milk, has been created with the crucial and essential nutrients that an infant needs to grow healthy and maintain a proper nutritional status. Whole cow milk does not provide for the good health and growth of babies.

Morning ladies, busy day... But it's FRIDAY!!! Hurray!

Ellysia, maybe he's teething?! My boy's body will also be warm when he's sprouting the next tooth. Can check if he's biting on things very hard. Don't worry.

shinely,

see here on milo http://www.easybabylife.com/can-9-month-old-baby-drink-milo.html

Can 9 Month Old Baby Drink Milo?

Nov 18, 2008
Well, not recemmended
by: Baby Help Line

Hi Ram!

Actually I would not give Milo to a 9 month old baby for several reasons.

Since Milo is based on cow's milk, it should be used with caution for any child younger than 1 year old.

You can read more about what foods to avoid for babies here.

In addition, Milo contains a lot of sugar, which may result in tooth decay and also that your son will become even more picky about other foods.

In stead of Milo, can you offer him formula or breast milk? That is much better nutrition for young picky eaters.

And for some tips on how to help your baby to become more interested in eating solid foods, click here.

I hope this helps,

/Paula

hi Ellysia, it's not the rubber type. I bought a plastic type which is one full sheet. 2.3m by 2.4m and 15mm thick. LG Prime brand. supposed to be from Korea. It's quite expensive.. $258.. but decided to just spend... I thought of the square type, (ie. the alphabet mat type) but decided it's too lehchey to fit in and take out.. easier to roll the mat or fold the mat up. and it's supposed to be cooling enough and soft enough even to sleep on! Not sure how true it is though cos it's not arrived yet. it was a mini hole in my pocket.. so struggled with buying/not buying for quite a bit yesterday...

Ellysia,
Tink ur boy teething, thats y abit feverish wor..My ger onli went for Gymbroee classl or, she loves it =).. so tinking of bringing her to kindermusik =)..

Tera,
no prob =)..

shinely,
I feel better not to add milo..can add some cereal or brown rice instead..

Re: Food/milk.

Anyone knows how much food/milk our bbs are supposed to be eating now? Matthew takes about 100ml of fruit for breakfast, another 100ml of thick porridge/potato + root veg for lunch. dinner is also 100ml of thick porridge/potato + root veg. He takes about 900ml milk per day. Does it sound normal? He is about 7 months 2 weeks now. He's a very active boy.

Tera, heeheehee.

Bizznow, no prob lar, that busy bee hor, you will go 'Wow' when you see her next Thurs, with her 'unsatisfactory tummy' which she was talking about, I really dunno why she can outfront complain to us about it, waahaahaa. YOu will know what I am talking about when you see her.

MLP, although today is Friday, its of no consolation to me. Still rem that 'breast pump' accident, and investigating on why my co super lousy system never generate goods to us, haiz.

cactus,

i see. i buy the rubber one bec' i tink got some foam so if bb fall is not as bad as those flat and thin playmat. i saw those roll type at toy'rus.

Now can't afford to buy too ex stuff bec' tinking have to spend $700-$1K for bb bday, then have to change his bedroom door (bec it was spoilt during my maternity leave as door slam shut and have to pile lock open). recently check and find tat i have been overspending unnecessary and also bot too much bb clothes, now his closet is too full with clothes from spree.

feifei

if he is still teething, dun tell me its the no 6th teeth..he ored have 5 teeth liao leh.. if only he is tat advanced in his crawling stage.

cactus,

i dunno how much milk.. it depends on yr bb weight also bah. as long as he is not hungry and not overfeed. i usu experiment.

feifei,
Duno leh. I am like constantly racing with time. Work until evening, eat dinner, bring baby home, play with her, tuck her to bed, do abot of housework, surf abit, sleep and new day! Everyday seems to be the same routine. -.o" How do you all inject life and excitment huh?

soyabean,
I saw Sesame st stuff from the website but more of party supplies. I am looking for balloons now. Most of my guests are adults, so not spending much on party supplies.

bizznow,
I oso haven do much, but saw a few sprees for balloons lately, so buy 1st. Actually, the rest of the mummies made me gan cheong, so I oso join in the ordering cake, buying balloons fun. Lol!

Ellysia,
wow, alot of teeth liao hor?its possible his 6th tooth coming out lor..

cactus,
The LG Prime mat is bery useful..I bot it before my ger was out...so hv been using it since she learnt how to flip...mine is the Hello kitty one..very good, thumbs up cos there is cushioning there, big enough at that time...now she always crawl out of it...then i add mattress and the ABC mats lor..

zuen,
excitment? exams and assignments lor..hehe...Joking lah..well, we also abt the same lor..just dat wkdays we can go out just the both of us for dinner lor..then wkends is assignments, hsework, bb and committments lor..

<font color="blue">zuen,
i hv no time to go check the sites out yet lah..n hvnt discuss wif my hb on wat we wanna do..so juz wait 1st lah..hehe..

me going off soon liao..got half day tdy cos got company event which is super sianz..dunno wat the big shots wanna talk abt..sianz.. anyway hope all of u enjoy ur wkends.. bye.. </font>

cactus
i think the playmat is a good investment. I regretted not buying a bigger piece one. Its really good for our babies for crawling or just sitting on playmat to play

feifei, I regret not buying the playmat before Matthew was born. you are so smart!!!! Yes yes! I saw the hello kitty one.. but mine is boy.. so I bought the Alphabet Pooh design.. the biggest rectangular space in my boy's bedroom is about 3m by 3.4m.. so I had to buy the large size (2.3m by 1.4m). I couldn't buy 2 standard size to put together cos it would be too large for his room.. although that wld have been my preferance cos I can move one standard size into my room when he wants to be in my room...

Good to hear from you, ND's girl! Phew!! Okay, I feel more relieved now. I guess I can't stop Matthew from crawling out of the mat, but at least, I hope the colours will brighten up his room cos his room is quite dull... all wooden furniture and boring walls.

feifei, did you buy from smallsmallworld too? there's another webby that is currently selling hello kitty design at $119.standard size. but not sure if it's the same design as yours. LG Prime also. reversible.

aiyah.. if I had chatted with you and ND's gal earlier, good. won't think too much before buying... should have gotten it earlier! Before Matthew was born, I was thinking of getting those alphabet mats..so didn't think of the bumper playmat.

Morning ladies.

Cactus, the bumper playmat is a good buy. I also bought one before my girl was born and she's been playing on it since she was 2 months till now. It's like a standard fixture in our living room now. I find that the cushioning is good for when she flips and crawls. At least I can be sure she won't accidentally knock her head on the cold hard floor. Of course she's crawling all over the place by now. But she still loves to crawl back to the playmat whenever she's playing with her toys and such. Probably cos it's warmer.

Feifei, I just saw your msg. If you need help with financial acctg stuff, feel free to PM me. I'm still somewhat in the actg line though not exactly an accountant. Will help you in any way I can.

Btw, I bought mine from smallsmallworld as well. They deliver it to my doorstep for free. I got yellow bear one. Reversible design as well.

cactus,
tink shd be the same lor...looks like this..
At the background..
2135053.jpg

cos thos ABC mat not big enough =).

Krispy,
Thanks ya...hope u won't find me fan2 can liao..*hugz* =)...tks tks...Ya lor, my ger also will crawl here and there now, but scary thing is she will sometimes stop there and then fall sidewards, then get up and crawl abit and fall again, sometimes like rolling lor...

cactus,

yup dun tink the mat is the same.
I have a cot at home and a playpen at mil house, rocker at both houses, jumperoo &amp; play gym at my house, several toys at each house. not to mention steriliser and warmer each house. clothes different sets at each house. creams for his eczema also 2 set.

HMMM the mat look interesting! But i ored have the mat from kiddy palace at both houses liao, though tat is quite cheap only $20.

wat the difference btw LG and non-LG types?

<font color="aa00aa">feifei,
I got it from my collegue, so share it here lor. hehe...

I'm so hungry now......waiting for my collegue. Stomach start calling liao.....</font>

<font color="ff0000">Hello Mummies

Lengleng
Is that yr SUMO baby

Look at his arm....yum yumm
2135197.gif

feifei
Hello Kitty everywhere...
2135198.gif

Feifei, the one you got looks like the one currently on promo, but it's not smallsmallworld that's selling it. another webby.. babejoy? I can't recall. was surfing yesterday!

Hi Krispy!!
Another smart mommy! I SHOULD have bought it earlier! Aiyah.. why why why never ask you mommies earlier?!! Matthew is always crawling everywhere...

Ellysia, from what I understand, there are currently only 2 types of bumper playmats from Korea. LG brand and Parklon brand. Parklon is slightly softer than LG brand, although they come in various sizes and designs, just like LG too! LG has normal LG, LG Prime and LG Ama..something (thickest at 18mm and it is supposed to be sound proof). The mats come in 4 sizes. 1m x something (hard to find), 1.9m by something (standard size), 2.3m by 1.4m (large size) and for the Ama..something mat, 2.1 by 1.4m by 18mm. The first 3 sizes come in 11mm, 12mm (only for Parklon brand), 13mm and 15mm.

<font color="808080"><font face="tahoma">Afternoon Mummies!
I tried to steam broccoli, boil corn &amp; carrot &amp; use the water to cook brown rice powder, then blend the vege &amp; add into the brown rice powder, wasted the whole morning preparing the porriage, but my Jared <font color="ff0000">REJECT!</font>, he like wanted to vomit when the porriage is in his mouth, super sianz</font></font>

Felicia,
hehe..

Danryan,
hehe..ya lor =)..

zuen,
hehe..but hor, study now is really no joke..tired, lots of committments..at times, I will ask myself "did i make the wrong choice"..cos if my hb din encourage me, tink i would hv drop last sem..

Fennie,
is the porridge too sticky?