(2008/05) May 2008

Tracy,

no, i dun think it is "Rosoela", have been monitoring Rayden, no symptons or signs of rashes. Now i need to feed him medicine on timely basis, to prevent the fever from shooting up. However the PD also mentioned that at times, fever is the first sympton, and will later follow by flu, cough ...etc. i only hope that it is mainy fever and nothing else, so that he wun suffer so much.

Dolly,
Really sounds like a busy nite for u! Yeh... congraz to yr girlfriend! And dun be too stress la, I think bb at 4 mths onwards will have higher chance of getting sick loh. My PD told me is bcos bb's immume system in first 3 mths r protected by Anti-biotic given by the mother and when they reached 4 mths, bb r mostly depending of their own immume system. So that's why got funny things like diarrhoea, fever etc loh. My gal is still under soy milk... hiaz, I change back to FM for 3 feeds only and her stool became loose again. so sad... got to defer her injections one more time till next wk. PD said need time to cure the diarrhoea & must be patient loh. I dun like soy milk lei, got a feeling that after my gal consume it, her chubby fats becomes softer liao =)

I guess what we mummies can do now is to make sure they r clean and do not expose too much to germs la... hope Rayden recover soonest!

Choc,
only 2 gals huh? hope the next outing will have more bb girls

Xiao hua,
okie... sounds good! My hubby said the price is reasonable. Cos' we check the price at pharmacy and is ard $130++... Can trouble u to get for me? Is at $118 rite? Thx u so much... ok I can pick up at Novena...

Diamondust,
I dun think there is M size for yellow Pampers lei... din see one too. Why not try Pampers Active (Purple), not bad lei... I'm using it and is the only one that can hold my gal's pee pee at bedtime. Try alot of brand and only this brand can make it! Exp but no choice... it still beats washing bedsheet everyday haha. I went down to Carrefour warehse sale today... Alamak, the have promotion price again and is very cheap now. Just one week ago, I bought the 2 packets in a box package M size (promotion) @ $44.00 (normally one packet is ard $26/-) thought very good price but today... the price went down to $29.90 ONLY!!! Sian man... so today quickly grabbed two more boxes loh... so worth it, one packet after dividing off is only at $15/-! Go try it la... Tomorrow Sunday last day promotion price thou. Hurry Hurry!

My gal drinks ard the same as yr bb too, shd be ok I think. And ya lor, the similac FM... too much lei... almost every few weeks the price will go up. It started from $35 to $37 then now $39... wah, soon will reached $50. My gal finished one can each week... very exp man!

Yanling,
Yr bb darren is huge man! u must have a hard time carrying him rite? My gal is 7.5 kg and is already too much for my arms liao... so tiring that's why take turns with hubby to carry =)

My gal is also due for the 2nd dose jabs but defer due to her diarrhoea, hiaz...! Cos' PD said injections r actually infections given to bb to make their immume system stronger so if bb is sick then cannot take jabs loh.

I remember my gal taking the rotavirus medicine too.. PD very patient, give her a little bit by bit until she swallowed everything ;p maybe she is greedy too

Re: Outing
Ya.. really looking fwd to this outing thou... my first one
with all the mummies!

I had purchase a pouch in the latest BP... is pretty cool! I'm currently using the carrier and is having shoulder ache... the pouch is made of fabric, was thinking maybe bb will be more comfortable and good for us too!!

Check it out!!
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1688341.html?1220715571#MB

Sugar,
haha... spot yr name it the pouch BP... we are spending again

I can't decide which colour to take thou... in the end I took the Khaki (beige), think easier to match my clothing cos' I wear white most of the time =) I do like the Carnival but think will be nice if only I wear dark colour top... hope it is a good choice carrier... scare bb slip out haha. I only feel more confident after watching the video

Tinkerbelle,
it's a pleasure meeting you yesterday...ha...u know wat...my hubby joke say he nearly wanted to report police for missing wife...cos i went up your place for so long...heee..my boy was awake le when i went back to car...your gal looks very adorable (juz like her mummy leh...)...so sad, after PIL's place, we went to Raffles City Robinson, thought got sales, cheh....nothing to buy for baby at all... =(

Alice,
i ks...so bought a pouch (M) from MIM online when my boy just born..didn't use it till last week..1st try...sadly can't fit him in the pouch comfortably...too small for my boy, not much space for him to move himself...my boy is about 9 kg...so probably u may want to try out the pouch before u purchase from BP or buy a larger one (since your gal is about 7kg already)... =D i still pondering to buy a carrier instead tomorrow (haiz...the combi BP cancelled, reason "not enough quota"...sad)...hmmm..should i buy one?

RE: car seat
Mommies...can advise which brand is good?? heard Pritax & Combi are quite good...anyone using these 2 brand car seats?? we just started using my boy's Safety First infant car seat bought when he is 1 month old..never use till last week..but realised the car seat is meant for babies up to the weight of 10kg...haiz...my boy is already 9kg so must quickly get another one so that my hubby can fetch him from infant care alone & also i can bring my boy out alone (heee...for shopping!!)...so ladies pleeeeaaseee give me your advices! thanks!! =P

re: pouch,

hi alice & sugar. I have been using the Pink Dotties pouch from pupsik since my baby 1 month old. Very good buy. When my baby is still small, I could lie her in the pouch comfortably. Till now, I am still using the pouch, but got to kangaroo carry her lieo cause she's getting too tall for the pouch. Will most likely sling her too on tues outing

alice, no problem, will purchase the thermometer tml, yap it's $118 nett. You prefer cash payment or IB transfer? If u r doing IB, can TT to POSB Saving 200-28363-5. On Tuesday outing can pass to u

jo, great.. u managed to apply leave for that day

Xiao Hua ,

hahah have not yet approve going to talk to boss tomorrow . As my boy is going to be take care by the nanny starting Tue onwards will go over to see how she take care as my boy only require half day care .. after 2pm will bring him with me . Normal days my MIL will go fetch him after she return from work .

xiao hua,
thanx for the review.. i've tried the pouch at the motherhood fair but baby didn't like it then... so figured since he's bigger now i'll try it again.. it's more for me than for baby... find tat it looks very pretty...heee... saw tat jane also ordered..

corynn,
i tried the beco carrier liao... it's good! very easy to transport baby around... so i can take bus and taxis now when i'm alone... no need to stick to the train

Dolly,
Hope Rayden is feeling better today.

Linda,
I've been using Britax carseat for my gal and now my baby. I like it
Bought it during a taka baby fair.

Linda,
Is yr pouch also from "pupsil"? Hmm, I'm also worried that maybe too small for bb. But the website said is depending on the mother size not bb one lei... strange.

haha u know how i choose my carrier the last time? I went to Kiddy Palace with my bb and try out most of the brand before I decide which one
bcos' some is comfortable for u but not bb (e.g too deep, bb arms r not properly support and cannot stick out)... so the best is still with the help of their staff, try out some with bb loh. I bought the Lucky baby (black) carrier cos' is cheap and good! ard $35/- after promo price, normal price is ard $49/-. So far bb enjoy it lei. But feel like buying the pouch as an alternative cos' the pouch looks very "stylo" hehe...
I bought "Inglesina" - an italy brand. Actually is a gift from my bro & Sis. I was comparing with Maxi Cosi thou. think Both r good...

Sugar,
really! ok ok I will take a look on tues. did u buy the pouch from BP as well?

Ya... I will transfer the money to u today. Thank u so much!

alice,
i can only confirm whether i'm going tomorrow... think you got the wrong person..it's xiaohua tat is getting you the thermometer and who has the pouch liao

btw the khaki is a nice colour... but dunno whether size 1 is too small for you... it also depends on how broad your shoulders are.. my weight 55kg 160cm and size 2 fits me well when i tried it at the fair

dolly,
hopefully rayden is better... then you can enjoy yourself on tues...you take care too... dun stress yourself too much

I wnt to join too!!!

Re: Outing next week @ Novena (United Square)
Next Tue :

1) Kelcqi
2) Felval
3) Muzicgal
4) Xiao Hua
5) Dolly23
6) birdy
7) Alice
8) Jo
9) Diamondust
10) Jer

alice/ sugar
i got mine as a gift my from my friends.

mine is size 2. my height is 163 weight 50. alice.. do try mine on tues & see if it fits, you can still change the size right coz the BP haven't close yet
most mummies can fit 2 sizes, sugar i think you can fit size 1 as well, depend whether u like the pouch loose or fit snugly

BTW, just to share my girl latest pic taken with her new found buddy, the dancing Elmo:

1695775.jpg
1695776.jpg

Xiao Hua ,

I bought from the spree arrnaged by winnedy i got elmo and cookie monster and you bought S$38 very cheap loh ...I bought like S$70 each includding shipping cannot rem !! I bought it before I deliver haha..

But now dun dare to let my boy play cos dunno whether it will scare him :p

Your gal very chubby leh .. as your gal only younger my boy by 2 days old .

choc,

Thanks. Talked to my hubby, he says okay with it. Of course, he okay. He is not the one suffering the pay cut...and well, he is not the one saving for the family's future (sigh). It's $1.3k paycut. Talked to my dad, but my dad always support what I decide. Haiz. Headache but he would rather I dun drive to work. I say it's not the going to work but the going home part. If I drive I can go home earlier. Haiyah must see what my in-laws say. Sure complain.

But my mind is almost made up. Tomolo have to face the music with current boss and tell him my decision.

RE: Pet Pet
The offer is for all Carrefour (both Suntec and Plaza Sin). I went Suntec on Sat morning at 10am. Got the sales staffs to get the new boxes from their store. Heehee...end up take 3 boxes! =P

RE: Ilyse
She is now having fever, block nose and coughing.
Hubby says to bring her doc tomorrow morning. Hope she gets well soon.

I think it's either the jab or the weather...and also cos my 2nd son having cough. He every morning like to go "wake" his mei mei up before go to work. But then Ilyse likes to see him. So haiz.

choc,
hahahahah control, blankets quite ex leh... some more think abt this... all the furry stuff at the underside is bad for raphael's nose...collect tonnes of dust mites... me very mean... trying to suppress your urge to shop...

i know how you feel... me also kept going to the pupsik bp for pouches to look see... until I COMMIT!

jo,
no prob, haha. see on you tues

alice,
aiyoh, wasted, I don't have time to go down to carrefour today. But honestly that's quite cheap!

linda,
I'm using maxi cosi for the car seat. Quite happy with it. Bought it because maxi cosi is certified in the 'crash test'.

xiaohua,
Is the pouch very easy to use? thought of getting one too, but wondering if it will end up like my MIM sling at the back of my cupboard as I still dunno how to use it properly. haha.
BTW, thanks for the link for the puree food, looks good!

jo, u more kiasu than me hor, bought even before u give birth to Jorel.. haha. Do take it out for him to see.. My gal quite amused by the Elmo leh, she not scared at all, keep smiling at Elmo, she also enjoy the Elmo's dancing & singing. Jorel very chubby too, Jorel so many hair though he's 2 days older than my girl, my girl very little hair.

icebubble, hope ur darling recovers soon

diamond dust, initially not easy to use the pouch, took some time for me to get use to it, now quite pro lieo. u try on Tuesday outing first b4 deciding whether to buy k. Coz my friend cannot get use to it no matter how many times she try.

xiao hua,
think u got the wrong person haha
my boy not sick leh

Re: outing
cant join u all...
me got to work. haiz

Re:pouch/carrier
wanted to buy the baby bjorn de
but its way too ex liao $299...
pouch i duno hw to use le
try at mim shop, but cannot get the hang of it
saw the combi carrier too around $80
tot of buying but dunno gd or not

btw, my boy is nw 7.6kg @ 16wks old.
will slinging or using carrier be too heavy?
scared wait backache, buy liao no use.
now i always use stroller when bringing him out
carry till hand ache...

Re: car seat
i am currently using a hand down infant maxi cosi car seat
its rear facing de
but seems like it is a bit too small liao
my boy's feet cannot put straight
maybe its time to change to a front facing one?
but he still dunno hw to sit leh
his head sometimes still so wobbly

xiao hua, sugar , Alice

I also tempted to buy the pouch too ...I`m currently using infantino carrier ...my boy is okie when he is ok . But very hard to put on loh .

Xiao hua ,

Maybe this tue you show me how to use the pouch then decide want to buy .

Just went to buy the rainforest play gym hahah ... tole hubby to buy the cheaper 1 by lucky baby but he said the play gym not colourful . Aiyo the price so great diff 29.90 and 129.00 ..OMG .

Haven yet to let him try ...hope he will like it cos he dun like to lay down .If not it will be white elephant . My colleague bought him the Smart swing from Fisher Price also seldom use .

ice bubbles ,

I`m using euro-rider infantino ..so far so good !!

Combi carriers heard dolly23 & faith is using maybe you want to check wif them whether izit good ? ?

Hmm muzicalgal use baby bjorn ...!!

Maybe you can survey around before buying ...of course you and BB got to feel comfy .

All mummies,
My girl juz gone for 2nd injection on friday. Today her milk consumption really drop very much. Only 50ml at 3 hrs. She don't hv this problem at 1st jab. Anyone experience this? I don't know is the avent teat number 3 problem or b'cos of jab. She juz play around the teat and suck at the front part of the teat. My mum said it might b the teat problem. I had changed a new one, still the same problem. Very headache as don't know what went wrong???? HELP!!

diamondust, here is the pic how the father taped the ear
1696416.jpg

linda, i also use Britax's safe & sound car seat

Corynn, my boy also likes to play with teats when drinking, i just let him be coz if he doesnt drink enough, he will cry for more later, then i wll give him the milk ...

corynn ,

My boy has been experience these on and off since he was 8 weeks old .

He is only drinking 100 to 120ml now 4 hourly .

If he dun want to drink ..i let him be next sessions he will just drink .

I used to be very stress like you !!And I tried to force him to drink ..make him cry even more . But as long he is oki , smiling away and play .PD did said at their age they know what is full now so no need to force them to drink .

I know how you feel ....so take it easy .She will be fine soon

jo, haha!! yes, not only his ear red red, his whole face also red red..if folded, even more red...so far he never feel uncomfortable coz he didnt cry when the father put it on..maybe he still small dont know anything maybe older, know liao cannot tape anymore :p

Corynn,

You are not the only one. My little girl is having her fever, now have cough and block nose. Her milk intake drop from 200ml to around 100ml or less. I hope she gets well soon.

Just try to feed every 1hr or so...even if it's a little. Important is water intake also...okay? Dun panick. It's normal.

Lukemommy, jo and icebaby,
Thanks for the sharing. She juz finished 110ml liao. May b she is too sleepy as we brought her out since morning till 3pm. So she juz want to sleep till she happy then drink. My girl like to sleep a lot, she can sometime sleep continuous for more than 6 hrs in the afternoon but we do wake her for milk and continue sleep.

lukemommy,
OMG! ur bb's ear is really being taped. It looks so uncomfy & a bit painful.

Next Tue :

1) Kelcqi
2) Felval
3) Muzicgal
4) Xiao Hua
5) Dolly23
6) birdy
7) Alice
8) Jo
9) Diamondust
10) Jer
11) Gina
What time r u mummies miting?

Felval,
I'll PM u my mobile no.

Dolly,
Take care of urself so that u can look after Baby Rayden well. Hope ur boy will recover soon.

I brought my ger to Chinese Garden for the Lantern Festival. (Mummy's a Hello Kitty fan.) Nothing much. http://garl36.multiply.com/photos/album/62/Lantern_Festival_2008

Corynn/icebaby,
u still bf?? if so, maybe u can try drink some barley water/watercress soup/take vitamin C...i took some of these stuffs before my boy went for his vaccinations recently..think it helps.. =D

Muzicgal/Tracy/Diamondust,
Thanks ladies...probably will go kaki bukit take a look before deciding which one to buy...

Alice,
Don't think the pouch i have is from pupsil...hee...think i'll try again to fit my boy into it in another position...hope it works!

yo ladies,

i found the kirin sparkling grapefruit and hop drink liao!!! Damairu Liang Court supermarket - Meidi-ya have it!!! nt cheap it is $3.75 per bottle n i hv bought 5 bottles to try first...o...hv start the brewer's yeast on friday...so far ss still the same wif brewer's yeast. will post the effect of the drink after i drink probably 2molo....

sugar,
oh ya hor! guess is too tired last nite
Hopefully u can make it on tues. I will taking size 2 now and had change col to Pink Princess. Cos' my fav col khaki dun hv size 2

xiao hua,
ya... maybe i will try it out on tues! thks... yr gal is so cute...! Guess she really likes music =) she is so curious in pic 1 that her hair stands up haha...

jo,
let's try Xiao hua pouch this tues... Commit liao die die must learn to use it =) me so xian with my carrier. the pouch looks so stylo hehe

Corynn,
I think could be the avent no. 3 teat. Cos' i heard my friend complaining that no. 1 and 2 is super soft for newborn and 1 to 2 months old. She said when she changed to no. 3 her bb also rejected the milk then found out that the teat is not as soft as previous. My ger is still using no.2 soon will be changing to no. 3. Hope she dun reject the milk too

Dun be too stressed... like what other mummies said... as long as bb is happy can liao.

linda,
ya... invested liao must die die try until can fit in... then wont regret hehe =)

alice ,

You buy liao huh ...!!

Ya kinda of sian with the carrier ...tole my hubby wanna to buy the pouch ...so nice and trendy . He cannot tahan me he said carry baby also must look nice . He said ppl is look at your son rather than you . I was telling him i dun want to be a auntie ...i want to be a trendy and pretty mummy to my boy !!

I`m also changing my boy`s teat to pigeon L size . COs I felt that he is very impatient when drinking

hi icebubble,
i am using combi carrier, the 4-style model. my boy is very comfty in the carrier, and can even fall asleep. Only sideback is that you will need to tie tight, if not, the weight of the bb will be on your shoulder instead of your back, and end up you will be like me having shoulderache.

hi Mummies,
Rayden's condition is not getting any better. The fever subside when he took the medicine and sponging. But after 6hrs, the fever will reoccur again. Really dun know what happen .... the PD did check on his ears, nose and lung, no sign of infection, mainly fever, but dun know why the fever cannot subside completely, and have to rely on the medicine. From yest till this afternoon, his temperatue has been maintaining around 37.3 - 37.8 degree, so my hubby and i decided to bring him to my mil place in the evening, while both of us went to attend a wedding dineer. OMG, who knows when i fetched him back earlier, his fever shot up to 39degree again, so worrying. Immediately came back and fed him with medicine and sponge him again, now dropped back to 37.5degree. Damn stressful and worrying, dun know whats wrong with him at my mil place earlier.

Now he and my hubby are soundly asleep while me sitting on the bed, continuing to sponge him. Guessed i have to take urgent leave tomorrow, dun think i will be sleeping tonight, have to monitor him closely, and i think will be bringing him to my TMC PD, Dr Ong tomorrow morning. Just hope that this will be over soon.

Hi Dolly23,
oh dear...must be tough on u...i understand fully how worry & upset u r to see your boy sick...esp u dun know the cause of the fever. can it b urine tract infection? have Dr Ong done a blood test on your boy? please be strong for your boy k & take good care of yourself during this period & rest as much hor...u need to be well so that u can take care of your boy. will keep your boy & u in prayer & that God will grant Dr Ong wisdom to make the right diagnose & prescride the right & perfect medication for your boy that he will be well soon! Please take care k...

Sugar, Dolly, Angela, Choc, Ant, Jane, Faith & Gina
Really nice meeting u mums @ vivo.It was a wonderful outing!

I was extremely bz running around hospital after the gathering and the day after. Share with u all some of the stories.

Case 1: 1 of my gal fren which is 7month pregnant was sent to KK A&E, she got virginal bleeding due to her placenta is low. Few docs attended to her could not make the decision, some said have to go for c-sec as the bb's position is low, but some told her to stay another week to monitor. This situation made her very confused and upset.

Case 2: A colleague of mine whom gave birth to a bb gal for only 21 days, bb whole body rashes and red patches. She was sent to KK as well and numerous test were taken daily. Imagined a 21 days old bb's tiny weeny finger were being poked by needles everyday for all kind of blood test and yet the docs could not advise what causes it and un-identified virus. The mother was very sad and angry. She didnt rest at all and requested to stay 24 hours to breastfeed her bb and accompany her. Now the bb got phobia when lying her down on the bed, need to be cuddled all the time. How sad!

Finally come to a happy stories...
1 of the colleague just gave a birth to a bb boy yesterday at TMC. Went to visit her and recalled of the time when i gave birth to my Dylan... it was an unforgetable moment.

Hi Dolly,
Is Rayden recover by now? how come got such a high fever suddenly... You please take care of yourself too. Since he develop high fever whenever at your MIL's place, why not temporarily u take care of him urself and monitor until the fever completely sudside then send him over. Sometimes they did not feed him medicine timely which cause the fever come back again. I heard if got fever, dun let the medicine lapse for more than 1 hr. Pray for Rayden for speedy recovery.

Hi kelcqi,
Is ur gal oK now? I would like to join u gals at United SQ tmr. Then at the same time collect the cube from u can? Hope to see ya

I am looking for Baby sitter at woodlands area. Anyone of you can recommend? Infant care at woodlands is too expensive, $1200 to $1300. My girl keep drink very less and could't sleep well also. My mil keep stress me said is i choose the wrong bottle (Avent) and my luck of taking care bb not good, make bb keep crying and refuse to milk. I very stress.

Kelcqi, which cammomile lotion u used? The mos bites are sill very big and obviously displayed on his face...

After the confinement is very hard to "bu" liao. The only chance to get better "bu" during the next confinement. I usually buy the tonic and "bu" myself, i dun care, my MIL also always said bird nest not good, not "bu" one, not need eat too much... but my hb very good la, he still buy for me (partly he likes to eat as well) hahaha..

Poky, i used all kind of bibs le, bought from the toy n rus n mothercare (fabrics one)... and some of those free one from nestle (with plastic layer, to use at home). i never try the ikea one. My boy drool a lot, i'll keep changing the bib every 2 hrs. So averagely i use about 6-8 bibs everyday. Plus sometimes i use hanky to wipe if i see the saliva almost falling down...

Felval,
Tue (9/9/08) :

1) Kelcqi
2) Felval
3) Muzicgal
4) Xiao Hua
5) Dolly23
6) birdy
7) Alice
8) Jo
9) Diamondust
10) Jer
11) Gina