(2008/05) May 2008

hi angela,

i have added bb Megan into my blog ... She is so chubby and adorable

wat did you feed her, at birth weight is 2.3kg, and now she is 6kg .... i wish my boy can also be like your Megan

jasmine,
i hv also email u to drop my order. Apologies. Thx. =p

Re: returnin to work
i also goin back to work on 4 Aug. Currently, stil on total latchin. will try to start this wk to bottle feed my gal. cos find it difficult to bottlefeed her when i drippin. so hv to wait til hubby back then he bottle feed her while i pump. but supply drop significantly from previously, so also duno how long can last. tot of givin up, cos really v tired. n office also no nursin rm. dun think the public nursin room got socket for me to use. if got, the pumpin sound also v loud. i scare that i get paisei if other hears it... =p sigh...

Buttercup,
i hv also stopped lettin my gal wear mitten at home liao. only went go outside, then got wear. want to start her early on motor skills. she now can close her fist properly, instead of last time, anyhow close one... she also hv long fingernails. hv to cut frequently. morever she got eczema on her face. so hv to pull her hands down from scratchin... =(

Haven logged in for quite some time. Juz some quick posts..Hehe..

Re:Back to work

Juz back to work ytd.. Can't reali get use to working nw.. Basically dunno where to start my work from..Haha..Stil gt 4wks of f;ex. ML to take. Lucky boss let me stretch til next yr. No need to take finish within 6mths frm birth. But nw i feel tired very easily. Good thing is that bb is doing fine at nanny hse. And after bring her back, feed her once ard late evening & last feed at 11++ or 12am.. After tt she wil slp til e next morning 6+ or 7am. Juz in time for me to prepare to work & bring over to nanny.. Hopefully this wil continue..

Re:Menses
Realised tt some of u mummies oredi cm menses. But mine dun haf lei. The brown discharge stop for ard 1wk+. Nw my ger is 9wks old liao. Any idea roughly when wil our menses usually cm?

Re:Soreness at V area

Hi, do u all stil experience soreness in V area? Nw i stil do experience soreness when i squat down. Otherwise stil ok. Wonder whether my V area recovering well nt..

hello...i been MIA for 2 days...hai...started work today which is tuesday... i pump at 730am 10am, 1230pm, 230pm 5pm and then 730...quite regular and the amount maintain at ard 160-180... took me 15mins to pump and wash the stuff and go back office... phew...lucky my boss ok with it... i onli pump 4 times in office toilet lor...

very very tiredd..... tml got to wake up early to bring my boy to my mum place...hai

hi.. im a newbie n i wan to ask.. my bb is abt 2 mth old nw.. juz gave birth in may.. hw many oz of milk shd i give him? i heard if give too much water/milk is unhealthy for his liver?? kindly advise.. tks

just wondering are your babies' necks 'zai' as in steady already? I find my baby's neck still not that 'zai' leh and he already 12weeks. I remember my #1 gal at 12weeks pretty zai liao. But he's trying to flip himself over already, now often flip himself to one side.

Hello Dolly

Megan is on total breastmilk and haven taste FM at all yet... She is indeed a chubby baby and she is actually born premature too... due to high BP, i have to go for emg. c-sect. I dint reali eat good stuffs as i still drink frizzy drinks and eat instant noodles at times.. so dunno y she so chubby.. haha!!

Hida,

my boy is at 11 weeks, and he is currently drinking 150ml every 3hr - 3.5hrs, and in between, my mil will also feed him with 20ml - 30ml of water ... my boi loves water, now he prefer water than milk.

Tracy,

my boi's head also bei "zai", when i carry him on my shoulder, he will lift up his head, but when i put him on tummy, he will just lie down on 1 side of the face. So i always call him lazy boi.

Angela,

wow ... maybe that is the wonders of your BM, thats why she grow fast and so chubby .. so cute lor !

how?.... my boy very sick.... cough got alot of phelgm.... cham.... yesterday got see pd liao... still very jialat... doc say he got a bit of bronchitis

muizcgal,

dun panic, you just continue to give him the cough syrup, is it light red colour from Dr Ong ? I have given to my boy previously, need to feed around 2 - 3 days to see the effects, and also did Dr Ong tell you that bb with phelgm is normal ?

hello ladies

tracy
my boy's head getting quite zai liao

muzicgal
my #2 also kenna bronchitis when she's abt 3mths old. was on nebuliser for a week and i did give some "hou zao san".. it help clear some of the phelgm but when the phelgm's finally gone.. it's been 2 weeks liao

pls add me at http://3-kids-on-da-loose.blogspot.com

Pooh,

no choice, all of us have upgraded to "Aunty".

BTW, beside myself, Jo and Choc, who else gg for the Bonding with Baby through "Touch" Workshop on Sun ?

Tracy,
My boy 10 weeks, neck not so zai too. When carry him in the sitting position, need to give little support to his back, but he’s been trying to balance himself while in that position.

dolly23,
yup, doc ong gave me a bottle light red and a transparent liquid, and a bottle of sea water spray.
your rayden cough take how long to recover? my boy like very xinku... dr ong never say anything about his phelgm... =(

pooh,
can mix western and chinese medicine? i oso thot of giving him the hou zao san... but scare mix chinese and western medicine...

Pooh,
Added your link into my blog liao.

Muzicgal,
Did PD ask to use neubilizer? Last time my gal had to use one round of neub. But its very effective in clearing the phlegm. Hope bb recovers soon

Re:Neck
oh, so quite normal lah, majority neck still not 100% zai :p hehe, me kan cheong mummy.

hi mummies =) today supposed to rtn to wrk if i didnt tender. time reali flies!!

re: mittens
i only let my boy wear in the nite, scare he poke himself in the eyes. he recently has this new found hobby: suckin his fingers!! until got sound sm more. tried givin him pacifier but he refused n stil prefered his own fingers! any of ur bb the same too?

re: neck
my boy can lift up his neck for a while when i put him on his tummy but stil nt v zai yet. after a while, he wil start cryin liao cos tink too tirin. haha

re: water
is it a must to gv bb? i hvnt been givin him water since he's on bm n bm contains water but my mil said hv to gv abit each day.

re: menses
mine came beginin of last mth but til nw stil no news leh! so scared i hit jackpot again!!

Going back to work
I also go back to work on Monday, not use to work life liao so xian miss my girl very much 8(

Pump also not as much as my 1st one, getting around 200ml per pump in 30mins and I only pump twice in office. So tired as need to wake up at least 2 time at nite.

Tracy
my #1 can flip 1st but his head not very zai...
#2 head mor zai but don't know how to flip yet.

So young can eat hou zao san? If want to take both type of med need to have 2hr interval. I only give Hou Ning to my son when he is 8mth old with bad cough... Which help to dissolve his phelgm.

Hi Jo

Always nice to see each of our baby in difference stages hor... i always spend time reading ppl blog and dint hv time to update mine :p

Hi Jo

Always nice to see each of our baby in difference stages hor... i always spend time reading ppl blog and dint hv time to update mine :p

re: menses
my bleeding stopped after 5weeks after c-section.
now still have a little discharge on and off
gynae say its normal and will go off once menses come
but my menses stil hvnt come till now leh
already 10weeks

re:neck
my boy at 10weeks can only lift up his head for a while then when tired just drop his head
so dangerous ah.
still must hold his neck tight when carrying

re:water
i nv give my boy drink water at all
he drinks BM during day time and 1 or 2 times formula at night
so far no constipation (cross my fingers) so i nv give

btw, at 10weeks old,
does baby talk a lot?
my boy makes very loud noises when playing with his musical mobile
when talking to him, he seems to be replying us by making arh goo sounds
he makes me so happy ah

btw, he only takes very short naps in the noon time
about 15-30mins when on the rocker
he will sleep if i continue to carry him
so pek cek and tired ah

Hi Dolly23

tks for replying.. i bn givin my bb 150ml every 2 hrs and thus gt panic n shock when frens said tat too much water will hurt his liver.. i tried delayin his milk time to like, every 3 hrs, but he will cry his lungs out..as a 1st time mum, i tends to worry too much..
so its a pleasure i came across tis forum and readin thru the threads.. thus i know whether my bb is makin any progress... btw is site is for may 08 bb rite?

Dolly,
Your spirit re bf is admirable.

Icebubbles,
My son is also so fascinated with the musical mobile. He will babble with the animals, very amusing for us to watch him. My son’s been babbling too. Lately he babbles with 2 syllabus like arh-le, sometimes I babble back… keke… Once, I was nagging at him for throwing the pacifier out, and he babbled back with that “arguing” facial expression and tone, very funny !
He is smiling more these 2 weeks and his toothless smile simply melts my heart away.

Pacifier
Those of you who give pacifier to bb, which one did you buy? Will pacifier spoil the shape of their mouth, especially when they start teething ?

ant1712,

wah...u must be careful HOR! Hahaha

RE: Menses
My menses so heavy! I cannot tahan. Kena stain but lucky the dress I wear got alot of prints and the stain i notice early..so manage to wash off! Heng

Icebubbles ,

Same here very happy .

My baby is 7 weeks old ....hahah .. he been talking to himself wif his coo coo gaa gaa sound .

Is really fun just looking at him

tracy ,
Mine son neck seem to be very very stable when he is full month old . He dun like to lie down position when being carry . he only like sitting position

Hi Peace

I using Pigeon pacifier (0-5months)... i have no choice but to give in pacifier as my bb like to bite and lick on her pillow as she sleeps tummy down. So giving her pacifer is to stop her from doing that... but she will let go of the pacifier herself and cont' sleeping... so i think is still all right.

Re Menses

Mine came 4weeks after my c-sect and is reali very heavy. I still thought when we breastfeed we wont have menses..
then till now i haven got them reporting yet and it have being 2months plus oredi...

Hi peace,
me using the Avent pacifier....it says 'Orthodontic' so i guess it should be more friendly to teeth and gum....
i also have no choice but to give bb pacifier as he screams and cries a lot and sucks in a lot of air....then his stomach pain so he cries again and the cycle continues....so have started to give him pacifier more....which he doesn't really like

Re: Mittens
Ok, think i also should like him have some mittens free time to help develop his moto skills...thanks mummies for reminding me this!

twinky,
I understand from my gynae that menses will be delayed if we BF. As to when our menses will come, even gynae is not able to tell. He mentioned that delayed menses does not mean our eggs will not ovulate. That's why my gynae encouraged me to go for conception; an injection which has to be done quarterly. For C-sect mommies, we are recommended to start family planning after a year.

RE: Mitten
I'm trying to let my girl wear mitten during the night. But my MIL keep saying that her hands are cold.

RE: Water
My bb is now rejecting water & FM. I have a almost full tin of 900g Similac to let go. I'm hoping to sell it @ $15.

RE: Pacifier
I'm using Avent pacifier. Though my baby dislike, she only suck pacifier in the night before sleep.

RE: Neck
My girl always try to lift her head whenever we carry her. It look so dangerous when she try to push her head backwards. But when she's lying on her tummy, she seldom lift her head up; instead she tried to crawl by kicking her legs so hard.

peace,
I have the pigeon pacifier as well as the nuk one. I don't realli like the nuk one cos the plastic surface of the pacifier is curved so when my bb sucks too hard, it leaves a red rim ard her mouth, think mabbe her cheeks too fat lah. haha. In any case, she still doesn't know how to suck pacifier by herself, need to hold it there for her if not it drops out within 5 secs, then she will scream again. I only give pacifier to keep her quiet when she is screaming for milk and the EBM takes some time to warm up, and also occasionally when she can't fall asleep without sucking on something. Will remove it after she falls asleep. Short periods of sucking on pacifier should not damage her mouth/teeth.

Tracy,
my gal is 10 and a half weeks, neck not fully zai, but she does like to raise her neck a lot for short periods of time when i put her over my shoulder. Also she likes to be carried in sitting position nowadays but still need to give her a bit of support by letting her lean back against my body.

icebubbles,
I absolutely love it when babies go goo goo gaga babbling. So darn cute. My gal also rather 'talkative'. Pple say if baby's upper lip is a bit pointy at the center portion then will grow up to be very talkative, dunno true or not. haha

ant,
if bb is fully on BM then no need to give water, only need to give water when on FM. But you may want to start giving just a little bit every day just to let bb get used to the taste of water, if not bb may reject water later on becos it's tasteless. I haven't been giving water to my gal till recently cos previously only supplement 1 feed with FM and no constipation. now she's taking more FM so trying to give her water, but she refuses to drink it, unless she is super duper hungry then she will take a few sips only.

My baby is sleeping less these few days. Now sometimes even refuse to sleep in yao lan when previously she can sleep 2 to 3 hours in yao lan during the day. So tiring trying all methods to put her to sleep so I can rest or do my chores.

Sorry to intrude...
Just wondering if anyone is interested in rainbow vacuum cleaner, there'l b a roadshow on this sunday at Toa payoh west CC from 8 - 1. Any quries feel free to email me at [email protected]

Hi I am new here. I am a May 08 mum. Now then join Motherhood forum. Should have joined ages ago. My bb has started to blah blah abit 1.5weeks b4 two months, and just recently, she makes bb sounds alot.. Even when I visited my gynae for my PAP smear, she even talks to my gynae!! My gf came over for the first time to c bb and she 'talks' to them. Very fascinating.. She also holds her neck well. She is on AVENT pacifier but i feel that design is not good, doesn't contour around the shape of the jaw. Could see the red line just below the lower lip on the chin due to the friction when my bb sucks on the pacifier

Muzicgal,

Rayden took the medicine for 3 days and recovered from then ...

Tracy,

dun worry lah, my boy's head also not zai yet, still need support when i place him in sitting position.
btw, how is the diaper bag, is it useful to you ?

Hida,

you are welcome

We are just exchanging experiences here.

Peace,

no choice on BF, as i am only intending to have 1 kid, so i will try and give my best to my boy now.

Had been MIA for a long time & missed many of the threads here... Hope everything is fine.

Most of us are going to start work soon & I'm also going to start work on 4th Aug too. Going to miss this 12 weeks of maternity leave...

My boy is also coughing since last friday night. He coughs so hard that his face turn red & like coughing his lung out type... see liao so heart pain. I feel so guilty that I spread the virus to him because last week, I was having coughing but I didnt ask others to feed him & I feed him myself at night.

Luckily after taking the coughing syrup from PD, he is getting better. But I notice that sometime his chin & legs will shake uncontrollable like shivering / vibrating type. I called PD & he said its ok but I still worry. Have any of u encounter this before?

Luvbella,
My boy not having cough, but occasionally his leg has this vibrating effect. Not sure what cause it, it's usually 1 of them at 1 time, not both at the same time. When I was preggy, during the 3rd tri, I also felt that in my tummy. Doc says nevermind, but did not explain why, so I am not fully convince.

Just wondering ..... why are women always the one worried and giving the attention to children, while men can just relax and watch tv or read the papers?

Peace bcos they are with us for 40wks... We give them fresh and blood and soul... So they have a linkage with us 8) Later your hb will jealous why when in troubles they 1st think of is you liao 8)

Ant,
My MIL 'convinced' my bb to take the pacifier cos he kept sucking his hands and she got worried. My hubby and his siblings all suck hand and very hard to wean them off, even till primary school. So I guess that's why my MIL prefers pacifier for him. She just kept pushing to him till he got the hang of it.

I've tried Pigeon, Nuk, Avent, Tollyjoy. He takes the Nuk best. My gal also grew up using Nuk pacifier and just recently weaned off at 2years plus. Simply apply 'bitter grass' on it and she didn't take it liao, but still kept holding it her hand to sleep. Eventually she didn't want it anymore. It doesn't affect her teeth structure.

Poko,
Oh, so can flip first even tho head not zai. So strange..then flip but face smack flat! hahaha

Dolly,
Thanks for the bag!! Cheap and good. I've been using it since Monday to transport my fridge-to-go and manual pump. People dunno it's my breastfeeding stuff in this bag

Re: pacifier
i hvnt been giving my boy pacifier
cos scared of hurting his teeth and also hard to wean off...
but nowadays, he keep biting his fingers
now dunno whether its gd to let him continue or to introduce pacifier to him
we hv tried so hard not to give him the pacifier for 2mths liao
now give like wasting our intial efforts ah

icebubbles
Actually it's really much depend on u whether u want or not to give pacifier. Pacifier hv pros & cons, as wat u said seeing them biting their own fingers dunno will get hurt or not, another part is hard to wean it off if they get use to it. If u think is hard to wean off if get a pacifier for him, perhaps u let him wear mitten for the time being.

My mil also seduce me to give my girl pacifier, we still holding but my girl very greedily sucking her hand anytime even middle of the nite, and can do it with both hand somemore... I also don't know what to do liao. My Sis's sil finger is "not straight" due to she suck her finger when she is young, I worry about that too...

Tracy PM you his look with his not very Zai neck after flip.