(2008/05) May 2008

felval, peace, I use the ring cushion cos afraid that when sit on the wound, will accidentally stretched it or hurt it. So only when I don't feel pain down there anymore then I didn't use liao.

felval, so good Prof Tee see you so many times. Haha.. For my stay, he only came to see me on the day I'm going to discharge cos during my stay, he got some seminar and had to give some talk. Then that seminar is organised by my ex-lecturer. But he is quite good one la. So are u back home already?

Wah liew, so many of you brought placenta back ar.. Haha.. My gynae asked me then my hubby said no need. But seriously, tell me if it works then maybe I'll keep my no.2 one. Haha..

Just now have my massage again, pain eh. Certain areas like muscle ache like that. Then she massage my breasts also. After massage, I went to pump my milk then use hot towel to massage, and disaster, while pumping my right breast, then got let down on the other one but it's usually alright cos the Avent breast shield will collect my milk on the left breast. But just now, it leaked and my breastpad soaked totally with BM and my bra dripping. I think I wasted 20ml of breastmilk cos my left breast actually leaked 40ml and my breast shield collected 20ml!!! Siao man.. Next time, after massage cannot use warm towel on it liao.

Yaoyaomum, when Hamidah massaged for u, do u feel pain at all? I feel like paying money to torture myself sia. Haha.. Btw, when did she collect money one ar? She never ask from me yet.

Somehow, this morning when I took out the bind, seems like tummy smaller. Haha.. But forgot to weigh myself.

panpan,
ya loh... now i also dunno how.. its in the freezer for more than 20 days ald...

was thinking after my confinement, then go chinatown ask those medical shop for more advise before i "action"!

panpan,
ya loh... now i also dunno how.. its in the freezer for more than 20 days ald...

was thinking after my confinement, then go chinatown ask those medical shop for more advise before i "action"!

yeah! today's my confinement officially over! But CL going off tmr, so gonna be super duper busy...dont think will hv time to log into the net.

Re: BM
Seems my supply is going down!!! dunno why since tis wk onwards my supply went down from 110ml to hardly 60ml! and worse, now using PIS also makes no difference ler! PANIC!

kelcqi,
still need to sun?! the nurse and PD nv tell me wo..later i go ask..=)

cherimoya,
i also scare i accidentally stretched it or hurt it especially when i am slpping or when i am pooing...today down there feel abit pain...cld be i sit up too much these 2days...didnt really find time to rest n lie down except at nite when i wanna slp..
ask u ah, are u still bleeding? i am le...these 2 days getting heavier again...=(

hahaha.he sees me everyday including sun n PH and its like before 7am lo..he sure is an early man given his status lo...u guess how old is he? hehehe.

really peifu u le! u really go pump out...i used to do that the past few days then nurses say no gd..the more i pump the more i have then EBM got to use teats to feed baby, ask me why not direct latch on...so i nv pump now in the day except at nite...i thinking, go hm i sld be kuai and pump regularly liao...

me now still in hosp le...waiting for them to discharge me...think most likely can go off in the evening time coz baby's paper work hosp havent finish processing...i forseen my bills to be ard 7-8k...and hopefully nthing more!

winnedy,
WAH!! 20 over days?! still fresh mah? must be careful when u treat it coz wat is it contains bateria?

piggymummy, me going to sembawang kidslink today. bring my girl there cos of the mucous in her nose and phlegm. if the PD there is good then i'd prob take up their immunisation package cos nearer and cheaper then Dr Low.

in the daytime, i'll put my girl in the cot or in those rocker type lor, depending on situation. cos when she's awake she doesn;t like to be alone, and i can put her in the rocker in the living room or study room, depending on where i am.

gals,
my milk supply is only half of wat my boy needs...
now supplementing him with FM.
but seems like everytime he finish and sleep,
he will vomit some of it out...

if FM + BM, need to feed him water?

Panpan,

I saw the pic of placenta from the TMC books. Very disgusting. But well, how disgusting it is, it's also what that brings our little ones to this world rite? Juz that although it's nutritious, but it might be toxic also since it process waste of the baby and also acted as a filter for our food to go to baby.

I only interested to make into facial cream or mask to use only. Make my skin swee swee... Hehe... Vain mummy! I was telling hubby dunno if can make into Eye mask or not and he went like Eeeek... You want it you better know how to handle it, don't ask me to help you with anything regarding that piece of "thing". LOL... I told him he nv go ask him mum if she wants it? Tell u loh, if she knows how "bu" it is, she'll ask from me one loh...

Cheri,

It seems like the massage helps you to get more milk supply huh? Heh... When you weigh yourself again, tell me if got weight drop or not? My boss wife and my colleagues swear that massage helps them to regain figure, one of them their waist line even smaller than pre-pregnancy. I was like HOW CAN IT BE???

Felval,

Just sun a short while also no harm. My friend baby no jaundice, her CL also sun her baby for 10-15mins, claiming that Morning sun is good for baby cos got Vitamin E. Healthy for baby. So I just listen loh. That's why I thought your baby have jaundice, then might not hurt to sun him abit loh. Even not for Jaundice sake but no harm for baby taking in Vitamin E also... Boast the immune system abit. Heee....

Your bill likely to be so high ah? That is before or after Medisave deduction? That's scary leh. Heng your delivery nv use Epi or any assistance, cos they said assisted delivery, plus with epi can cost u 1k plus more inclusive of GST. So I pray hard hard I dun need assistance...

Icebubbles,

You got burp your baby after each feed? Must burp one leh, Else they confirm vomit it out. Although some nurses I know they say if BF dun need burp, my cousin told me best is still try to burp abit. Cos sometimes baby in the hurry to suck and swallow the milk, they take in some air also...

Plus u did supplement it with FM. So must burp. And yes, once u got give FM, must give abit of water. Cos FM is derived from Cow's milk, cos the contain is usually thicker and more heaty. So you need to give water to baby else your baby will have constipation.

All these info I read it on those pregnancy books one. So hopefully the info given to me is not wrong...

I think I read alot nowadays. Then I bomb my gynae with all sorts of questions. He see me ask all these he asked me like tt still not ready for baby? I said no. Haha... Then he said I read alot but mostly those info more based on Ang Moh concepts, so he told me we need to play ard abit with the info since we are asians. Heh, so if any info I provide, if wrong, don't kill me hor... I only follow what the book says. :p

icebubbles,
my boy the same. burp already, when he lie flat on the bed he tend to burp up abit of milk thru nostrils also. Then i will need to carry him up to burp again. Quite a few rounds before he can settle down. Otherwise, sometimes I put him in the rocker, then he won't burp up.

Felval,

Sorry, Don't mean to remind you on this but I happened to chance upon this thread on G6PD but it seems like it's been abandon liao. Hope it does help or may you find support from this thread...
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/236216.html?1190096429

Icebubbles,

Carry him upright for awhile like rest on ur shoulder, but with a towel on it to allow the milk to flow down. Before putting him down to sleep.

It's not those serious explosive vomiting rite? There is a term they call it, think something like regagitation(wrong spelling) or something like tt. Tell u wat, put a piece of those cloth nappy below his head to catch those little vomit. That's what my mum told me. She said 1st 6 mths don't give baby pillows of scare they vomit. So usually the older generation like my mum will do is put a towel or cloth nappy below the head to catch those vomit.

Long time never login this forum liao, i have just popped today, here is the details:

Popped date: 21 May
Length: 51cm
Weight: 3.03kg
Induced+Natural+Epi+Assisted Delivery

Pls help me to update... Thank you

wow talking abt vomit... my girl suddenly merlioned out both her current feed AND previous feed when i was burping her. seeing all the BM come out really heart pain...
i never seemed to have this problem with my #1... guess each baby is different and gotta adjust. hiaz.

Cheri, Tracy, WCT,
Mine too, been very careful with I sit and poo, especially pooing.

Re Placenta, the nurse put it in a bag and did ask me if I want it back. That time didn’t know there’s actually a fridge in the room, coz’ thought HB got to rush back to keep the stuff at home, and I prefer not to be left all alone after delivery, so forego the placenta. Anyway, I actually don’t know what to do with it. My CL said, can cut into stripes and cook with Chinese herbs in soup form, so that smell of herbs will cover the smell of placenta, which some one told me it smells of lochia. Making it into facial cream is a great idea. Can seriously consider taking it home if I have number 2.

I think my bb is having teats confusion. During the first few days of his life, I have no milk, so only feed his with FM. Now my milk came, he latch on ok, but when I feed him EBM in a bottle, same bottle and teats as when I feed FM, he rejects it. At first we thought he doesn’t want my BM, tried latching him on, he does suckle! As I was almost “dry”, after 5 min suckling, we switched back to that same EBM in bottle, this time he drinks. So strange, does anyone’s baby got his reaction?

i am gng crazy liao...
i hv expressed my milk for my boy to drink
total of 80ml. but after the feed, he doesnt wan to sleep...
after 1.5hrs, he is crying and think he wans more
80ml for a 1wk old too little?
my mil comment that my BM is watery as compared to formula milk...
thats y he is not full...
anyone has this problem?

feel like giving up on BF liao.
so tiring and so stressed...

tracy
thanks for the link.. mine really fusses alot at night.. he will feed, burp, poo then feed again b4 he sleep.. after awhile, the cycle begins again

felval
glad to hear that both u and bb can be discharged le. enjoy ur confinement at home

btw, my mum told me we cant eat broccoli while BF? is it true? my MIL cooked it a few times for me le leh....

icebubbles
dun give up. tell ur mil that she's suaku!! BM is supposed to be watery as compared to FM. maybe u try giving ur boy more, see if he can finish? if on BM, u have to feed on demand.. no schedule for bb one.. sometimes my boy wants milk 30mins later

icebubbles,
the first few weeks our BM is watery. Only later it will be thicker. The first 2 weeks my boy feeds every 1.5hrs even at night so it is normal. BM is easily digested so its not surprising if bb gets hungry fast. Your bb only 1wk old, persevere on bfing. It's too early to give up.

I jus latched my boy from 6.30pm-7pm on one breast then he fell asleep. So I expressed the rest out. At 7.30pm, he started to ask for milk again. So you see, it's normal for the bb to keep feeding esp if you direct latch.

Icebubbles
My girl normally get hungry in the day time easily, she can latch at 11,12 and bottle feed 120ml @1... But then she sleep 3hr. And if she poo she will get hungry again...

poko, tracy, pooh
thanks for the encouragements
i tot we must follow strictly the 3hrs interval...
just now latch him on for 15 mins
and he fell asleep, cant wake him up
now expressing the rest of the BM out
hope it works...

i dun wanna feed him FM cos he keep vomitting and hicupping after that...

Ladies ,

I`m going for my c-section next wed ...hopefully baby will stay till then . Dun think i will pop labour this one week .

Hmmm ... i look at the forum about drinking milk for baby .I think i will go crazy ...

poko...don't think i hv any blockage though...after pumping my breasts are soft..doesnt feel engorged ler...sigh....

Bean
Remember last weekend I also saying my ss drop and this few day back to normal, I also don't know why but that few days I got migraine... So don't know due to not enough rest my ss drop. Maybe you rest more see any improvement?

can i check if it is normal for us to have migraine, and whether we can take pain killer or not ?

Hi Poko,

me too, having on and off migraine for the past few days, not sure if it is due to not enough sleep.

Tracy,
Wow you so brave to do that to your MIL, for me i just tell my MIL not to give strange things to BB already kena nag from her whole afternoon till night my hubby come back.

I know why my BB frikle liao, he was feed some "pearl powder" by MIL the day before, can not digest then can not poo until last night. The same night my hubby let MIL fed him the "black stick" MIL got it from China then BB still diarrhea till today. BB so poor thing, mummy so useless :-( Today i told my hubby i m not going to give way to my MIL if she want to feed BB strange things again, dont' know what contains, scare got mercury & harmful metals.

Cheri,
That time when i do massage not so painful, mayb my tolerable level higher gua but you can tell her not too hard. She will collect the money on last day, no deposit or advance payment. On 7th (last day) she wouldn't wrap for you u unless you continue because she will collect the wrap on last day.

mummies...i'm planning to do my own full month gifts to my frens, can share wat i should write on the card? thanks!

Dolly I always got migraine before mense or when I really have not enough rest, this time I think is due to lack of sleep... I take paracetalmo( can't spell) left over during my pregnancy... If you want to take painkiller can only take normal panadol... No extra okie...

Pooh,
No broccoli? Why? I had it a few times already.
Currently I am also breast feeding on demand. Very siong, especially at night, some times I dozed off while breast feeding.

Peace,

Cannot take Broccoli and cabbage when you are breastfeeding cos will cause colic. I read it a few days ago and I juz posted it cos beans was complaining on her baby for having colic.

Icebubbles,

Ignore your MIL lah. I so happy I won't be seeing my MIL for awhile during my confinement. Lalala... but dunno if the CL and my sis will drive me crazy over there or not...

icebubbles,

im kinda on exclusive pumping as bb is refusing my teats....coz i supplement w FM on Nuk teats.

im also thinking of giving up...current ss is about 80ml. also i spend so much time expressing that im losing time w my elder daughter and hubby. not sure whether its a good idea to give up.

Birdy how old is your girl? My son also feel insecure with the new comer 8(

On and off you can try latch BB to see whether she can take it or not... As my son I also pump 1st and later latch him...

yaoyaomum,
aiyo..can ask your MIL stop giving your bb the 'black stick'?? Why dun you bring bb to the PD to consult for the diarrhea? Remember to tell the PD abt the 'black stick' then come home tell MIL PD said cannot eat 'black stick'. Alamak..wat is this black stick thing??

piggymummy, the PD at kidslink is quite nice, think i may do the vaccination there. Each 6-in-1 jab is $144 (if i did not hear wrongly)..

my poor gal is still slightly fussy today, think her tummy still not very comfy. mum and hubby keep telling me to give gripe water, but it says safe from 1 month onwards only leh

hi lynn,

can i know where is kidslink ? cos i think i also want to change PD after my boy has completed his jab as it is always long wait to bring him back to Dr Ong at TMC.

hi lynn,

thanks, i went to their website and saw that they do have a branch in punggol as well... maybe will consider to try there.

Dolly23,

You can try this PD at Hougang.

Saw Baby & Child Clinic

Blk 681 Hougang Ave 8 #01-827 Singapore 530681

Tel : 6386 4538

However, sometimes waiting time can be quite bad. Best if you go early...register name...then go for dinner or take a walk. I can't remember how much is the vaccination thought, but you can try calling.

Will be bringing my daughter for her jab next week.

hi faye,

the 1st jab was taken during the stay in hospital, and 2nd jab is to be taken in the 1st month, and 3rd jab is on the 3rd month.

Hello everyone, yesterday damn tired. Then pumped milk at around 8pm then around 10pm go sleep liao.. and only woke up at 6am to pump milk and my breasts super hard.. Then baby cried for milk so latched him on my right breast and pump left breast. Left breast pump out 250ml then after baby dozed off, pumped my right breast and got about 120ml. Siao man, my left breast always so much more milk than the right one.. Is it normal??

Anyway, my Avent Duo breastpump has arrived at my place. Looks super cool. Think wait for hubby come back and sterilise the parts then try to use it. Hehe.. Hopefully it's good.

Kelcqi, you received your breastpump liao mah? Hmm.. Cannot eat broccoli ar? I didn't know leh but lucky didn't eat alot. Think I better ask my mum don't cook broccoli for me liao.

It's possible to slim down to smaller than before pregnancy lo cos I know a few ppl who actually became smaller than before. I hope I will be one of them. LOL.. But think have to perservere.

Today my massage lady didn't come, she got something cropped up. I weighed myself, lost another 1kg and 2 inches off my tummy. Not bad. Hopefully can lose another 5kg before next Sat.

felval, if you sit or stand too much, down there will feel very pain one. So try to lie down more. I want to lie down more but no chance. Regretted not getting a nanny to take care of my baby. Then can have more rest. Think if got No. 2, must get nanny to take care then hubby n I can rest more. Sigh..

I think Prof Tee looks young leh like 40 only. You know his age ar? Haha... But if I pregnant again will go back to him again lo.

I seldom direct latch unless baby too hungry and no time to warm up milk. Cos pump out milk, his daddy can feed him at night then I can sleep mah. Else if have to latch him on, I have to wake up. I also feel like I got a lot of milk leh. Now my freezer got 12 cups and every cup got at least 140ml of milk. Not enough cups to use. Sometimes have to pump into milk bottle.

I really feel like a cow and my breast is damn big now and I don't like so big. Gosh.. Don't know how leh. Then I want to BF for 1 year means have to have big breasts for 1 year...

icebubbles, don't give up on BFing, my first week also not much milk and had to supplement with FM sometimes. But after that, my milk too much, suddenly get like 80ml to 100ml on the beginning of 2nd week then end of 2nd week got like 120ml, then now like stagnant.. always around 140ml-180ml.. And it's always my left breast got much more milk. I almost wanted to give up on the 1st week but hubby read up and said won't have so much milk in the beginning one. So luckily I persevere and now feel like a cow lo. Hubby said now got too much milk in the freezer. But also thanks to my mum who cooks fish for me every lunch and dinner, she said fish helps. So eat more fish!!

Dolly, I got headache last week twice and I ate paracetamol which is also same as normal Panadol. It's ok to eat it one cos even during pregnancy can eat lo.

Cheri,

No leh. I haven recieve my pump yet. Heng I have no use for that yet. My hubby said might take 10-14 days to reach. Then I told him huh? I thought 6 days can recieve??? Dunno leh. Now juz wait loh.

Wah, Another 1 kg and 2 inches off. Envy envy... I hope I can be smaller than my pregnancy size also leh. But my tummy so big. I dare not hope so high...

Cheri,
No leh. U BF for 1 yr, but wun be big for whole 1 yr one. Think a few mths down the road your breast will become smaller. But heard might sag abit also. Sigh... Some ppl said their breast become smaller than before also...