(2008/05) May 2008

Moony,
My baby also behave weird today, suddenly cry out loud half way sleep also his feeding pattern change liao, didn't follow the usual time of every 2&1/2 hrs 60ml. Drink lesser milk today, keep on crying until stomach got winds & hard lei. i am so worry :-(

Poko,
Oh, pigeon teat no good? I tot of switching to Pigeon bottles cos they have those made of PES material which is BPA free. If you say the teat is no good, then maybe i'll maintain Avent, jus change the bottles more often. Was planning to go Robinsons this Sat to buy Pigeon bottles.

TMC using computer to print out the chinese name.

hi moony,

your baby really drink alot, between 100ml - 120ml .. for my 20th day boy, he is only drinking around 80ml - 90ml, not sure if my boy is drinking abit little or not.

Yaoyao, moony,
could it be your babies need to be burped again? my boy burps ALOT. after a feed if he is left lying down on the bed, he keeps burping up milk even thru the nostril. He will fidget and cry loud before each burp. It can happen like 4-5 times. So I put him in the rocker to keep him slightly raised up for easy digestion.

Finally my milk supply came in.. yesterday after discharge my hubby went to buy the medala dual pump for me to pump lo.. surprisingly i manage to pump ard 15ml total from both side lo.. =)

Today i pump for abt 60ml both side.. use ard 15mins.. so happy.. finally get to see milk n i'm more relief.. think got to thanks my mum for her papaya fish soup. Today drank another big bowl wif lotsa papaya inside.. keke..

Juz wondering if i'm letting baby to latch on, den when shld i pump my milk coz i understand tat u haf to pump on regular timing rite.. let's say i latch bb for abt 15min each side.. den after tat still got to pump? coz baby oso latch for every 3 hours rite.. so i really dunno when to pump n latch leh.. so now i'm juz latching on den only if bb overslept or dun wana latch on den i pump lo.. but like tat not regular leh.. scared the milk supply will decrease..

I'm using nipple shield now to latch on leh.. coz my nipple too short i think den baby dun like if direct latch.. but i really dun feel like depending the shield coz when feeding got to adjust the shiel den baby seems to suck harder to get milk lo den he like very xinku.. haiz..

N hor.. my baby nv poo since yesterday leh. he's drinking BM regularly leh.. pee alot but nv poo.. getting worried.. think got to call TMC tml n ask le..

hi Vel,

by right if the baby is on BM, the baby should poo alot, and it will be abit watery. My boy drinks BM during the day, and on average, he will poo around 2 - 3 times daily, some day, he could poo till 5 times.

hi Tracy,

for my boy, i prefer him to use Pigeon teats instead of Avent, because when using Avent, the milk keeps leaking out from his mouth, whereas for Pigeon, there is no leak at all and easier for him to suck.
i am using Pigeon wide peristaltic teats with Avent bottle, and it fits. Perhaps you can consider.

hi Mummies,

can i check if anyone of you have ever tried Dr Brown Anti-Colic Milk Bottle, i met a lady in Kiddy Palace yesterday and she recommended me to use Dr Brown bottle to prevent colic, i have bought the bottle, but yet to let my boy try, any comments on it ?

moony, your baby is drinking alot of FM. I think he cries cos he has wind in his tummy so he feels uncomfortable so he cannot sleep. Maybe you tried to burp him more. Or feel his tummy see is it very hard?

Yaoyaomum, how do you massage your baby? My baby also alot of wind. So heartache seeing him with a hard tummy with hollow sound. Sigh.. He like in pain.. I thgt that time the massage lady u got help with the massage for baby.. It didn't help ar? I am currently using the same massage lady.

felval, peace, my stitches down there also took about 12 days before I don't need to sit on that ring cushion. Be patient and wait for the sore to be gone! Think just use water to wash that area to prevent infection lo. Don't need to use anything special to wash ba..

Do you all wake baby up to drink milk? Cos my baby always didn't sleep right after milk time and will stay up for 1 to 2 hours then sleep.. Then after that will sleep damn long and pass his milk time. Is it alright?

Dolly is not true that BM bb poo a lot, but BM BB don't need to worry about pooing problem. Some BB can poo every feed initially but after they stablise should be once or twice a day. But there are bb who don't drink a lot but absorb well so they only poo once a week.

Tracy that is my experience on Pigeon teat, so far NUK is good as my friend's son who is using Avent initially having colic and after she change to NUK her son is doing well...

Dolly the Avent teat you use is it for NB? As I remember the teat is hard and very difficult to suckle and Justen is lazy to extract out the milk from there.

Yaoyao and Moony
Can try giving ru yu you to calm them?

Hi Cheri,

U use Halimah is it? Then she got a small bottle massage oil for baby. I use the oil leftover and learn from her how to massage my baby. Just apply a few drop on BB's stomach & back, gently massage by circle the stomach until oil absorb. Then the back massage from top to down the buttock. It does help for baby to pass gas & get the wind out after massage. But i don't know why the wind come back next morning. Halimah told me it's because baby's clothes soak overnight so i told my mum in law not to soak BB clothes overnight in the end i got scolded...sian...

Hi Poko,
I thoght i read from somewhere saying ru yi you is to "spicy" & not suitable for new born?

Avent teat,
My baby also use Avent teat & he can suck quite well. Maybe you can check wether the hole is too small?

Dolly,

I'm using the Dr Brown bottles.. my hubby juz bought yesterday.. the design is very diff form other bottles.. there's a tube inside to sort of prevent baby from taking air in.. it's not too bad lo but my baby still burp after feeding from the bottle.. so i think more or less there's still air la.. it's 12.90 per bottle i think.

Poko,

U mean sum babies dun poo so often if they absorb well?? if tat's the case den i more relief lo. but think still better be safe cal TMC n ask coz my mum told me last time my nephew on BM but he poo alot.. n after he came back from hospital he still pooing those black poos..

Tracy,
My baby cry today really no reason lei, not because of burping because each he cry i carry him to try burp 1st, not stop crying then i try feed him some water, stilll can not & try to let him suck BM also no use until i pat him to make him comfortable in my arms.

Sigh... regret to ask my MIL help my confinement lei, initially ok then now got problem liao. Day 3 my baby born, discharge from hospital she fed him "xia ku chao", then BB a bit diarrhoe i told my hubby to tell her stop. She then keep the unfinish xia ku chao in fridge for 10 days till today, re-heat & want to feed him again lei. I stop her then she complain a lot to my hubby, said i don't appreciate lah, & also she bring some "black stick" kind of "定惊" fed my baby. Now she keep on saying i stop her feed my baby with that "black stick" that's y my BB keep crying unknown.

hi Poko,

i read somewhere regarding BB who drinks BM can poo poo alot of times, but cannot remember from which link. Yes, the Avent teat that i have bought is for 0 - 3 months, quite hard for my boy to suck.

BTW, can NUK teat fits into Avent bottles ?

hi Vel,

yes, that is the one that i bought as well, there is a small tube inside, so if it is good, then maybe i will let my boy to try... i bought at $15.90 from kiddy palace, expensive hor, just hope that it will help to reduce less air to his tummy.

I also got a few questions to ask regarding BM,

1) Same as Vel, if baby latch on to drink bm then when should i pump my milk? Right now during day time i let my boy latch on 3 hourly, only latch on, not pumping during the day. Then during the night i will bottle feed him with ebm and during one of the night feed i will give him FM. I pump during the night 3 hourly.

2) These 2 days i realised i can pump a lot of milk out from the first breast i pump then the next breast i pump very little milk. Overall i am able to express 100ml to 150ml. Is it normal that first breast i pump a lot of milk comes yet the next one will be very little milk?

3) How long can bm last if put in refrigerator? Initially i tot is 8 days then today i tried new milk bag and saw they indicated 3 days, so how long can we store a bm in the fridge?

4) If put bm in freezer, normal how long you will keep? I know we are able to keep bm up to 3 months in freezer but do you normally keep that long?

just ask you all whether you facing the problem with confinement lady. cos now my mother also came to stay with us, then both of them got conflicting ideas. my mother is supportive of latching on. so she will try to help me with latch on. and she said wait for baby to cry louder then latch and will get a higher chance of success. yet the confinement lady stick to 3 hourly feed. so she will heat up the EBM and just take the baby from the cot and start feeding automatically. sometimes i feel i am robbed the chance of carrying and feeding my baby. sigh.....

Dolly, tried tat method. he will jsut start kicking his leg and show his frustration. end up giving up latching on.

Tracy, ya, suspect tat the poor milk intake is due to jaundice. so hubby oredi draw out a chart to monitor his milk intake, if too little, think will bring him to PD again.

Jer
You give BB FM is you want him to accept it or you have not enough BM to give? If not enough you can pump out the balance when you not so tired after you latch, I do that to catch up my supply for nite feed

I am using dual pump so the level I am getting is quite balance...

I only keep BM in chiller for 48hrs. In Freezer if only for BM is 3mths if with other food I isolate it with another box for 2mths...

Dolly
If you go to PD and you ask her on BB poo poo problem if she know you BF she normally will ask you not to worry. Initially they poo many time, now my girl poo a lot but about 2 to 3 time daily. My SIL son drink very little and he can didn't poo for a wk according to PD he absorb into his body. But BB need to pee daily that is very important.

Yaoyaomum
Your MIL just taking care of you during Confinement? Got to get your hb to tell her we DIL very difficult to say thing if she take it too hard.

BB poo should change to yellowish, my girl one change on her 6th day... If is black need to call PD and tell her.

gals, mm.. but dis 2 days.. he has been drinkin liked only 50ml every time.. but cries for milk again in less den 3hrs.. haiz.. i oso dunno y.. once he drink half way.. dun means dun wan de.. force him oso no use.. i so worried..
ya.. a couple of times he cried bcos he still needs to get burped.. but today dunno y he slps half way den cry loudly.. haiz..

n at the same time.. i gt no mood to eat.. dunno y.. whenever its meal time i dun feel like eating.. -_-" dunno wats wrong..
n i dunno hw to get my boy to noe dat nite time = slp time.. haiz..

Hi yanling,

I face the same problem like you but different people, My MIL now compalin i let my BB latch that's why can not timed the feeding & my BB get use to suck nipples rather than teats that's why difficult for her to feed using bottle. I think the conflict is the idea of getting things done in schedule time or adhoc basis. i'd still prefer latching because it makes me closer to BB & i believe this is best way to build the relationship with your new born.

Felval,

I have faith in hubby as of now lah. I don't dare to name the future, cos who knows rite? Who knows what happens yrs down the road. My FIL been supportive of my Uncle in Law getting a divorce cos UIL always come to our house and vent his frustrations. Over the yrs he nv listen to my FIL but until one fine day he met that Chee-Na woman, then he just went ahead with the affair with my FIL's support. FIL even step by step teach him what to do to ensure the baby come out, and even guide him how to force his current wife to accept the baby. So you roughly get the picture now? That's why to certain extend I feel that my FIL is not a gd example and I hate him. Becos hubby grew up always listening to his parents quarrel and they always carry the Divorce word in the mouth, Slamming door, throwing things, shouting, using weapons like knives, MIL threatening suicide etc. (Scary childhood rite? I also pitied hubby having to witness all these stuff as a child last time.) So last time when hubby and I quarrel, he also carry that word in his mouth. Until we see the counselor at KKH, then she ticked him off telling him that his parents are very bad examples of parents. He should not be following their footsteps, so nowadays if we quarrel, he diam diam I diam diam and give each other black face loh. I do hope his change is permanent, not that we seeing the counselor then now like that and eventually go back to his stupid parents example.

My PILs nv say anything leh. I come out to eat, I juz sat there eat my food, then go back to my room liao. The Chee-Na woman tok to me, I juz smile and nv answer. My PILs dun dare to make comments on me like tt, cos when they come over, Hubby will also close his room door and stay indoor. His uncle wants favor from him will knock on the door. (He better manners than my MIL hor?) So if my PILs makes noise, I have Hubby to back me up. Haha...

Now 1.28am liao. So your PILs got turn up just now? Congrates if they nv did. Hehe...

I told my mum abt your case. My parents belongs to the understanding and peace-making type. She also said if next time my PILs like that, I go out and get the nurse will be very rude. My mum said even go against, must do it the smart way. Haha... But she told me if I really want the nurse to chase them, just go and inform them early to come in and check on me after visiting hrs, request them to ask the guest to leave cos you are tired. Hospital will gladly do so. So you may wanna try this method. Hehe... So no one plays the bad guy except the nurses, but the nurses only doing their duties, can't say they are wrong... So even they complain the nurses, complain will be invalid also. Hehe... My mum's idea smart hor?

My mum confirmed your mum's theory.
No crying, no reading, no computer(WTH!!!), not too much TV if not next time very easy to get Lao Hua Yan. No crying, I dunno if I can do it. No Reading, still acceptable. No Computer???? I can die since no hubby ard to entertain me. And just facing my baby and the CL whole day long can kill me loh! No TV, still ok lah, since my parents house no SCV also... But I am likely to break this rule loh. LOL...

I tell you hor, since my MIL made that comment to hubby on the Bird Nest issue. I stopped calling her also. Only if hubby and I come home and she's ard, I greet her only. That's it. Else I stop calling my PILs liao. Call them so much also no use. Not like they really treat me as their own daughter. Save my saliva better. Keke... Don't care if they say I rude or what now. Who can they complain to that'll affect me except hubby? And if Hubby said I rude, then I'll have tonnes of things to compare who is more rude. His parents or me? I confirm no fight for them if wanna compare rudeness. I can even take a recorder and record down their behaviour every nite they come home. All the noise level is enough liao... Can pass to police for evidence as disturbing neighbours liao loh. Haha...

Keke... WE two very bad hor? My mum just said me. They even don't like ppl they also not as calculative as me. They wonder how come I turned out like that when they themselves are not like that. I happily tell them, cos u too nice liao mah, also kanna "eaten" by others. So I nice enough can liao, but anyone step on my toes, that's it. My parents can only shake their head. Haha...

Moony,

2 possibilities for baby crying in sleep.
1. Wind in the tummy. Like what they said, tap on your baby's tummy. If there's a hollow sound, it's colic.
2. Nightmares. Baby as young as 3 days old are capable of having dreams. It has been proven by research. So all you need to do is swaddle him and hold him closly to your heart area. Cos your baby might feel insecure. So talking to him, holding him near your heart area will bring security to him as he is used to the sound of your heartbeat inside your tummy. Hope it helps...

Nowadays I feel more and more out of place here liao. Seems like whatever you ladies are experiencing, I seem so alien to that. Maybe later... But really learn alot from all of the experiences you all are sharing. Very informative. .. When I pop, I face problems, hope will be able to get help from all of you ladies...

Felval,

I also thought of bringing home the placenta. But not for consumption but to make it into facial cream only. I know it's very rich in nutrients but I also know it's used to process waste of baby. So the thought of eating it is out. Only for facial cream. I remember chancing upon one thread on eating placenta also. They said need to bake it in the oven...

do u all hv any recipes to increase bm supply?
my boy is drinking more n more le, 75ml this morning on his 7th day
i think i dun hv enuff for him liao

moony,

my little one was very cranky early morning. I am so tired now. Hubby was so fed up of me. I also angry with him. Haiz.

Kelcqi,
Dun worry. I also feel abit alien cos me not breast feeding. heehee. But then it's very informatic reading all the updates here. That I can bring the knowledge to other forums or friends. =)

RE: DBS Credit card
Receive an ad in my email. Now the credit card gives 10% discount at Mt A.

yaoyaomum,
i think your boy crying cos uncomfy due to wind. Most likely lah. Unless its erm..something weird your MIL fed him. Last time my MIL insist to feed my #1 some chinese powder to calm her down but i refused. One day, hb went to feed her with the powder and she merlion all her milk out! I told him off and warn him never to give again and to tell his mum not to.

I make it known to my MIL when I dun agree with her ways of handling baby. But dun follow me lah, I can be quite extreme. Like last time my MIL wanna put my gal in rocker whole day, I got fed up i took the rocker home (tho it's not mine :p) and kept it in my store room. Then she wanted to let my gal use walker and i went to internet search for local article and print out show her walkers are dangerous. :p

Jer,
1) I not expert at latching so if i do latch my bb, my usual pumping schedule goes haywire also. But i think after latching u still feel full, can immed express out to store.

2) I'm using dual pump also. The difference is not very great. plus minus 20ml between both breasts.

3) In our humid weather, the recommended storage of BM is 48hours in fridge and 2months in freezer with other food. Can keep in freezer for 3months if yours is exclusively for milk only. As always, the rule is to smell the milk after you warm up if you worry it has turn bad.

yanling,
for me, if i wanna latch my bb, I will tell my confinement lady before his next feed. And when it's time, she will call me to feed him. Have you tried telling your CL before the next feed that you planning to latch on? If you have, your CL should listen to you and not warm up EBM.

baby is fussing this morning since 7 plus. feed her three times since 7am and had to squeeze in a pumping session. she fusses and refuses to fall asleep or when i walk away to do my chores she'll wake up and cry.. so drained even though it's still early in the day!

Tracy, Poko
Thanks for your replied, aiyo, bf really need to know a lot of stuffs. For my elder boy due to him having tongue tie, he cant latch on well so he only drink ebm for 4 months then is fully fm for him but for my youngest boy, he latch on very well so is like learning whole new stuffs on bf.

Jer just for your info I have friend who Direct TBF during her ML and when she try to express she can't get enough for her girl. So is good to express to get the simulation. As BB latch well don't mean you can get the same amt from express. So I do both to ensure I will have enough BM when I go back to work.

Tracy and Cheri,

Thanks for sharing. I am still carrying the ring cushion around the house, coz' I cannot sit without it. Especially when I have not pass motion, I felt that area is being stretched, only after I pooed, then I felt eased there.
I usually washed with clean water after peeing, is it necessary put some powder to dry that area ? Hope it will recover quickly.

peace,
my gynae nv give me anything to apply wo but he recommend me to get some bottom spray, he says optional nt neccessary...
me today 7th day and also still feeling sore...then think i get up n down too much now feeling a bit suan....like do too much exercise tt type of feeling...

cherimoya,
how do u know when it has healed? since day3 i nv sit on air ring liao wo.i duno if dun sit makes the stitches harder to recover? ya. i only use water to wash. hehehe..scare of pain liao where gt dare to use anything else. hehehe.
tell u ho, prof Tee v hardwking...everyday come see me before 7am, sometimes 8am...

kelcqi,
lucky they nv come...phew*...if they come so late again i sure go k my hubby...lol. but then SIL's friend who is working in KK came...=_=''' not as if i know her v well.
she was touching my baby from the moment she stepped in till i asked her "so late u still dun wanan go home? waiting for someone to fetch u?" then shortly she leave but nvm la, she came during visiting hr so i am fine and she doesnt make as much noise as PILs and SIL. =)

lol. i think our own mums know us best and yet can handle situation well

nurse was encouraging me to direct feed baby rather than pump out then feed coz waste ebm if cup feed...bottle feed i try to avoid unless reall no choice lo...then end up my baby cried every 1.5hr to 2hr...think he gets hungry more easier n v hard to monitor the amt he drink le..

no crying..hmmm rule 1 broken, no reading, rule 2 broken coz here got newspaper. no computer, rule 3 broken coz the day aft i deliver i online liao. nt too much tv, rule 4 also broken liao la. seems like i broke all confinement rules.hehe, including no bathing, no cold drinks =P

hahaha. i think we are tt type ho, once bias always v bias one. then also character is dun give face v direct ppl. hhehe. ya! tht is wat my parents n hubby say abt me too..hubby says my parents so nice n understanding duno y end up with a daughter so stuborn, direct n like to argue back.lol...then i also say them that they are too nice so alwasys kena "eat" by ppl =)
ur pattern n me same same la.hehe.

dun feel so of place la, ur turn will come soon...=) countdown 10days to ur edd!

re:placenta
oh..so we have to do ourselves? cant get ppl to do for us?

tracy,
i think u did a gd job in telling ur MIL on things u dun agree on lo. heheeee..to others may seem like u are rude but i think u are the mother of ur baby so u have the wrong to voice out ur thots =) nt all the things elders do are 100% correct anyway. =)

Icebaby,

Ask you hor, throughout your all 3 kids, you all nv BF or only for this one?

Heh, so envious, your confinement almost over liao. I keep thinking if I should buy some chocolates to stock up at my mum's place. But I scare by the time my confinement comes, my sis finish off my chocolates liao. That's why still hesitating. LOL...

Tracy,

I like the way you handle your MIL leh. Really hope to be like you. My gf feels that my MIL this kinda person needs someone who is fierce to deal with her. She knows hubby don't like me being rude, that's why she pushing her luck on me. One day one day... She'll get it... Hopefully is my BIL who brings home a fierce fierce wife. Keke...

today my baby is 7days old and its D-Day (Decision Day)...whether baby can go hm today or nt depends on today's jaundice level....

THANK GOD!!!! my baby finally can go home (and so can I)!!!!!!!!! YIPPIE!!! hehe...but need to come back on fri n next mon to chk his jaundice level...this is the hosp protocol for G6PD baby but i am happy enuff...hehe...finally can bring baby home with us =)

Felval,

Congrates! Hehe... Told you Baby Damien will be ok. Cos he have a strong mummy. Enjoy homecoming with your little one! :p

peace,felval,
my gynae gave me a spray and aloe vera gel to apply at my wound. my other friends ask hubby go pharmacy buy saline spray which will help in healing the wound.

felval, kelcqi,
my MIL knows her darling son stands by me so she got no choice but to listen to us. And thankfully my hubby knows that my demands are with reason. I do not demand things to be done just to provoke MIL, I got factual back up one hor. hehe..

my younger SIL poor thing lor, stay with her and her hubby is mummy's boy some more.

felval,
congratz you and baby can discharge liao!

BTW, my confinement aunty jus shared with me that everytime after I latch my boy, the next bottle feed he will tend to suck slower. Cos Avent teat is harder than the nipple.

kelcqi,
hehe. thanks~ me so so so happy lo =)dare nt imagine if he even fails 1 of the jaundice test over the past 7days he will nd to stay a total of 14days...

Thank God for answering the prayer and thank u and everyone who included baby Damien in the prayers =)

wah winnedy, u really brought the placenta home! what u plan to do with it..
i'm always curious with how it would be consumed!

let me know how it tastes like when u have tried??

lynn,

where u put ur bb at day time, bb cot or playpen, coz currently i put him to those rocker, bt i fd that that is too small for him..

btw, which PD will u go for sec appt?

Tracy,

Your hubby so good. Hubby knows I'm trained in childcare but he very old wood. He said some traditions should remain eg caning... I wanna murder him for that...

Felval,

No worries, my pleasure! Go home liao u continue to sun your baby ok? Wet cotton and put on his eyes, then undress him to diaper and sun him during morning and evening to prevent the jaundice from going up ya...

Panpan,

No one consume placenta like tt one lah. Usually they bake it and bring to those chinese medical shop to grind it to powder. Then some add a teaspoon to their milo each morning while some made into capsules to pop it.

But the thought of eating I dare not think. So I only thought of making it into facial cream for hydration purpose...

Panpan,
i tot of using it to put in the capsules...

hehe..

my hubby actually rush home to store the placenta in the middle of the nite... cos mt e got no fridge to store such "things"...

kelcqi
yah.. the thought of it.. i also dont dare lei... even into capsules form
hee...

winnedy i see
now u have the receipes le.. haha from the receipes it says better to dehydrate it while it's still fresh

in capsule form not so erxin la..