(2008/05) May 2008

poky,...me also experience constipation now and then...so hor..religiously makan fruits lor.. dun like to eat also force myself to eat... si bei pai miaaa!

piggy_mummy...try to walk about more lor... me now walkign lesser..coz i find that there is a weight weighning down... cant walk too far or too fast... hahaa...

BH not fun leh...so the tong ku one.. i telling the bb.. if wan to come out come out...or give me a clear signal... i duno how to differentiate between real labour or false one yet leh..

cham!

Feval... COACH BAG!! hehee... i wonder when i will have a chance to own one... hehee

dun scare me leh... i also mc on last fri and this monday...my HR bo say anything leh... but mine was not pregnancy related sick mah.. mine is normal flu...

hmmm..let me go find out

The below is what i found:

Think during ML u cant take sick leave lar

Sick Leave Entitlement during Maternity Leave

The female employee is not entitled to paid sick leave wile on maternity leave.

The female employee is not eligible to claim for medical expenses incurred in connection with the delivery of her child unless it is provided in the employment contract.

icebaby,

inititally we loan for 8years so the interest amt add up is like 10K+ ...we dun wan the board to earn extra of our hard earn cpf so that is why we wanna clear the loan by next yr...and since we can achieve it, why nt? the interest amt instead of give to the board we can use it for investment and make more $$ mah. so in a way, we are making $$ for our retirement also. =P

jen,

can stay 2d1n but provide gynae allow right? ya, i know can refund but the nurse was telling me its like $350 per day only wo. did the nurse tell u hw much is the refund?

oh ya! i forgot to ask abt the hosp gown coz was too engross in the factor tt my baby has engaged. ok, i will take down n ask the nurse on my next visit which is 2 weeks dwn the road. heheh. thanks for reminding me! =P

but i read tt 2nd preg some baby dun engage so fast one right? so wait till the day of delivery itself then engage wo, correct? so u dun worry too much la. hehhee. scally b4 u know it, next visit ur gynae told u ur baby engaged le =)

hehehe. me nv opt for installment coz hubby has the amt ready so since he got the sum ready then just pay in full lo...better lo..scally his mum/sis borrow $$ from him he lend to her....i rather he pay in full then lend the $$ to his mum/sis for heaven knows wat..i v selfish ho? hehehe

icebaby:
Ya lo.. i tink oly my gynae so particular abt issueing MC... but nvm la.. i still gt 6 working dae then i can laze at home liao...
I hope i won't get those cramps tonite so tat i can slep soundly... these few nite keep wakin up becos of thoes irregular cramps.. so annoying...
felval:
I don mind visiting my gynae if there scanning.... but my gynae don scan on every visit... so it like really boring if he only asked thoes qns.. "got poo..? what color? haiz.. so boring.. and per visit is like at least $50... i calculated since preggie till now i spent amost 1.5k at his clinic liao... so minius of the $450 claim still spent around 1k at least...

WCT,

Technically, the amount of interest you pay is only 0.1% (2.6% HDB loan - 2.5% interest from HDB). i.e. although the interest that you had calculated as payment for HDB loan total is $10k, but actually the amount you pay is much lesser. I would rather keep the "extra" and invest immediately. =)

Actually in the begining I tot of clearing my HDB loan too but after thinking for sometime and making the calculations, I realise..I might as well use the extra and invest now and make the $$. The amount made will be higher (or lower - if risky) than the interest made.

Abit complicating. But at the moment, I hadn't invest because my hubby and I just received our monies back from Aviva (previously their interest rate was 3.5% which is higher than HDB loan rate of 2.6%). Still looking around but this yr is a pretty "scary" yr.

For me, previously I moved all my funds to Aviva e-Big where interest is at 3.5% compared to the 2.6% interest that I paid. Also ultimately, the amount of money that you

Din get to slp well last nite lo.. wake up 3 times to go to pee.. my doggy oso lazy to follow me liao.. haha continue sleeping.. my hubby no need to say slp like a dead log.. haha. feeling so sleepy now.

My fren juz gave birth recently.. she was telling me how her baby keep crying at nite.. she cannot handle.. when her baby cry she oso cry.. so poor thing leh.. dunno how to help her too. she say she cannot take it liao.. so scary hor.. she lost 10kg juz 1 week after giving birth leh.. so good rite. think she will be able to lose them all by 3 mths lo.. or even slimmer i guess coz due to the stress n sleepless nite.

2 weeks later i'm gg for cervix check n GB test.. hopefully i'm already 1cm dilated coz can't wait to see baby soon.. =)

aiyo...dun complain abt gynae dun give u all MC leh... mine hor...always say my symptoms are so MILD... if jialat then give me some prescription..

tink she see me dark dark like very sporty type... tink i very healthy..whenever i complain backache etc...she just say there are pple who get it worst... LOL

wah, my gynea different, instead, she always ask if i need mc when i see her...but i usually take time off only

choc,

coz coach bag in states is way cheaper than in sg mah. and he is away during my last trimester so must compensate me la! hahaha. kidding, i told my hubby if nice and worth then buy, if he dun see anything nice dun buy but must buy clothes for baby. hehhee.

jovial,

ah! i thot there will be scans at every visit one...at least mine have la so i look fwd to it...

moony,choc & icebaby.
I also dunno got such policy but thanks to choc to explain say is oni during ML cannot take MC lar. not be4 ML lar. haha.

felval,
the HDB u took resale mah hor. check with u ar. resale flat HDB dun grant us 100% loan mah rite? the $40k grant they actually want us to pay in cash one rite? oni new hse then is 100% HDB loan leh. U get what i mean?

Can go back. that time my 1st child labour @ KKH i stayed in B2+ lar. maybe subsidised one lar nid to reserved more bed for subsidised patient lar (this is what i think lar). I reach my ward @ abt 8pm then had my 1st meal for the day. of cos by MN i can get dwn the bed to go toilet to pee lar. nxt day be4 1pm the nurse say I can discharge after the anethestic doc checked on me saying i shld be fine.. then duty doc checked my stitches also ok. But i say i want to stay 1 more day. haha.
The staff never told me the rate for refund 1 day is hw much. they will calculate & refund me accordingly maybe u opt for A1 ward so ur daily ward fee is abt $350 lor.

I very worried abt my bb leh. this preg did alot of against taboo thing leh. pple say cannot move bed or what in MBR lar. i din move but i helped hb fixed bb playpen. then yday install aircon mah.. then tues nite i go move my bb yaolan from MBR to living room.. all are "ji lie" things to do leh. imagine yaolan so heavy leh then i can push it out leh.
then yday aircon men came install. got drilling i also stayed at home..

then the nite be4 doc say my bb not engaged then at nite i can feel bb buttock on my lower tummy can got hump one mah. haha the backside shape. 2 humpy feel. haha. I scare my bb is still in breech position leh. then i hv to csec.. very pain & very exp bill leh.

Yueling,
aiya u missed the TAKA bb fair promotion for the pigeon steriliser liao lar. cos during the fair they are giving out New Born starter kit which include 3 milk btl, 1 brush, 1 milk powder container something lidat.

icebaby,
me also no idea of wat to do to bring down the level. the nurse says that in the first withdrawal of bloof after fasting was alrdy high. =(

Jen,
my gynea from Thomson. they wants me to go down these few, latest by mon, to get the machine to measure. will tell me wat to do for diet. but currently hubby not in sg, not able to ferry me.. walkin now is quite painful. so i avoid if possible. also the reason y i ask gynea for mc til nxt apt. previously, during my 1 n 2nd tri, not much appetite due to the "all day sickness", so eat really v light n soup-based or bread mainly. cant tahan rice. think bb start to show to b on heavy side in only the last two visit. tot was the durian, so didnt eat at all le. but bb still growin too big. tat y did the glucose test. i sent u a email le. =)

choc,
read from another thread that GD patients not supposed to take much fruits.. cos fruits hv "hidden sugar", so if i cant take fruits,... my constipation goin to get even worse liao. =(

icebaby,

u paying hard cash mah i use cpf to pay so i udn mind clearing faster. hehehe, anyway, now my cpf also no $$ coz i dump all into investment to make more $$ for me prior to the ruling for 1st Apr. =P

anyway, dun wan to own them any $$, faster clear the loan can say the flat is ours officially. wan rent wan sell also can =P

WCT,

I not using cash. I using CPF to pay.

E.g. If I have $100k in CPF (example only hor) and use it to pay for HDB loan. My loan from HDB is lower, and I pay lower interest.
But what if I had used the $100k to invest and get a 3%-5% returns. Overall, it's still more worthwhile to keep that excess and invest rather than pay HDB first. >_<

It's okay. Really depend on person to person.

piggy mummy,
no lar. my doc say is alrite. normal wt. I somemore GD patient. he say unless my aldy more than 3+kg he will ask me control diet liao. he say as long as my bb this stage abv 2.3kg the wt is all ok.

I like bigger baby. I dun wish to deliver a bb less than 3kg lor. haha. my 1st bb this stage aldy 3kg lor. so when birth came out was 3.26kg lor.

poky,
ok let me check my mailbox.

Can take fruits but limit to oni 1 slice after each meal. Not not advisable will be fruit juice cos 1 cup of fruit juice is letting u eating as many as 4-5slice of that fruits. or maybe sometime drink fruit juice we will tend to mix fruits which is worst lor. for GD patient is NO NO lor.

jen,

ya, i took resales flat. no la. the 40k grant will be split 20k 20k and deposit into the couple cpf acc. this amt + the original amt in individual cpf will then be combined and deduced for the sales of the hse...bal is the amt u loan frm them lo..but if i dun rem wrongly, for resales flat within 5yrs can sell ah...can rent but nt sell..if sell need to return the 40k (in hard cash or wat i dun rem le).

icebaby,

oops. sorry. i thot u use hard cash. for hubby n myself we just wanna clear fast lo..somemore we are using the excess left in the cpf to make investment. and with the investment amt earned and our monthly cpf contribution, we no prob and even if one of us lose the job also no worries so we just thot 50k only mah, if can why nt clear asap =P

Felval,

Me also. Last time before preggie, hubby will control my diet, say later I get fat. No fast food, no junk food etc. Now I always say I hungry, don't eat later baby hungry, n I get gastrics also. LOL... So I now feast to what I crave for. Too bad left ard 1 mth...

Talking abt ferrying in laws. Just ferried my in laws to Chinatown n somemore wasted trip cos the shop they wanna go not open. This is what happens when they know hubby paid for full installments and why I refused to help him with the car installments. -_-"

Felval, if I'm not wrong, when u take the 40k grant from Government, when you wanna sell this flat, you'll have to pay back HDB plus interest one wor. So if can, don't sell this house, rent it out to collect monthly installments better, can have more money on hand.

My PILs also very KPO one. Think next time if they wanna have a say in my house also difficult. Cos I told hubby if I go back to work force, have CPF, just use my CPF to pay for the house. In that way, I have more say in the house. LOL...

Haiz, just now my MIL told me to stop at this baby again. But I said see how loh. She kept saying look after children very xinku, tell me to stop so I can rest. Very xinku why she still fight to look after my gal???

Then asked me what is the market rate for babysitters nowadays. I purposely lowered the price say 500. Haha... Then ask me usually what are the roles of babysitter, I also add in Alot of extra duties like gotta bring the bb to doc if bb sick etc. Keke, I so evil!

Choc,

Your gynae very bad leh. My gynae very nice one. He'll always ask me, you want MC? You want me to write a letter to your boss and ask him to let you Bed Rest or work from home?

That's why I love him so much. He also tell my hubby to spare me from all housework, no heavy stuff etc. Best of all, I asked him what cannot eat, he said EVERYTHING CAN EAT, just eat in moderation. LOL.

kelcqi,

same! now i dun feel like eating hubby will nag and tell baby i dun love him anymore coz i starve him. hehehe. so now i can eat anything i wan (in moderation) and he wldnt stop me. whahahaa.

then i heng, coz installment i split with hubby (but car under his name la) then in laws will think twice abt asking him to fetch them ard coz they know i sure dun like =P

ya. if i dun rem wrongly also think need to repay the 40k grant one but forgot in hard cash or using cpf...nvm, we stay in there for like 1 yr only and its nicely renovated, if sell now abit bo hua, unless we can earn back the reno costs (46k and unlikely) and can afford to give gov back 40K (so total must be 86k)...i must be daydreaming. hahaha. so no plan to sell now yet and baby on the way...so if really wan also will rent out only ba.

lolz! ur notti!!! anyway, ur MIL duno wat babysitter must do one then she still offer to help look aft ah?

WCT,

Ya. If u take govt loan, when sell, have to repay back.

Kelcqi,

For me, currently our flat is being let out (but very cheaply because it's to a relative..but safer lah). The flat loan is current serviced by my CPF only. Hubby was out of job during that time so didn't put his name in servicing the CPF. Now too lazy to go HDB or town council to change.

WCT,

Agreed to ur point. For me, I set aside my money before I collected my keys, so our funds was not swiped. Hence the amt is put aside in case one of us lose our job. (I am worried abt this round's down turn. For me to get a job, I ain't got much issue...but for my hubby to find a job...headache)
If really want to clear the loan, also can clear within 5 yrs but pointless to us..esp we thinking of getting a pte property in future. =)

As for payment back to govt.
E.g.
Flat sold - $300k
Flat bought - $200k
Interest (HDB)- $20k
Grant from govt - $40k

Basically whatever you took from govt and cpf, everything MUST be returned. So in this case, if the total you took (loan + grant) is $280k but you sold flat for $300k. The difference in cash, you get to keep.

However, if u sold the flat at $250k, you will need to top up the $30k.

**Also need to highlight that in case if you wish to get another subsidised flat (new - 2nd timer) from HDB, you will have to pay a levy (depends on the type of flat you were staying before).

Hope u understand. (But then again, rules can always change later).

My gynae has given me the steroid kind of moisturizing cream to apply for the stretch marks &amp; rashes. But no use. I even tried applying calamine lotion (w/o menthol) as recommended by gynae, oso no use. The rash is on my entire tummy in the night. It's very obvious on the sides.

Kelcqi,
whoa, ur gynae so good, mine dun give MC one. I think ur MIL is scared that ppl'll talk bad abt her for not looking after own grandchild. That's why she die die oso want to look after ur baby.

Jen,
I dun see such rule on MOM website. We only cannot use ML to serve notice, same apply to the company.

Felval,

My MIL dunno cos she keep thinking very easy job as her twin sister also babysitting the grandson. But the daughter will bring her own kid to the doc since she's a nurse. And furthermore she stay same blk as her, so anything just throw back to the baby's mum. Now got second one got even 1 maid to help out. But I not tat nice to hire for her loh...

So I purposely say until very terok job so she will think twice. She keep saying 500 is for half day, but I said usually own relatives will charge cheaper, 500 is Market Rate through Agent. :p

I super buay song she always telling me to stop at this. Hmph...

The car also under hubby's name. Last time hubby said ask me to help out with installments. I refused cos I know he always ferried his friend and my PILs. Even I help out, he'll still ferry them, so I choose not to help out. Haha. Not I heartless, just that I not willing to spend those money since last time hubby and I quarrel so much becos of that friend, and that friend nv help us to patch things up one, instead he can even offer hubby to go his place to stay for the nite to get away.

icebaby,

wah! u v detailed le. still can rem so well. hehhee. i think my flat sure can sell higher than wat i buy...i got it at 172k and i stayed at 12th flr...recently, a unit on the 4th flr with minimum reno was sold at 200K + hard cash 25k so we are sure we can sell higher la..but whether worth it to sell or nt is another thing and 2yrs dwn the rd if it can fetch the same price or higher is another thing.

so..assuming i sell for 200k, my loan is 50K + grant is 40K i will get 110k? *evil grinz*

felval,
i thot if we take resale flat we oni can use 90% of our CPF? the rest is to pay cash leh, my boss actually wanted to shorten the period to repay the loan but the customer service staff told him if u finish pay early means u hv to fork out cash $ to pay for the last portion ( i dunno what portion) lor.

Kelcqi,
u are rite leh. current nanny rate is $500 lidat leh.
then realli if bb sick of cos the nanny shld bring bb to see doc lar. else wait for parents to knock off then too late liao lor. bb will be crying until no noise liao lor.

Jovial,
my hb is an idiot. he dun let me go back my mom hse to do confinement. so i will doing confinement at own home &amp; mom come stay with me.

piggy mummy,
thanks for ur comforting words. haha. I am working hard nw to drink more milk also lor.

WCT,

Nope u do not take $110k.

Cos you MUST return the amt that you took from ur CPF.

So the $200k, how much did you use to pay CPF? E.g. So out of the $172k (cost that you bought) if you use only $50k + grant $40k + the rest was using cash to pay, then yes, you get back $110k.

Sorry lah, abit detail cos I was the one at home that did the calculation for flat last time mah. So I remember these things (plus I work with numbers everyday). LOL

jen,

i duno le..all i rem was we put $500 deposit when we sign the OTP form..then 1st appointment we paid another $500...that is all the hard cash we came out wo...

icebaby,

oh..assuming we let them swipe out 80k frm cpf so 110k-80k la? so balance is 30k, does it wk like tt?

are u an accountant? hehehe

Icebaby,

Should get your hubby's name in to pay for the flat actually. To play safe. My boss told me his female friend when she divorce, the profit of the house half half wor, although she was the only one servicing the house with her CPF.

I don't mean to say you and hubby will divorce lah. But if you service the house alone, make sure u take back the rental for yourself. Not very fair on you to be servicing the house alone and the rental is half half or goes to the kids.

I don't know how to say lah. I see the way my MIL behave, I always feel that men should be contributing more to the household than woman. My dad also tell me, when men wants to marry a woman, make sure he can support that woman and family.

My hubby and my deal is if I service the house with CPF, other stuff like baby, household bills, car installments and everything he pay, + He have to drive me to work every day. I wanna make sure he is contributing more to our family than I half half with him and he have so much extra to support his parents spending...

Gina,

Yaloh, I also feel that my Gynae very good. He very supportive of preggies one. I even read from the forum under the thread abt him, when those hubbies don't help out or not supportive enough when the wife is pregnant, he'll scold the hubby one. Haha...

You want, next time I can recommend you to him. Can see him for pap smear or even your next pregnancy.

Haha, I think my gynae should pay me commission for putting good words abt him. LOL...

Gina, my MIL wanted to take care I think the reason is she scared hubby will come back lesser and also she cannot always ask hubby to buy her things or give her more money. Not that she worried abt face or she really cares abt baby. Afterall, they wanted hubby to abort her in the first place. I'll nv forget that. So they don't come and tell me how much they love their grandchildren next time, cos it'll all sound like bullsh*tting to me.

gals.. sorry ah.. do u all noe hw to c whether the unit got afternoon sun anot.. or facing sun set anot.. is facing which direction den no sun set ar??

kelcqi,

i have the same mindset as u...i feel guys sld always contribute more as compared to the wife even if the wife can afford to split 50-50...

but for icebaby, think coz her job more stable than her hubby ah that is why she service herself ah...

better than if split 50-50 then if her hubby out of job then v mafan..

Jen,

I know of some nannies do not take care of the baby if the baby is sick. But I told my MIL even if baby sick, still need to take care. I made that statement clear to hubby also.

I told hubby no pt I put baby under his mum care and I have to take leave next time to care for baby if baby sick. Like that I might as well not work and stay home to look after baby better.

I told him liao. I want baby under good care so that we can work in peace next time. If the caregiver cannot let us work in peace, leave baby with the caregiver for what? Might as well put in infant care better??

moony,

aftnn sun is "xi zhao" if nt wrong is west ah..so if ur windows facing west then will kena...duno if i get the direction correctly nt la. hehehe

Moony,

Sun set is at the West.

Felval,

Hehe, ^5. My dad set the example of a household man so I kinda expected it from my hubby also.

Felval, but I think if icebaby is the one servicing the flat. At the very least the rental should goes to her pocket than sharing with her hubby. At least that is more fair to her...

Jen;
my hubby said i'll make everyone ma fan if I stay at my own house since i didn't engage CL...so if i stay at my ma's house, will be easlier on her as she nt used to my kitchen and meanwhile she can help bathing the BB, and easier for my FIL n HB cos they need nt travel to n fro to send confinment food for mi. My mum can't stay with mi cos my gal schooling near her house it nt school holidae yet...

Jen:
abt half an hr drive lo... I stay st far away sembawang n my ma stay in Jurong East...hehe.. so to n fro is tiring... gt to go through so many expressway ....

kelcqi,

^5 hehehe. i think our daddies are gd men. hahaha! my dad even can help my mum do hsewk n cook lo...so i told my hubby if my dad can do it so can he =) hehehe

agree la..if icebaby service then rental by right she sld get la..but ahmmm see how they arrange. =P