Choc, Gina,
I know some Malays also got do confinement one wor! They also nv shower for dunno how many days n need to eat certain food during that period of time. My Malay friends told me one... Even some Ang Mohs believes in confinement wor...
Gina, Choc, Jer,
I think to play safe, best is still do confinement. I kaisi! I dun wanna suffer next time. Cos pain here n there, noone can suffer for u one. At most they ask u take painkiller nia. Suffering we still have to bear ourselves.
Choc, I also feel that sometimes my MIL have "xin ji" also. In front of my hubby show me care, say I must eat well blah blah blah. Then no action. Hubby buy me bird nest, she said benefit me not baby. Say pregnant dun need to "bu" one, just eat normally. She gave so much confinement n pregnancy advise to her niece, but tell me I dun need to do this and that, just be normal can liao. That's why sometimes I feel tt she purposely tell me the wrong stuff so tt I ended up doing, and either she can comment on me later, or see me suffer later.
When I told her must bath with herbs and or cook ginger, she said no need. Normal water can liao. Told me alot of ppl also does tt. But she herself nv leh... She stay away from water till 30 days wor...
Lucky I go home n do confinement. But headache ah, she offered to come over to "help". I nv tell her I have confinement lady cos no intention for her to know. Chiam liao, she find out, later will tell hubby I waste money to hire CL again. Dun wanna think now, hopefully by then she lazy to come over...
Jer, ask u hor, what fruits can we take during confinement? I know no orange, no watermelon, no pineapple only, cos too cooling. Others leh?
Can we take prune juice to ease the constipation??
Re: Bathing. I also read in one article abt bathing during confinement that have no prove to show bathing cause "hong seep" in confinement. And in Sg weather, we can bath. But hor, like what u said, just play safe n follow traditions. If really wanna bath, bath after day 12 with herbs or lemongrass cook with ginger water. One of my friend's mum told me another lighter way is no lemongrass, just dry fry ginger to cook e water to bath...