(2008/05) May 2008

Well well, dun recall feeling anything then. Either its overwhelmed by epi OR perhaps the joy of arrival of baby

new here in this thread.. so excited for all of us... counting down already??

i am expecting a girl, right now 33 weeks but baby a bit on the big side at 2.2kg at 32weeks, so gynae ordered a diabetes test for me next week.... kind of worried... please pray for me ok? going to give birth at TMC... will update everyone if i have GD....

anyway, on baby clothing, i agreed with Lukemommy that clothes in OZ and US really cannot fight with SG when in sales.... I was in the US when i was 6mth preggy and the clothes in US were so so cheap.... imagine OshKosh B'Gosh at less than 10USD.. so i just grab and most of them dun cost more than 5USD.... anyway.. hubby have to stop me literallly else sure overload the luggage..

Loomi, wont be painful one, when i in the US, they have this TV program called Baby Story, they show the birthing of a baby... and the father always get to cut the cord.... and sometimes you can see the cord and the placenta (shown to the mother) sometimes to prove that everything from the mother womb is out.... anyway, very educational... i watch every single episode.. everyday new mom give birth.. some natural, some C-section, some water birth... very informative and also to prepare myself mentally....

Re: left handed
actually, if left-handed, good to train right-handed too, i have friends who are left-handed but parents train them to be right-handed and in the end, they can use both hands to write... so amazing....

u all buy the ear thermometer oreadi? ntuc unity got discount for the braun one leh... i bought it at $131.50, i think today's newspaper show $110+. ~$~

anyone planning their full month celebration already??? me now counting how many pple and who to invite.. do what beside eating... hold it where... caterer etc... a bit headache...

please share share dear mummies...

Hi swifpygal,

wow... your girl almost the same weight as my boy, i'm 35 weeks now and my boy weighing 2.3kg. my gynae say very small... must eat more.. cos 2.3kg is like 34 weeks size.

agree with the shopping cheaper in OZ and US. I miss shopping at US factory outlet. you stay at US for a period? I wish I can bring my son go US again this sep/oct.

Hi swifpygal,

I'm planning to hold a hi-tea celebration at shangri-la rose veranda. Like that place.. =) Then have to arrange my boy to sleep at the celebration timing in a stroller or wat. Cos, i dun like those guests to carry and shake my boy, later become a habit, which i hear alot of cases like that...

I'm new here. Short intro of myself: am into 32weeks. EDD: 28 May. Having a boy. Delivering in Mt Alvernia. Gyne: Dr Adelina Wong. Cheers to all mummies and mummies to be here.

Hi muzicgal,

you book already?? i am now enquiring various hotel and restaurant as well... how much is your hi-tea per person at shangri-la? what is the proposal they gave you? i receive some... the menu not to my liking....

errr... as for your boy boy to be asleep... haha no worries... i always go full month celebration, the baby always asleep one... think it they are in the period where sleep is most impt... keeek keeek but even when sleeping.. pple will still touch the cheek lightly one... hahha... bo bian... cos then they will say " your boyboy so cute..." standard...

anyway, you are right i was in the US since i found out i am preggy... haha so my girlgirl is "made in USA" so from preggy till 6mths... i travel back and fore to SG and US abt 3 times cos my hubby working there... and i dun like to be apart... but the last trip back... i find my tummy too big to fit into economy sit liao... cos SQ sucks... if you want to use points to upgrade to biz... have to wait long long and also amost always cannot get... even if you try to redeem 1.5mths back...

shd be bringing bb back to US this year also... now dunno when then suitable cos still have all the jabs... hai.. so have to be apart from hubby loh.... but i in SG also shop online in US website... amazon.. then all send to hubby to bring back... cos so much cheaper in US...

hubby also smart... purposely dun go factory outlet... cos else i will pester him to buy so so much stuff back...

if you really going US in Sep or Oct... remember to tell me... maybe i will be there too

hi swifpygal,

nopers, havent book yet. but my ROM hi tea reception is held at rose veranda oso... they gave us use the function room FOC, so oni pay the buffet.

touching cheek it's ok... i dun like passing baton... carry shake shake... carry shake shake...hahahaa....

oh... u at USA where? I love orlando.... miss there lots lots...

I check Northwest website last week... if using mileage to upgrade to biz class, cannot bring infant along... sobz sobz... i dun like SQ!

Hi muzicgal,

rose veranda can hold how many guest? u book the whole place the other time ah?

oh i was at Minneapolis but i always fly thru SFO and stopover there for a short getaway... hahah shopping road trip etc...

ya SQ getting worst... always nvr upgrade one... pps club also no use... ask my hubby complain he also lazy....

so if really go.. have to redeem biz class 2 3 mths before hand... hahha see how lah...

havent been to orlando... would like to bring my girl girl there when she older... cos the disneyland etc is the best there... jialat... havent born... think so far ahead liao

Hi Alisha,

welcome... i also just joined..

my gyane also Adelina WOng... hee hee so coincidence... she very nice hor... i delivering at TMC... why u choose Mt A huh?/?? u hate TMC parking huh?>???

Hi swifpygal,

I have 40 guests tat time... they open one function room for us... then inside the function will have the coffee and tea and dessert and cake spread.. main spread still must go outside...

minnepolis fly to orlando very very near! cos when i go orlando, it's either transit at detroit or minneapolis or portland, depending on the flight schedule..

SQ upgrade to biz can carry infant? SQ mileage will expire. NWA mileage will never expire... but i'm trying to maintain my gold elite status... free access to the lounge and extra 100% mileage, then if biz class extra 50% mileage. That's alot of mileage! hehehehe.... slurp!

try the disney cruise oso.. its very nice!!!!! i love the cruise.. then take the land and sea package... u got a chance stay at disney hotel.. really where dreams come true.. *dreaming of going to orlando again*

Felval, no worries, if your hubby don't like nevermind. I'm fine with dressing my baby in white. Me on the opposite of your husband, I always like children in white, cos I feel that children's character so pure, white suits them most. Haha, only problem is Kids dirty their clothes so easily. WHite usually ended up with stains. Keke...

My boss very cute one. Office hrs can jio us go shopping or go for tea. But provided we have nothing to do also lah. Cos I leaving next MOnday, so I left nothing much to do also, plus he tonite also have dinner, so everyone very relax mode.

Lukemummy, Thanks alot! Actually I've no idea what they have but you can help me look for those clothings under 6-8 bucks per piece loh. 6-12 mths get 2-3 pieces can liao, then maybe older ones like 12-18 mths can get ard 4-5 pieces mah, cos can last longer. I leave it to your selection lah but maybe get rompers and dress bah.

Ask you hor, the demins there expensive or not?

If they have jacket for kids, can help me grab 1 maybe for gals for 2-4 yrs old one? And can help me grab 1 piece of jacket for Boys for 8-9 yrs old. I have a bday party to attend in June, but likely can't go, so thought just buy the boy a jacket, those long sleeve one to give as present. The jackets you help me see lah, if reasonable pricing below 20-30 per piece can get lah. But if don't have also nevermind. No worries, I scare too much for u to carry.

You let me know again how much u can bring over lah, cos I very scare I overload you. You pregnant, later hard to carry. Or you want can send over to me by post also can, then you don't need to carry. I internet transfer you the amount lah.

Loomi, My boss's wife told me that time when she C-sec, the epidural given not enough. The first layer they cut, she feel the knife, dunno the 3rd layer, she feel some pain. She complaint and the guy came over to increase the dosage. She told me if by first layer you feel the knife, likely the epidural dosage not enough. Must tell them fast if not they continue cutting, you'll feel the pain. And they need to cut 7 layers of flesh to take the baby out. Sounds scary rite? I also is true or not, but she told me, I just listen loh.

I haven decide on my baby's first mth, but we holding it seperately for my mum's side and hubby's side. Cos hubby's house abit too cramp, so split low. But we likely we cater from the same catering service for our wedding. Cos the feedback was gd for both my parents side and hubby's side. Parents side Vegetarian. Btw, anyone can advise? If we order buffet, do we still need to give out cakes?

Hi Swifpygal,

Yeah. Dr Wong is very nice. Choose Mt A coz i feel that TMC is very crowded. Wanted a more tranquil environment. Besides, parking in TMC is a headache. Ha. Am seeing Dr Wong next Sat.

Orh. Anyone has suggestions on Breast Pumps?
Am going to be a SAHM. Thus, will only be needing the pumps to simulate milk production. Mummies and mummies to be, please share your thoughts.

Hi Kelcqi,
My colleagues told me that since we hold buffet then we do not need to give out cakes... give cakes only if you did not hold full month celebration.

So far, I went to my fren' baby full month, I did not receive any cakes from them.

But my parents said still must give to relatives even though we have buffet.

I am thinking of ordering the red eggs+ang ku keh+mini slice cakes package & give to those relatives & fren who come early & those who come very late might not have the package if all had been given out.

Swifpygal, when I was in SF, crazy abt factory outlet, even not married then, bought lots of Ogosh clothes for friend's and cousin kids.. only the girl girl clothes are very cute, soooo cheap, somemore I saw same pc selling in Taka for 3-4 times more than outlet price.

Kelcqi, feeling the knife cutting your tummy scary man ! If it is natural, I think I will go w/o Epi, in Japan they are so pro natural, they want to to feel the mother nature !! The hospital already stated if it is from 9pm-7am and they are short of staff, request for Epi may not be given. Of cos c-sect got pain killer lah. I heard my colleague's wife, gave birth in ulu countryside hospital, no such thing as Epi for natural birth. So I am not hoping for much... just have to endure the pain. Epi cost more than $1k here !! I told my hb I rather have a LV bag hahah... vain woman no pain no gain !!

icebaby,
My gynae scan first time, baby weight is 1.8kg which like no weight gain at all this 2 weeks. Then he said he will scan again to double confirm then this time round he said 2kg which is also not much gain according to him then he said maybe due to my illness. I want to see your pic too.

felval,
too bad that i dun eat durian, but definitely will increase my milk intake to fatten up baby.

loomi,
Imo, there is no born right or left hander. Actually left or right hander can be train. Just keep reminding your kid to use right hand. My #1 started writing and coloring with left hand, then when i tried to correct him, he started to use both hands. Right hand tired, he will use left hand, vice-versa, but right now he use right hand.

kelcqi,
if you going to the Queens St shop, do go today. They are closed on sunday. As for full month, if you having buffet then dun need to give cakes but if like my father, old traditional kind then according to him, have to give cakes to relatives. So during #1 full month, i held buffet for frens and relatives but only gave cakes to relatives.

swifpygal,

For me, full month celebration will be at home. Normally order for 30 pax and order some side orders. Distribution of cakes will be done on the same day too. The people invited is normally just my hubby's relatives. My mum doesn't like to invite her side cos of "ang pow" (her side not rich and it's inconvenient for them to come over). My dad's relative..will depend if they want to invite.

Faith25,

Welcome!

Jer,

You can PM me..then I forward pic on Monday (cos I forgot I dun have the pic at home)

Hi loomi,

ya man.... if without my hubby stopping me... i will just buy buy buy at the factory outlet... prices are crazy... when they slash the price it is really slash loh unlike SG... even those clothes at Target or Walmart are very good quality and very cute... but of course if no sales or clearance then also bo hua...

Muzicgal, ya will do that if i ever go orlando... actually i have been to the disney and WB at tokyo and osaka.. also very nice... tried the seaworld at san diego... love the shamu show... i adult already find it so fun... cant wait for my little girl to come out and grow up!!! then can play together.... haha jialat going to be mother liao still so childish...

actually i also dunno still must give out eggs cake and kueh or not if we holding a celebration... i think give to those relative that need to be informed but they may not attend your celebration.... at first i wanted to give to everyone (those who come for celebration and those who didnt come...) but think like not necessary... anyone got any idea?? or is it just personal preference??

Hi Alisha,

i am also a SAHMTB... haha cos i was in the US with my hubby so not working loh.... anyway, i brought ameda breast pump from the US... abt 149USD but must get adapter from sim lim... i also will be BF totally and the pump to standby just in case... i read a lot of review b4 settlling on it...

for me i choose TMC even tho the parking sucks... but i feel the rooms are nicer and newer as compared to Mt A. hee hee but anyway, heard that the svcs at Mt A is also ok. to each his own i guess....

my EDD is 16th May.. but actually by then it will be my 41 week... dunno why Dr Wong nvr change to earlier date... actually hoping that my girl girl will come out on the 11th May cos that is my birthday as well and this year mother's day also on the 11th... so i feel very meaningful....

I'm from Feb MTB. Sorry to intrude but I have couple of things to give away/sell/exchange.

Wanna give:
2 packets Immunocal undenatured whey protein isolate powder - i was prescribed these by my gynae due to pregnancy-induced-hypertension or pre-eclampsia. left 2 packets to give away to mummies who are taking this.

1 CTG monitor belt - depends on the hospital you go to. If you go to Mt. Elizabeth, they will charge you for the CTG belt which is used to monitor fetal heartbeat during labour. You can save a few dollars by bringing your own.

Wanna sell/exchange:
- Unopened packet of Pampers Newborn
- BN mothercare onesies (colours: white/yellow/green/brown - neutral for boys or gals, washed but not worn cos my gal could not fit)
- Unopened Pureen Maternity Pads
- Unopened Pigeon Breast Pads (Box of 60)
- 2 bots of DOM
- 2 Disney Winnie the Pooh gift sets for boys

Willing to accept vouchers or stamps. Self collect at Tampines or Siglap. Postage on your own.

Luvbella, Jer,

Thanks for the info. Actually my parents and PIL might prolly want us to give out cakes in this way liao. But give on the same day we hold the first mth or the day before?

I saw those packages with Red eggs + Ang Ku Kueh + Cake but each box I think cost at least 8.90/box. Adding the total boxes we need to get prolly 30 over boxes wor, plus the buffet on both sides. Sigh, I can forsee almost another 1K gone for the first mth.

Loomi, you're not coming back to sg to have your baby ah? Seems scary leh, natural without Epi sounds so scary to me. My friend went hospital before her contractions kicked in, but by her third contractions, she cannot tahan liao. I wonder how far I can go.

I think if I go without Epi, my hubby see me pain until dunno what, he'll also try me don't try to be hero liao. Just take Epi and get it over and done with. Haha....

Icebaby,

I've booked mdm Rohaya for my massage.. btw i oso wan2 see the photo leh.. can i? hee =)

Swifpygal,

My gynae is oso Adelina Wong.. dunno seen u at the clinic anot.. hehe.. i've watch the program too.. it's shown on SCV channel 70.. very informative really.. but sumtimes i see till i scared leh.. coz sum of them scream like so painful.. haha..

Alisha,
Welcome.. my gynae oso Dr wong.. hehe.. n into 33 weeks.. EDD 18th may.. oso a boy..

TO all,
sumtimes i really wondered wat happen if ur EDD hits the same as other mummies.. den gynae gotto run 2 places?? den oso hor i went to see doc so many times.. like nv see the doc not ard or away for delivery leh.. most of mummies deliver at nite ar?? haha.. juz curious..

I oso like to dress my baby in white.. looks cleaner.. tat's y almost all the clothes i bought all in white bt wif prints la.. anyway heard that those colour dye for the clothes may cause skin irritation for babies leh..

I oso wan2 go without epi but scared i cannot take it leh.. bt when inject the epi oso pain leh.. my sis says it's like electric shock.. den i scared i'll move den dangerous.. confuse.. bt my sis told nme the if got epi den u wun feel the stitches n after delivery it will still be abit numb.. so not much pain lo..

Kelcqi,
for me i will give on the same day as we hold the first mth buffet. Ya will spend a lot on first month. I think this time round i dun want to have buffet, will be giving cake only unless my parents and my in-laws want it.

Vel,
Actually most mummies do not give birth on EDD itself but also curious if at the same time 2 mummies giving birth at 2 different hospital, how will the gynae handle. So far my appointment was changed twice due to gynae away for delivery. During my #1, i never take epi and still i dun feel the stitches maybe i was distracted by baby as he was lying beside me, i was admiring him the whole time the gynae doing the stitched.

Vel, You hero leh. I know for me, once in pain, I'll just submit to anything. Haha...

Jer, Will there be any chance of ppl flying me aeroplane and I buy extra cake? I think under order better than over order rite? My cousins they all I don't trust them one. Or get those gift cards and get let those ppl collect themselves? Extras, I just give to whoever I feel like it. Then all those cakes lying ard...

kelcqi, noted your budget and what you want to get...less than 10 pieces , no problem can squeeze in my laguage...as denim jacket, i didnt really look for them so dont know the prices, i can check it out since i am going to the stores on monday or tuesday again...hopefully still can get some good bargains...

swipfygal, your baby 'made in US' , my baby 'made in OZ' coz my hubby working there...my hubby hates to be alone there but no choice...you should buy all baby stuff in US coz its so much cheaper there !! so lucky can buy from babies r us or target online, cheaper than amazon....a friend is coming back for holiday in april so i asked her to get Avent 9 oz magic cup 2 -pack which costs US7.99, in sg , i think is S$22.90, OZ is A$26.99 and the munckin and 1st year bottle warmer for US$19.99 and 14.99 , very good buy....

Wah...didnt noe that overseas bb clothings are much cheaper wor...

but locally we can oso partipate in those overseas spreees lar... then can also get stuff like pumpkin patch clothings...quite cheap too..but must pay for the shipping fees etc...

Lukemummy, really ah? Thanks so much leh. I very worried for you, scare later my purchase is too much and you pregnant, very tough on you.

You help me see the Demin stuff if they are ex or not loh. Cos Sg easily one piece cost 30 plus at least. Esp those jumper style, one piece of Osh Kosh is 50 plus. *Faint* so ex...

Aussie Avent's stuff so expensive ah? I only know last time my friend's baby first mth, I was in Aussie and I bot some baby clothes back. Very cheap and the material very comfortable kind. This shop call dunno got what Cotton in the shop name. But that was in Melbourne. My gf in perth said Perth dun have that shop.

Can order online from Ebay cos some really got very gd deal. Sg ran out of Avent Uno pump, hubby checked with this store in states and they have the stocks. After shipping and conversion, still cheaper than Sg. But hubby said we get it when my EDD is nearer.

So envious, swipfygal and Lukemummy, my baby gal is made and manufacture in Sg. Haha, next time no history to tell her...

Swipfygal, last time my cousin she stayed in Canada also always head to factory outlets in states and canada to get her baby clothings. She said the materials even better than those in Sg...

I cannot stand the weather! It's so hot and rainy the next hr. Every day like that. I seem to be soaking in sweat everyday.

Hi Kelcqi, same here.. I can't stand the weather. It's so hot! I don't know if it's me or the weather.

Anyway, just now I feel some pain at the vagina there. Like something there. Wondering why. Don't know if it's cos I just went for Bwaxing.. Sigh.. Feeling damn tired now but still cannot sleep. Waiting for the part time cleaner to finish her work.. And I feel like bathing. So hot!!

Swipfygal, cheers to SAHMTB. I'm actually running my beauty business. Ever since i'm preggy i've been managing it via appointments only. So opt to stay home for 1 year to look after BB. Heard from my Jamu Massage lady that Ameda Breast Pumps has got good suction. Thus thinking to get it as well.
*Sigh* I've missed my chance for my crazy factory outlet shopping in US. My husband travels often for work and by the time i've recovered from morning sickness, my tummy is too big to travel esp for long hours. Only managed to get all my maternity clothes from Perth. Cheap and chic. ha...

Vel, hello. 33weeks! Jia you.

To all mummies to be delivering in May, heard from experienced mummies that young coconut juice is good for BB. Best time to consume is during the last trimester. Suppose to "cleanse" BB so that he/she will have clear skin. Coz mummies and BB tend to feel "heaty" and warm during the last trimester. Can start drinking once per week from 32 weeks onwards and 2-3 times during the week before EDD. Well, food for thoughts.
Cheers.

I am from Mar Mummies. I have 2 brand new, unopened pack of Drypers Newborn (28pcs each) to let go. Bought both at $14 and selling for $12. Can provide delivery for Bt Merah and Jurong West area.

I over-bought and DD outgrew by week 2.

Welcome new mummies!

Vel,
I have experienced my gynae running off halfway to deliver babies. Everytime we go for appt and see her not inside room, we gotta wait long long liao. Nurse will ask everyone go have kopi first.

Re:Clothes from Bugis Shop
Oh ya, wanna alert those who bot 'tie ribbon' tops instead of button ones from the Bugis Shop. Beta handwash instead of machine.

I dumped the baby clothes into machine and ended up the 'tie ribbons' fray and tore and the string tangled up all other clothes to it! Had to slowly remove and some of the 'ribbons' damaged liao.

Cheri, Choc,

I asked hubby if he feels hot, he said no leh. Then he asked me to on the Aircon if I want. But if sleep with Aircon, day time still aircon, I scare my MIL later use the electricity bill to hubby against me again. Also not good for health, so I nv give in to temptations. Haha...

Tracy, Vel,
So far only once I encounter my gynae went off to deliver baby. And ended up long queue. Lucky I'm the last one, I ask questions, at least won't feel guilty for holding up the queue. :p But must think for the nurse also lah.

Ask u all mummies hor, anyone of you video down the ultrasound process? I feel like doing it but alot of times outside have queue, I scare to keep the rest waiting so chop chop see and come out...

Piggymummy, Tracy,
I think got 2 types of ribbons one. The ones I saw my friend using is not those really ribbons kind, it's like a sting like that. Won't fray that kind.

Faith, I heard coconut water also aids in delivery rite? I very scare I drink now will trigger labour. Me now only in 31 wks. There was once I hao lian, thinking sore throat, body heaty, down 2 coconuts at 1 shot, ended up at nite tummy cramps until I wanna cry liao...

I have not log on for quite some time & the thread is moving very fast.

Can i check has anyone of you signed up cord blood storage?

Stemcord or Cordlife, which one is better?

Yaoyaomum,

Yaloh, nv see your postings for awhile.

Where are you delivering? I think those who's delivering with TMC have the FBI card. I think one of them have discount for the FBI card holder.

From my own pt of view, there's no comparison to which is better. Just that which is cheaper. Keke... Cos they using the same method to store the blood also.

But it's unlikely for my case to store or donate cos my hubby's decision is not to do anything to it. Let all the blood flow back to my baby than donating it or cutting off the supply halfway from the placenta to the baby.

Hi Kelcqi,

I'll be deliver at Raffles Medical Hospital. I have been tie up with my job for past few weeks, damn tire evry night working late.

I checkout the website for both but not sure which one to choose. Not sure their method of storig is it same but Stemcord offer $950 (1st year) if sign up during the seminar on 5 Apr 2008.
I don't get why your hubby mean let all blood flow back to baby. My hubby support the idea to store cordblood, not only for this baby in future use. it could be probable of using by sibblings in case. I guess the cordblood wil just gone as "trash" on day of delivery if not store.

<font color="aa00aa">hey mummies,

im from mar thread, selling away unopen new GNC fenugreek pills for $20, expiry date 08/11. anyone keen sms or call me direct @ 91466419. thanks.</font>

kelcqi, dont worry, my hubby will be the one carrying my laguage..yes, Avent is ex in oz, 1 Avent 7 oz magic cup is A$13.99 and the thermo bag is A$29.99...

there is this sg website, wwwdotpreciousbabedotcom, sells childrens clothings of various brands, ,maybe you can check it out..they sell one Levi's denim jacket , forgot which size less than $20....

Vel, I also nvr encounter dr wong not in due to delivery.. maybe we heng loh... next visit i go ask her... hahhaa...my appt next Thursday... update u again if i remember to ask..

Faith, abt the coconut... ai yo they are my favourite even b4 preggy.... now can drink i super happy...where you all go and buy huh?

you running your own biz ah... hee hee... *envious envious* wanted to do something on the side as well.. but due to hubby in US a bit hard to plan since he wants me to follow him.... thinking of doing something online but no idea... PM me what u actually doing if you dont mind... haha very curious...

Lukemommy, so qiao ah...hee hee so your hubby still in OZ? when he coming back? he fly back how offen? my very jialat one... fly off means not seeing him for 4 - 6 weeks... siaz... but really bo bian... no one to whine to... ya i bought most of my stuff from the US, stroller, car seat, bottles... breast pump... baby clothes.. etc etc... i was in the US when i bought the stroller, carseat and baby clothes... the rest, i buy online and ask hubby to bring back.. still taking my own sweet time to shop online... but most of the stuff i buy liao, waiting for my hubby to come back... and he can only come back early May, so i pray hard bb dun naughty come out early.. BTW, you now in OZ ah... still can travel meh??? u not xing ku ah... when i was abt 25 weeks take aeroplane from US back here... so so super tiring... you take care, walk more on the plane.... else sure swollen feet one... i everytime also swollen...

Kelcqi, i also cannot tahan hot one... i everynite also aircon, in the day, i also aircon if i use the computer... if not, i on the fan, stop it from turning and just face at me.... else will cry and be in a bad mood if too hot.... oh, i also go swim in the evening... shiok man...

and yes, your cousin so smart also go US factory outlet shopping.. haha, anyway, dun buy too much also since bb grow very fast, that time, i almost filled up one whole suitcase of bb clothes... i buy for one whole year... 0-3mths, 3-6mths etc etc... then they also sell some winter clothes for baby.... ai yo... so so super cute leh... so i bought one set for 6mths... hopefully dec can bring bb to cold cold place for holiday.. hahaha... so fun...

abt cordblood banking.. i same thought as your hubby... to me, now only certain illness can be treated, mostly blood related, what is going to happen in the future we wont know and there is no guarantee or not 100% that your bb own cordblood can save the siblings or parents... so to me it is more like insurance... and since we definitely will buy insurance, i feel it is enough... a lot of things really not up to us to control no matter how much safety net we put in... especially if your family history has no such blood diseases, i feel it is very unlikely that the cord blood will be used.... if something really happened, we still have the public cord blood bank... though it may be harder to find a match but there is still such a facility.. just my 2 cents worth, no offence to those who already sign up, i think you gals have the best of heart...

any1 wan avent bottles?? i have 2 260ml and 2 125ml bottles to sell..i selling it at $25plus 3 size 2 teats.... price can be nego...

Yaoyaomum,
Wah, RH very ex leh. My friend told me the 2 most expensive hospital to give birth is Gleneagles and Raffles, followed by Mt E. But RH good cos beside it is Bugis junction. Can go shop shop. Share with me you bills ok?

Lukemummy,
Think you come Sg, better buy all the Avent stuff u want before you go back Aussie. Wat's the common brand the parents in Aussie use since Avent so expensive?

Swifpygal,
My cousin bot alot of Osh Kosh in US factory outlet. But she very smart, she always buy 1-2 size bigger so her gal can wear longer. Her gal very cute last time, cos mixed blood. My cousin married a guy in Canada, so the baby very pretty. But now grow up le. She very tall for her age...

Swifpygal, yaoyaomum,
My hubby got this thinking that sometimes some things are meant to be. He feels that storing Cord blood very expensive and it's like you are storing blood hoping that one day the baby will need it? Although I wanna donate, but hubby against the idea cos he claimed that if donate, doesn't mean we get any privilege when we need it. So why donate and let them earn from baby. He rather the blood flow back to baby. Dunno leh. I don't wanna say anything or quarrel with him. No point. DOn't donate then don't donate loh...

Hi yaoyaomum,

i have signed up for cordlife at the expo mother and baby fair.
1st time fee: $1400 - $300(fair promo) - $50 (referal from friend)
Subsequent years = $250

was also thinking of which one was better stemcord or cordlife. but in the end signed up for cordlife cos of the storage method.
stemcord uses 4 tubes to store at 2 diff locations whereas cordlife uses 1 bag method.
if choy, need transplant, stemcells in tubes hv to transfer to bags, possible contamination.
intially tot 4 tubes can use for more than 1 time transplant better, but then transplant is only one time and the more number of stemcells used, the higher chance of success. so in 4 tubes or 1 bag is the same.

the cord blood is drawn only after the cord is cut off. so does not affect u and baby de. no worry. i signed up cos we nv know wat will happen later in life. buy insurance also doesnt mean will recover from illness. only get $ but no curing chance.

just my 2 cents worth.