(2008/05) May 2008

Vel,

Hey *sayang, I am in the same predicament. I buy my own bird nest (cheap one...12 bottles for $20. Birdnest content only 2% hor but the taste of it quite alright). So far my 3rd pregnancy my mum made twice birdnest for me. My MIL NONE (She got a whole box of birdnest in the freezer). Cannot tahan her but she has been taking my bottle bird nest instead. My mum made me soup I think 2-3 times. Again MIL NONE. But this time around HB did help me buy more coconut and cutting it open WHENEVER I want. But half goes to him cos I dun drink much. 2night going NTUC to stock more coconut. LOL.

As for Ang Pow, see how much you can afford lor. Some pple give big angpow, some give small depends on financials.

For me, I will give my mum an angpow based on what she is intending to do lor (cos comes from joint a/c...must neg with HB!). Cos dunno how many days she helping blah blah. Also cos now arranging for a new maid to come in to help. If maid can cook, will probably get my Mom to teach her (ask my mum to come over and teach) and then give $$ to my parents to ask them to buy the marketing stuff. Somehow I DO NOT think my in-laws will bother to buy the things I need cos ever since my grandma-in-law pass away...it's my FIL that does Marketing!!!

Ice baby, Lukemummy
Thanks for all ur comfort..I actually bought all e bb stuff before my hubby leaves so now only left wid my bag to e hosiptal. hehe... maybe we can chat on line... haha.. my msn [email protected]
muzicgal:
ya lor.. he has to go... no choice.. but his superior said tat he will booked air ticket for him to come back if I deliver earlier... but u nod... ppl badmouth him said he find excuse to leave earlier... don nderstand y ppl so inconsiderate.,, their wife don give birth to bb meh?

icebaby,
are both u & hb small built ? My hb is bigger built while i am of small frame. My dd takes aft my hub for height and takes aft me for built. Sounded perfect for a girl, isnt it ;)

muzicgal,
juz rest well, eat well and your baby will grow better in addl to the food.

Vel,

its okie lah, just stay positive that we don't have to depends on ILs to buy gd food/tonics. Afterall, its not their obligation. Sometimes, its also cos they are tight on financials and can't afford the extras for us. Already very happy that I have caring parents that really care for me very well all the while
I felt happier thinking this way

p/s: sometimes i m glad that my ILs bo chay also :p

Lukemommy,

U were saying tat u bought the pumpkin patch clothes online?? which webby? coz i went to an Aust web they cannot deliver to spore leh.. i oso love the clothes so cute n nice..

Btw, any mummies-to-be here stay around Bt Batok Central area ? We can exchange email to keep in touch esp when the baby is born

wah, me morning kena dragged to long mtg. Super sianz...

Kelcqi, nice to bump into you just now after lunch! Kekeke...

Ant, me doing well. Another 25 days for me to delivering Baby Kayla. Really looking forward to holding her in my arms liao and of cos, to use my maternity leave. LOL!

icebaby,
dun understand y all the MIL like of a kind.. maybe got a minority who's really nice lo.. i swear nxt time when i'm a MIL myself i'll sure treat my DIL very good.. haha.. thinking of giving maybe 1k lo.. including of all the necessaries like pampers, food, towels all these.. shld be enuff la hor.. coz my hubby will be paying my mum leh.. coz i'm nt working ever since i;m preggy. paisei to ask so much fr my hubby oso.. wait he think y my mum ask so much money even when doing confinement for own daughter.. bt i will ps if give too little ma.. hubby wun understand de la..

I'm oso getting some coconuts to drink.. coz already 32weeks.. think it's abt time to start drinking rite?

mrscheong,
yalo.. i oso think very positively already.. when juz got preggy tat time always think till cry.. haha.. quarrel wif hubby always feel tat i'm so poor thing compare to others.. haha.. now kan kai alot le lo.. feeling more happy oso!! hopefully when baby is out they wil treat him good good.. =)

jen,

got to book at women's admission centre. the nurse at TPS will explain everything la but the booking will be done at women's admission centre lo. troublesome ho?

u manage to ask them to explain in details the diff in A1 and B1 mah?

me will be seeing gynae next week @ my 33rd week...i wonder if he will ask me to see him in 3 or 2 weeks time aft that..

icebaby,

same la. my PIL know i am preg must also nv buy or cook anything, else say birdnest la, nt even soup ok. while my mum has been cooking birdnest for me every week since 2nd trimester...she and my hubby are the ones who forked out $$ to buy me birdnest...

but nvm, as long as PIL dun ask for extra $$ from my hubby i am ok. i dun nd their birdnest or wat coz hubby n my parents can avoid. as long as they dun keep relying on my hubby and taking him as walking atm I am more than happy!

felval,
I din go & book yday. So my pocket will be 3wks rich again. After 3wks i br broke again. haha. Maybe i will call to ask 1st lor. I hope over the phone the customer service able to entertain me abit by telling me the deposit amount & some other points also lor.

Aiyooo last wk again have bird nest to drink..sooo long never drink liao. soooo ma fan to dbl boil lor. anyway left a few mouthful to let my daughter ate abit. She dun seems to like it leh.

so sianz.. after lunch wanna slp liao.. ;( haiz..
actually my MIL oso nv really buy tonic for mi.. cos i understand she financially oso need to support the family.. but she will buy coconuts for mi to drink n will brew soups for mi.. so consider nt bad le lah.. hehe.. my own mummy oso nv buy tonic for mi.. but will always brew soups for mi.. only my hubby will buy bird nest.. but i only ate 6times throughout dis pregnancy n i stop liao.. haha.. lazy..

jaspire.. so envy u.. ur bb will b out soon.. haiz.. i dunno when will mine b out..

Vel, Peace,
Both my MIL and mum dun allow me to drink coconut now cos afraid will preterm labour. They say only start drinking from 37-38wks onwards.

oh. think for a1 cobfirm deposit amt is $1690 but nt too sure for b1 ward.

the birdnest too thick ah, as in nv put enuff rock melon sugar? that time my mum first cook she forgot to add the sugar and i was like "YUCKS!" but force myself to drink it coz v ex. hahaha

moony,

i also v sleepy now...wan fall aslp liao...ZzZZzzzzZ

Re:coconut

i will nt drink now lo..wait till my hubby back frm overseas on the 38th week then i will drink. he nt ard i dare nt drink...scally trigger early labour hubby nt ard i sure v scare n duno if i can go thro the pain...somemore i wan hubby to be ard to witness the birth of our first kid so i will drink at a v later stage. heheh

mrscheong,

My bone structure is small (but I ain't petite kind lah), while my HB normal.

Vel,

You can start drinking.
Me, haven't decide the amount. Hahaha. Cos will be abit broke cos hiring maid. Then May also my dad's b'day + mother's day...blah blah. Already every mth my mum gets an allowance. My dad always say, my mum very lucky...always get $$ from me. Hahaha

WCT,

My PIL abit different case. They can afford it. My MIL's monthly facial/slimming/beauty treatments can cost more than $1k. Anyway, I dun really care lah. Close eyes better. Save myself headache. But this time around, I trying to be a good mummy and gonna make sure baby girl sticky to me and not to my in-laws...unlike my older son.

Jaspire,

Very fast hor! Almost there...almost there...

Jen,

My kids LOVE birdnest. hahaha

Peace,

So far I drink since 30 weeks, no problem...no contractions. I think still depends on individual's body.

Tracy,

Eh drink at 37-38 weeks? So only 1 coconut or daily? Funny leh....what if give birth at 37 or 38 weeks...then NO chance to drink!

icebaby,
ya lah, if give birth early then no chance to drink. but if not, then i will probably drink 1 daily from 37 weeks onwards.

Vel,
My MIL oso din buy any bird nest nor tonic for me. Anyway, it's better that way as she dun really know how to double-boil soup. We sorta had an argument (encouraged by my SIL) when I decided to hire CL. Anyway, my MIL kinda understood my reason for doing so.

For now, I'm only worried that she can't manage to take care of 2 kids, esp. when the maid told me that she does not know how to look after kids.

vel- i also duno hw much to gv my mum. she wil be takin leave to help me w confinemt. wil gv her the $$ to buy the ingredients to cook the stuff. no worries, u r nt the only one whose mil heck care! mine also lidat. rite frm the beginning. nw near to edd, suddenly say wan to help in confinemt. siao lor. i also hope she heck care all the way!

icebaby- actuali it's gd to hv kids at a young age! more energy to look after them too. i hope to hv 2nd one b4 30 thn can close shop liao =D

jaspire- hehe.. i also cant wait leh! gonna go on leave in 2 wks time thn countdwn at home to see bb liao. hehe.. when u goin on leave?

My mum oso got to take care of 2 kids lo.. my sis n mine.. den more over my sis preggy again.. baby due sep.. haiz.. my baby so poor thing leh.. only be the youngest for 4 mths den got another baby.. dunno my mum can handle 3 kids anot.. tat's y we hire a maid for her.. me n my sis share.. thinkinh whether to be SAHM lo.. coz scared too many babies my mum distracted.. bt i wan to go back to work leh.. confuse.. sum more alot of pple say the longer period of time u stay wif ur baby at home u will not bear to leave them to go to work de leh.. bt i'm still so young.. 23 this yr.. wun wan to be a hse wife forvever.. ARGH!!! help!!! dunno wat to do..

The 1690 deposit is for TMC 1 bedded? i've yet to receive the pre-admission forms leh.. when haf to gif the deposit?

wanna ask.. if u all experience fainting and breaking out in cold sweat these few days? yday for nth, i also vomitted once.. now feel very terrible

ant1712,

yalo.. dunno how much to gif mum rite? scared gif too little.. give more oso scared not enuff for ourselves.. headache. Dun understand MILs rite? they oso preggy b4, they shld noe the attention we need ma.. aiya.. forget it lo.. i oso "see open" already.. MIL dun care nvm lo.. as long as hubby at least bother abit can liao.. we marry to our hubby not his mum oso.. so juz BEAR wif it!! tat's y sumtimes hubby like dun bother i will feel so sad n scold.. haha..

icebaby,

WAH~ ur MIL really knows how to enjoy life le. 1K+ i can do alot with it lo!

aiya, gd PIL nv buy those tonic also...imagine if they are the traditional type must drink this drink that then if we dun like still have to give face n drink if nt they will grumble say we duno hw to appreciate...and i hope mine heck care even if my baby boy comes along...dun wan them to impart their bad habits n watever logicals to my boy...

anyway, i think gals will be closer to mummy or parents le. so dun worry la. hehehe.

Vel,

$1690 deposit is for KK A1 ward.

My PIL oso din buy any tonic food n no double-boil soup, no bird nest nothing at all. Bird nest was from my dad as my mum passed away few months ago so wat my dad can do is to give me bird nest. My HB will buy coconut for me. I start drinking it when im 32 weeks. As my sis kinda replace my mum to tell me wat to do.

I envy my sis n my SIL, they got to drink n eat all the good food when my mum is ard.. At first i cry y my PIL not doing anything and is their 1st grandkid. But nw im ok le.. as my dad n sis is kinda helping me. Im gald that my sis is helping me whenever i need her help.

Hmmmmm... My MIL will do the confinement for me. But she told me that she duno hw n wat to cook during my confinement. So i told her is ok i go n cater for confinement food. So she juz bath bb n look after bb.

So i oso duno hw much ang pow to give her. Cos i goto spend abt 700plus for the food..

Hi Pooh, take care. I do feel giddy when I am tired. Maybe you can try to rest/sleep more, if still don't feel better, it may be better to see doctor for advice.

pooh, did u nt sleep well? and did nt hv enough sleep? if nt, then u better call ur gynae and check wif him. coz for me, i will feel headache and giddy if i dun hv enough zzz

Good day ladies,

Jaspire, hehe, so nice to see ya juz now. HEhe, you still look very fresh leh. How you bao yang to look this radient? Me envious, I cannot sleep everynite, everyday so tired...

Felval, My hubby also hopes his parents will save. But dunno they got save or not. I seriously hope even they stretch hands, they still have their own savings one. But looking at it, I doubt so. Cos if they have savings, that time we got married, we wouldn't ended up using all our Ang Pows to pay off FIL's credit card bills.

Now hubby still can "tong". My own worry is "What if next time they fall sick or hospitalize?"* Touch wood* Cos if that happens, they don't have medisave nor cpf. So all the bills likely hubby and I have to bear, or if my BIL can help using his medisave, that would be the best.

Moony, maybe loh. I saw those boxes, but I never hold them. So dunno if it's empty or not. Sorry to provide wrong info leh.

Lukemummy, me really try to ren ren ren loh. No choice rite? If I know my MIL gonna become like that, I won't marry my hubby liao.

Pooh, I experience alot of giddiness... At nite sleep will break out in sweat also. Sigh, dunno what is going on.

Felval, my MIL gets 1k+ every mth also. From my FIL, and hubby 500... Plus they have no bills to worry about except their mobile bills. COs all bill my hubby paying. Thats why I always wonder, have so much money, dinner still we tabao for her, dunno why she always say not enough. I think likely to lose in Mahjong...

felval, ya man.. so slpy nw.. gt nth to do.. my boss dun wanna increase my wk load liao.. cos i will b goin off in 1 mth time..

kelcqi, hehe.. nvm lah.. thanks for your infor oso.. if nt i won't call n ask dem..

for coconuts, i've been drinking dem since im week 27.. but nt very often.. only frm week 30 onwards i drink its liked once a week. den ytd my MIL bought for mi to drink again... hehe.. she nv says cannot drink leh.. but she said drink moderate..

kelcqi,

win liao lo...u guys actually gave ur ang paos $$ to ur FIL to repay his debts...i duno if i can be so generous lo. does ur FIL still carry any credit cards?? u know, credit cards can really cause a person to go deep in debts if nt careful.

ya, i agree lo, now small amt here n there still can cope..but wat IF they fall sick or wat and needs operations? operations 1 fee, medicine 1 fee, follows up also need $$ lo...seriously i dun think my PIL cant afford to fall sick...sure end up ask my hubby to pay everything one...coz knowing SIL, gd with the mouth, when it comes to action evolving ard $$ sure push to my hubby one. i just hope they dun fall sick or have major prob..if nt sure v headache one...

hubby used to give MIL 1k per mth...but ho i tell u she can still grumble NO $$ or NOT ENUFF...then always ask for extra one...i go hm with him step in the hse MIL also open mouth to ask for $$ liao...haiz...but aft marriage, he gives her 500++ only liao..then handphone bills for PIL and SIL my hubby pay -_-''' lucky we dun stay with them..if nt who knows all bills my hubby and i settle liao (coz currently my own hse PUB bill i pay).

ya, i think either mahjong or 4d or toto for sure...or they could keep it secretly we also duno...sometimes i really wonder give so much not enuff meh!? then hw much is enuff? or wat they spent on...hubby asked her once la, give so much how much nt enuff, MIL says "u dun nd to know wat we spent on. i need $$ u give me can liao" win ho?

haiz...i wonder when SIL will return hubby the $3000 she borrowed a few mths ago...

moony,

hehehe. can understand. need to be in office and still do some work but nthing much to do ya? my boss and snr also trying to offload me now coz they say i may go into labour anytime soon so need to offload me rather than wait for closer to date then if i early delivery who will handle my work.

then v funi..yest says weekend jobs or midnite jobs i dun do liao coz i nd to take care of myself n baby since i am preg..then today still ask me to do 1 weekend job...

felval, haha.. ur boss so indecisive..
sianz.. i really get tired easily.. dunno y.. i cant slp well.. always wake up.. ARGH!!!! gif mi slp 24 hrs oso nt enuf..

moony,

ya lo..me thinking if another midnite crash or wat will i still be activated...-_-'''

u wake up to pee or just wake up like tt for nthing? coz sometimes i also suddenly just wake up for nthing then stare into blank space..then my hubby sometimes can feel me turn here turn there then ask me why i cant slp again ah...

ant1712,

hahaha. Hope u have ur 2nd before 30 then! =)

RE: Confinement soup

Can I ask WHO know how to make confinement soups? Or know what herbs to make?

I thinking of buying the herbs, bundle them packet by packet. So at least the maid can just take out and add fresh meat and COOK. Anyone?

Haiz. I very blur when come to herbs. Dunno what is what!

WCT,

My MIL has the right to spend. Anyway, it's HER and my FIL's money.

felval, haiz.. wake up to pee & oso at times cant slp.. even in air con room i feel hot.. ;(
die lah like dat..

haiz.. i juz read up in another forum abt healing of the episiotomy wounds.. seems liked very difficult to heal hor.. haiz.. scare.. im scare of dis more den the labour pain.. ;(

dunno wat's wrong with me today. after dapao-ing lunch home, i felt like fainting a few times. so went to lie down for most of the afternoon. do any of u feel your heart rate suddenly increase alot for like 10-15min? mine will n then, ok agn. then after some time, maybe it'll be very fast agn. getting q worried.

sigh...how nice, your bosses are offloading your work now. I'm still doing my normal workload and will continue to do so till I pop. I hope I pop at 37-38wks then I'll jus ditch everything and let them go into panic mode!

pooh,
i juz read yr comment dat u also feel like fainting n hv cold sweat. same for me + the sudden pulse rate increase. so scary... i was trying to read up on wat it could be n it seems might be symptoms of anaemia. if i can "tong", i will ask my gynae during my appt this wk. hopefully it's not anythg serious.

Pooh,
The last time I had cold sweat and fainting spells was during CNY period. Lack of iron. Once I take the iron pill I'll be fine.

Lavender,
Your description of heart beating fast sounds like when I take Ventolin. Are you on Ventolin?

Moony,
I'm more afraid of breast engorgement pain!

icebaby,

ah. okok. i thot its ur and hubby $$$...for my case, hubby and I forked out the $$ ourselves...so if hubby wan to use the angpao to give his parents or clear their debts i duno if i can be so generous seriously...he can use his share but dun touch me! the angpaos not small amt le...

moony,

me nt so jialat...i on aircon i will be cold coz aircon directly opp me even if i on it like 26 degrees..hehehe. but yest i nv on aircon just on fan also v hot but i dun care la..told myself can perspire then can lose some water from the body then mayb the water retention on my fingers will go away. hehhe

LavenderDreamz,

me no such exp this trimester le but i do exp i wanna faint..but normally aft i eat something i will be ok. u wanna check with ur gynae?

tracy,

hehehe. but wldnt they call u when u are on maternity leave if u dun handle over to them? mine is say will offload me la but i waiting to see how long it will take..coz i know them too well...say 1 thing then aft a few days then back to normal one...

kelcqi, ok lah... my colleague oso said i dun look like going to deliver soon. Haha... think you need more rest wor. You sleep very late. Me try to sleep early and sleep more loh.

Tracy,
i don't take ventolin. in fact, hardly take any med since preg. only my supplements.

Felval,
ya, thk i'm gg to call my gynae aleady. it's starting agn.