(2008/05) May 2008

Mrng Mummies!!!

Anyone tried the tummy support belt? My hubby tell me to try on... As i complaint baby's getting heavier and adding strain on my lower back...

lukemommy,

r u cmg back to sgp for gd r juz to give birth? my cuz delivered in aust abt 2 yrs bk...she had a really diff time in the hospital cos they pretty much left her alone for abt 16hrs. n no epi somemore. the poor gal is now so traumatised.

nono...moony... i lazy to type in long form...

nt leg cramp will also lead to tummy tighten..

is that... i also experience leg cramp.. then sometimes is tummy tighten... what i trying to say is..try not to sayang ur tummy when having this tightening sensation...as my gynae say may induce the labour!

yalor!! tt time i still try to sayang the tummy

coz the tightening part realli abit unbearable at time...
if i at home i will keep "ouch ouch"... hehee..
wah.. just now go "spy" on april thread...so many given birth! hehehee

i tink next month hor.. some of us will have news of giving birth leh..maybe as early as first week of april?

scary!!!

oh ya..i heard the confinement is 40days too... faintz! 30 days dun wash hair..i oredi abit buay gam wan...
heng my mum didnt say anyting..just told me is a month... heheheee

lavenderdreamz, i am coming back to give birth then when baby is about 2 or 3 mths, will bring baby back to aust with me coz my hubby is working there now...if there is better job opportunity in sg, we will move back so at the moment is, depends on which country has better job prospect for him...

how can they treat a pregnant woman like that? your poor cousin...i choose to give birth in sg coz i trust the gynea here more and in aust, mostly use midwife..unless give birth in private hospital and use gynea but will cost a bomb..and i also need to do confinement coz my foot reflexology shifu said must do a very good confinement as this is the best time for women to have a better health in future...

lukemommy,

it's great dat u get to come back n deliver in sgp. :) ya, my cuz opted for a public hospital cos of the high costs involved at the private hosp. but unfortunately her experience has left her thkg if she wants to go thru another childbirth.

totally agree dat we need to take care of ourselves during the confinement period. very worthwhile when u know it's for our long-term health.

so far, how's bb's progress? my gynae says we still need to wait n see if i can hv a natural birth cos bb is not totally head down.

choc,
i'm planning to do confinement for 30days but take confinement food for 40 days.

ohh...maybe last 10 days order those confinement catering hor? heheheeeee

say nia lar... i tink for me by day 10 i be sick of all the food liao...

heard cannot eat alot of stuff... and all must fried with ginger ah?

My due date has been changed from 1st May to 30th April.. By right I should be in April thread, but got so used to being in May Thread.. so will stay here for correspondence!! Guess I'll be the first one in this thread to pop out! hehe.. later will update on birth experience... I'm a first time mummy.. so don't really know what to expect in the labour room.. anyway I wish everyone here a safe delivery too..!

mrscheong- most of my frens did confinemt for 40 days n drank red date water thru out too. i beta guai guai listen so my health wil nt be affected when i'm old =D

taman- my edd changed frm 1 may to 28 apr! n i kept hvg this feelin i gonna gv birth in mid apr. hehe.. muzicgal goin for c sect on 15 apr! jaspire few days after tat too.

taman, wah so gd for u.. plz update ur birth experience... u giving birth by natural??

ant1712, u oso ah.. u natural or c-sect?? haiz.. so envy u guys.. jaspire is c-sect @ april oso.. so fast u all can c ur beloved bb le.. i dunno when will mine coming out.. ;(

taman,
nvm lar. u stay here lar. so u can share with us ur labour mah.

choc,
ya think during confinement mth all must eat with ginger one.

Good day ladies,

Jovial, I also having backache at the right side. I found it so hard to sleep last nite, got hubby to massage for me, still painful. In the end I pop sleeping pills to help me sleep cos if not today sure terok. Recently found it so hard to sleep, sleep on side, sometimes dunno issit pressing on baby or wat, she started kicking so hard. Can't sleep on back cos will wait up breathless. Sometimes can get hungry and wake up for food. Those food I always go buy and store at home for nite, always get eaten up by either hubby or his parents. This morning I just complaining to hubby for finishing off my cereal.

Felval, My hubby sup the cards for them so that any emergency, they can use. But they abuse the privilege given to them. Sometimes small purchase also use credit card to pay when they can actually pay by cash. Then end of mth just dump the bill to hubby loh. Sometimes hubby see like few hundred bucks just diam diam pay for them.

Once hubby told them off before, they said no cash on hand blah blah blah... Hubby in the end also no choice pay for them. Sometimes he'll ask them for the money lah. But there are times I get so pissed is becos sometimes they'll not pay the bill, let it snowball, later tell hubby to help to settle. Hubby see the bills accumulate for mths and dun want the bank to continue charging interest, he'll clear off the bills and my PILs just pretended nothing happen loh.

My mum also told me by rite confinement is 40 days leh. But 28 days onwards can bath. Only thing is best still don't go out and eat proper food, no cold stuff etc. I think if the last 12 days can shower still bearable lah...

She told me after 12 days I can bath with herbs. then every 7 days once. Rest of time only use a towel wipe myself. Haiz... I feel so dirty at the thought. If still have massage, how can we settle this huh?

Kelcqi:
ya..u nod sometimes i'm force to wake up cos my back is killing mi.. n the urge to go toilet makes me irritated... n i thought last trimester should eat lesser but who nod i'm even more easily hungry then before,,,, i put on 15kg at 34weeks... so scary.. now i so scared that i cant regain my figure... sob sob... In dilemma... hope this will end soon but still scared cant cope labour pain.. haiz...

good afternoon,

aiyo, today very jialat..my hse upstair unit doing renovation work, super noisy..drilling here n hacking there, i use cushion to cover my tummy, coz very very loud leh the renovation work

oh ya kelcqi... i found out that backache become worse aft massage so now i dare nt massage.. wat i'll do is to slep on the side that is painful... surprisingly it do help sometimes... i feel myself like elephant to wake up from bed is so tiring...

Kelcqi,
so ur mom dun allow u to bath lar? My MIL modern. Ask me to bath everyday. so every nite she boil the herb thing for nxt moni bath. haha. But oni cannot wash hair nia. So when i hv massage, nxt day wash away the oil can liao. else very oily & smelly leh. What stupid old wives tales that cant bath. Isit last time pple poor, dun hv water at home, so say dun bath.. then become trend liao.

Actually is 40days, but then we keep getting "discount" from the confinement lar. I resume my normal food from 30days onward lor. haha. imagine i can bath. Bath aldy can cause "hong-seep" at old age liao leh.

wow ur PILs terrible leh. I supp my credit card to my cousin also. also never pay full amt. always pay partial. of cos ask her absorb her interest lar. she is ok lar. until 1 fine day, she owe until almost 2k, i call the bank query them why i set limit 1k for her she still can swipe. cos her outstanding comes under my bill leh. meaning she got 1k every mth to use leh. wow sey.. bank leh. the interest is 24% p.a. leh. wait i declare bankrupty becos of her ar. but then i clever, i call the bank to suspense her card liao. haha oni can be activiated back when i call. I wait for her to clear lor. clear liao then i activate back. nw she also scare, bring her card at home also.

Jovial, I also very scare leh. Everytime I wake up feeling hungry, but don't eat, I find it so hard to sleep cos hungry mah.

I feel like an elephant now. Even get down from car, find it so difficult, gotta do it slowly.

Diana, my sleeping pills given to me from KKH not my gynea. I go there for counselling cos earlier on had abit depression, all thanks to my in laws nonsense. So the Dr there knows I have the sleeping pro, and knows that if apart from those aches, sometimes i cannot sleep ended up "Hu Si Luan Xiang" so she gave me to help me regain a better lifestyle. Esp I'm a light sleeper, and my PILs came home very late at 2-3am sometimes from Mahjong, bang here n there, ended up waking me up. So the pill supposed to help me sleep better. But I only took it when I cannot sleep.

Jen, my mum dun allow me to shower. Cos she scare I "Hong-seep" loh. And she told the confinement lady already. Haiz. Dunno how I'm gonna pull through that one mth. Heng got confinement lady to help handle the baby...

kelcqi,
I think it is not safe to take sleeping pill when pregnant leh. Not at all leh. Dun think too much. Wait bb always will follow ur sleeping habit & hu si luan siang also leh. relax.. if at nite cant slp well then catch more slp during the day lor.

Ya lar. sometimes we also thot its better to follow old pple story lor. But then i shall test it on myself. If realli hong seep i wont blame my MIL lar.. i will then tell my gal say becos mommy din listen in the past so nw suffer. If I old liao still kicking fine, i will tell my daughter all these are rubbish. No logic one. even ang mo, japanese, malay & indian also dun follow what. they also as healthy what.

Does any of you experience sudden blurred vision? Today, when I was driving to work, I suddenly had this blurred vision, seeing lotsa bright spots. Got a bit gan cheong, closed my eyes for a while, but the spots still there. Heng, I stopped for red light. After some time, it's ok liao.

Jovial,
I'm having the same dilemma too. I have put on more than 15kg now and I'm only going to 34 weeks.

gina, tink u better call up ur gynae and check. also, tink it is best for u nt to drive first, coz it sound dangerous lor...

kelcqi:
u so poor thing.,.. mentally tortured by ur IL...
I admire ur courage..continue to keep cool ok... don worry ur bb sure very bubbly cos when i had my gal aso gt mild depression and when she is born she is a very bubblyn cheerful ...smtimes old ppl are a bit hard to handle.... juz keep cool okie....
Gina:
haiz.. i now very concerned abt my weight gain.. my gynae said he will start seeing me once a week ...when i have to weigh in the clinic every week.. n it like keep increasing n never go down ..sob ..sob...

Gina,
No leh. I din experience that leh. u may wish to ask gynae is it normal? or isit u too stress or not enuf slp.

I have GD mah. then i sometimes nid to monitor & chart my bld sugar level. So those days i follow strict diet lor. then checkup on Tues my wt seems to drop leh. i machiam oni gain 7kg nia leh. weird hor. then i tell the staff nurse & gynae that i lose weight they say is OK. cos i am getting rid of those unwanted fats.. slowly will gain back one. but i cant believe i ate full 3 meals hw come oni gain 7kg? The dietician told me say normal shld gain 11-15kg & i am still machiam far from it lidat leh.

Today my school here got BHG bazaar sale then i hiao hiao go buy 1 corset leh. to bind my tummy after birth. haha. dunno will be that hardworking anot lar anyway cos scare it restrict my movement etc. or too tight that makes me cant breathe.

was down with pretty bad flu yesterday, today woke up with sore throat.. feeling sick sick sick..

RE: Confinement
Ya confinement is 40 days, but normally after 28/30 days, we will do all the normal things like bathing with tap water. For me during #1, mil just asked me to eat confinement food till 40 days but not really confinement food... hmm how to say.. more like cannot eat liang food and drink cold drink until 40 days are up and when baby full month then bath normally liao. Oh and when i go over my parents place for visit and i come back in the night, she will wait for me to get down the taxi and used an umbrella to cover me and baby during the remaining 12/10 days of confinement. She said due to the dew or something like that, that why need to use umbrella.

kelcqi,

hope ur depression is ok now =)

haiz. ur hubby also caught in between lo, dun sup for them then emergencies how? but sup liao bills ur PIL dun pay then end up ur hubby sure need to clear one...best is to have enuff cash in the bank, if ur PIL needs $$ urgently can use NETS mah...ur PIL also v li hai at act blur le...

my mum also ask me dun bathe with water can only use herbs la and can bathe everyday...but i intend to go against her...hehehe. May so hot...how can dun bathe with water...anyway, my toilet door is glass one then can see thro...so if i wanan use the toilet sure need to close my mbr door...so if i bathe my mum wldnt know also! hahaha. but i think my mum will just give in to me coz i stuborn one. hahaha.

jen,

same as u, if i dun listen to my mum and i kena then i have myself to blame but if nthing wrong then we burst the myth lo! hehehe

Sparks, I bought the tummy support from Kiddy Palace. I find it useful supporting the weight on the tummy at the lower abdomen.

Kelcqi I also take some sleeping pill due to depression and can't sleep. The pill really make me sleep like 20hrs so I change to the yellow flu pill which my Gynae give me and he say is safe for pregnancy. That one I can sleep for at least 6hrs...

muzicgal and jaspire you both choosing which kind of C-section? I will be going for C too and doc say I can start planning on 21 Apr. 1st one I on Emergency C so no time to scare but now I start to feel a bit scare liao.

Gina,
when i went to buy my monthly contact lense, the optician got ask me if i notice any difference in my vision like blurred, which is no. He said our vision may change when we are pregnant. Maybe that was wat you experienced. Take care tho, it's dangerous to drive.

Is it true that the herbs (for confinement bath) needs to be boiled using a pot and that the pot cant be subsequently used for cooking thereafter? I dun wan to waste $ buying the big pot (imagine how many rounds CL need to cook the bath herbs since i use alot of water normally for bathing)

Gina,

Please check with gynae about the spots. Either that cos the way u are sitting in the car or because baby is in a position that might have cut/stop blood supply in some ways. Please be very careful.

Jen,

Weight gain little nevermind as long baby is growing and gynae says it's okay. I had a fren who gain only 5 kg but delivered a healthy baby also.

These few days I also gaining alot of weight. Haiz..and I dun take dinner somemore cos too bloated at nite...instead take bread or light food.

Snoopie,

the modern version of herbs water(for confinement bath) is that CL to boil a normal pot and u mixed with hot water (water heater) to make up the portion u need for shower.

the pot can be used for other stuff after confinment.

U may wanna verify this with your CL.

Re : Confinement

It is good to watch out for your food intake even after confinement especially when you are bfg. If you take too liang stuff, its passed on to your baby and baby will have very watery stools.

Re : shower during confinement period

I showered the morning immediately after delivery. However, I make sure that the water is HOT and I am thoroughly dried and dressed up b4 i stepped out fm the bathroom.

Personal hygience is very important esp you are handling and also bfg your baby. Imagine how much we sweat in this kind of weather, do you wanna your baby to feel your sticky skin when bfg ?

Re : Gaining weight

It is very common for us to gain weight at faster pace during this trimester. Similarly, the baby is gaining his/hers fast also. So don't worry ladies ;)

ant1712,

yes, pls do a good confinement else you sure regret when you starts to feel all the aches. Of coz, one reason for the aches was the posture we took fm preg, fm bfg etc. It can be so bad that you cant even get out of bed independently !

gina,

i do notice that when i wear my contacts, my vision is blurred n i can't read as well as before. but it's ok when i wear my glasses. do take care esp since u're driving.

Jen, "Hong-seep" really no joke one leh. My mum herself very kiasi, she took very good care of herself but still have "Hong-seep". Very terrible one. Come raining days, they are faster than weather forecast. My hubby last time sprain his leg also have abit "Hong-seep", he said the feeling sucks. I heard liao I very scare also. So better take care than I suffer later. No one can bear all these suferings for us one... COmplain also no use.

JOvial, Felval,
I'm ok lah. Although I complaint, but I always tell myself all these sufferings will end in a few mths once I move out. I very bad DIL also. Cos I bitch about them here. Hehe, I even called them pigs cos they sleep so much.

Felval, I suspect my PILs have money in the bank, just that they still purposely use credit cards cos they don't need to bear the consequences mah, who minds extra cash in the pocket etc, except the money is from their own son lah. Their own son suffered to let them enjoy mah. They don't feel any heartpain, I also very peifu them. Thats why I always say they are very selfish parents. My parents heard how his parents behave, they also shake head. My hubby sick, sometimes my parents even cook tonic when he recovers to help him "bu" his health back also. At times I very tempted tell my PILs what kinda good food and tonic my hubby is taking at my parent's place, wondering how will their reaction be? Keke...

Poko, Jen,
MIne is not exactly sleeping pills also. It's a yellow pill meant for neasau but they have dowsy effect, supposingly help me sleep better and still in deeper sleep. SO that when my PILs slam those doors in the middle of the nite, I won't get woken up by them. Esp recently my MIL angry wif hubby for buying me bird nest. Every time slam the doors to show us her anger. Buay tahan. Everyday give black face. But I ignore, hubby n i dine out everynite n reach home after 9 plus. Keke, dun need to face her bo liao temper.

Icebaby, I notice that when I tak bread, I get bloated more easily. Dunno issit becos of the yeast inside or wat. But nowadays I prefer bread to meals. Weird cravings.

Gina, be careful when driving wor. Put a pillow infront of u to protect ur tummy against any impact. NOwadays alot of road bullies.

WOW thread is moving real fast!

Tracy : Bring forward just a day.. i think because first time they take wrong calculations..or maybe i give the wrong date. Forgot already.. like such a long time ago since I found out i was preggie..haha

Moony : Yep, hoping for a natural birth.. Hopefully with no epidural.. Need moral support though from hubby! Anyway if really cannot tahan the pain, then will think abt taking some other pain relief method..

Jen : Yes, I will share with you guys my birth experience.. haha hopefully i will not be tired to update though.. I intend to fully breastfeed also..

Tmr, going to see my baby again.. Scanning, here i come!!

Very fast week 36 already... Hospital bag also not yet ready

Kelcqi,

I have even weirder. Cakes, chocolates, egg mayo bread, chicken mayo bread, chips, pisang, etc. All the heaty things that you can think off. Now I tempted to eat Popeye (can't sp) chicken. It's better than KFC! hahaha

Re: C-Section
I still have decided whether Csection under GA or Epi leh.. I know GA is bad for me and baby, then wake up will feel the cut very very painful... Epi is safer then hubby can accompany me, but.. i scare injection... sobz sobz...

today so happy!!! went to eat buffet... my gynae ask me to eat more, and baby will be bigger size. cos 18 days more to go... now 35 weeks, but baby size like 34 weeks...she give me green light to eat, but still have to control my sodium intake, cos I have preeclampsia.

yesterday i bought this http://english.peopledaily.com.cn/200610/27/eng20061027_315663.html at kiddy palace. It's so cute lor.. tomorrow morning i'm going to kiddy palace and buy one more. hehhehee...

muzicgal
If you choose Epi remember not to move... when they jab. Very impt!

I think I will go for Epi C at least I am aware of what's happening.

After delivery if pain take the pain killer like my 1st gynae say don't be a hero. It is safe for BFing.