(2008/05) May 2008

kelcqi, i oso kena UTI few times liao... very very bad... Full of blood and urine damn pain.
cannot even leave the toilet bowl. Just wanna sit there forever... haiz...

Call her to ask abt her package first loh. Cos she give 7 post natal and 1 pre natal massage wor. Not sure if she has any changes to her package or not. So call her and ask to be sure loh.

Hi Yaoyaomum,

So glad to find someone delivering in RH also, it seems to be the most unpopular hospital in this forum.
I was also told to choose my ward on my next visit. Did they bring u to any hospital tour?
They never bring me to any, so i also dunno how different the wards are.
Actually the diff between 1 bedder and 2 bedder is less than $200, but when i ask the nurse abt the other misc cost, she told me the misc cost will be charged according to the ward u are in.
So now i am still considering.

Kelcqi,
After 28 days can cook yourself confinement food, i think sure got balance meat etc. For me, i thinking to ask my mum cook or order from the natal essentials / new baby. They have 2 wks package.

Kelcqi,

those ingredients can all get from chinese medical halls.

For papaya i heard some say cause jaundice but i think not too many shouldn't have problem gua... My mum used to eat during pregnancy but all kids got no problem wor...

My MIL say i can't drink so much coconut cos "liang", my colleague told me her baby also got jaundice even she took coconut... so i just eat everything in "normal", not too much for any particular food

Winnedy,
I started taking coconut in week 32 during my previous time. Each week i take 2-3 coconuts. Now waiting for 2 more weeks then can take coconuts.

LavenderDreamz,
People were telling me that from week 32 can start to eat "liang" food for "smoother" labour. For #1 labour, my labour is about 5 hours which is consider short for first time labour so is see how much you believe in it.

Hi Kelcqi,
Your last mth is how many weeks?

Take 3 times a week is it too much??

You say last mth cannot take tonic, including birdnest?

jaspire,

her current package to me is $280/7 sessions + 2 baby massage.

Collection $50 first session, remaining end of 7 sessions.

I might not use the baby massage. I didn't know she gives 1 pre-natal..maybe next week when I see her I ask her again. Heehee...then hopefully you (and others) will benefit. =)

LavenderDreamz,

I also dunno wor, but my friend's baby, my boss baby, and a few babies all like cannot sleep well in baby cot leh. Thats why hubby and I also contemplate getting a cot.

Jaspire, I very scared of UTI also. This pregnancy I kanna 2 or 3 times liao, then also virginal infection 2 times. And I am allergic to a common anti-biotics, even my gynea headache when he saw my allergies.
Jaspire, she got give pre-natal massage also ah? SOunds good...

Tracy, can just ask my mum to throw in ginger to the normal meals for the last 12 days? Those confinement so ex lah, I saw natal essentials. I tot of downloading their menu and ask my mum to cook instead. Haha...

Yaoyaomum, so the almonds just tell them is the 2 types issit? Sigh, running nose from morning till now. Feel so sleepy...

Winnedy,

those food that we are "not" supposed to eat initially like watermelon, coconut, papaya etc. As from week 32, baby already more or less going to full term and the organs are more or less matured so we can start to eat "liang" food. From what i heard, is before week 32, avoid "liang" food but week 32 start can eat "liang" food but still it depends on how much you believe la. Cos for me before week 32, i just eat whatever i want but in moderate. I will take coconut when hit week 32 as i dun really like coconut so just drink for the purpose of drinking.

Jer, 32 wks can eat "liang" food already meh? I was told 36 weeks cos its's only by then the baby's organs are fully develop, and thus will not be affected if we take "liang" food.

Btw, anyone knows if we can take birdnest during confinement?

Hi Arielle,

I go to the hospital myself for a tour during the downsympton checks. It's new and very nice with a outdoor park at that lavel.

Also search from other old threads some mummies comments RH offer very quality & good service, so i guess should be ok, just that not so popular. hehe... then we can get more attention too since no problem of crowded with mummies :p.

I guess booking 1 bedded or 2 bedded shouldn't be much difference, tat time when i had tour i saw 1 person in a 2 bedded room, think it is really not popular among locals. When asked when is their "peak" & any fully booked happens the gal who took me for the tour also can not comment.

LavenderDreamz,
I also dunno how much liang is liang. haha.. just to share other stories, my friend sis ate quite a lot papaya and her labour was like 2 hours. Another is a mother of 2, she told me she ate a lot lady finger and her labour ended even before her husband complete the registration for admission.

Kelcqi,
that is what i did during my #1. Ate more "liang" food from week 32 start. I also dunno but then baby not all are born in week 40. From week 36 start, anytime baby will be out to see this world. Then by that time eat like a bit late also, imo. My #1 was born in week 37/38, can't really remember.

Jer,

Hmm, like that means in 5 wks time I can eat more stuff already? Actually now I never really care so much also, got take abit of watermelon juice, but I must say coconut juice does really cause cramps if taken alot. 1 mth ago, I hao lian drank 2 coconuts in 1 short cos I thought sore throat means too heaty, ended up at nite crying out due to the cramp. Think too much le.

Yaoyaomum,

Hehe, thanks. Tml I go to the Chinese Medical Hall to buy.

Dunno what is happening to me. I keep feel like vomiting these few days. Like burp alot. Pass out gas, and feel like vomiting. The satay bee hoon I ate in the afternoon, the taste keep coming up.

Hubby told me to take Yakult. Hopefully it helps. Now dinner time, but no appetite for food. Yakult taste so nice, thinking if I can have it after every meal? Keke.

Any experienced mummies here, ask you all something. U know those Woodwards Gripe water, also known as "Fei zai shui". Now pregnant, since i'm having digestion problems, can I take the water? I used to take those when I was younger, my mum would give it to me when I having digestion problems. Since the water is meant for babies, can I take it now to help with the situation€?

Kelcqi,
I also burp alot. So yakult helps to curb the burping? then i can give it a try!

Talking abt the woodwards gripe water, when do we start to feed the baby with this? My mum told me last time all babies drink tat to clear the wind in their tummy, but she also cannot rem when we shld start to feed our baby with this "fei zai shui".

hello! seems like we are having similar symptoms...either not much appetite or eat liao feel indigestion!

for me is i try to eat lighter meals lor..else vomiting will be a torture

baby cot-- i tink u have to train ur baby to sleep in the baby cot..those parents whom told me their baby dun slp in the cot in x no of mths hor..got habit of putting them in their own bed or other places when slp...

so i tink got to train? anyway i will try to train lor...

Arielle,

Yakult helps with digestion, but I duno if help with burping or not. Can try lah. I wanna take eno initially, but my gynea worried abt the salt content, so advised me against it.

I wanna take Gripe water leh, but dunno can or not? Anyone any advise? Can I take them now?

Arielle, I read from another thread, best advise to give baby is 4-6 wks old, some give before they turn 1 mth. But play safe is after 4 wks lah.

muzicgal..the bed look good leh...

too bad i buy a cot liao..else will consider this...look very easy for us to reach the baby hor!

gals...i wan to ask...do u all feel that u get water retention when u makan salty food?

i had fish n chip ytd..then today i wake up with a slightly swollen right hand! i tink is water retention leh

lucky now better liao

Choc,

I got bad water retention too, and did a test, and doc assume I have mild preeclampsia, tomorrow will be staying at home, cos need to collect my pee pee for 24 hours in a container, then they will send my pee pee for lab test. Now have to monitor my diet and sodium intake. sob sob....

Muzicgal,

The co-sleeper looks good. I showed hubby he finds it nice also. How about we wait until Taka fair, den see how. If nothing comparable to that, wanna organise a spree? See if we can get a better deal out of it if many of us interested. How do you think of this idea?

Choc, salty food does really cause water retention. Thats why my gynea told me not to take eno. But I still find myself having abit of water retention leh.

Kelcqi,

That co-sleeper playpen can buy at Mum and Babes at either AMK Hub or United Square. Cant remember how much le, but they have sales now. You can go AMK hub to take a look, but on display is a mini co-sleeper (34 inches), the original co-sleeper is 40 inches. =)

sian hor... i test water 2 times..both time also kana the water retention...better be guai guai...cant eat so salty liao..

tink we shld reduce our salt intake leh...

coz some of us left 10 wks or so to give birth..heard the last few weeks hor..we will be "swollen"..duno how true!

omg..i cant imagine a swollen me!

Muzicgal,

You have any idea how much it's gonna cost? I think go down and take a look better hor, cos I was thinking of getting a play pen, but the height is an issue. Haiz, headache.

Choc,

Yah, I heard that 3rd trimester water retention will get worse also. I suddenly hoping my poor appetite will continue. Haha, I scare I gain too much weight.

Kelcqi,

I cant remember wor... but I remember not very expensive...I think Original cheaper than Mini.

I swell up a lot... looks puffy... then every night lack of sleep... so tiring...
worry this worry that... haiz...

Muzicgal,

Haha, I also look like a puffer-fish. Or rather a walking pig. Hubby kept trying to console me tell me who and who looks bigger in size, I should still eat more cos not big enough. *faint*

The co-sleeper, does it cost more than 300? Hubby and I looking at a budget of 300 cos still have alot of stuff to get, and our house coming soon, need to plan for reno esp I will not be working for awhile.

Hi Kelcqi/Arielle,

I think 3rd trim will have more apprarent preggies symtom like water retention/swollen/rash...

I have watching my diet since 1st trim, don't want myself look like giant walking on street haha.. So i reduce taking on salt, no sugar soya bean milk, take food which is easy to digest, no coconut milk, eat yogurt more frequent.
All these is to make me reduce the nauseas, i crave for curry chick in 1st trim in the end i puke a few times at night till next day. Since then i watch over what i am going to eat, don't want myself to suffer liao.

kelcqi,

If i not wrong the co-sleeper is ard $199, then I forgot the mattress how much liao.

Hahaha...same same.. my house also coming.. so dun wanna to spend too much $ of the cot. Moreover... I think I wont let my son sleep on the cot convertible to toddler bed lor... abit ugly and boring to see the same furniture. I rather buy a short-term de, then change a new toddler bed. =D

Muzicgal,

Hopefully the co-sleeper is really 199. Haha. Budget budget. Actually I don't mind my gal sleeping on the same bed, at least make her feel more secure. But the thing is my own room at my mum's place during confinement cannot accomodate a bigger cot. Cos have my bed, the CL also sleeping in the room, plus one more cot, and all the furnitures. Very cramp liao. So baby bed now I'll still to a smaller one, go new house then buy her a bigger bed.

Muzicgal, where's your new house? We still waiting to get the keys. Likely to be 4-6 mths time, den reno...

Yaoyaomum,
I salute u for your discipline leh. I eat wat I want to eat this period of time. Except Durian cos my hubby scare baby will have eczema if I eat durian. So guai guai don't touch, but I made him promise me to go for durian after my confinement. Haha...

Good morning girls,

Those who have facebook can add me: [email protected] (please state that you are from May08 and ur ID hor..if not, I won't accept).

Re: Cots

Generally I feel cots are more steady. But then again, some of us prefer the child to sleep on a good mattress (i.e. cost of gd mattress vs a cot). A cot however, helps confine the baby esp when you need to do things (at later stage when they walk and run..but warning some children HATE being in cots, e.g. like my younger son who will "cling" like a koala when he knows he going in there)

kelcqi... i also dare not eat too much durian...becoz scared baby become too big..then hor i end up maybe need c section ah...cant push out a big baby....

but as usual lar..the elders and those outsiders will say...eat more eat more... no need to restrain....

i hate it when they say tt lor...as if i have not been eating.... hai...

good morning ladies.. very sad can't do 4D scan of my baby, apparently TMC's earliest available appointment will be in 2 weeks time and not possible to be on saturdays. in 2 weeks time my girl will already be 32 weeks and scans are usually done from 28-32 weeks. hubby will not be available and i dun wan to go alone, so i'm now blaming hubby for procrastinating!

now can only hope baby will cooperate and at least let us take a 3D pic of her face during my next regular gynae visit..

check with you gals, the prenatal and post-natal massage packages you're talking abt (1+7) is offered by which massage lady? i haven't booked my posta-natal massage and am dying to try a prenatal massage!

Lynn,

Massage lady: Siti.

Girls,

4got to tell you all just in case those who didn't know. (I follow all these crap. But then it's a good bonus for me!)

If u still have ERS shares, you can cash it out as final dividend has been paid. If you dun cash out, government will send a cheque to your home address. But by July 2008 if it is not deposited, it will be void. Amount of $$ will go into CPF. Please go to www.nss.gov.sg to check. Thanks!

wow, this thread is moving real fast...

Hi kelcqi, Lavenderdreamz,
ya lo, my CL got a lot of T&C. My SIL recommended one, she used her before and found she is good in herb, tonic and food for mother. She knows how to make mother to have more breast milk and she is good in taking care of bb during night time as well. i dunno how true, but tried her food when i visited her during her confinement, not bad lo. Before i engaged her, she somemore must know whether i got maid? if not she will not do for me. Cos she said she wont do housework like mopping, and washing so cannnot take those without maid one. At time i do not have one, just me and my hb so now have to get one (not just cos of her la, with one bb around i think we do need one helper though) and the maid will be coming within these 2 weeks.

Yes, i got agreement w her in b&w, when i paid her the deposit she got me sign the contract and list down the herbs and things she will use and and things that need me to buy during the confimement. like very pro hoh.... hahaha..
So i think $1600 is cheap, she charged me $2000 (initially $2100) for 28days. Let me try let you know how good she is then.... keep my finger cross....

morning all.wah. so many postings! =)

Re: Papaya

my mum says can eat wo but eat in moderation la. like once a week or wat coz it really helps in the constipation and replenish of water in our body lo. jaundice or nt, there are alot of other factors ba.

Re: Young Coconut / "Liang" things

taking young coconuts will caused early labour mah? my mum told me only last mth can eat wo...i also v tempted to take but scare it will cause early labour which is wat i am avoiding as hubby will be away overseas soon...

Re: Cot

hubby and me nt planning to buy cot lo. coz likes wat u all says, some babies "reject" cot aft xxx mths...and somemore, buy cot liao if baby outgrow then got to pack n keep it...my hse no storerm so no play to keep unless keep in bedrm so we dun plan to get a cot...that day while reading M&B, saw a cot that can transform into a "normal bed" when baby grows up (but forgot the brand liao) and hence can use for another few more yrs..havent show hubby yet, so sld show him and see if he in interested in it or more interested in the motion bed =)

hi icebaby,

me mountain turtle le. didnt go join facebook coz lazy to maintain another "account". friendster u have? hehehe, me really lives in the age of the dino. hehehe.

Hi Muzicgal,

The co-sleeper playpen looks good. Is $199 the best price? You think if a few of us buy together it will be cheaper?

Also, how can the mattress be adjusted lower to become a play pen?

WCT,

Friendster have.

Winnedy,

Price is okay if it's strudy. But cot can last very long if u have someone to pass. Or else, cheaper alternative, can buy from other people.

My cot was pass down from my cousin-in-law 6yrs ago (after she used for 2yrs+). Then I use for my 2 kids, then pass to my niece. Now it's pass back to me for my 3rd. Hahaha. Very worthwhile hor. Only price change is the mattress change. =)

Jer,
I had ALOT of papayas during my 1st pregnancy but i didn't have smooth labour leh...and my baby ended jaundice for a rather long time. sigh..so this round i never eat papayas liao. but the coconut i will take later at around 36wks or when baby reaches 2.6kg, which is the ok weight for him to come out.

I tot only take those big fresh coconut from hawker centres? Didnt know young coconut from supermarket also can.

But oh well, i guess everything in moderation is best..

Winnedy,

To adjust will depend on that cot u buy. If u buy the type of cot that do not allow adjustment, no way you can bring the base upwards.

hi ladies, long time nv come in.

beri fast, we are mostly in our last tris liao...and for me it is abt another 2 more mths or 11 wks to go.

btw, i hv nt get any ting for bb yet. and was tinking of gng to the upcoming bb fair. btw, does any one noe how many milk bottle does we hv to get? small or big one?

Tracy,

I ate papaya up to 5 times a week during my 1st pregnancy. But baby didn't get that much jaundice compared to my 2nd one. (2nd one I didn't eat much fruit).

For this 3rd, I haven't been eating much fruit. Haiz...need to go eat.