(2008/05) May 2008

Hi mummies...

anyone interested in pre-natal yoga class?

8 lessons for $80 (75 mins a session)
venue: RC/Blk 154 Bishan st 13
pls sms Rita at : 94872845

Jer,
Thanks for the warehouse address. will go and have look.

Icebaby,
Is the "cellnique sebum gel" for the blackhead around the nose area? i am using some of the cellnique products like sunblock and masques found them quite good, and my sis loves their products so much. Can your fren bring in other range of their products as well?

goodbaby,

From what I see, the baby wrap has a small hood. Not very big. So not sure if it's the kind that u want.

Lynn,

I can ask but I need to know what are the pdts and I dun know the price (u can let me know the current retail price and I check if she can give discount). pls let me know asap. Thanks!

Morning Ladies,

Arielle, welcome to the May family! Wow, you baby so big at 27 wks.

Tracy, PM you my address already. Let me know if you've got my msg.

Yesterday went to meet up with the confinement lady with my mum. Gave her 200 bucks for deposit. Ask you ladies, is that the market rate?

Icebaby,
Ok, i am not sure the current retail price cos long time never buy but i will check and let you know, thanks

Kelcqi,
I paid my CL $500 for deposit le, she said is the market price, i also gong gong then paid her. Furthermore,she said she will not do housework for me, only cook for me and hb and take care of bb.

Lynn,

Wah, your CL so many terms and conditions one ah? she got wash your clothes? Actually I thought CL supposed to do housework also? cos mummy confinement, cannot touch water, how to do housework?

You got any written note? My hubby just gave her the money, no written note, dunno she'll appear in the future or not

**Welcome all new mtbs!**

Kelcqi,
Got it
Will mail it to you.

I paid my confinement lady $200 also. Her rate is S$2k for 28days.

Jer,
oh..we missed each other by jus half and hour or so. :p Thanks for replying to Lynn on the Toyogo address. I also dunno the add, only hb knows how to drive thr.

Re: Sealer Diapers
Jus went Giant and saw Sealer diapers on offer so bot one pack of newborn. 48pcs @ $9.99. My fren's using the L size for her boy and finds it not bad can last thru the night.

Hi Tracy, thanks alot once again...

Tracy, what is the market rate for a CL? I came across this thread they were saying paying 1600 for a mth, I thought I was being overcharged. You have any idea how much we need to pay her for the arrival ang pow, and departure ang pow?

Actually I also dunno what's the role of a CL? She also never mention she'll do housework for me. Cos as I'll be staying at my mum's place for confinement, the CL will also stay there. She only mention she'll do the washing for me and baby's clothes, and the cooking only.

Ask you all ladies something, anyone of you buy from Ebay for baby's stuff? I'm thinking of getting the Avent breastpump off Ebay, but dunno in Singapore, will cover the warranty and dunno if the plug will fit. Any advise anyone?

Even the VIA cups all these I did the calculations, seems cheaper since now USD convertion drop. But only worry about quality.

Hi Kelcqi,

I bot Avent ISIS manual pump in Dec, checked the warranty card they are made in UK, it comes with Avent bottles & teats as well. All bottles regarless of size can fit with the pump without adptors. Also read from their brochure all their bottles/VIA cups are standard cap so i think regardless of country they have same standard caps. Not sure as for the warranty if buy from e-bay.

Heard from my colleage that if buy during sales (Taka or Robinson) got around 15% - 20% discount off retail price.

kelcqi,

why not get the avent pump from singapore during sales? sometimes got offer up to 20% leh..u can consider...

getting from overseas i not so sure abt the warranty etc...

dear mommies. its been more than 1 wk that i last logged in. I missed alot of postings which i oni can glance thru.

Sian lor. cos last wk my gal got fever and after fever recovered my gal have rashes after my mil bathed her using bitter gourd boiled water. lucky my gal dun feel "xin ku" lar. fever still can walk ard the whole hse still very active one.

then last visit to gynae my routine test showed traces of sugar leh. then gynae asked me to do bld test. Oral Glucose Tolerance Test. alamak i FAILED the test. gynae asked me to attend a course in KKH on diet leh. sian cost $300+ lucky can fully deduct from medisave leh else i doubt i will go at all. haiz.. nw i very worried leh. scared i will get diabetic cos my mom got diabetics. then my loveeeeeed durian i oni can see cannot eat liao. tomolo is my course @ KKH. somemore 830 - 530pm leh. wow dunno full day class what is gg to be covered...

gd morning girls,

I finally got all my stuff back from my niece. And my hubby FOUND another box that my niece pass us and now we actually have ALOT of baby clothes (including the new ones) *faint

Only left baby tub and baby tummy wrap left to purchase. Also the washing of things. Sunday clear my whole bedroom...now less things. Thinking should I buy a humanizer (can't spell) to make the room smell fresh fresh. =)

morning all, hope the weekend went well for all.

the taka fair has been confirmed to be earlier, form 6th mar till 23rd mar...saw the adv from the latest issue of M&B mag...

also, the latest issue of M&B mag also published wat are some of the items that will be on sales during the M&B fair frm 21st-23rd mar...some of the items are on v attractive discount =) free go chk it out =)

Yeah, i have bought most of the stuffs already, i think i am very kiasu, cos i am worried i might give birth early. I am preparing to washed all baby clothes by this week, hopefully my son's room can be ready by this week. And must packed my maternity bag too, and i am only 31 weeks preg! very Kiasu hor!! :p

Don't know why, have a strong feeling that i will have a early birth, it is true that for second one, will be earlier? My first one i was 2 wseeks early.

mornin mummies

smurferoos- i'm plannin to wash my bb clothes this wk too n to pack my hosp bag. me 32 wks liao, also kept tinkin i'm gonna gv birth early! scared last min alot of things nt yet done =D

Kelcqi,
$1600 for CL now is quite cheap liao. I think the market rate is $1800 - $2000 for malaysian ones cos all those i called quoted this rate.

This CL of mine is recommended by my fren who did the confinement for her a couple of mths back. I made sure she is pro breastfeeding. I also mentioned to her that I ve a part-time cleaner coming on wknds, but she said she will do housework as well, like mopping the floor.

She will wash mine and baby's clothes (i'll probably allow her to use washing machine, jus dun let MIL know), do the marketing for food as well and of cos look after baby. She will also cook herbs for me and according to my fren, this CL very good at cooking herbs.

Muzicgal,
I'm planning to go taka baby fair on 20th March before my gynae's appt in the afternoon.

Smurferoos,
Hmm, if your first one was 2wks early, this one could also be early.

For me, my first one was like never going to come out, so we induce her 4 days before due date. For this one, we will probably wait till he makes his own exit. But when my mum had my sis and I, both also had to induce cos both dun wanna come out. So unlike yours, my fear is this one also get too comfy in the womb and dun wanna come out.

I can't induce cos the first one was c-sect so inducing will increase risk of wound rupture. So it's either straight to c-sect or keep fingers crossed that baby will make his own effort to come out!

hey gals.. morning.. haiz.. monday bluez..
im getting more n more tired to go wk nowadays..
ytd went to suntec for a short while n in the end both my legs hurts.. my hips oso.. argh!!
oh ya.. Baby GAP got sales leh.. mayb u all wanna go take a look.. hehe.. ive bought 2 set of rompers for my bb.. quite cheap..

erm.. can i ask u all.. hw does the leakage of urine feels liked?

Ladies, john little and robinsons will have sale this week (starts earlier for members and open to the public in later in the week).

If the taka baby fair is also this weekend then prob will be an eventful shopping spree for us! me still left quite a lot of stuff to buy, baby moniter, steriliser and also microwave oven etc..

anyway yesterday was my birthday so i chose a birthday present for 'myself' from my sisters. 'myself' cos it was actually a pretty lesportsac bag which i plan to use a baby bag! it has adorable animal prints and it was like the ABCs of animals, quite apt as a baby bag actually. my hubby ask me wat i want to buy for my birthday i also dunno cos my mind is filled with all the necessary baby stuff tat i need to buy.

im in a panicky mood...dunno why.
just feel like im entirely not prepared for the arrival of baby......im really afraid i would go on a mad shopping spree for baby's stuff.....

kelcqi, are you feeling better?

im developing a slight cough and whenever i cough, urine would leak. anybody has any advice?

hi twiiti_bird,

its common to have urine leakage. try wearing a panty liner so even when u leak nt so paisay and lesser trouble? or crossing ur leg when u cough. it works for me =)

hi moony,

me also mon blues...lately been feeling so tired...even sun i went out for bfast cum back i feel so tired...spent the whole day falling in n out of slp...

anyone starting ur maternity leave soon?

felval....

u so fast planning to start ur maternity leave?

me intend early may then take leh..scared wasted if my baby come out in may mah..

then i take in april..will waste the no of days i left leh

felval,
i'm taking my maternity leave from the day i admit to hospital to give birth. decided to 'maximize' my leave. The last time, i took 1 week in advance before EDD and kind of wasted time at home.

I know most first-time mums will be kan cheong and wanna be at home and ready when it happens. But based on experience I heard so far, most labour happens at night esp for first baby. Anyway, if your contractions start when you in office, you will have time to make your way to hospital. Won't be like movies so fast screaming in pain and rushing to hospital.

Just sharing my experience, cos I think good to maximize your maternity leave.

Hey gals...
Do we need to purchase shower tub for baby?
I wonder if the hosiptal will give us upon discharged?
moony:
I do have leakage when i sneezed.. but it only a little bit which will wet slightly,, on my panty liners..

hi moony,

u wan ur baby to come our early i wan mine to cum out on the edd itself (that is, the current edd given..) hope gynae dun bring forward my edd coz hubby will be away frm my 35-38th week =( i so afraid baby will pop out when hubby nt back yet lo...=(

i planning to start my maternity leave only when i give birth le...but duno if i can tahan nt...nw ho, stand abit longer back ache...then keep wanting to slp...even aftnn take a nap at nite i can also fall aslp at 10++ =(

felval- my ML wil only start the day i gv birth but i plannin to take leave 1 wk b4 edd n rest at home. my hb insists i do so cos he's afraid my contractions start in ofce n i may nt get to tmc in time! (my ofce in west side)

icebaby- i intend to take pm leave this fri to go taka bb fair! hehe

heheee...dun take lar...waste the maternity leave...my intention is wait till in pain or water bag burst...then admit to hospital lor..

imagine take leave stay at home (i be all alone)..so boring... i might as well come office...can have pple ard me..at least if i realli suddenly gt emergency, got colleagues ard...

so i guess most likely i tahan till i give birth..maximise mah! heheee...

gd morning,

taka bb fair-- me intend to go this friday..but if Robinson n JL got sale this weekend, may b will go taka fair later, coz so far din shop for Robinson sale leh..but i don think can shop many places in a day, coz very tiring..

Drawer--yest went to toyogo bought 5 tier drawer..initially wanted to buy 4 tier, but hb said 5 tier can store more, if buy 4 tier then later nt enough space to keep bb things, will very" bek chek" hah..but i don like the 5 tier's color..

icebaby--do u mean the humidifier? me intend to buy one, currently looking for philip ultrasonic humidifier, but don knw how much does it cost.Coz i am staying at lower floor, very dusty..

bb stuff--i only left bb cot to buy..this week will try to wash bb clothes, but these few days keep on raining,sian..

Jovial, oh okok.. den even no sneeze oso will exprience some leakage?

felval, hehe.. i hope he will come out early so dat i can c him.. im kinda excited liao but at the same time scare..

ant1712--me most probably will go ard noon..

anyone know where is the cheapest parking ard orchard? coz if go down to orchard on weekday, carpark expensive ho

so excited hor..i wonder who be the first to pop the baby...

i reali hoping by end april the baby b out.. hehehee....cant wait leh... coz i scared hor..if EDD liao still bo news...got to induce...

then i always heard tt induce quite high chance is c section.. (issit true?)

choc,
ya, induce high chance c-sect. Try not to induce if you can...cos induce is VERY pain!! The contraction come straight and to the peak so tendency will request for epidural.

My fren had natural without inducing, she always wonder why i cannot tahan the contractions. I told her, your natural contraction will slowly climb up to peak while induce, is immediately hit the highest!

BUT of course got many others still manage natural with induction lah.

hi Tracy,

i too decide to take only when i admit and deliver...same as u lo, wan to maximise the time spent with my newborn.

is it true for 1st born normally will deliver early?

tracy... scary hor... i tink i will wait till the gynae say die die must induce then i induce...

else ah... kana induce pain for hours and then complication need to c section..i will faint

hahaa

felval,
eh...i heard most first babies come early. but for me...it was not leh. i'm very sure my dates were not wrong cos my period very regular one. so this time round i not getting my hopes up.

ant1712,

I wanted to take MC. But realise that I can't cos I got to collect office zoo card on that day. Haiz.

Tracy,

Not true. Some people actually dun have enough time to rush to hospital. So for those who feel they need to take a rest earlier do so.

piggy_mummy,

Yah..thinking of getting a humidifier, don't know whether it's good to buy or not.

Jovial, mm.. okok.. thanks!

actually i nw no more mood to wk le.. hope i can take early leave to rest but hor i oso dun wanna waste my maternity leave.. haiz.. everyday come to wk i will count down to my EDD.. hope to be early so dat i can rest more n c bb early.. but hor i dunno y the more the days r nearer the more im scare...

girls,

Any recommendation of prams costing less than $100?

I got 1 but it's abit heavy (old - but good quality). Thought of getting another one that's lighter and smaller.