(2008/05) May 2008

Thanks for all the well-wishings. I'm thinking if I should resign or not. Maybe see Monday talk to my boss and see how they gonna treat me first. They ask me to go in 1,3,5, 3 days a week, but likely to have pay cut.

Now salary already pathetic, if pay cut somemore, not worth it cos minus off the transport there etc, i left very little.

My right side lower tummy still abit tight. Dunno what is going on. I very paiseh to keep callng the emergency no of my gynea. Think maybe if really very jia liat then call bah.

taman jrg, think the fair starts 9th, not 6th leh.

moony, PJs for hospital, try getting pants one, but the top hav easy access if u intend to breastfeed in the hospital. For me, I intend to start only at home. Haha. Hospital I wanna rest...

Ask u all ladies something.

What breastpump will you all be getting? My friend said Medela breastpump can pump directly to glass bottle, and she told me if I plan to deliever at TMC, when discharge, ask for ard 4 bottles of milk from them so that can use to store breast milk.

But I'm thinking of getting Avent ones. Likely the Uno or Duo, and get the VIA cups to store milk. Anyone can share with me, if I were to get the VIA cups, will they give me the adaptor to the breastpump so that I will not have to transfer from bottle to the cups if I wanna store the milk?

Sorry for my blurness, cos I went to see, the Via cups they never say got give adapter, but i went to avent's website, they say got give. So now I dunno whether they are giving the adapters or not. I worried abt bacteria if I were to transfer milk here and there.

kelcqi- my fren says the fair date changed to 6 mar leh..
my fren passed me the manual breast pump. wan to use tat n see how 1st. dun wan to invest in electric one thn sekali no bm to pump!

moony,
for PJ, it's more of your preference whether it's pants or one-pc as long as it buttons in the front (for the convenience of BF).

be@ns,
my appetite is also growing. Argh... I put on 2kg in the past week, just for having 3 meals and fruits as snacks.

Kelcqi,
my husband got me the Medela Swing as breast pump @ JL. The bundle comes with milk bags, cooler bag and sterlizing microwave bags.

ya...i've been having this cravings for cheese cakes!! yummmyyy!!! having it for dessert at least 3 times a wk! gosh! but then, as they say, don't deprive a preggie from her cravings...heheee....
but for other meals, i try to eat healthy...no junks at all.

ant1712,
regarding the BM, my cousin assured me that all mothers will have BM. It's the amount that we can produce differ. One fren of mine has been producing BM until now, her boy is close to 2 years old now. Another fren of mine produced too but the amount is very little. So she decided to stop expressing, she sees no point in doing so.

My cousin stressed to me that I have to express every few hours in order to produce more. She also keep stressing that BM is the best I can give to my baby and that I do not need to worry if my baby would be allergic to formula milk. She said that producing BM is a mental thing (what our body tells our brain).

Jus back from check-up and some shopping. Latest update:

My weight gain @ 29wks = 5kg
Baby's weight @ 29wks = 1.56kg

Baby has turned his head down. Hope he stays this way and dun turn back up! Got abit of yeast infection so gotta insert tablets into vagina for 3 nights...hate doing that.

Went to Toyogo to buy 4-tier drawer ($48), multi clothes pegs, laundry basket, pail. Then also dropped by Philips to buy spare parts for my avent manual pump.

Next appt must pay deposit of $1k liao, going to book the room. sigh...$$$$$

Kelcqi,
i've got my avent manual pump, then my fren also loaned me the ameda electric dual pump to try. I not sure if i will like the ameda one, but i know for sure i can rely on my avent manual pump.

Hope you are feeling better today..

I would resign if I were in your shoes, since no maternity leave and the pay is not worth the stress.

Moony,
for PJs, some prefer gown cos they say if wear pants is uncomfy with the wound down thr when natural birth. for me i prefer 2-pc cos i feel looks more erm neat on me when i walk around hospital. cos gotta go listen to breastfeeding n baby bathing demo talk during your stay if at TMC.

Gina, ant,

From what I learnt in Early Childhood Books, "by right" BM is produce by demand also. Like the more you let the baby latch on, the more milk you have. But I also seen my ex colleague, her BM flow reduced and stopped at 2 mths although she latched her baby on every 3 hrs. So I guess theory is theory, people who successfully BF will say the theory works, but on the other hand, there is no promise that every mummy's body function the same way. So I guess we can only try our best to breastfeed, if succeed, just thank God. But if we really don't have much milk flow, try not to put the blame on ourselves also.

My colleague's sister gave birth last yr July, her BM stop flowing at 2 mths also. Alot of ppl did try to blame her, she ended up in depression, everyday crying. But then her doc told her 2 mths is better than nothing, so it took her awhile to get over the fact...

gina- since i gonna be sahm, wil try my best to tbf if i can. heard it's nt easy but goten persereve on.

tracy- envy u! only put on 5kg so far!!
i bot the $48 toyogo cabinet too. keke..

Tracy,

Avent pump more suitable for bigger breast ppl rite? That's what I read in other threads.

I feel like calling the Avent company and enquire on information before the baby fair. So I think better work out a list of what to buy first then go there suddenly get so lost and miss out...

breast pump-- i got hand me down ISIS iQ UNO, plus some VIA cups, so will try to use it

BF--me also will be SAHM, so i hope i can try my best to give my bb "the best"
..i think we also have to look out our diet during BF, try to eat balance diet n drink red date tea to increase breast milk..my MIL is BF supporter, she encourage me to try my best to BF, but she unable to do confinement for me..

bb fair-- hb also will take leave during the fair, hope will not so crowded..

piggy_mummy,
:p never read papers before i went out. nvm lah, buy already, maybe its different size. (consoling myself) dat day saw one $29.90 toyogo 4-tier from shop n save. but its smaller and no wheels.

ant1712,
i put on 5kg in jus 4 wks..so its quite a huge jump. i've been stuffing myself with bread to fatten me up. bread at 9am, bread at 11am, lunch 1230pm, 4pm bread again then dinner 730pm. :p

Kelcqi,
ya, that's one reason why i feel more comfy with avent. for medela, the funnel's too small and my nipples kept rubbing against it and the friction caused sore nipples. my fren's ameda pump came with a spare bigger funnel so hopefully that one works well.

Girls,

Finally have time to come in here. Apparently, my hotmail didn't take down any msgs from this topic.

Been so stress that I had been munching Meiji's chocolates. Now starting to have sore throat.

Have your baby turned? My last checkup on last sat, gynae say baby turned liao.

kelcqi,

take care leh.

Cheri,

Wah, the maternity pad so cheap. Hmm..but abit silly for me to go all the way to KKH to purchase. I hoping tomolo to go to a Mothercare and look at maternity pads and also go to Queen Street to do some buying. Sun going to collect my cots/prams/etc from my niece.

Gina,

Not true on BM. Some people really dun have BM. Like my niece, it never came. =(
But agree that each person has different portion.

tracy- i put on 13kg liao! n stil puttin on
tryin to eat less but so difficult leh. sighz. reali hope can lose all the extra wt after birth!

Tracy, eh.. 2pc is blouse n pants ar??
mostly where u all go buy huh??

ant1712.. ^5 here.. im nt much better den u.. haiz.. i feel so stressed dat later i cannot slim down.. den problem is during my last appt @ week 26, gynae says my bb wts ard 1kg.. which is supposed is less den 1kg.. but my wt already put on 10+ liao.. so i tink im the one who take in all those foods.. -_-" my bb must b a picky eater.. hehe..

Thanks Icebaby...

Tracy, piggymummy,

Do you all know if I buy the VIA cups to store the milk will come with the adaptor for the breastpump? Cos I dun wanna transfer the milk from bottle to cup, and cup to bottle again when I wanna feed. Somemore those storage bottles very expensive, I prefer VIA cups. Any advise?

hi gdame,

ur medala package ho, hw much ah? then can take pic of the box to see see?

i saw one at KKH yest and they were telling me nw got discounts orginial $329 now selling @ $289...

I have read on cook books and online that during confinement, we can drink more of this soup - fish & papaya soup. It is said to increase our BM.

felval,
the medela package was bought at $179 after discount. Actually, it was tagged the wrong price. Keke... Lucky us. I din notice it until we reached home, my husband showed me the price tag on the package. It read : Medela Mini Electric instead of Medela Swing.

me so going to put on weight too...=P

had baker's inn's cake for supper yest, bfast n tea today, hahaha

hi moony,

at 26th week, baby at 1kg sld be normal right?
coz when i was 27th week, my baby weights 1.1kg and my gynae says its normal le.

Hehe,managed to go philips website and got the info I wanted. The VIA cups with adaptors are out of shock at the moment.

Felval, I dun dare to think also. These few days always get hungry bangs in the middle of the nite. Somedays I woke up and make myself a cup of milo. Think I'm putting on weight also

hi gina,

oh. okok. i forgot the one i saw (duno is swing or wat but the person was telling us got 2 modes), nd to ask hubby (my memory lousy la).

will make a trip to JL and see if its cheaper. coz the sales person was telling us the discount was frm medala direct so anywhere also the same.

felval, eh.. my gynae says my bb is normal.. but i hope for my bb nt tooo big.. hehe.. so dat i wont haf difficulties in giving birth to him..
also provided he must b healthy lah..

Moony, Felval

Actually I was told baby size depend on genes also. Me so stressed over baby size cos of my MIL. But later the Doc told me hubby and I not very big size, so baby not likely to be very big also.

Small size baby doesn't bother me also. In fact I prefer baby smaller, so easier to give birth. I dun wanna be like my colleague, baby 3.99kg, totally no strength to push. But she still managed to do it cos my gynea threaten her that if baby still not coming out, he'll do a c-sec for her. She think of spending extra 1k plus, she push with all her might. Haha...

Pooh,

I'm looking for the adaptors the connects the VIA cups to the Avent Pump. I'm intending to get electronic pump, either UNO or DUO. These two pumps comes with bottles, but the VIA cups they have one adaptor that fit the VIA cups and able to connect it to the pump one. Think the one you are using comes with the adaptor.

Btw ladies,
I found this for my homepage. Everytime I on my browser, can see how big my baby is already. Keke...
http://google.baby-gaga.com/

For mummies having Braxton Hicks,

What can I do if my Braxton Hicks contractions are making me uncomfortable?
If you're within a few weeks of your due date, try these measures:
• Change your activity or position. Sometimes walking provides relief, and other times resting eases your contractions. (Real labor contractions, on the other hand, will persist and progress regardless of what you do.)

• Take a warm bath to help your body relax.

• Try drinking a couple glasses of water, since these contractions can sometimes be brought on by dehydration.

• Try relaxation exercises or slow, deep breathing. This won't stop the Braxton Hicks contractions, but it may help you cope with the discomfort. (Use this opportunity to practice some of the pain-management strategies you learned in your childbirth preparation class.)

You may want to find out more from <http://www.babycenter.com/refcap/156.html

kelcqi
the VIA cups per set only comes with one adaptor. unless u buy 2 sets lor..

ladies..
anyone try measuring ur tum?? today i measured mine.. week29+, my tum is 41inches.. gosh~

Hi Tracy,
I went to Toyogo warehouse too!!! What time were you there? I think we bought the same plastic drawer, the $48 one. Also bought clothes peg, multi clothes pegs hanger and hanging rod.

moony,
ya, 2 pc is blouse n pants. can buy from hdb shops selling bras. cheap cheap.

muzicgal,
i'm taking single room. heard there's new deluxe single and super deluxe single but the price difference is like $1k! and there's only like one each on level 4 and 6. i've visited my fren in a room at level 4, newly renovated but size wise same as single, only got flat screen tv and bedsheet nice nice. so i tink not worth bah. the nurse say can go hospital tour and view the new rooms.

Jer,
I was there at about 11am...hehe, we bot almost the same stuff!

ant1712,
my baby is 1.56kg at 29wks my gynae never say too big too.

Kelcqi,
I got the Avent VIA adaptor never used before, think i got it free when i bot something during my first pregnancy. You want? I can mail it to you. I won't be using it. Using milkbags for storage.

Hi Tracy,
Thanks for the encouragement, you are right " God will not give you something you cannot bear".
i am feeling much better now.

May i know where is the Toyogo warehouse? that day i went NTUC Extra wanted to buy the 5-tier drawer, it was about $82. luckily didnt buy.

good morning ladies, finaly the weekend is here! now then gpt time to log in, missed so much of the chat going around here.

last couple of weeks i'l get pain after urinating, but it's like pain on the insides, like feel very tight or crampy. so far this week it's gone so i guess i must be due to the position of the baby pressing on something bah.

this week my rashes came back, plus some acne
belly button became itchy, red and sometime painful. these few days got a bit of discharge from my belly button too, later should be going to my GP. hope to get ointment or something for it.. it doesn't seem serious though, just very irritating. anyone having similiar symptons?

John Little sale coming soon, thinking of buying the Phillip Dect baby moniter set, comes with the baby moniter, a bottle, 2 pacifiers and baby wipes for $161. missed out on the previous better set at Robinsons

That day attended the antenatal class, they were telling us not to buy the breast pump first. For those deliver at TMC, they can let us try a few types of pump (with sterilised), advise us which pump is suitable for us. Cos different ppl have different sizes and shapes. Too bad i bought a brand new Medela Electic Pump (double). I hope it fit me well.

Helow Mommies,

This is my 1st posting!! I have been following the thread for awhile.

Here is my details:
EDD: 28 May 08
Baby: Gal
Hospital: RH
Weight gain: 7Kg @ 27 wk
Baby's weight: 1200g @ 27 wk

Thanks for updating!!

BTW, does any of u have any breathing difficulties?
I started to encounter last nite, and just now also
Need to breath v hard. Not sure if its due to the baby.

Pooh,

I saw the box of VIA cups they selling in 5 or 10, they never stated got give adapter. I managed to call them yesterday. They told me the one I need to get is call Breast Milk storage or Disposable dunno what but all out of stock unless I get the pump.

Tracy, you don't mind mailing it to me? That would be very nice. Thanks so much, me went alot of places all sold out. I PM you my address. Thanks once again. Hehe...

Anyone of you feel like vomiting when u squat down?

I went to the Queen Street Shop today. I agree the baby clothes there are CHEAP. Quality abt the same as those you find at John little (which cost $3.90 and above) but they sell at 6 for $10 or 12 for $20!

Bought bathing towels for my older kids too.

Baby wraps cost $8/wrap. Cloth Nappy $3.50 for a pkt of 12 (I think it's 12...forget liao =P )

End up spending $72! Hahaha

By the way, is anyone here using "Cellnique Sebum Gel"?

I just started a spree on another site (to close on Tuesday 4th Mar 6pm).

Retail price is $69.90 (from Sasa)
Price discounted: $52.
**I got a lobang (direct from Malaysia. I bought early this year and she bring the supply out for me.

If you are interested, let me know asap okies?

Halo Areille,

Welcome to the thread.

I'll be delivering at RH too. Have you decided which type of room to book? I have to book the room for my next visit but can't make a choice yet though I have the tour to RH delivery suite before...

just attended mrs wong class..and bought some towel, bath cloth and bb wrap,the quality are quite gd..she encourage us buy bb clothing or bathing towel in white color, coz no coloring is the best for bb skin.she also mentioned don buy those destin cream on urself, unless bb got rashes then the cream will prescribe by doc, coz she said those cream are very strong for bb skin..she said buy barrier cream ok liao, nt so strong..

Arille,
I am also experiencing difficulties in breathing these few days. Gotta breathe in hard. It seems worse when I lie down to sleep. I ended up snoring. I am also feeling abit dizzy, not sure if it's due to the breathing difficulty or is it something else I need to get help.

I am also burping alot today.