(2008/05) May 2008

Jer,

How much does the cake package from sweetestmoment cost?

I got quite alot of people to give (around 30++, not including colleagues)..so cost is always a factor for me.

Winnedy,
its not bad lah, its quite normal in 3rd tri but it should be scattered and irregular. if it is regular, then need to get it checked.

tracy,

sorry, can illustrate more on cloth diaper? the outer covering u mentioned izzit those look like pant with a"net" inside? do we need to wash the waterproof covering?

Jer, i like the packing but hor sooo ex..

Tracy, die le.. i dunno hw will it feel liked..
haha.. if really gt contraction mayb i oso blur blur dunno.. -_-"

full month cake--

who shd we give? to those who give ang pao to us but din attend the buffet or to give all the guest?

i think i will buy bengawan solo voucher, easy..

i think is to those elders (relatives etc)...

same as the wedding cake lar... to put on a show for the parents and in laws...if can do without..best

hahaaa

winnedy,

thanks. Cos just now when I click the link, it showed SERVER ERROR...quite a few times, hence posted the quesion on the price here. =)

piggy_mummy,

Different people give to different sets of people.

For me, the 30+ is just relatives. Then the remaining is colleagues (I won't buy vouchers for colleagues cos my dept itself has more than 40 pple...so I will just buy fruit tarts and a couple of cakes...easier. But of course, for my boss, it's 1 box for him)

Re: BH,

is the contraction involves the whole tummy or juz lower part? when hvin intestin infection, my stomach, starting from the middle get tightens n bcome v v pain. tot was the tummy upset issue. but now readin that tracy ones so painful tat cant walk. sound similar to the pain i had the other day...

tot the full mth cakes for those who gave angbaos after the delivery? then full mth, will give the voucher/cakes to these ppl?? still need to give elders when the relatives will come for the full mth celebration???

winnedy,

See how lor. Maybe hubby will take leave on the day to deliver to my office? Or else I drive down myself lor.

Cos 70% of the cakes for relatives for hubby side is collected on the day they come. While my mum's side, we "dun invite" them cos my parents dun want me to invite them (due to cost - angpow, + travelling issues)...normally either my parents collect then do the deliveries or I guess I can send to them since i making a trip to the office (nearby)

Winnedy,

so far those i received the vouchers, usually not on the exact day of full mth, juz near the date (before or after also have). my boss early tis yr also gave a full mth party at his home. those who given angbow during the birth, were invited to the party wor.... then they juz makan without the need to buy anything lor....

winnedy,
me too. Really like the whole packaging.

moony,
ya.. will be ex as compare to those normal packaging one but if compare with those fancy packaging one from other companies, sweetest moment consider one of the cheaper one.

Full month cake, i will only give to relatives. It will depend on individual too. Some will give their frenz and colic too. Some they will have full month buffet or dinner and will not give cakes.

Hi Friesbandit,
I saw that website too. But was worried abt the arrangement when u open up the box. Cos tot that sweetmoment got the "partition" and also i like the "handle"!!

Hi friesbandit,

I saw the website too but considering ppl nowadays don't like to eat the "red eggs" & ang gu kueh anymore, it'll b a waste lor. Last time i receive a full month box packed with "chocolate eggs" instead of "red eggs", cum small little teddy bear. Very nice!!! got to go home & find out the shop's name later :)

I heard from my colleague, she said we dun need to give to fren since we are inviting them to the full month celebration & since we spend on the buffet already.

But I think we should give to relatives eventhough we invite them to the full month celebration.

I went to so many fren's bb full month, I didn't receive any full month cake from them, just go for buffet, only 1 when she didnt invite us for the celebration.

Hmm... do we really need to give to collegaues in the office? which mean we need to go all the way down to company during maternity leave to give the cake?

There are so many different opinions & which is the actual one... I am also confuse now...

girls,

morning!

porky,

Who you give cakes to really depends on your family. For me, I feel obligated to give to relatives and colleagues (dept) and plus those ex-colleagues who might give ang pow.

Jer,

I think I saw somewhere else (maybe yahoo auction) where there are people making personalised kitkat bars and it's cheaper than the other site quoted. Actually the way they do it isn't difficult, just need the time to do the printing and re-pasting. =P

RE: 1st month
I guess it all depends on people. I know my family side prefer to eat the cake + angkukueh + egg rather than having nice packaging. Also to whom to give, also depends on your family and your preference. You do not need to follow what others are doing. =)

moony,
dun worry, when the contractions come, you will surely know one. some like my frens can go thru pregnancy without any BH contractions at all.

piggy_mummy,
yes, its with a net covering inside. I have 2-3pieces cos still need to wash it. It will get wet on the inside also, but just that the waterproof covering outside prevents it from wetting your bed. Sometimes poo also gets onto it. So muz wash. Need to standby 2 pieces to interchange.

poky,
for me, tummy upset pain is just below my breasts, i tink where the stomach is? Cramps is lower lower down.

Re: 1st month
I also never go round distributing to relatives...aiyo...can faint ah, if need to do that. For my office, I brought my baby and brought along some muffins for them to eat. Cos some sales staff 'pantang', dun eat full mth things. So i jus take it like buying breakfast for them.

thanks icebaby! very helpful...next time can just check back the archives for this thread to get a full list.
i've not seen Blossoms before...but they look like a nicer version of Melrose (which my MIL likes coz is "traditional"). maybe can give it a try for relatives. Anyone tried their cakes before?

got new brand of diapers and wet wipes from japan. can request sample. jus register online. i jus did. www.diapers.com.sg

brand is GOO.N

My SIL's fren tried and preferred this compared to Nepia. Price is also cheaper!

oh i received my free sample some days ago. maybe i'm not used to seeing NB size after seeing XL size for so long... but it looks so small! it's pretty thin also, like Huggies Ultra, and the tape is reusable, not like Drypers. it also has the wetness indication line, which i like. on the whole, it feels pretty soft. the true test is of course... does it leak! haha
if u refer a friend, you get $3 off your next purchase, and your friend gets $5 off her first purchase.
but their goo.N NB size is OOS though. Bummer.
any reviews on their baby wipes? their refills are cheaper than Pigeon ones... quite tempted.

friesbandit,
you tried liao ah? I requested an L size to try on my gal first see how long it can hold pee and the quality. Ya, their NB size and wipes are OOS.

The wipes are so cute! Wat i like is no alcohol and paraben.

Will wait for stocks to come in then try one batch.

Tracy, i haven't tried it... my boy is already toilet trained...so no chance to try the XL size on him. =) you let me know if it leaks on your gal ya?

hellow.... mummies

kinda busy with my personal stuffs morever my hubby is away and I'm staying at my sis's place - therefore, no PC!? Therefore, cannot login.

Wow! so many postings to catch up.

Anyone going for the JL sale? 4/3 - 6/3 15% discount for diapers (cardmembers).

btw...anyone knows what TMC will give you upon your discharged? I ustd that other hospitals do give bath tub, towels, etc.
Cos i don't want to buy unnecessary stuffs.
Thnks.

hi Mummies,

just to share - Goon is going to change their prices this friday to $15 per pack from $13.80 (that was a special offer price)... So if you are planning to order from them, better order before friday.. i.e. today...

ant, me no swollen feet wor. You got to drink more water and raise your feet whenever possible. That will help in easing the swollen feet.

be@ns, TMC gives the leftover diapers, a baby bag, a set of baby clothes/mittens/booties which the baby will wear out, a baby shawl/wrap. can't remember whether got towels, but no bathtub.

jaspire- i drinkin alot of water alrdy ah! n put a small stool below my desk so i can rest my legs. stil swollen leh
my fren told me to put pillow below my leg when sleepin, wil help too.
hw u feelin? recovered?

ant, i oso have pilow below my leg when sleeping.
But its became more like bolster. LOL.

Me still down with flu... already more than 2 wks liao. My ribcage is hurting so much everytime i cough and nite time cant sleep well. Haiz... just hope over the wkend will be better. I wanna go back to work leh... else my boss will jump at me... I have been on MC for quite some time liao wor...

i think MT A give bath tub, TMC not..

tracy,

thanx, btw, will bb feel ot after wearing the pants?2-3 enough? easy to dry after wash? haha many question...

thanks friesbandit...guess i hv to buy everything in a pair, since i hv to provide a set to the babysitter too.

is pigeon steriliser a good buy? cos i'm gonna use Nuk bottles...does it fit?

Any idea where to get cheaper adhesive Maternity pads? So far i been shopping around only seen $5.70 for 10 pads at Old people's park. Any cheaper source?

hey gals.. so sianz.. i feel so tried everyday.. haiz.. does anyone feels the same as mi??
my tummy feels funny oso.. dunno wats wrong wif mi..

moony, i also feel increasing tired nowadays. also sometimes very warm, take off jkt, cold again. wear back, warm again. =( wat u mean by tummy funny?

poky, i nv wear jacket already very hot.. i tinkin of buyin mini fan to put @ my office.. argh!!!
oh my tummy funny = dunno is it ache.. or contraction or bloated.. cos i feel very xin ku..