(2008/05) May 2008

LavenderDreamz,

did ur fren tell u how big is the portion?
I scare big then I waste food.

Hey, take care hor.

Just weigh myself...I just put on 1kg! Argh

Icebaby,

my fren said portion is abt 1.5 person's share. her hubby can eat but not filling for him. + it was too heaty for him. you can consider la, take a look at the menus. if you sign up 1 mth before delivery date, thk there's 10% disc.

1kg is not alot la, dun worry.

Hi jaspire,
Why dont you try chinese tcm? less taxing on your body and harmless to bb. western medicine quite strong. take care.

Hi kelqi,
you so cute. try to get yourself occupied with new something or getting started for bb. sometimes hu si luan siang and gets moody is due to too much free time.

LavanderDreamz,

Cos I dun eat much. I thought of ordering just lunch but split it to lunch and dinner. Still contemplating leh. Then worse still, alot of things I dunno how to eat. Hahaha

Yaoyao Mum,

Welcome

yaoyao mum,

icebaby,
i also thinking whether to order another 2 weeks of confinement food after my confinement lady leaves, to make it a total of 40days of confinement food. Thereafter, i'll be ordering delivery lunch/dinner too while i'm on maternity leave. I'll order only one meal cos i heard portion quite big.

the confinement food have you tot of which company? i've heard of natal essentials and newbaby.

Tracy,

Same here. Online can only see natal essentials and newbaby. Others seem must call. =(

But so far I heard natal essentials got praises. Newbaby...dunno leh.

Got other companies like red dates and homely..but they no website. Dunno how is their food.

Re: Bloom photography
-------------------------------------------------
LATEST LATEST UPDATE: LAST CALL!!!

***** BP is closing TODAY 27th Feb at 5PM. We have reached 15 mtbs, any mummies interested in the BP but has not contacted me yet may do so at [email protected] *****

*** Mummies who have signed up with me but yet to pay the deposit please do so by TODAY 27th Feb also. For whatever reasons that may cause you to delay your transfer please email me and let me know. Thanks ***
-------------------------------------------------
Will need minimum 10 MTBs for this BP to take off. They are offering us for the same price at $160 for 1 super 8R photo, 5 5R photos and extra 3 more 5R for this BP. For photos that are selected, the soft copies will be given back to us. For mummies that are interested in keeping all the photos taken during the photoshoot, you may also purchase a CD with all the shots taken on that day for $250 if you are a forum member which we all are here...

If there are more than 15 MTBS who sign up for the bloom BP, the CD containing all the shots can be bought at $200 instead of $250. If we only have 10 mtbs, the previous offer still stands

You may refer to this link for their pricing details http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/rates/TSLoftRatesY9T04N7.pdf

To look at their work you may go to:
http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/
or
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/594409.html?1164635256

** Do check out their biz thread (link provided below) in the forum, They have just posted some new Bloom photos **
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/586645.html?1203572993

** All mtbs who participate in this BP will get 20% discount off the basic package as a returning customer if they bring their newborns to studio loft for Little big shot photoshoot in future. Check out their photos for newborns and infants**
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/586645.html?1203575836

Mummies participating
-------------------------------
1. Amy (Apr mtb)
2. Yo (Apr mtb)
3. Gervynne (Apr mtb)
4. Wish Come True (May mtb)
5. Piyo (Jun mtb)
6. Veniz (Jun mtb)
7. Mogudog (Jun mtb)
8. Chewy (Apr mtb)
9. Jer (?? mtb)
10. Juin (May mtb)
11. Serene123(Apr mtb)
12. Jellyfield (Apr mtb)
13. Pinkbunny (Jul mtb)
14. Prawnie (Apr mtb)
15. Jia Jia (May mtb)
16. Eifrus (May mtb)

***Anyone else?? BP closing TODAY 27th Feb 5PM!!!***

gd morning ladies...
i'm also thinking of ordering confinement food rather than depending on my MIL. do the companies also provide normal meals for the rest of the family? Or do we have to order separately from another company? ...am wondering whether my poor HB gotta eat confinement food with me too! then must order 2 portions?

friesbandit,

I found a blog where show the serving for New Baby.
http://camemberu.blogspot.com/2008/01/what-i-really-eating-this-month.html

Natal Essentials also provide other services which has tingkat catering.
http://www.natalessentials.com

New baby
http://www.newbaby.com.sg/
-> Don't seem to see any link for any other tingkat.

I debating whether to try to cook for myself. Just need to make sure I know what pork to buy (cos I seldom cook) and what fish to buy. The stir-fry part I not worried cos I intend to either just put everything in claypot and cook or steam the fish and eat with rice. Haiz..need to bug my mum to ask her.

hey gals.. morning.. so tired nowadays.. n feel hot easily.. so sickening.. furthermore.. i din noe dat week 28 is starting of 8th mth.. pengz.. i tink im really blur.. i still tot week 28 is starting of 7th mth.. -_-"

oh...i also tot 28weeks is starting of 7months. :S

icebaby, friesbandit,
i'm in dilemma whether to cater or ask my mum come over help me cook. the cater also not cheap sia...

haha.. ytd i happen to saw those maternity scrap book den it stated 8mth starts frm week 28.. den i gt a shock.. so whole of 8th consist of week 28/29/30/31.. haha.. dunno hw they calculate.. but i tink i better follow by weeks ba.. easier..

natal essentials got q alot of praise in the forum. my fren went with newborn, which some pple say is too bland and tasteless for them. it was ok for her tho. she suggests to order a 1-day trial meal to see the portion and whether the food taste suits u. some pple r used to healthy, wholesome food (the more bland type) but others need more flavor.

icebaby,
i thot of cooking too but i thk it'll be quite effortful leh w/ bb and all.

Tracym

Same here lor. Either ask mum to cook or cater. Cater expensive.

Last time had my grandma-in-law and the maid...at least both of them can cook WELL. This current maid in the house SUCK big time. Now even dinner, most of the time I eat only 1 dish out of 3. N everytime she cook fish soup, I cannot eat. I told my MIL liao...but they say no leh...I must be sensitive because I preggy! I so fed up of my MIL. Cos i can eat fish soup outside OR even those my mum cook but just hers! Even my mum cannot tahan the fish soup.

I dun trust my MIL...this time around she cannot be bothered with anything. I already bugging her for the maid bio-data..till now NOTHING. Then I already push my hubby to push kids to another room. Till NOW nothing also. I say I dun want everything last minute!

Lavender,

I thinking maybe to either get first 7 days or 14 days. Then later cook after that. At least the expenses won't be that high. Or else cook simple dishes like:

- Sesame Oil chicken/Fish/Pork
- Steam Fish with lots of ginger
- Stir Fry Ginger with chicken
- Steam chicken with black fungus
- Mee Sua Fish/pork/chicken with rice wine
- etc.

Cos I am capable of just eating 1 dish + rice. Now I asking around for what sort of fish & pork to buy to cook the abv (pls. note: I dun really know the recipes either, so i might be trying to cook something during these few remaining weekend...cos I dun cook often AT ALL).

icebaby,

for fish, u can buy threadfin, gd for bf..as pork, u can tell the pork seller u want the pork for stir fry, so they will cut n prepare for u..but i think if u cool urself abit tough leh, coz have to do washing afterthat, n somemore very oily..

Girls,

For each month, this is how I calculate out the 40 months

(A) 1st Trimester (13 weeks)
1st month - Week 1 to Week 4
2nd month - Week 5 to Week 9
3rd month - Week 10 to Week 13

(B) 2nd Trimester (14 weeks)
4th month - Week 14 to Week 18
5th month - Week 19 to Week 22
6th month - Week 23 to Week 27

(C) 3rd Trimester (13 weeks)
7th month - Week 28 to Week 31
8th month - Week 32 to Week 36
9th month - Week 37 to Week 40

Make senses?

piggy_mummy,

I stay with in-laws (who both work) + maid. Washing isn't an issue cos got 1 maid at home to wash up. I dun like her cooking and she cannot be bothered to watch what I cook or even my mum cook (when my mum around).

I still debating whether to get another maid in April or somewhere in June. Cos this is requested by my MIL. She feels that 1 maid cannot cope with the kids + housework. (Imagine my younger son is in childcare full day, older son in PAP morning till 12pm and he sleeps from 2pm - 5pm, my FIL works part-time from 9.30am to 3/4pm..on most days he doesn't work)

icebaby,

ya the confinement food delivery is quite ex. also thkg of getting for 14 days only. some ladies might find it heaty after 2 wks even tho they just gave birth, so 2 wks seem a better bet than full mth order.

actually the dishes u mentioned r not too difficult to cook but just time-consuming. + with stir-fry, u would feel sticky and "gao wei" lor. sometimes after cooking, i'm too tired to eat much already. hv to consider this part...if it's ok for u, then definitely there's gd cost savings.

Lavender,

Actually I dun think I will stir-fry much. The most fry for less than 2 mins, then throw into a claypot and cook. Either that or just stew the food.

I guess depends on the situation. I must see how the birth goes. Now I only worried about the "cutting" of my skin tag. Seems to have grown bigger! Next check up will need to check with gynae again. Abit worried.

w/out frying shd be much better.

skin tag supposed to be easy to remove even during or after preg. common w/ hormonal chgs in our body. no worries, it's not dangerous or anythg.

LavenderD,

The problem is my skin tag is exactly where the "tear or cut" will be. So gynae says he can remove on the day of birth. But it also means it will tear when I am dialating. So 100% confirm this time around will need to use epidural. Oh, the skin tag isn't small, it's pretty big.

Lavender,

Skin tag is outside but it's exactly at the place where the "tear/cut" will be. (Already very detail description...hahaha)
Not possible to be removed before that.

Gina,

I should be ordering from Melrose for 1st month. But during the 1st month celebraion, now thinking which caterer to use. SO far I have been using YLS catering for almost all birthday celebration cos we like the orh nee, kong ba bao, pineapple rice, curry, etc
Moony,

Skin tags are harmless. *thank goodness*

mtb--i got a question here, if we decided to let bb wear cloth diaper, do we need to buy those like bumwear(or don know waht pants)? i thot only use liner then wrap bb with cloth diaper.if have to wear those pants, how often do we need to change the pant?

moony,

Neogarden is good...but I heard their halal group is slightly better (Delihub).

YLS depends on ur liking lah. It's definately not as good as neo garden (that I can guarantee) but it's cheap and portion reasonable. Only problem is alot of items is fried. So normally I will choose items that aren't "fried" and slightly better.

Melrose also the cakes and fruit tarts are nice. But cannot compare to some more expensive establishment. I more budget conscious. Hahhaa

Hi, ANyone knows how we count Bratox Hicks?

One tightening consider 1 time or a series den consider 1 time? My tummy very terrible, feel so tight now. I dunno how to count.

Today the clinic not open somemore...

piggy mummy,
i used the cloth nappy with an outer covering, waterproof type to wrap on top of the nappy with velcro fastening. Can get from departmental stores.

Kelcqi,
For me, when the tummy starts to tighten, i time how long it lasts. Usually few seconds. Then it will relax. Then when it starts to tighten again, i count that as second time, and I will note the time interval between the first and second tightening.

having tummy tightening a few times a day at irregular intervals is quite normal.

if your interval is very close and regular, best to go hospital to scan. my clinic nurse told me if clinic not open, i can head to TMC hospital where they can hook me up to CTG scan to monitor and they will call my gynae too. Can you do that?

i tink is ur tummy suddenly like tighten...very very xin ku one..i experience once a while..then i breathe in breathe out to relax...

for the cake hor..i will be ordering from KYO cake house...the cake not bad...and cheap..the buffet i also ordering from them..

coz last time my wedding buffet and cakes all ordered from them..since then, when i got house warming i will order buffet from them...

i stick to melrose I guess cos they have the fruit tarts which we like. Heehee.

How's the buffet from KYO? Good? Their menu under construction leh.

moony, beans,
your tummy will tighten up and feels hard. at this stage now, its still mild. my previous pregnancy at week 34-36, those BH contractions i had was so pain i can't walk. and it happens mostly at night.

Can I know how many boxes do pple usually order?

Are these cakes for relatives only or friends and colleagues as well?

Do we have to delivery to relatives like Guo Da Li?