(2008/05) May 2008

i'm also feeling very hot these days. when outside keep perspiring. at night my hubby also covered up with blanket while i'm not.

hmmm..i've jus started my shopping. cos of my elder gal, i can't go shopping anytime i like also. on wknds can only go shpg between 1pm-3pm then head home for her nap. :S

moony,
same here...everyone says 3 more mths will pass quickly. but i thk for the mommies who hv to lug the heavy tummy everywhere, 3 mths seems v looooong... maybe the cramps we're feeling might be our insides stretching to make more room for growing baby???

moony,
the last time i had those constant cramps, the clinic nurse told me cramps at lower tummy still ok. its only if it starts from top tummy then radiates to the lower tummy then we need to monitor timing.

so long never login. Been busy with my #1 since I am temporary SAHM right now. I have started washing baby clothes and will start to buy baby bath items and etc.

I went to buy mittens and booties from the shop at Queen street. Managed to ask the auntie there if can take the pink colour mittens and booties out and change to blue which she gladly did. So if any of you going there and buy, can try to ask if can change a not.

These few days really feeling so hot and get tired very easily.

Cheri,

I think the Baby Fair is confirm. On the 9th.

Anyone of you heard of one pigeon sterilizer that can convert to food warmer and bottle water?

Dunno which website, I saw it, and I thought might save money if buy convertible one instead of buying food warmer and sterilizer seperately...

Jer, I woke up in sweat last nite. Found it so hard to sleep nowadays. Now backache leh...

Finally woke up after my visit to polyclinic. hvin diarrhea for two days liao. each day lost 1kg. think i no need to worry abt weight increase when i go c gynea this wkend..... those i added since last visit alrdy drop liao. but tummy v v pain. so painful that i cried in the toilet when one of the pain started. =( doc says most likely intestine infection. but hear the bb heartbeat stil ok. phew... but she also concerned that the severe pain might induced early the bb.=( gave me a referral letter to A&E if condition worsen. now keepin fingers crossed tonight get better... tmr can continue to rest since got 2days mc. =p

like u gals, also got nightmares often. sometimes i lost the bb during miscarriage, or screaming while in the process of delivery, etc,,,, really scared of anything goes wrong as edd comes nearer... =( told my hubby, he also only says think too much, then end of story... sigh.

Kelcqi,

I think we like same same leh...i oso feel hot, and i must on aircon to sleep... then my hubby say he actually prefer fan, because of me have to on aircon...then he will wrap himself like popiah in the blanket, left oni a small portion for me... then sometime suddenly feel cold, must use pillow to cover myself. nowadays.. sleep very few hours.. am feeling very tired... everyday sleep at 12am or 1am, then wake up at 3am to pee, 5am to pee and feeling damn hungry... then daytime still have to work very long hours... very tiring... sometime tired until chest can feel the tiredness.. and very chuan...

Ladies, I found one checklist. Looks comprehensive to me.

http://www.mumcentre.com/essentials/baby_checklist.htm

poky, try to drink more water. And rest well k.

Muzicgal, I dun need the quilt. Hubby can have it to himself. I'm using a towel as blanket now, even that, I find it warm when I cover myself sometimes. I try to go on without air-con still. If really cannot tahan as the weather change, I'll on the aircon.

Me having backache, dunno issit lack of sleep or wat. And feel like vomiting the past 2 days. Today I cannot stand the neasau, I went toilet and force myself to vomit to feel better...

Girls,

I read my "bible" (book: What to expect when expecting), they mention 1 question on the nightmares. I see if I got time tonight, I go home and type the whole section. It is a norm that we have these dreams. So dun worry.

icebaby,
the book is really a very good bible hor..i bot it when i was expecting my first and till now still referring back often.

the shop at Queen street is Shen Kwong Trading at 269 Queen St #01-246. I've not been there so gotta ask the other mummies how to find the shop cos they said quite difficult to locate.

Hi Winnedy,

It is really difficult being a SAHM, the lucky thing is that my hubby is very generous, he doesn't really care how i spend my money but like always, cos i am not contributing to the income, i can't really buy things for myself like i used to.

Also like what other mummies said, you don't really have any 'me' time, cos you are at home most of the time to look after your kids, the only time you have is when they are asleep. it is hard to go out alone with hubby too, the only alone time we have now is when my daughter is asleep and at night when we watch tv together.

but this will pass, soon they will go to school and yo will regain your freedom, meanwhile, try to keep yourself updated on what's going on, else it's true, you and your hubby will not have anything to talk about but your children. Good luck in deciding!

Piggy mummy,

Me too i am looking at ways to supplement my income, any good lobang please inform me. Thanx

hi kelcqi,

dun worry ah. u nt siao. sometimes i also throw temper at my hubby for no reason =) but i will apologise to him and tell him i dun mind it just that i became v agitated all of a sudden. i think they will understand if we explain/apologise to them.

i think edd approach, we get more scared and worried abt anything and everything from wondering hw is baby doing? will baby be healthy? wat things i have yet to buy? will i be able to take the pain? there are alot of physical and mental changes happening to us so we tend to be more emo...but try to keep positive as much as possible. =) there are a grp of mummies here who is willing to listen to u =)

ya, i think recently the weather has been v v hot!!!! i also perspire alot more....in fact nowaday i on aircon everyday as long as i am at hm lo! another reason cld be as we are in the 3rd trimester, with the baby's weight and body temperature we feel hotter than usual. aiz...think my this mth utility bill sure increase alot liao...

hi peace(II),

ya lo! when baby kicks me lesser i also bcum moody...ask myself why baby kicks lesser...then when i tell my hubby my hubby was like """argh...baby also need to rest le..." hehehe

choc,

hehehe. u so cute! that is not violent, its wat my hubby call MUMMY'S INSTINCT!!! hahaha. i also like that mah. when ppl swing their bags at me or try to push their way through me even though i already use my hands or arms to "protect" my bump, i will push their bags away or use my bag to block them then give them a murderer stare. hahaha. ppl nwadays v jialat one lo. seldom see ppl give way to pregnant women liao...

hi moony and LavenderDreamz,

i v funi lo. when ppl ask me if i cant wait to give birth coz they say 3rd trimester is hell, i told them no lo. i like the way it is now =) baby is with me 24x7, can feel his kicks and movements...and that makes my day =) even tho its v heavy and uncomfortable at times but i wldnt think i cant wait to deliver =P

hi poky,

drink more water and eat plain food so it dun irritates ur intestine =) get well soon!

anyway, thank God it rained sooo heavily last nite =) now the weather is so cooling. hope it remains this way throughout the day so i dun feel so hot when i go out for lunch! hehhee

icebaby/tracy- i readin the same book too! reali v informative

which brand of maternity pads is good? hv u mummies bot pajamas?

felval- i cant wait to gv birth cos i cant wait to stop wrk! wahahah.. so sick of wrk alrdy. i'm also enjoyin every moment of bb's kicks. sm times wrk til so sianz n he gv me a kick or make sm movements, i feel so happy =D hahah

feval... yalor..i hate it when these pple try to push their way thru when they obviously can see my big stomach..cant they give way... even if dun give way., dun push me lar... wait i fell how... alamak..

some are worst...push and use bag to squeeze..tts when i get fed up and push back..ehhee.. (my exercise does give me extra strength to push and the stability to remain standing when pple push me... haha)

but i am violent.. my hubby even tell his family tt he no need to worry me when on crowded train.. coz me is the type an eye for an eye... i wun let pple off if they "bully" me.. hahaa...

oh ya...regarding diaper rash ointment hor.. i just make an order from the overseas spree for the Desitin Creamy ..
haha..i ordered 5 tubes...KS man... better order now than nearer to due date... wait pop anytime then siao liao

hey gals.. morning.. so cooling nw.. last nite when i reach hm i kept sweating.. ARGH!! cannot stand it.. even my air con is 20degrees i still sweat in the end i on my fan n blow directly @ mi..

hi ant1712,

hehehe. i share the same thots as u!!! really lo, when baby kicks, really make our day no matter hw bad the day has been =) ur baby still v active kicking u alot mah? mine like getting lesser le =(

i wish i dun have to wk but i still wanna wait for my edd then give birth. hehehe.

My friend recommend me one massage lady.
she got charge per session $45 dollars. and jamu, massage oil $ 120 for per 10session.

Pls gv me some comments, is it expensive or standard rate ?

ant1712,
i bot one set of 2-piece pyjamas just before CNY for CNY and also to use in hospital later. I've got 1 more old set but i dun wanna to be in same pyjamas in the photos for both my 1st and 2nd pregnancies.

Dat day I saw metro also selling the madame 20-piece maternity pad. dunno wats the texture like but i feel from the outside of the pack the size and thickness like same as kotex ones. no wings too. so far i hear kotex is the more popular brand. i'll probably buy kotex adhesive ones too.

Re:hot weather
yesterday jus went to cut my hair to chin length. :p it was way past my shoulders and dunno if its due to the pre-natal vitamins, my hair is growing faster than usual. So now cut to chin length to combat the hot weather. Will need to go back in April to cut again before giving birth.

gd morning ladies...
seeking some advise on post natal massage...

am wondering how you gals cope with breastfeeding/looking after baby and having massage at the same time? i have no CL and very likely my MIL only come over for a short while during the day.
i heard that cannot breastfeed after massage as the oils not suitable for infants? also, typically how long do you have to keep the wrap on after massage?

for my 1st kid, i didn't do massage as i had c-section. i hear that massage can help slim down the tummy, so quite interested to try for 2nd child coz my tummy never really quite slim down after no1, plus i had v bad water retention in the legs.

thanks in advance!

choc- is it cheaper to order online for the cream?

felval- ya he's been v active. in the day also. smtimes wrk halfway i wil watch my tummy n see how it change shape. reali interesting! kekeke...wil reali miss these feelings when he's out.

tracy- where u buy the PJ frm? i dun hv the habit of wearing PJ. tink i wil jus wear once in hosp, tats it. so dun wan to spend too much! hee

ant1712,
i bot from metro. i think robinsons and JL also have the same brand - eternity. Or you can buy from those HDB shops that sell bras. They also got lots of 2-piece types and cheaper. Only i think its free size.

ant1712..

its confirm cheaper...i buying the size is 113gram ah..selling ard 9+ after shipping charges..

if u get from guardian pharmacy, u pay double the price and get the small size one which is 57gram...

so i stock up lor..in case i pop in april...then cham...will be chaotics

DESITIN
There's 2 types of Desitin cream. One is Creamy, and is the normal type. From my 1stborn, the Creamy version is the better one. Back then, it was only for sale at PD, not available over the counter at normal pharmacies. I think it cost like $14-16. So buying from USA is definitely cheaper, Drugstore.com is selling now for USD4.86 per tube. I also bought 5 tubes!

Another thing that you might want to consider getting from overseas is nipple cream. I'm ordering the Lansinoh Lanolin cream from Amazon.com. I find that this brand is much better than the rest. Only Avent comes anywhere close to delivering the same relief from sore nipples.

HTHs!

Re: Bloom photography
-------------------------------------------------
LATEST LATEST UPDATE:

***** BP is closing TOMORROW 27th Feb at 5PM. We have reached 15 mtbs, any mummies interested in the BP but has not contacted me yet may do so at [email protected] *****

*** Mummies who have signed up with me but yet to pay the deposit please do so by TOMORROW 27th Feb also. For whatever reasons that may cause you to delay your transfer please email me and let me know. Thanks ***
-------------------------------------------------
Will need minimum 10 MTBs for this BP to take off. They are offering us for the same price at $160 for 1 super 8R photo, 5 5R photos and extra 3 more 5R for this BP. For photos that are selected, the soft copies will be given back to us. For mummies that are interested in keeping all the photos taken during the photoshoot, you may also purchase a CD with all the shots taken on that day for $250 if you are a forum member which we all are here...

If there are more than 15 MTBS who sign up for the bloom BP, the CD containing all the shots can be bought at $200 instead of $250. If we only have 10 mtbs, the previous offer still stands

You may refer to this link for their pricing details http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/rates/TSLoftRatesY9T04N7.pdf

To look at their work you may go to:
http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/
or
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/594409.html?1164635256

** Do check out their biz thread (link provided below) in the forum, They have just posted some new Bloom photos **
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/586645.html?1203572993

** All mtbs who participate in this BP will get 20% discount off the basic package as a returning customer if they bring their newborns to studio loft for Little big shot photoshoot in future. Check out their photos for newborns and infants**
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/586645.html?1203575836

Mummies participating
-------------------------------
1. Amy (Apr mtb)
2. Yo (Apr mtb)
3. Gervynne (Apr mtb)
4. Wish Come True (May mtb)
5. Piyo (Jun mtb)
6. Veniz (Jun mtb)
7. Mogudog (Jun mtb)
8. Chewy (Apr mtb)
9. Jer (?? mtb)
10. Juin (May mtb)
11. Serene123(Apr mtb)
12. Jellyfield (Apr mtb)
13. Pinkbunny (Jul mtb)
14. Prawnie (Apr mtb)
15. Jia Jia (May mtb)
16. Eifrus (May mtb)

***Anyone else?? BP closing TOMORROW 27th Feb 5PM!!!***

tracy,

ant1712,

I dun sleep in PJs. I probably stick to wearing T-shirts and pants or shorts. Hahaha

Choc,

As for diaper rash cream, I stick to using Johnson and Johnson. The other creams didn't work for any of my boys.

Yueling,

No one can advise you whether ex or not cos really depends on the skill.

friesbandit,

For me, I did massage for my 1st and didn't do for my 2nd. It's not just slimming cos it really depends on each person's own body. It's more of getting rid of wind. I felt that since I didn't do it for my 2nd, I still felt wind in my body.

As for the wrap, for my massage I put on the wrap in the morning after massage UNTIL the next morning when I bath then take off. Then after morning massage then wear again.

Then for this pregnancy, I also have bad water retention on my leg.

For this 3rd kid, I dun have CL, then grandma-in-law pass away liao...I also wondering how I going to cope. Still debating whether to order confinement food to save the trouble of my mum cooking then bring over for the 1st 2 weeks.

Below is what I received from WhatToExpect.com which i sign up last week. Ladies can go sign up on their website for free to receive information on your pregnancy daily.

RE: Dreams and Daydreams
"What's going on with all these strange dreams and daydreams I've been having?"
You're not losing your mind, but something's definitely on your mind (pregnancy perhaps?); and it's making you dream up a storm, day and night. Even if you're normally the type that doesn't remember your dreams when you wake up (and you know who you are), you may suddenly find you're elbowing your partner in the middle of the night to give him a blow-by-blow of your latest seemingly demented dream (such as the one about giving birth to an alien baby with a tail). Or you might find yourself drifting off in the middle of important meetings into daydreams about chubby cheeks (both kinds) and adorable buntings with tiny hats. Your dreams and daydreams may be so richly detailed and vivid (right down to the Technicolor scales on the alien baby) that you may wake from them wondering, was that really a dream?

The reason for all these daytime and nighttime visions? It's easy to blame hormones (again) — and they almost certainly play a role — but there are other theories too. First of all, you've got a lot on your mind, and on your plate. Dreams are one way that your subconscious works through that overload and comes to terms with the impending upheaval in your life. They can be an outlet for the 1,001 conflicting emotions (from ambivalence to trepidation to anxiety to overwhelming excitement and joy) you're feeling but may be uneasy expressing any other way. Even those nightmarish dreams you've probably been waking up in a sweat from (like the one where you forgot where you put the baby, or the one where you felt trapped in a car wash) can be positive (really!) — a sign that your subconscious is trying to regain some control during a most unsettling time.

Of course, there's another reason — a much more basic one — why you feel like you're dreaming more than ever before (and it has nothing to do with your subconscious): You're waking up more often than you used to during the night (probably every two or three hours) — either to use the bathroom, or just to toss, turn, and try to get comfortable. And each time you wake up may be right in the middle of a dream cycle — allowing you to recall in great detail and living color just what was going on in that mind of yours.

Don't lose any sleep over your dreams and fantasies — they're completely normal, and very common among pregnant women. In fact, they're also very common among expectant fathers too. (It's a dad's way of working out his own set of subconscious anxieties, and he can't even blame it on hormones!) Swapping dreams (and daydreams) can be fun (can you top this one?), as well as therapeutic — plus it can help bring you closer together. So dream on!

Hi icebaby and tracy,

the shop is right opposite the temple where all the chinese medical halls and shops that sell buddhism prayer stuffs. So long that you can locate the public toilet at that block, you will see the shop, from the toilet you will see the shop is the first shop of the stretch.

tracy- thks! shall go raki the hdb area liao.

choc- which site to order the cream? i wan to order too! hee

icebaby- i also wear t-shirts n shorts at home n to sleep. was tinkin can wear the same in hosp anot! haha... but guess it's easier to bf if wear PJ.

oh dear...i think i'm gonna come down with sore throat very soon. my throat has been feeling dry & "scratchy" since this morning. Ladies, with the haze & bug flu going around, better take precautions.

rashes cream--how u know which brand suit ur bb? coz i heard fr some mummy who bot alot of cream fr spree, but end up bb sensitive to the cream, so have to change..coz me still thinking which brand to buy..

smurferoos--

me still finding lobang to earn $$..haha, but i came across this website, and i found it may b can have a try, so i signed up liao..hehe..may b u can have a look..

http://website.ws/goodcashonline

mummies, tks so much for your concern. Me still sick... haiz... my gynae oso asked me to push forth my appt wif him to today... He wants to review me cos me sick for 2 wks liao. I am eager to find out how baby is oso... will update you gals later after my visit.

Hi Mummies-to-be,

I have the some lightly used items for sale for confinement use:

1) Warming Body Wash for Confinement - more than 3/4 left! - $10
(http://www.littledreamers.com.sg/catalog.html)
1266702.jpg

2) Warming Shampoo for Confinement - more than 3/4 left! - $10
1266703.jpg

3) Dry Confinement Powder - used once only! - $12
1266704.jpg

4) Nipple Salve - used once only! - $12
1266705.jpg

5) Healing Bottom Spray - 3/4 left! - $10
1266706.jpg
1266707.jpg

6) 5 x Chinese herbal bath (2 sachets per pack) - brand new! - $1.50 each
1266708.jpg

pls pm me or sms me @ 90400090

piggy_mummy...i am also trying my luck also...

i duno which cream suit best for baby... just hope it works..hahaaa...

else...sell those unused tube lor...

Actually, creams like Drapolene and Desitin are more "barrier creams" than creams for diaper rash, though they do help somewhat in healing of diaper rash.
For me, Desitin Creamy is thicker than Drapolene, and i found it wasn't so easily washed/rubbed away when the diaper rubs against the bottom, or when the baby pees. Hence, it acted as a very good barrier against the uric acid, which causes diaper rashes to occur.
When my baby did get diaper rash, i found that the Dr Atopeace cream (it was very popular when i had my firstborn) worked very well to heal the rash in a short period of time. I normally applied the Dr Atopeace on the rashes, then the barrier cream on top of it.

hi icebaby thanks for the reply on the massage. think i may consider getting the massage lady after all... i had water retention even 1mth after my delivery and it got so bad i had to go for ultrasound scan to see if any blood clot in my leg veins. hoping not to go through that again! i only worried that baby might not latch on coz of the smell of the herbs/oil in the wrap, and WHO will take care of my baby while i'm having the massage. I also no CL, and dunno whether my MIL will come over in the day.

friesbandit,

U might wish to try a to have a pre-natal massage now if u want.

Now my worry is that baby dun want to latch on. Cos my 1st 2 boys didn't want to latch then due to some medical issue, I didn't breastfeed (i.e. pump) for more than 2 weeks. Sigh.

hi be@ns,
same here...went out for short while today and came home with sore throat. drinking alot of water but no help leh. horrible haze!!!!

icebaby,
i'm thinking of the confinement food delivery too. actually the menus look quite appetizing. my friend ordered when she delivered and she said it's not bad...very healthy kind cos low salt, low oil and no msg. down side is that it's a bit bland.

any ladies gonna have elective cesar? i'm getting nervous as the date draws close cos Dr said mine might need cesar. :-( aiyoh, i'm soooo scared of needles and knives.