(2008/05) May 2008

wah...gain onli 1kg! so the xian mu leh....
now i exercise more lor... like taking a longer walk.. or go swimming..to prevent myself from gaining weight fast...becoz i am the type who will put on weight fast if i stop exercise....

jen, haha.. hopefully i can take it without epidural.. i dunno will the epidural haf any side effect on mi anot.. i wan to go for natural cos after dat i can slim down easier.. haha.. i too vain liao so die die oso muz slim down..

icebaby, ya i tink i gt to tolerate cos anyway liked my mum told mi, i knew my FIL was smoking way before i was marry to my hubby so i cannot blame him.. but i really hope he will really either dun smoke in front of me or smoke outside.. we r planning to buy hse so i told my hubby i dun like my hse to smell of smoke.. he told me my FIL will go out of the hse to smoke by then.. i really hope so.. i noe its really hard on my hubby.. but i really cannot take it..
i envy cos u so young n ur kids quite big liao.. ppl sure mistook dem as ur siblings rite?? hehe

moony,

don think too much, enjoy ur pregnancy, actually very xian mu you, married 3 month then preg liao. me married 5 years liao lo..but i think all r plan by God..

piggy mummy, nth to envy abt.. hehe.. its all decide by GOD.. cos everything happens for a reason.. i nv tot i will preg so soon.. but who noes.. mayb its really GOD's will.. hehe

lynn,

Good and bad in infant care lor. If maid, we dun know if can trust unless you got someone at home to watch. Have to thought of having a baby sitter instead?

Kelcqi,

Well, most impt is finding a gd partner. So now my advise to pple is that unless you feel ready for anything whether it's marriage OR have a baby...both parties must be ready. If not, it's gonna be a struggle.

choc,

For me, only my legs are hurting like crazy. The earlier stage I has a muscle pull on my left thigh (feel like those ham string pull). Hurt so badly, just keep applying yoko yoko. Then fed up get hubby to massage. Now every night have to force hubby to massage my thigh and leg cos it really hurts. My last two dun have this symptom. =( As for my tummy, now already hit 36cm. Very big compared to my 1st 2 boys when I hit only 38cm for pregnancy.

Face swollen -> again depends on pple. Cos as mention, each pregnancy is different. =)

Moony,
Eh, my kids still look like kids. So pple will know they are my kids. Except now in this office I see sales people, project pple or new pple, they will always ask if this is my 1st kid. I tell them, no...my 3rd. Then they have that "shock" face. Cos most think that I just grad from Uni like that. =P

icebaby, so envy u.. hehe.. so young gt 3 kids liao.. i planning to stop at 2.. if possible i wanna stop at 1.. but my hubby say 1 too lonely liao.. i told him nt he gif birth leh so he dunno the pain..

morning all,

was watching news yest nite and it was reporting that taiwan's docs are saying thay eating kiwis cause skin irritation in young kids below 5 yrs old!!!

i wonder if it affects the baby since I am eating it every day!

i pray that all is well...

icebaby- i alwz tink it's gd to hv kids early cos by the time they grow up, we r stil young thn can go travelin ard the world! hehe.. n also hv kids younger wil hv more energy to look after them =D hw u handle 2 boys n another one on the way? u nt wrkg ah?

kelcqi- got leh. my gynae prescribed de. jus apply n massage unto the affected area.
i married young cos wan to hv kids young but my hb wanted er ren shi jie so this little one only came 2 yrs later =D smtimes abit regret nvr ttc earlier! hee

morning gals, wah... you all married so young. Me now 31 so not young liao wor and 1st kid oni. hee...

BTW, do any of you know where i can find the article of the Bisphenol-A story about milk bottles? I remember seeing but dunno where to find it liao.

hi gina,

hehhe. me also use baby to "threaten" my hubby. hehehe. i also always stoke my tummy and joke that his daddy always work late, nv acc us for meals, he dun wan us le.whahhaha. but my hubby just keep quiet....then aft a while i will feel guilty and will secretly tell baby that his daddy is v hardwking and nice and ask baby to recognise his daddy voice (coz hubby seldom stroke and talk to baby).

hi jovial,

agree with u, when u feel like crying just cry. it realli makes u feel so much better. =) when my hubby was overseas and i really miss him alot, a call frm him will make me cry also. but i dun wan him to worry so i end up controlling myself till we end the call. end up, i cried even harder =P but i try nt to cry in front of my parents and hubby la, dun wan to make them worry abt me =P

hi jen,

ya, i did listen to music but is radio 92.4 la.hehehehe. ask u ah, u play the music using ear piece then place it on ur tummy or u just play it on the cd player? i just listen using ear piece le, duno baby can hear nt...

hi kelcqi,

thx for the info on the water for bathing. think i ask my mum which one she planning to use then see how lo, since she doing the confinement for me.

hi icebaby and ant1712,

hehehe. we all consider marry young le la. most ppl married in the late 20s wo. me married at 24, preg 8 mths later and i will be 25 when i deliver. i planning to have 2 kids (but hubby only wan 1..haiz). anyway, i planning to have another one when my 1st is 2yrs old.hehehe, by then i will be 27. hope my plan goes well..hahaa

oh ya, i already spent abt $800 on maternity clothes and nursing bras. HAHAHA. alot ho? but of course nt those sloppy and draggy preg dresses la. mostly i get separate tops n bottom , like tt then can mix and match =P even my cny clothes i already settled le...now left the shoes only. i damn kiasu lo. =P

hi lynn and kelcqi,

same here. me also having urine leak now whenever i sneeze. first time lucky it happened at hm, if outside so paisay!!!!! so nowadays i am wearing panty liner to prevent staining my pants/dress. so sian, i thot preg le can be free frm wearing it for 9 mths but who knows, still need to wear panty liners still =(

hi choc,

ya, my face bloated while the rest of my body still looks ok. my colleagues even commented i look round =(

by the way,been experiencing backaches since last week...sometimes every step i walked, there will be a sharp pain at my tailbone. any one have similiar prob?

i tried to raise my legs on pillow while sleeping but end my my adominal aches coz i think my legs too heavy =) end up i kicked the pillow to the floor. hahaha. think i sld go swimming more often, at least i feel so much better and lighter in the water. =p

sorry for the SUPER long posting =(

was having a 2hrs mgting yest late aftnn so didnt read or post any msg..so nw 1 time effort. hehehe.

moony,

We always wanted 3. That's was the max. We tried to have no. 3 in Yr 2006 but unsuccessful after a few months, we gave up. Then things at work become haywire...then we say actually 2 kids enough. Right after that..."zhong"! Wah lau...u should see how stress I was. Cos I was in new job waiting for confirmation (was retrenched from previous company), hubby just lost job, my flat keys came..all at once. You see my head become so big. N no one to help do research.

ant1712,

Well, like I say good n bad. At least u have lian ren shi jie mah.
I stay with my in-laws and grandma-in-law and a maid (2 maids when baby no. 2 came and grandma-in-law pass away). So got someone to watch over them. I am working. Financially cannot afford not to work. Plus I earn more than hubby. Give tuition part-time to earn abit more but now due to pregnancy, I kept 1 student only. Thank goodness, I grad with my MBA last Mar so for the time being no need to study for sometime.

morning, girls! So busy yesterday and didn't really read and post. Anyway, I got married and graduated last July and I was only 24. Then got pregnant 1 month later. My baby boy due about 2 weeks before my birthday(Sad to say confinement during my birthday). So happening at the age of 24!

and my hubby wants 4 kids! gosh... i just told him to let nature takes its course la.

actually we didn't want to have kids so early cos both of us doing contract job.

felval, I also saw the newsflash about the kiwi thing for children below 5 years old.

wah. u all get married very early leh.. seems i am like an old mum compared to you all.. hahhaha
married 2 plus years after graduation at 26, then after two years then get pregnant, my parents were getting so worried tat me and hubby got some prob they actually asked us to go for medical check-up after many times of hinting us to start family... anw. at tat juncture, i "zhong" oredi hahaha.. just find the whole thing so funnie.

Hi felval,

theres nothing to worry as now what you eat is going thru your digestive system not the baby. It causes skin irritation for children below 5 as it go thru their digestive system. Same logic go to fresh milk and eggs if it will affect the baby then right now we should not take fresh milk and eggs. So don worry

Cheri,

Hey...u same as me. I got ROM in July, married in Dec. Got preggy 1 month later. Gave birth 2 weeks before my birthday before I turned 24! Hahaha

<font color="0000ff">kelcqi, poky</font>
this is also ur 2nd pregnancy ar? I also abit disappointed when scan result came out &amp; knew it was a gal lar. but then i also like gal lar. gal more close to mommy one lor. got mama heart one lar. I dun dare to be too sad cos scare bb know &amp; feel sad that mommy disappointed. but then be4 that everyone also determine is boy from my outlook. like my tummy is sharper than 1st pregnancy? then also face no so swollen as 1st one was damn ugly ar. then also my aunty lagi cute. say my gal thigh there oni got 1 line means nxt one is boy. even when i gave birth to no1 her looks is so boyish. all say NXT ONE IS BOY.

<font color="0000ff">icebaby</font>
i have mixture of clothings like maternity &amp; those trendy one. half half i mean lar. not those aunty type of maternity dress lor. more like baby doll dress lor. else maternity top &amp; maternity skirt lor. i seldom wear pants cos oni 1 &amp; only pant at hse. the rest are leggings &amp; bermuda lor. If u all want to find cheap &amp; nice &amp; trendy maternity clothes can go a few places like Beauty World, Bendeemer or Bugis opp OG there got 1 shop called CARRANO. the clothings very cheap very affordable one.

<font color="0000ff">moony</font>
I also will go natural this round. I also hiao hiao want slim fast fast. Will also ask for malay massage after birth lar. but then my body lousy one lar. haha after 3mths liao although full time BF-ing tummy still soft soft &amp; buldging one.

<font color="0000ff">choc</font>
For swollen face, it depends on invididual &amp; individual pregnancy leh. my 1st pregnancy my face swollen, nose also swollen. body also swollen. like pig very ugly ar. haha but this pregnancy i looks fine leh. no "chen long" nose liao leh. haha.

<font color="0000ff">wishcometrue</font>
Can you tell me more abt the kiwi news. yday was outside forgot to record the news.
for the music hor.. 1st pregnancy i listen via earphone in the train on my way to work lar. then at nite be4 slp put a soft speaker beside me listen the same old songs &amp; chinese pop songs then slp lor.

hi jen,

here is a summary of the news ah:

it was reported that there were several kids in Taiwan who developed symptoms similar to food-poisoning after eating kiwi. The docs were saying there is a substances in the kiwi fruit that causes some kids to have skin irritation due to this allergy. hence, advising kids under 5yrs old to avoid eating too much of it.

Hi jer,

Thanks for the info =) so can conclude if have skin irritation it will be me who kena nt the baby coz he will only absorb the vitamin c and the goodness of this fruit. =P

Me trying to find more info on the net now coz hubby stopped me frm eating kiwi aft watching the news too. Hehehe. So now must find more info to share with him. Will share any links/info if I come across anything useful =)

Jen, no la. this mine first bb. =) but b4 knowin the gender, they guess a boy as my nose was bigger, etc.... that wat they say la. no one guess was a girl. =p

haha.. icebaby, what a coincidence! wonder how to celebrate birthday.. lol.. i want to eat crabs after my confinement!!! haiz..

Yanling, my sister got married at the age of 19 cos shotgun but she was already working for 2 years then. But her hubby is 28 then. Now, she has a 9-month-old boy and is turning 21 this april. Even younger.

Hi Jen, I always wanted a girl as my first kid. Then my hubby and I keep having a feeling that it will be a girl. Then my MIL also wants a girl. But in the end, it's boy. I was very disappointed but hubby kept saying as long as baby is healthy, that's all it matters. I guess can always try for a next one.

Yesterday, I managed to book post natal massage lady but she asked me to call her back after I give birth.

Anyone knows which Mothercare outlet is the biggest?

jaspire- u dun look ur age leh. stil look in ur twenties!

icebaby- wow u r the lucky few who striked so fast after married! hehe... i ttc for close to 1 yr b4 the good news finally come! me turnin 28 nxt mth liao.

ant, me wanna treat you to tea... er now cannot drink tea... fruitjuice liao! LOL!

BTW, me asking about bisphenol-a cos i think i will be getting my own breastpump and milk bottles instead of getting hand-me-down. Realised its better to be safer esp for things going into my baby's mouth/body wor.

Choc,
my face is swollen and my hair is falling. Ah.... Juz cut my long hair short. I'll try the method mentioned by Kelcqi.

Jen,
I've tried to listen to classic music before sleep and during sleep. In the end, I can't sleep at all. So I stopped listening to it le.

Lynn &amp; Kelcqi,
I oso have urine leakage whenever I sneeze. Am wearing panty liner and visit toilet frequently even though I dun feel the urge.

I ROM at 24, custom married at 25. We have been trying for baby in 2006 before customary. I was worried that I can't get preg after my 2 abortions. Then, the good news came.

Icebaby,
When I'm preg, I just got confirmed not long. Our flat is coming in the 1st qtr of 2008. Things are dangling and I'm worried if we receive the flat keys late. That time, I'll too big to run up &amp; down, packing, cleaning and stuff like that.

jaspire, i oso wan to get the breast pump.. u gt any brands to recommend?? wanted to get avent.. but i dunno is it gd anot..

cherimoya, wah u so fast book the massage lady liao ar? is she gd? her charges hw much?

Hello! i got Avent manual pump lor... got it during sale... been reading up and find this brand nt bad..so just buy lor..anyway also duno suitable for me ant..

hai...same lor...face "ba ba"..i feel so sad...

for pump hor, i used avent manual all the way for my #1. i actually was using SIL's Medela PIS initially, but i didn't like the loud noise and the heavy bag. and also with the PIS, its plug to electric plug so must stay put cannot move about.

And i look after my baby myself so sometimes she cry, i need to be mobile. so i switched to Avent. Medela is not cheap. But some cannot tahan the manual part of avent lah. Tiring.

If you wanna buy Medela, invest in the PIS beta. The mini electric dual pump is not made to last. normally dies out after 1 yr, as experienced by many mummies fm the Jan06 thread.

Another good pump to consider.. Ameda Lactaline:
http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/ameda-lactaline-dual-breastpump.html

I'm seriously considering whether to buy Ameda for office use when i return to work. Mummies told me can try out the demo set for Ameda at the breastfeeding support group. If Robinson have sale, can get at 20% off, ie S$299.00.

here's a review by the moms in mind lady who tried all pumps:
http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/pumpexperience.html

moony,
cos you gotta use your hand to squeeze the handle continously to pump the milk out.

oh ya btw, i just realised can try out many types of pumps at the breastfeeding support group place. got medela, avent, ameda etc. quite good!

moony,

I got preggy when I joined a new company. Got retrench from the previous because they move my job scope to Malaysia (even my direct boss didn't know her boss retrench me cos she was on maternity). But okay lah, I got a job before my last day. Only issue I had was when we collected our HDB keys, the loan is paid 100% by me. Till now, we haven't made any change.

Gina,

I think going to be tough for you to clean up the place. Unless u urgently need to move in. If not, take ur time to do the cleaning and all.
For me, I got my keys in Aug..reno only in late Sept..reno done in late Oct. But we took our time to clean and all. Only got everything done this month. =P

Important is the sourcing of good ID (n see if u patang anot...if u patang, then preggy better not reno flat). Then the sourcing of lights, furniture, etc. Most impt whether your hubby is doing that part of the work. For me, I had to do all the sourcing, communicating, consolidating and finance budget for the whole thing. Then summarize and shortlist a few for my hubby to think and go see and decide. He didn't lift his finger to even go research on anything. So...that's how jialat it is for me.

cherimoya,

wah. I called 1 massage lady, she says can book her after give birth leh. Cos we dun know when exactly we give birth. I now thinking want to try her skills for pre-natal anot. See how.

**Now for me, waiting for variables. Hope I get variables (hopefully with prorate 1 month at least!), so got some money to spend during maternity leave. Heehee.

As for breast pump, I tried both Medela automatic and manual. My preference is manual. Tiring but at least can do at my own speed.

I will be borrowing from my fren again. Heehee

wah, so many young mummies! me got married 3+ years ago, at 25. didn't wan to start a family so soon cos i was not prepared lah, hubby wanted babies but not me hahaha.. now going to be an old mum, me will be 29 when baby is born leh. now dun dare think of having second one, think will take it one step at a time.

now i always threatened my hubby telling my baby he bully us cos he's coming home late from work, or broke his promise to go shopping with me etc etc. he say i so horrible, next time baby come out will hate him :p

my face not swollen, but my legs are terribly swollen
swollen and painful cos stand the whole day leh, shoes dun seem to help much leh, i've tried many but all abt the same, but of course pretty shoes give me hell now lor. hope i can still fit into my pretty shoes after giving birth, if not so wasted leh, so many new pairs of shoes! dun dare count how much i've spent on maternity clothes and bras, but it's a lot lor, trying to cut down but think need to buy another pair of pants and 2 tops so will have enough to 'rotate' between. most of the tops need ironing which i only do once every 2 weeks.

i feel so much more normal after hearing that some of you also suffer from urine leaks when sneezing. made me so worried leh.

Icebaby, Choc, Jen, me first one lah. But my experience and knowledge came from friends, and mum. Plus I studied early childhood, so my knowledge in regards to baby's development, pregnancy and handling baby came from there. My mum told me confinement is like tat time I had chicken pox loh. COs that was one time I feel so tramatic that cannot shower.

I wanna baby Boy cos I have a difficult time with pregnancy. Had so much blues, den came along cyst, cramp, pain, vomitting and now low placenta, I keep thinking I wanna close shop le... But this one gal, maybe few yrs later I'll try again loh. Cos my PIL quite traditional, they said gal ok, but my hubby's relative had an affair cos the wife never give him any son. And my FIL never think he did anything wrong. I scare the same thing will happen to me so I keep hoping for Boy to rest my mind loh.

Choc, nothing to xian mu lah. Me paid for the 1kg with nites of vomitting leh. Dunno why I've been puking out my dinner recently leh.
Ant, icebaby,
I got married at 25, now 27 le. One yr beyond my ideal age for pregnancy cos I was thinking by 26 mah. Then if plan to have another one, I can do it before 30. 3-4yrs age gap just perfect. Last time I was thinking if accident den surprise happiness, but den never happen, so once hubby said we can plan one this yr, that mth I late ovulation, I got pregnant liao. So in someway not very prepared mentally also...

Gina, I very xian mu you. My hubby and I haven got our flat yet. We stay in 3 room wif my PILs and my BIL, I hope government will grant us a flat asap...

MY urine leakage for, I feel that panty liner no use one. Not only wet but area ard panty also wet. Haiyo... I thinking of using Pads...

Felval, welcome! Hope those bathing info helps. My mum very particular abt good confinement cos she knows "feng shi" is not fun to play with. She always tell me mah, u dun take care, no one can replace your suffering later. Others can only recommend you doctors, but no one can bear the pain for you.

I bought a Avent manual pump too during john little sales.. hmm.. actually is my dad paid for it, he said xmas present.. haha.. like choc also read up a lot and heard good reviews so went to buy. Jus open up the box yesterday to see and read the instruction booklet. Tempted to try but not yet. Anyone here experience leaking of colostrum right now? From last week i experiencing that which i dun during my first pregnancy.

oh! i buy manual pump...coz avent electric one so exp..i scared i nt suitable..then waste money...

so anyhow buy..heheeee

Lynn,
I also had my first kid at 29, now expecting #2 and I'm 31 this year. I'm still thinking of a third one too! So you can also

Jer,
Good leh, leaking colostrum means surely got milk right? Curious, then your first pregnancy which pump did you use?

hi felval,

ya, baby only absorb the nutrients from the food we take. That why we are told to drink milk as milk is the so called "complete food" where most nutrients can be found in it but baby cannot take fresh milk as their digestive system cant break down certain nutrients in fresh milk which will cause LS and rashes.

lynn, me also.. i rom at 25. bought the huse, renovate, then move in after the customary when i 26. wanted to start ttc straight away, but hubby prefer to "er ren shi jie" for few yrs. cos both of our parents homes are quite crowded.. finally a place of our own,, he wants to enjoy the "freedom".... manage to persuade him to start ttc earlier than planned... lucky start earlier.. waited 1+yr to have news.... =p

Tracy,

First pregnancy I used 2 different brands. The first is Pigeon, battery operated. I cannot stand the speed it was going so during my confinement, my mum bought another brand of manual pump but i forget which brand, one of the ulu brand which she bought from Kiddy Palace. That one the pump is olden days kinda of pump, not that good as well so this time round I invested on Avent and hopefully it is well invested, haha.. Now i just wondering if the leaking is colostrum or milk cos i used to breastfeed #1, totally clueless now.

choc,

how i noe? haha... it was dripping!!! Once at home I went braless because I felt uncomfortable wearing my bra as i still wearing my pre-pregnancy bra and guess what... my t-shirt was wet at the breast area

tracy, oh okok.. hehe sorry ah i dunno.. ;P but will it hurts?? cos i compare, then i feel the manual pump cheaper alot leh.. cos i dun wanna waste too much money on breastpump..

jaspire, ISIS IQ Duo pump is electric? u noe roughly cost hw much?

icebaby, huh.. den muz b very siong on u rite?? y nw nv change?

lynn, try nt too walk too much n raise ur legs on bolster when u slp at nite it will help.. mine oso swollen n im v sad cos b4 i was preg everyone say my legs very slim n nice.. ;( nw i feel like elephant.. ;( but nw i wear Birkenstock sandals very gd leh.. so far nt slippy..

moony, not sure how much but it is electric and single side, not dual pump i think. Single might cost ard $200+ or $300. But dual electric is very expensive and cost ard $600 wor.