(2008/05) May 2008

Here's something to share that I found on the net during my first pregnancy. Dig it out from my blog archive. For those who are fear or worry about labour becos of labour pain, well... there is a chance whereby u may go through painless labour, read on...

Here the two stories:

1)Karen was in hospital at the time, she had gone over her due date and the doctor was planning to induce her. She woke up in the morning and refused breakfast even though she was feeling fine. She was sitting up in bed joking with one of the nursing staff when suddenly she felt something wet between her legs....it was a little FOOT! She looked up at the nurse and said there was a foot sticking out. The nurse didn't believe her til she pulled the covers back and saw for herself. She ran to get the doctor. In the mean time the other foot appeared along with most of the length of the legs. The doctor came running and Karen delivered 9 pound 4 ounce Adele in two more pushes. There wasn't even time to transfer her to the labour suite, she just delivered in the general ward!

2)A fifteen-year-old girl was experiencing mild tummy pains and diarrhea. She assumed she had some sort of stomach bug and had a bath to relax and put herself to bed early. She woke up some hours later, aroused by the cries and the sensation of something bumping her legs under the blankets. Alarmed she pulled back the covers to find a wriggling, pink baby girl still attatched to her via the umbilical cord lying on the bed between her legs. No doubting where that came from! She wasn't even aware that she was pregnant! In shock she scooped up the infant and ran into her parents' room. Her boyfriend, who had been staying over the night sleeping on the couch, took one look at the girl, the baby and her parents heading down the hallway and into the loungeroom and leapt up and ran out the front door heading for the hills in his pajamas. He probably thought that "Grand-dad" would be looking for his rifle next! -Peta Hewitt

icebaby,

My hubby's reservist at lim chu kang..he he diff plc..he told me today also may b cant book out...sian, somore on the following week, he has to go to jungle for 4 days 3 night like that, so cant come back..

sunshine, wah... i thot i am the worst leh (in terms of weight gain) but what is your initial pre-preggie weight? Healthy weight range? My pre-preggie is 52kg so i dun wanna put on too much oso.

moony
my fil also a heavy smoker. but lucky that i dun live with my inlaws. juz to have dinner every once a wk. when my fil starts to smoke, i will go toliet as excuse if i sittin in the path of the smoke. when i come back, will sit near the door or where the fan blows. he can continously smoke three or four sticks, until we went home, still smokin... mayb u can also opt for this way? if no fan, put one in the room n claim that preggy feel hot easily. =p
as for sense of belonging, will daily calls to ur mom or siblings helps? N mayb when bb arrive, everyone is takin care of bb, will have a common "goal", may help to foster the relationship with ur inlaws better? juz think of how the future will be brighter, dun think moody. =)
recently, i hv some issue with hubby, cried the whole nite n the other day... but i cheer myself up by goin window shoppin for bb stuffs. even bought a pendant for her. =p i find this help me to calm down n not to think on bad things overly. as i will b happy when i think my bb...

Jovial, my next visit to my gynae is 26-Jan.. my hubby initially wanna take me to kk but i told him nvm.. cos i feel LS is small issue.. dunno my stomach-ache is normal anot.. or mayb its really braxton hicks..

Sunshine, for ur 1st bb u go thru natural?? i so pei fu u leh.. i dunno if really take epidural can we still b able to feel the pain n push?? cos some say once take epidural den will feel numb n cannot push liao..

Gina, ya i oso feel dat being a 1st time mummy feels v stressful.. alot of things to handle n too much to tink abt.. i've already start buying my bb's stuffs.. but u noe my MIL will comment dis n dat which make mi so demoralise.. ;(

jovial, i also got to swallow alot of pills, calcium tablets, fish oil and prenavit. original also got folic, but stop juz last wk. =p

moony,

It's okay. I think it's normal. I stay with my in-laws also have issues (I cook or bake for them, they dun eat. I buy things also...my FIL refuse to touch...*faint* Dunno what's his problem). My hubby smokes. This time around I get angry with him for smoking in the toilet (actually I dun know why i bother...cos for the past few yrs can tahan...just suddenly now I cannot tahan). As for eating timing, maybe you go back on weekdays?

I think you very understanding with your hubby. I married so long, I dun even see my relatives. Only once a yr or the most twice. My ah-ma only during CNY. Worse rite? Cos hubby too lazy to go visiting. Even my parents, lucky thing is my parents come to my in-law place once a week, so I see them. If not, maybe once every 2-3 months then i see them! That's how lazy my husband is. But I see his relatives every sat cos we go to his aunty place for dinner. Last time I even suggest going to my parents place every sat...kena rejected. My parents also say it's okay.

But I think pregnancy hormones play a huge part cos now and after birth seems tat alot of tiny things that never make us frustrated will start making us frustrated. Hence the reason why i like to keep myself busy. Then I won't have time to think. *grin*

moony, one ear go in one ear go out loh. Dun take wat yr MIL say so seriously and you wont feel too bad. I believe alot of pple want to give their comments thinking they might help, but in fact does not help much or cause more stress or anxiety to us. So just smile and say thanks when they offer their comments/suggestions but its really up to you to decide if you want to follow it or not. So dun feel too bad ya!

moony,
It's common for pregnant women to get quite emotional due to the hormone change.

From what you said, at least your ILs are treating you good. Mine simply dun care. I have to cook for myself. The maid cannot cook, it's too salty, too oily or not cooked. My MIL dun reali know how to cook except for certain dishes, which happened to be deep fried. And now, my MIL is going back & forth on the confinement issue. She also hinted that she would not be able to look after my girl. Basically, she's going back on what she had promised. Then she started to complain, my husband not giving her allowance to spend. (My husband used to give but she refused to take.) Sometimes, she made me feel that being her maid is better off than being her DIL.

All these happenings made me miss my mom even though she had passed away for years. I too dun hv a sense of belonging. I was planning on moving back to live with my brother but he has rented out my room.

sigh... i not able to consider epidural liao. cos now alrdy startin to get the pain from slipped disc liao. using epidural wont b helpful at all. jux waste money. but still, i wants to have a try at natural than to straight away choose c-searean. juz hopin that i can remain thinkin this way when the labour pain start kickin in... hahahah

aiyo, at least all of u have relative or parents here, i am a SPR, so i am staying with my hb, i seldom go back to visit my family..at first few years, b4 i get my own house, i am staying with my IL, dun have sense of belonging too, but they treat me very well..now i staying with HB, somomore now not working, everday at home alone, n i din go out fr Mon-fri..only sat got out have breakfast with HB.. so i feel very very lonely all day...don know bb can recognise my voice or not, coz alone at home mah, talk to who..

I think LS nt small isssue le.. pregnant woman like us need a lots of water, i'm jux afraid u might be dehydrated,,better play safe ya.. can understand your FIL smoking issue as my boss always a heavy smoker, everytime meeeting i nearly faint somemore in aircon rm.. but now he somehow nod that can't smoke infront of mi but can't say 100% smoke free as he always used the meeting rm as smoking rm so sure got a bit of smell.. no choice got to endure,., I think speak to ur hubby or when u gp over to ur IL house act sick when u smell smoke.. then tell them said u bb can't stand smoke i think then should nod wat to do...

icebaby, wah seems like ur ILs r even worse leh.. at least watever i buy they will eat.. n they r very happy.. they r easily contented juz only the smoking i dun like.. if nt everything is fine..
mayb i marry too young le.. i still hope to c my parents at least 2twice a week, my hubby oso agrees but its juz the CNY reunion dinner thingy makes mi so unhappy.. mayb few yrs down the road my hubby will oso b the lazy one to go back my mum's place.. hehe..

jaspire, when my mood is gd i will 1 ear in 1 ear out.. when my mood is bad i will b so pissed n show dem face.. hehe.. i noe im being bad but hor i oso gt limit one..

poky, slipped disc cannot use epidural rite? Dats what my gynae say wor. But then hor... initally i have backache, but for the past few weeks... dun have wor. Hee... so dunno if i can still go for natural birth or not.

piggy mummy, you can always chat wif us. Dun be lonely ok!

Gina, wah ur MIL nt goin back on wat she promise ar.. did u tok to ur hubby on dis?? haiz.. mine i oso dunno wat will happen.. she said she will help mi on confinement but 2 weeks only but aafter dat will still help mi but only at nite i need to look after bb.. cos she will need to go back to wk liao.. if my ILs dun wanna take care of my bb my hubby ask mi to resign.. but i dun wan cos i dun wan to add a burden to my hubby oso at least if im wkin i gt income i spend my own $$ hehe..

poky, y slip disc cannot take epidural?? y will nt feel the effect??

piggy mummy, at least u r nt wkin nw.. can rest.. nw im wkin i feel so tired even though i slp 10hrs everyday.. ;( nw if nt tokin to u gals i will b falling aslp.. ;(

Jovial, i feel v thirsty nwadays.. mayb due to LS.. dats y i keep drinking water.. but drink too much oso run toilet.. so ma fan.. haiz.. wah ur boss smoke in the air con room ar?? i will faint leh.. my headache sure come one if i smell smoke.. i already tok to my hubby n he oso gt tok to his dad liao.. even my MIL oso tok to him liao but he only cut down n oso when he smokes he nv on the fan.. sometimes he smokes in the living room n near our room, even i close door the smoke will come in n my room fill with smoke.. ;X

Moony:
seems like ur FIL very stubborn eh so many ppl tok to him liao he still smoke.. then no choice liao,, jux walk away or on the fan when he smoke,and continue to act sick when u smell e smoke, I tink with all these small gesture he sure get the hint.. feel so bad for u...poor gal ...haiz..
don't feel upset ya.. cheer up and relax. when u feel upset try talking to ur bb.. it do help or for myself i'll lock myself in e rm and cry out loud.. i'll feel so much better after crying.. although ppl said crying will cos bb to b very depressed aft they are born but surprisinly my gal was very cheerful although i cried alot during my 1st pregnancy.. haha

Moony, my MIL is not working. My husband knew abt it and was rather pissed with that. My MIL is trying to stop us from hiring confinement nanny with excuses to justify. I told my husband to forget it. I'll proceed with my hiring of the confinement nanny. I dun wanna spoil the relationship and get nothing good out of it.

My husband is working for my FIL overseas. He's only back in SIN every Fri for the weekend. Recently, my FIL is unhappy that he's coming back on Fri and wanted him to come back on Sat instead. We are now trying to compromise. My husband said initially my FIL wanted him to come back once every fornight. I was like "AH?! WTF!" Then who's going to accompany me for the upcoming antenatal class? My MIL is not possible and I can't get my brother to accompany (unless I get him to impersonate my hubby.)

I'm planning to hire a nanny to look after my girl after I gave birth. I'm trying not to think about how they treat but plan for "what if".

piggy_mummy, I think you have to start asking around and book one soon. I called 2 earlier and they are being booked. Luckily, the sister of the last one that I asked is also a confinement nanny. I quickly confirmed with her. Her rate is on the avg side. The first one I called is abt S$2,000 for 28 days.

jaspire, if choose, stil can use epidural, but most likely it wont take effect lor.. then it juz a waste of money. but my gynea say stil can go natural but might b more painful then usual lor.. cos of the xtra pain of slipped disc with labour pain... but i really hope to avoid c since it take longer to heal n need to stay longer at hospital... =(

moony, epidural is injected at the spine area. but with slipped disc, the alignment is out, the med wont b able to flow as it suppose to be. if that the case, then the med wont b able to flow to lower body to numb the pain. i think this is how it work,, =p i not willin to fork the xtra few hundreds to try using epidural when knowin that there is very slight/little chance of workin.. y waste gd money?? me stingy.... hee

gina, wow, u really very independent leh... can only c ur hubby over the wkend n still can remind optimistic...

poky, i have seen a othorpaedic recommended by my gynae which says that why epidural is out for slipped disc folks is becoz' since our disc has shifted. The anesthetian will not be able to accurately inject the epi into our spine and hence, its a bigger risk and problem wor. Also depends on the degree of severity of your slipped disc as well. So its not just abt med not flowing well. Its more of injecting into wrong spot and having more problems later.

That is why my gynae doesnt wan me to take the risk and try natural. He rather I go c-section to ensure both me and baby's safety wor.

jaspire, hmm,, that i duno le.. cos my gynea says i can stil opt for natural with epi even if condition worsen.. sigh...

moony,

I take it as they have difference in taste. It's mainly my FIL. He more paranoid. BUt overall they are very good people lah. As long as we dun step on each others toes. So far I stay with them since marriage over 6+ yrs liao. Never really have arguement. We still have dinner every weekday evening unless I am working late or out.

How young did you marry? I married when I was around 22, going 23.=P

Gina,

I peifu you. You very independent.

Jaspire,

If gynae says it is safer, then maybe go for C-section.

poky, dunno why different gynae gives different opinion. But i think my gynae wants to be safe. He dun wanna take any risk with me and baby. I have twice occurence of slipped disc. Maybe that is why i guess. Most likely will heed gynae's advise to to go for c-section. Its still better to be safe then sorry. Also, before i want to have 2nd child will definitely go do x-ray or checkup for my slipped disc first to decide if 2nd birth can go natural.

jaspire, ya lor... but i think it better to follow gynea advise unless the advise given is strange.. if ur gynea believe it safer to hv c-section. better to follow than to b sorry. =) for me, i guess i kiv n c how how... if the pain really gets too often n serious,, then will seek another opinion... till now, at most is the occassion of not able to walk for some time from the sharp pain.. otherwise, i stil able to move abt as usual.

piggy_mummy, I dun hv anymore contacts for confinement nanny. I only got 2 recommendations from my friend & colleague. I'm sorry. Will try to ask around.

I dun think I'm reali that independent. There were times I reali wish he's there for me. Probably bcos I'm trained when my mom passed away and as the eldest, I had to take the responsibility as the head of the house.

poky, for me hor... very surprisingly no backache leh... I thot i shld be feeling backaches with all the slipped disc and weight gained wor. So keeping my fingers crossed that all will be well till due date. Then maybe i can go for natural birth. LOL! But my hubby rather i be safe and go c-section. He is also quite insistent on it. He say dun want any mishaps due to my stubborness.

Jovial, haha.. i cant say he is stubborn lah.. cos he is still my FIL but i can only say he cannot change lor.. i tink the best he can do is cut down.. but his cutting down doesnt makes any big diff for mi cos i still will b headache once i smell smoke.. n nowadays i keep crying over the smallest things.. my hubby will ask mi y cry again i will throw temper @ him say y i cannot cry??!! haha.. i feel so bad abt it but i still cannot control my temper.. hehe.. i hope my boy will b v cheerful.. cos i dun wanna upset him bcos of my behaviour.. ;P

Gina, wah u r really independent leh.. i so envy u leh.. luckily ur hubby is at ur side.. if nt sure faint.. but i tink ur PILs shld b more understanding.. furthermore nw dat u r preg..

poky, haha.. i tink i better ask my gynae 1st.. cos i gt case of suspect of slip disc.. so i let my gynae decide..

icebaby, ya i understand oso.. my PILs r oso nice ppl juz dat there r some habits of theirs which i cannot take.. i can ignore when im nt preg.. but nw dat im preg i hope my FIL can tink for the bb.. i noe he is tryin to accomdate me but i feel dat its nt enuf..
i gt marry last yr.. 24.. den i tot i can wait for at least 1 yr or so den preg.. but who noes.. less den 3 mths after wedding im preg.. ;( cannot go clubbing.. cannot go shopping.. cos nowadays i so tired..

jaspire, think ur hubby is right lor. if ur history of slipped disc is of concern, better play safe lor. bside, ur gynea also shld b the one more better understandin to ur condition. better listen n dun "play play". hee

Moony, I think it's normal that we lose temper easily. I sometimes will lose temper and start flaring at my hubby. He'll get angry and keep quiet with a super black face. Then I'll always stroke my tummy and joke,"Baby, u see. Ur stupid daddy dun care abt us liao le." He always said that I use my baby to threaten him.

Jaspire, you only can't opt for natural w/ epidural, right? Maybe you can go for natural w/o epidural as your 1st choice, then C-section if you reali can't handle the pain.

gina, haha.. same as me.. i oso said so.. i always tok to my tummy n tel my bb say, 'nxt time dun b like ur papa.. den muz call mummy 1st cannot call papa..' my hubby say i very petty.. i tell him we hafthe rite to b petty.

Dear mommies
this thread is indeed very active leh. its a pity i missed so many many postings earlier.

Jaspire,
thanks for the update.

Moony,
Dun be afriad. all mamas are great one. we sure be able to make it to give birth to our lovley baby whether natural or csec. If your doc din advice u to go csec then go for natural. cos natural also end of the day heal faster lor. I gave birth via natural for 1st child. alamak few hrs later i can walk to go toilet myself liao lor. but then those csec one also can walk lar. but then the cut still pain mah. hv to walk very slowly & i can feel the pain on their face. i help them to "aiyo" lor. If you scare pain then take epidural lor. I also took epidural altho i thot i am brave to go w/o it. haha. but then i tell u one epidural oni let me slp from 8am to 5+pm until i want to give birth leh. cos the night be4 my gal keep bullying me by giving me very short interval contraction & i din go hosp cos hb say might be false alarm since no waterbag burst nor bleeding.
then my advice is dun shout or scream like shown in TV hor. wow i tried once leh. cos i very fast breathless mah. i try to shout see got strenght to push out anot. end up i more tired leh. aiyoooo.

icebaby,
where did u gave birth for ur children? I thot oni KKH then got discharge within 24hrs?? Other hosp very 'fu wu zhou dao' stay 2nites or what one. cos is their std package lar.

jovial,
I also pop obimin, calcium & flaxseed oil every moni. flaxseed oil is supplmenet for my DHA cos i am vegan mah. fish oil i cant take at all.

Have you mommies started listening to music. Mozart or any baby music.. it will be good leh. i also dunno until my gal was able to calm down by music when my bro brought her a mozart music.. she was crying non stop then once music come she was looking ard for the music source.

Good day ladies,

Felval, My friend told me that the herbal water not sticky leh. But I know some use the lemongrass one. Last time my mum got cook that for me to bath when I had chicken poxs.

As for the boiled water, yah, fully boiled. Cannot mixed with tap water or heater water. My friend said her MIL will cook kettles of water, pour over baby bathtub to cool, then ok temperature then just bath loh... Process takes ard 2-3hrs for the cooling water.

Jaspire, me went for my detail scan just now. Can help me update? Me having baby pink. DUnno to be happy or disappointed. All the while I alway suspect is boy, even alot of people also say I'm expecting boy from the symptons I have, I happily thought can close shop le. But nevermind lah, baby gal as long as healthy and next time guai guai gd enough le.

I had pain at my rib cage area, I think earlier on I read someone had that kinda pain before also. My gynea said its the muscles there. And for urine leakage, he advise the kegal exercise.

btw, if u ladies wan to get cheap maternity wear, there is a shop in people park market which i happen to passby. address as follow :

Belly Basics
Blk 32 New Market Road #03-1106, People's Park, Singapore 050032

Tel : 6532 6810

Kelcqi, me also, those who guess my bb gender, all says is boy. so tot a boy first will b able to take my stress off from my 2nd pregnancy. plan nice nice liao, but in the end, turns to b a gal. i still happy since i fine with either gender personally. most imptly is bb is healthy. juz hope that my nxt pregnancy wont b given that much stress lor. =p

icebaby- wow u marry so early! i alwz wanted to be mummy at 24 or 25 but din make it cos only got married at 25 =D

kelcqi- i got the rib cage pain too at my rite side. esp so when i sneeze or cough. gynae said cld be a pull of muscle n gv me sm lotion to apply. reali beta nw!

moony,

It's hard for pple to change their habits. So I guess just tolerate. Who knows after give birth u won't get the headache anymore. =)

I "zhong" 1 month after marriage...worse. Hahaha. So from then on...life is around my kids and of course my career and stuff.

Jen,

My 1st kid I gave birth in Yr 2002. Stay in 1 bedder. I went to hospital on 6th Oct in the morning, gave birth at 4pm+, then left the hospital by 7th Oct before 4pm. Stayed 1 night only. No issues in leaving as Doc say I fit to go home. =)

Girls,

Do you all wear maternity clothes? I now borrow from pple. I have some but have yet to wear them, only the pants. I recently buy a few baggy dresses -> those kind that below breast is elastic and below the dress is also elastic...look like a ballon like that (Cheap $10/dress at compasspoint there) and wearing them to office. Cos looks more fashionable. Hahaha.

icebaby, i didnt buy much maternity clothes. opt to wear dept maternity uniform when i cant fit into my normal pants liao. cheaper.... hahaha

ice baby:
I don't like maternity clothes so nv buy but I have lots of bb dolls dresses from M]phosis.. I'm their fans and i think these dresses looks more fashionable.. can't stand myself being so sloppy n ugly now.. keep complaining to my hubby no clothes to wear cos all my colleagues really dress up as we r in the fashion industry..hehe

ant1712,

Hahaha. Dun envy. There is pros and cons.
Esp when I have problems with my hubby...i keep saying why I marry so early. You know got once my hubby can reply and say I "stupid" mah. *faint* Cannot tahan him.

moony, dun worry so much abt the labour process. there should not be any stress on any women to try to go for 100% natural birth (without epi). for one, i'm gonna opt for epi cos i dun think i can deal with hours of contraction pain and then still have the energy to push baby out. unless tat day dun feel very bad pain then won't take epi lor.

during pregnancy, our hormones make us happier or more moody than usual. for me i find myself more at peace and less depressed (i'm usually a pessimistic person), but i worry abt post-natal depression cos i'm usually pessimistic by nature. so counting on hubby to provide strong support for me.

these days bad cold, also got urine leakage. must be more hardworking and do the kegal exercise. actually quite easy to do but i lazy never do it

jaspire, abt maid issue. my hubby prefers to send baby to infant care then hire maid. but that means higher cost (cos infant care abt $700 cash after subsidy and must hire part-time maid to clean house). quite stressed over $$$ matters right now, not sure if those cheaper infant care can be trusted, cos want to lighten our financial load. i think infant care plus part-time maid plus baby milk, medication, diapers etc will cost $1000 a month! hubby say not to worry so much (he's the optimistic kind) and say now still early we try to go look at all the infant care centres near our place. he say hopefully can find one decent one but not as expensive.

Antz, got lotion to apply one meh? My gynea kept emphasizing don't move ard so much but I don't feel that I move ard alot leh. He said I need to rest more, lie down more. Haiz...

Btw Ant, Me also married at 25 yrs old. Hehe...

Poky, I'm also glad baby is alrite. Nvm, try again few yrs time. That one will be my last try. Keke... If Gal again, I accept God's plan.

Lynn, I also have urine leakage. Sometimes outside I feel like a old baby. But if put pad everyday, I scare I have infection.

Icebaby, last time I wanted to marry at 22, but I never find the rite partner. Hehe. COs my dream age to become mummy is 24-26. But I guess God have his plan for me bah... So in the end my dream never come true...

Wah! so many posting today! i spend half an hour reading! hehee... hello everyone!

for me i gain quite abit of weight.. around 8kg liao.. i feel my tummy abit stretch out.. so been religiously applying the stretch mark cream..

clothings i got all from perfect mum.. coz if i wear normal clothing.. (like bao ba zhang).. dumpling walking.. do u gals find ur face swollen??

mine hor.. like so fat.. i find that my face abit fat... then heng the arms and leg not tt obvious..else..i will faint..

i also find my emotions abit unstable recently.. abit abit i will feel like crying.. but trying hard to keep positive lor..

Choc, My baby doubled the weight since last mth. But I gain only 1 kg from last mth, maybe due to being sick and recently kept throwing up. So far I gained ard 5kg le.

I know there's a way to keep face not swollen. Something I did in bath every evening. I'll wash my face under warm water for ard 1 min. Then I'll pat at the side of the face and do abit of massage under the cheekbone for ard 1 min. Then splash my face with cold water... I do these last time when I have PMS. That was taught to me by my make up artist during my wedding...