(2008/05) May 2008

Felval,
no la, i juz curious only. cos juz nice that both our babies he says to hv wood n water elements, so wonder how he cal only. =p he also got says xtra of how bb life in the future will b. tot he only give names that all, but still got "freebies"... lolx

For mine, she has a jing ming. as u say, tis yr earth rat, so she lack water n wood. ya, he got teach us which type of word with the stroke to represent the element. last nite was flippin thru dictionary for words that comes with the character of the stroke.. but words with water really not much.. sigh... but so far, we hv plan on one name liao. =)

felval, aiyo.. You never rest then go read up all these ar.. Haha.. I can understand how you feel. Yesterday got blood trace in my baby's belly button. I also went to do a search. Also the bump on his head, I also did a search and seems like it will only heal 2-3 months later. Pretty long time to heal. In the end, I slept at 2am then baby woke up at 3am to drink milk.

Did you ask the doctor why you have so much rashes?

That time I also sleep lesser than my hubby. I woke up liao, he still sleeping.. But it also cos those nurse disturb me la. Every few hours take my blood pressure.

Baby's belly button no pus, just traces of blood.

Hi panpan, can I know what size you looking at? Also the same size. If so, I'll check with the buyer to see if she got 1 more to sell. Let me know again.

Dolly, I'll confirm with you once I find out from the buyer to see if she has additional set to sell.

Me still here ha ha... overdue 2 days and counting...

Had false alarm 2 nites ago, contractions whole nite so went to see my doc yest morn before he went on leave, did cervix check (finally!) but guess what! I'm not even dilated yet! Wah... think the plants in the garden growing faster den me... so did CTG scan and only one major contraction in 20mins...

So sian... no mood to log on here cos so jealous to see all the mommies popped liao... hee... Everyone around me keep smsing me and asking me if I hv delivered yet. All give me the impression like my fault bb dun wanna come out yet, like I can control meh??? More kancheong den me leh... now my excitement dying off already cos seems like waited forever... my poor hubby also always look so disappointed aft the false alarms.... sigh...

felval
din sleep longer? so early wake up to read posts ar.. hee
so ur boy's report out le mah?

today i'm so happy.. my 2 notti gals are gg to my mum's hse for the long weekend.. finally i get some peace at home. haha.. today i weigh myself, i still got abt 5kg to lose!! yea~

re: milk supply
u can either pump b4 bb's feed or straight after.. my friend told me she use this method to increase her supply.. and true enough.. she can get abt 10oz!! per pump

Pooh
The v there very painful leh so can't really bend down much... tried to walk more but like no use also...

Guess wat! I juz went to the toilet cos feel wanna poo poo... and I got show! Finally!!! Juz to confirm, its the brown mucous, jelly discharge right??? quite alot leh... does it mean labour will come in soon??? Aiyoh... why my gynae of all times go away this weekend???

mel c, not to disappoint you, but i have the muscous plug discharge abt 1 week before my labour.. true sign of labour starting would be fresh red blood, good luck to you!

you're post-due and your gynae didn't arrange for induction or anything?

Lynn
yeah, heard that when show appears does not mean will go into labour immediately as well... sigh... hv to wait again... but hoping will be fast cos been hving irregular contractions for few days liao...

I'm trying for VBAC so can't induce, gynae can only advise to wait and monitor that bb still comfy inside.. ;-)

moony,
how you feeling today?

Mel,
got show! good good, but doesn't mean immed labour also good. hopefully till your gynae returns. but at least a sign already

piggy,
ya, if u latch bb, after that still can pump out the extras. abit tiring lah n more time taken. or if your bb only drink one breast, you can pump out the other at the same time.

Winnedy,
i shower 1 week after delivery, using the herbs.

Choc,
hehe, my first delivery i also din know my gynae was bursting my waterbag. i tot doing cervix check until the water came out then i went, 'oh! you burst my waterbag?' My gynae replied,'then wat u think i was doing dear?' hahaha...

tomorrow is the full mth celebration! gonna be tiring cos starting early morning, hubby gotta go collect cakes, go MIL place get the red eggs n ang gu kueh. Me at home will wait for the raw chickens to be delivered at 1030am. My MIL say must give raw whole chicken to family members. :S

Then 1115am caterer come set up and 12noon my relatives, some frens and hubby's colleagues come for lunch. Breaktime 3pm-5pm then caterer come again to set up for dinner. 6pm hubby's relatives and some other frens come.

Gonna be whole day affair...

Mel C, hope you will be delivering soon! Now just pray for contractions to start or waterbag burst.. Hehe.. Your baby really too comfy inside liao.

piggy_mummy, no la. Not alot of milk also la. Cos my boy drinks 80ml and I think soon may have to increase liao. Now waiting for my electrical pump to be delivered then see if can get more milk.

Winnedy, I bathed & washed my hair on my 13th day but must use the herbal water. Then now have to wait for every 3 days to bath lo cos hubby only bought 6 packets. Haha..

Tracy, so good.. Finishing confinement liao.. I still haven't decide what to do for Full month leh. Think will be a tiring affair..

Today's weather is damn freaking hot...

winnedy
receive ur sms liao. yup, haben take my FTG

cheri
ask ur hb buy more la... haha.. i bath everyday but my hair i wash every other day

full mth: mine will be done 1st june.. will be very tiring also.. coz it's 2 in 1.. celebrating full mth and my #2 1YO also

cherimoya,
u dun have electrical pump can get 140ml ald? so good!!

I used water heater water to bathe yesterday as I couldnt take it.

Feel like doing it again today!!!

winnedy,
thereafter I bathe everyday with the herbs but never wash hair la. Wah..you in aircon room whole day?

Pooh,
Hokkien...dunno lah, my MIL got lots of rules one. Sometimes I think with every confinement, her rules seem to increase. Eg. when I did confinement at her place for #1, she didn't forbid me from lounging in the hall. For my SIL who did confinement just last year, she told her not to sit in the hall, go inside and stay in her room!

Cheri,
Well done! Your supply is very good! For me, actually i can get better supply with manual pump but this time round my hands cannot make it liao. So I switch to electric dual. Think if i need to increase my supply then once in awhile switch back to manual. Maybe its the rubber cushion that helps. My electric one dun hv rubber cushion.

cherimoya,
got slp la. hahaha. hubby forced me to slp at 11pm last nite...but woke up at 2am and 6am then cldnt slp liao.
dun wake best coz dun feel the itch...wake up only i will itch like hell..hmm...gynae didnt say much le. says probably my skin too sensitive due to hormones changes lo...
then now take pills see how...if not much better then jab lo.

just now managed to fall aslp till my parents came. my mum boiled a flask of red date with logan, yummy! hahaa

Mel C,
now is anxiety right? like wondering when ur baby will come out. hehehe. dun care wat the others say not, nt ur fault baby dun wanna come out coz u gave ur baby a comfortable environment, hehehe.
so did ur gynae says when to induce if baby still dun wanna come out?

pooh,
ya lo..cant slp so get up. hubby was surprised i can get out of bed myself today. hahaha. haiz...report nt out...think will be out on tues only coz today sat lab half day and tml sun, mon PH...so most likely i will stay till tues.
if baby test positive for g6pd, which the PD and nurses are saying very high chances based on past cases then baby will need to stay another 7-14days for phototherapy....think i will discharge on tues lo...when report comes in...
went to checked out how much it costs la...per day ward charge is $351...medisave can claim $450...we intend to stay here coz closer to baby lo...altho financial wise not a smart choice...
wah! left 5kg so gd! i weighted this morning...haiz..only lost 7.1kg...left with 12.1kg...

re: bm
how u all manage so much supplies? today is my 4th day, nthing much le...colostrum also v little...no engorgement also...sian...i scare no bm...

tracy,
congras! finally confinement is over and u are free! hehehe

felval,
when u feel your breasts a little harder means your milk supply is coming. not everybody will have engorgement. to prevent engorgement, u will let your baby latch on like every 2 or 3 hours. Any only baby suckle can stimulate milk.

hi tracy,

wow ... your full month celebration is similar to mine, my hubby also wants to have 2 session, afternoon and night, but i am telling him that i am afraid that myself and baby will be too tired to entertain so many people.

hi cheri,

thanks for your help, once you receive the reply from the buyer, do keep myself and panpan posted ... then i will transfer the $$ to you.

RE : Breastmilk
you are great .. how come you have such good supply ? my highest supply will usually be in the morning around 140ml, therefore in the afternoon and night, it will drop to 80ml - 90ml only, and i feel that it is already stagnent, not much more flow.

hi felval,

dun think so much, but if i were you, i will also stay till tue until the report is out, so that i can stay close to the baby... the last time, when my baby was asked to stay for phototherapy, i also stayed additional 1 day with him. . . . dun worry !

hi muzicgal,

how have you been, havent see you login for awhile ?? and how's life while you go back to work, still manageable ?

just now went back for checkup and removed my dressing for the wound. my gynae has given me the waterproof plaster to paste on, given me a pack to last for 1 month, but not sure if it is necessary, but she said that this is to protect the wound, since i am not wearing any binder now.
how abt your wound, everything okay ?

tracy
my hb hokkien but no such law.. heh
u ordering cakes from where? i'm thinkin of either pine garden's black forest or awfully chocolates...

felval
yup, financial wise not a good choice but i'll also prefer stayin in with bb. my 2nd one, i stayed with her til discharge, total abt 5-6K.. this time round, i stayed for another additional day.. is 3K plus.. haben add bb's bill

re:bm
mine kicked in only at abt day 6-7.. dun worry, it's slowly coming.. just let ur bb suckle for at least 15mins each time

dolly23,
thanks. i suppose to be discharged yest but i extend till mon...hehhee.
even the nurses and the cleaners knows us v well now...=P

stay in hosp nt bad la...no nd to do any cleaning...can rest in bed and surf net watch tv...hubby also nt so xin ku...but $$ wise nt gd la...coz pretty ex to stay here...then hubby still can says treat it as hotel stay but more ex....if baby cant be discharge on mon or anytime soon think i also have to go back hm liao...if nt will really drain alot on $$...but nt so convenience coz need to travel up n down...and knowing myself, i sure come to hosp everyday just to acc my baby....

pooh,
for ur 2nd one how many days did u extended ah?
my bill as of yest was $4100...today is the 1st day of extended stay...just told the nurse i will stay till mon...haiz...nv see anyone stay so long one lo...extend another 3days is like another 1k gone...but lucky can claim medisave...did u claim medisave for both ur 2nd one?

pooh,
i nv let baby latch on me today..coz i broke out in rashes scare will pass to baby...only visually admire my baby. hehehe. but will do some massage and pumping later...got colostrum la...but few drops only...wan squeeze into bottle also nt enuff.hahaha

felval,
last time for my gal, i pumped the colostrum out (very little) and pass to the nurse to feed her by cup. Dun worry, your milk supply will kick in. Just pump to stimulate if you are not latching.

Dolly,
I tried to combine into one session but i think will be nightmare, as it will be like 80 people! Cannot fit into my little house. I just hope hubby's relatives dun back out last minute, which they do very often. Cos will hv alot of food leftover!

Pooh,
My dad is also hokkien, sometimes also never hear of the rules that my MIL has! I swear, I think she makes them up sometimes or it's based only on hearsay.

We order butter cake from a traditional cake shop as per MIL's preference....:S Same shop that we ordered our wedding cakes from. *yawn...boring*

hi felval,

oh yes ... you can treat the stay at a hotel stay and relax and rest as much as possible, cos once you are discharged with the baby, you will busy taking care of the baby, and no time to rest or to login and chat with us.

hi Tracy,

actually i almost have the same headcount as you for the invite list, but i told my hubby that we will send out the invite first, and see if they got rsvp then we decide whether to go ahead with 1 or 2 session, scared that too tired for me to cope lor.

dolly and tracy, for the buffet do you actually cater for the actual number of people you invite? cos i'm doing it next weekend, haven't look for caterer and hubby say just anyhow estimate the number of people coming.. how can?!

hi Lynn,

what i intend to do is to wait for my invite list to rsvp and confirm on their attendance before i book the catering service. Eg : if i have around 60 rspv, i am likely to order around 45 - 50 pax, as the food will defintely be extra, and some of the guests will just drop by and did not turn up purposely to eat the buffet. End of the day, i dun want to have alot of food leftover.

oh my.. is it too late for me to do my invite list now? the baby shower will be next saturday.. worse still, i recently lost my phone so my contact list is like gone, if i email the invitation it'll take super long to come back to me

felval
i stay for extra 3 days
the 3rd day, my gal send for photo-therapy so i cant latch her on the whole day.. the nurse suggest my hb bring my pump along.. and they told me to pump 3hrly.. each side for 15 mins..

tracy
think ur MIL anyhow make it up one.. haha.. my 1st 2, i also ordered butter cakes based on MIL's preferences.. then my relatives say the cakes not nice.. too dry.. i ordered from 2 diff cakes shops!! but the result seem.... i think my MIL likes drier cakes?! now that i'm having 2 in 1 party.. i'm wondering if i shld order both cakes from awfully chocolates / pine garden... or one cake from each shop..

dolly/lynn/winnedy
on my list, i got abt 120 guests.. this haben includes my hb's friends!! i din invite my friends this time round, will juz send them begawan cake vouchers.. too much guests liao.. my hse gonna explode

hey gals, im feeling slightly better today.. thanks for all ur advices n concern.. my mum n sis came here today.. i felt so much happier.. even my hubby oso felt so.. haiz.. i guessed i really nt used to my MIL always ard in the hse.. last time when i go wk she juz came back.. den when i off wk she is slpin til 8pm den wake up go wk liao.. we seldom c each other.. nw is liked im facing her everyday every hr.. so mayb im nt used to it.. my mum said im a silly gal.. go tink so much for wat.. haiz.. mayb i hate doin confinement n all these r driving mi crazy.. argh!! i really gt no appetitte to eat anything.. i juz feel liked drinkin cold drinks.. but i dun wished to take any food..
haiz.. my hubby wil b returning to wk on 26th i dunno hw can i cope without my hubby.. too used of having him ard liao.. he really take gd care of mi n bb.. haiz.. at times i c him so tired i feel so heartache.. i told my mum.. she said den even more i cannot take him granted..

Dolly,
the problem for me was I had to keep bugging hubby to ask MIL how many on her side! She couldn't give cfm number and only tell me plus minus 30.

lynn,
i estimate 40-50 guests coming and i order for 30pax. That's the minimum to order. Always have extra food one. That time, my gal's 1YO birthday, my hubby KS, 40 people coming he go and order for 50. We had one whole tray of fried rice and veg extra! So wasted..

Pooh,
You like Awfully Chocolate cakes? My SIL likes it and always order the chocolate cake for the family members' birthday. I find it so-so only. I haven tried Pine Garden though.

I din invite my colleagues and I've also arranged for bengawan solo to send banana cakes to my office next week.

tracy,
ok. thanks. i didnt pump out every 3hrs le..only massage...i must learn to be disciplined liao.

dolly23,
ya lo...i scare at hm cant cope....just now hubby went home with my parents to grab some fresh clothes and bring over stuffs then left me alone with baby...
then suddenly baby was crying and i went to check him...he poo-ed and i tried to clean him lo...who knows when i stand up, i started to leak pee...think i didnt go clear my bladder...
then baby was crying badly and cleaning the poo half way...so there i was standing, cleaning my baby n leaking pee at the same time...haiz...

pooh,
ya...nurse also ask me to pump if i dun latch on...lucky i bring along the breast pump can use my own..if nt use the hosp one is chargable.

Moony,
glad to hear you are feeling better after the visit from your mum n sis
I was also not used to staying at MIL's place and facing her 24/7 during my first confinement thus I got very depressed as well. After only 2wks of confinement at MIL's, I moved back to my own home, much to their disapproval of course.

Now I'm doing confinement in my own home with the help of a CL, I find that confinement is quite a breeze actually.

Not trying to sow discord here, but after your hubby return to work, ANY possibility of your MIL allowing you to complete your confinement at your mum's place?

tracy, when you mention sending cakes to the office do you like have a box for everybody? or just like everyone 'share' a certain number of boxes? cos i also wondering what how to give cakes to my colleagues? if only give those i'm closer to like not so nice cos some people won't get. but then also can't possibly give everybody mah..

Pooh, didn't ask my hubby to get more herbs cos I also lazy to boil it myself. Haha.. So just tahan abit lo. Wait till confinement over.. Hehe..

Re: Breastmilk
Actually, my left breast produces more milk. Can pump like at least 80ml everytime. Right breast lesser. And I always take only 30-45 min to pump both breast. Then sometimes will let my baby suckle after I pump some out or before I pump to somehow stimulate supply, wonder if it helps since he's supposed to be a better pump.

Winnedy, I think it's the Avent manual pump that is good. Hehe.. The let down cushion is very good.

Tracy, the Avent let down cushion really very comfy and good, that's why I decided to buy Avent's Duo breastpump. Hopefully can get more milk with that.

felval, sleep more ba.. Next time want to sleep also hard eh.. Haha..

I think I also have some rashes. Sigh.. Cos it's some red marks that doesn't go away and it itches. Wondering if I shld see a doctor to get some cream.

Ya.. The tea is very nice but must put alot of dried longans then nice if not, not sweet enough.

That time, I on catheter and they said if I cannot pass urine on my own then I'll need to stay another night. I told hubby I'm not going to stay cos we stayed there 2 nights liao and I rather be at home and it's so expensive to stay there la. Unless it's Fullerton's bridal suite then I don't mind staying for another night. LOL..

Dolly, panpan haven't tell me her size she wants or do you know what size she wants? The buyer has 2 of that size for now. I thgt it's normal to have 140ml now. Hmm.. My morning supply about 200ml like that if I do my night pump. Ya, I also feel my supply like stagnant but still enough for my baby now cos my fridge got many cups of milk now, some in the freezer.

moony, glad you felt better. Maybe you can your mum and/or sister to visit you more often.

Re: Baby shower
Planning to have it on 31st May but still haven't plan anything. Sigh. Hopefully can confirm some stuff tomorrow with my PIL then I can start planning. But seems like hubby don't want to invite friends.