(2008/04) April 2008

kea,

i had the same experience. actually, i dont drink milk before preg. i changed to chocolate fresh milk. just half a cup. not every day. once or twice a week. coz i found that my stomach cannot digest milk that well. try not to force yourself. who knows the baby is also sensitive to milk..

imagine, our mother's time, there is no advocation of drinking milk. they can survive well.
maybe we are intolerant to milk.

calcium can be absorbed in other forms.

for fresh milk,i had warmed it up before drinking.
dont worry too much.

cheers,

i till now still cant drink milk, cos it make me really nauseous....

latest scan bb at 10.7cm.... most probably boy
958782.jpg

Kea, think u better stay off milk since u puke after taking them as it wont do you & your bb good also.. me too got same problem and i dont wanna try already.. now trying to take in soya bean milk bit by bit per day + calcium pills from gynae.. after MS totally clear up then will trial & error again..

Cheryl, how many weeks are you at now?

Jgal, my maternal side also peranakan (baba) but they not so pantang as your in-laws... mayb becoz my side is catholic.. haha..

btw, my mum & grandma both will be doing confinement for me @ my place with the help of a maid..

Xiang
Try to relax after ur birth.
I had bad baby blues after my 1st birth. Cried and cried non-stop.
When my girl cries i cry along with her and refuse to carry her. for the 1st week my fever shot up to 39 degree cause overly stress. Just remember to keep your self calm.

Had NT scan today, baby was very coorperative, was moving up and down to allow my gynae to measure the thickness. I can see the body moving about.
After the scan, saw baby moving up hands to wave to us. Was so happy at that moment.
Here it goes!

958994.jpg

This time round, my grandma and her maid will be doing confinement for me. I will be moving over to their house. the maid jsut came few mths ago and has experience in looking after baby.

Kea
dun worry about calcium. I cant take calcium tablets or take milk. I wil feel like puking.
MY gynae advice is that we can take milk after birth to replenish it so not to worry. Moreover calcium can be found in meat and supplements might not be enuff to cover for our daily calcium needs.
He gave me multi vits today. After taking it, i feel like vomiting also. Bad taste and big tablets. I only like fish oil!

Jamie
i think confinement catering have MSG which wont be good for you leh. I am not sure about it but i think more or less the way they cook is not good also.

thx all for e advice

me feeling v low now.gt spotting again just nw so went to c a doc.uterus infection back again...haiz....i feel so tired and heartpain of wad my body is gg thru.feel so upset.doc told me bb is fine , he give me antibotic to eat.2days mc, told my boss, she seem unhappy.!!i am so tired..so scare preggie then jobless..haiz....i cant concentrate on anythin at all...

Kea
be strong! After passing 1st trimester i believe everything will be better! I am 12 weeks now and my motion sickness subsided abit.
Your health and family is definitely more impt then job.

Hello all MTB...
have not written for more than a month liao. Been super tired la.
Can i ask if anyone has been feeling breathless lately and breathing through thier mouth instead of thier nose? Why is this so for me?

Anyway, I am due 15th April and my gynae is Dr Leong from TMC.

Can i also find out where the shop "Perfect Mom" is located? thanks and have a great weekend.

Hi Kea,

Dun worry... Juz drink soya bean milk. I'm also lactose intolerant and I can't drink milk at all so have to stick to soya everyday.

Hi Kea and Caitlin

Me too! I am also lactose intolerant. I had bad stomach when i tried to drink less than half a glass of milk. Even ice cream also cannot take. Sob.

So sticking to soya drink nowadays. No choice.

Read about someone asking if drinking ginger tea is good to get rid of wind in stomach. I think better don't. Cos ginger for the 1st tri is not good. better to drink more apple juice and more guava for better digestion.

My stomach shows up quite fast. Now there is a rather obvious bump already. Calamari, sorry to hear that your boss is so mean. My boss was initially asking me to take on a new task but had to take me off the change. No choice cos he said 1st tri is not advisable to travel and the job requires frequent travelling and lots of entertainment. So no choice lo.. got to sacrifice somehow.

thx for the advices..me cant even drink soy milk..coz wil feel naueous..dunno y..since ystrdae me morning eat liao, whole day will feel no appeitie n puke......maybe is becoz my emotional attack of the spottings again...haiz...went to c gynae ystrdae, me weight begin to drop too...although gynae told me is normal coz i keep puking..but i still tinkin y i so useless..so many problem....can i survive thru this.....haiz......can i protect myb bb......haiz....

Hi Kea

Don't worry. You know, the most important thing you can do for your BB is to smile smile more, else he / she will frown with you, cry with you. So happy is the best medicine. Must smile and be happy.

Dont think too much. there are times when i had infection, and diarrhea when in the 7th and 8th weeks, i was rather down too... worried for the BB, but you know what... you will take good care of yourself, drink more water, have your folic acid, rest well and trust your gynae. Must take care o... and weight loss for the 1st tri is rather common cos very nauseous... a lot of things don't feel like eating. But still must eat o.. else u will be deprived of nutrients...
I lost about 3 kg in the 8th week. and now, still dont feel like eating. No choice, just have porridge and some dishes lo.

Hang in there and be strong.

cath

thx for yr advice...reali feel beta aft reading yr post. how many wks r u in now? seriously, until nw i am still v worried....haiz..don dare to tell my DH as i tink he arady v sad and heartache to c me like that but jus didnt say out, everyday jus wan to make me smile and show me 100% care n concern when c me so depress and xin gu... but whenever i tink i am affecting my job oso, i reali feel like shi*t...y cant i jus be a healthy happy MTB like others.....reali don wish to be jobless MTB

Good morning...

Me finally gave in to my craving and went to eat black pepper crab yesterday @ Long Beach .. but was not satisfied as the black pepper crab is not cooked up to standard ...

Kea: u tried taking flavoured milk? I also dun take the normal milk will feel like vomit, now changed to taking chocolate milk and the new HL Strawberry milk ... u might want to try?

can drink ikan bilis soup too... rich in calcium..
or maybe can add cereals/oats + milo to the milk.. it taste better..
must oso eat alot of fish, good for baby too..

morning mtbs

same here jenny, i drink flavoured milk to forget abt the vanila taste.

went 2 c my gynea last weekend, we saw more defined features of our bb & heard the heart beat...so cute tt simply put smiles on our faces. But we start to worry when gynea scanned my cyst and reminded me tt my op date is drawing closer.

Kea be strong and positive...i also think like u at times y can't i be a healthier and happier mtb. But will try to stay positive so tt bb has a more comfortable womb

morning ladies - havent got a good wkend..suspect i got blighted ovum. did u/s one wk after my last appt and still did not detect any h/b..the yok sac also did not grow much..hubby and i have prepared ourselves for the worst. will meet our gynae this fri for another check to confirm everything..it was really great talkin to all of u but i have to accept it ;(

schnauzie: u into how many weeks? 6wks? i hope everything will be ok for u
still positive ok?

cheryl: wow so the counting of rice not accurate de. so fast u now 15wks le
read ur MS gone~ happy for u if u got boyboy hehe~ into my 11wks tmr...

Morning Ladies, anyone having fainting or giddy spells? Been feeling quite giddy and abit short of breath even though all i did was to stand.

Last sat, i went united square, there's a shop called modern maternity, they have quite nice clothes. Then i came across this CD store that sells MOZART EFFECTS for Pregnancy. The lady explained that it's supposed to stimulate the bb's right brain. Quite interesting. Refuse to succumb to it though.

any MTB having bloated tummy usually in the evening time? i always encounter this in the late evening esp ard dinner time. like tat i dont get to eat much for dinner coz bloated

Schnauzie

hope things will be aokie for u this friday...I understand how u feel right now. I also kept thinking how am i going to take it if something goes wrong after my op esply after I have seen bb's formation after u/s and the bonding we had after going thru all the MS.

Stay positive ger! Like wat many ppl told me, if anything really goes wrong, we are still young can try again...this statement is hard to absrob as 1st time MTB but I noe ppl are trying to be kind w words...

schnauzie: i remembered u mention before that ur menses irregular de right? probably ur bb still at early stage. dont worry 1st, this fri appt see how. stay happy and ur bb will be fine ya...

Schnauzie

Great to c u still hanging around
Yup stay strong & bb will tink like mummy. At the initial stage sometimes baby grow at a slowly rate, but later it wil grow faster. My fetus is like tt, it was smaller than the norm at tt stage but later it grew pretty fast to be like the norm.

bb is like mummy start things slowly & catch up later like tortise and rabbit story.

schnauzie: dun pressurized yourself. Take it easy. I hope you dun get offended.. but if you havent hear the heartbeat.. you shld not be so stressed up. Cos' it still just another egg in the womb like the many others there every mth.

schnauzie

did ur gynea use v-scan beside u/s? think v-scan gives a clearer picture of the heart beat. U may wanna ask ur gynea for v-scan instead

schnauzie: Ur case could be like mine? Tat time my 1st appt i tot was abt 5 weeks plus but actual fact is only 3 weeks plus therefore scanning cannot c anything .. only saw a dark dark thing ..

If base on my last menses date i shld already be in my 9 weeks+ now already but last appt with gynae shows only 5 weeks + coming close to 6 weeks ... now shld be abt 7 weeks...

Maybe u can check with ur gynae on tat? Or can ask to do a blood test to have more accuracy on the weeks u r in?

Schnauzie: u can take Cutiebb advise too on requesting for v-scan. cos my last appt also thru v-scan than can c clearer pic .. u/s does not show so clear ...

Schnauzie,

Take care. Hope things go well for you this Friday. Yah.. shld ask for a v-scan. can see better.

Check with you gals, I had not put on anyweight over the past week or so. Is it normal? I shld be in my 8the week or so. Abit worried. : (

Schnauzie hope things go ok for you. Pls hang in there and take care of yourself.

Cheesycake I also have the same problem as you. Will start getting a bloated stomach around 5pm+, and by the time I reach home, feel like going to explode, not much appetite also.

I went to gynae on Sat, and saw the heartbeat. So happy. But gynae said I got a small blood clot near the sac, and gave me duphaston to take. He said not to worry as most cases the blood clot will clear, but I still very worried. Going back in 2 weeks time for checkup again. Anyone experience this or knows anything about this?

schnauzie: i agree with cutiebb. i had a v scan tat time when gynae cant detect my bb's heartbeat thru u/s. straight away can hear and detect. u can ask ur gyane this fri. v scan can see ur bb clearly.

Sputnik: tats y... veru xinku right? i will feel more worse if i smell oily fried food at food centres. can puke
break1st and lunch i can eat very well and alot. i start to bite abit with small potion during dinner esp together with soup i can eat better. u can try~

cheryl: oic i heard 4 mths can see clearly bb gender. provided bb's cooperation.

cheesycake,

I experience the same symptom as you. Breakfast and lunch I can eat very well. But when the sun starts to set, I tend to feel very bloated and giddy and dun have much appetite for dinner and fried and oily food.

My dinner has gotta be very light food like bee hoon soup or just vegetables.. sometimes after taking porridge, I will still end up throwing up whatever I ate, unless I take the medicine that my doc gave me to prevent nausea. But I try not to rely too much on medication too. sigh...

burpy: same here... sometimes i will feel giddy and extra bloated feel like puking ard 5+. funny thing is it will stop ard 9+. tummy so full and gassy... like last night, beehoon soup cant finish. can eat little bit nia, even drink water can feel bloated. wonder when this symptom will end... haiz~

burpy_babe, chessycake & sputnik

same here, dinner i eat very little 2. My parents & inlaw tot i am not eating enough for bb. They dun noe tt I eat very well for lunch. They tot i trying to keep slim so only eat a few spoonful of rice. I think this is normal for preg woman in 1st trim...

cutiebb: when my mil saw the amount of rice on my bowl she 'huh eat so little' i said i very bloated and feel like puking. told her i take more fish, veggie and meat loh. not necessary must eat more rice ma~

Cheesycake

u r abt to end 1st tri soon ? 12th week now? still ve this feel ah? ooo no i still hoping this will go off by tri 2....

schnauzie
hope everything goes well...

cheesycake
i keep asking baby to open leg when i on the to the gynae... haha... true enuff... really open leg and gynae ask if i wanna knw the gender. he say most likely boy. hee...

cutiebb: yes in another 1wk time. yes still feeling bloated since 6wks. i hope will end soon so that i can eat well at night. u which week?

cheryl: keke u must be very happy ya? me also excided abt my bb gender. cant wait~ so cant believe those online chinese gender preditor de... not 100% true~

<table border=1><tr><td>NICK</TD><TD> EDD</TD><TD> GYNAE</TD><TD> HOSPITAL </TD><TD>CHILD #</TD><TD> Res </TD></TR><TR><TD>Adeline</TD><TD> 2nd </TD><TD>Dr Lim T.B.</TD><TD> Mount A</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>SK </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cath </TD><TD>3rd</TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tratties</TD><TD> 8th</TD><TD>Dr Sng </TD><TD>GlenE </TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Pasir Ris </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kea </TD><TD> </TD><TD>Dr Chong</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Alexia</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Simp *</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gail </TD><TD>15</TD><TD>Dr Leong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sock Ling </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sling </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chew Yuan </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jgal</TD><TD>2nd </TD><TD>Dr Fong </TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Redhill </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rain </TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gemini05 </TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ann </TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Tan Hang Yang </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>LL77 </TD><TD>12</TD><TD>Dr Fong</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jamie</TD><TD> 2nd</TD><TD>Dr Gordon Tan</TD><TD> GlenE </TD><TD> </TD><TD>Old Airport Rd </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pucca </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cutiebb * </TD><TD>3rd</TD><TD>Dr Sito </TD><TD> Glene H. </TD><TD>1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bun </TD><TD></TD><TD> Dr Esther Ng</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cloudluv </TD><TD>8th </TD><TD>Dr WK Kee </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> Jurong W. </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheesycake 82</TD><TD> 2nd</TD><TD> CH Koh </TD><TD>Mt A </TD><TD>1st </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>blessed</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>schnauzie* </TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Chan</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD></TD><TD>AMK </TD></TR><TR><TD>sherin </TD><TD>6th</TD><TD>Dr Adrian</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mushloom </TD><TD>7th</TD><TD>Drh k ho</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dolphin </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sputnik </TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>AMK </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jenny </TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham </TD><TD>KKH </TD><TD> 1 </TD><TD>SK / Pasir Ris </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celine </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Xiang </TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Fong</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Doobie Doo </TD><TD>14 </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Christine</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>honeybunn</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Wee</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>calamari</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lee </TD><TD>9th</TD><TD> Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>eSthericiious </TD><TD>21 </TD><TD> Dr. Devandra </TD><TD> sgh</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>burpy_babe </TD><TD>16</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham </TD><TD>KKH </TD><TD> 1 </TD><TD>SK </TD></TR><TR><TD>scubababe</TD><TD>15</TD><TD>Dr Chan</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Pasir Ris </TD></TR><TR><TD>tsukushi </TD><TD>15</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></td></tr></table>

burpy_babe, i think it's normal to not put on any weight during first trimester, some lose weight due to the MS and loss of appetite, I've also not put on any weight frm before i was pregnant until now, i'm already 10 and a half weeks.

celine, cheryl .. could you furnish me with your information again. i have missed them

burpy_babe : yeah.. it's normal to not gain weight during the first 1st trimester. I actually keep track of my own weight every wk. went down by 1 kg because.. i stop eating all the junks i used to eat.. ha haha .

Cheesycake, I'm in 10.5 weeks now...counting down hoping MS to be over but my 2nd fear will beginning...anyway will rest tt in god's gd hands to bless us
BTW u doing any test on 12th week? My gynea say i dun need wat oscar or triple test...just ve detail check of dimension and features will do.

Woah everyone seem to be losing weight...but I have increasing ever since my wedding though I ve MS...keke so much of sleeping and eating, tt explains y!

thanks gals. coz i had put on some weight before i went to visit the gynae. after the gynae visit the weight gain seem to stagnant. so am abit worried.

cheesycake: same here. when my mom saw the amount of rice i took, she told me that now is not the time to be on diet and asked me to eat more. sigh.

Hi Kea

I am going into the 10th week, starting from today. but hor, still can't eat well... I am like cheesecake, very bloated in the evening but as long as i dont take food, i dont feel terrible. So for the start, i took very very little food. But then started to see that i am lack of nutrition, then better dont, just bite on more meals (small ones) and skipped big hearty meals.

And Sherin, i bought the Mozart effects CD already. It is very soothing to sleep with the soft music. But not cheap - $25.90. I bought it at Mums and Babes. It is rather worth it. Cos usually the bb will give me a lot of nauseous feeling at night, but after listening, seems to have calmed down. Maybe it s some psychological effects.