(2008/04) April 2008

wow... i seem to have missed out lots! so many are going to be 2nd time mummies already! congrats to all who are going to be 2nd time mummies!
heheh mine would be out end june and i can wait.

cloudme

heheh re latching on i just confirmed with a lactation consultant from mt A. ok to latch on if you are fine with the idea though alot of people will tell you not to. actually to tell the truth... i have been latching my boy on. not enough to fill his tummy with milk but still better then nothing.... supplementing with formula now... but to bed its definitely latch on.... :p also to stop if you feel contractions.... but truth be told i have never felt contraction to stop me from latching my boy on.

bibs

oh any one want to get the banadana bibs from mum2mum. can check out this site seems that the international postage is 15nz so its cheap! especially if we bulk together. thinking to add more bibs to my boy's collection... :p
here is the link
http://www.mum2mum.co.nz/product.htm

heheh if want to bulk together can pm me (hubby is working from home now so chance to log on to smh is few and far between and also may miss out ), but singapore postage to be born by yourself k, other option is to pick up at my place at tpy central.
heheh cant do meet up anymore... to big to go walking around already. :p

Jasmine

All the best to you... So envious... 2nd one coming soon. You are having a boy boy? I like the bibs but my boy has outgrown those... unless i am get a 2nd baby. Not planning yet though..

cath

thanks. hahahah... that is something that looks good but think of all the midnight feeds and you would shy away... :p yaps #2 is another boy. heheh

Congrats to all mums pregnant!! Heehee so happy for you all! Well done! I am still enjoying my "break".....

RE: Latching on
elijah'smum: I am still latching elliot too! 3x daily.... yes esp at night. Think he enjoys the bond. I am thinking to slowing weaning him off. He still pukes out all the FM I give. Hence only with cereal in the morn or some snacks & dessert then I can add in some FM.

Regarding the bibs, I quite like the one with sleeves. But I am planning to get dura bibs in fact. :p

JRrain: Hi babe, how have you been? Heehee so long nvr chat. Oh so gd to hear u went on holiday *envy envy* Let u know, Elliot is taking similac IQgain. I hv been buying the 400g one so no rusty smell. Anyway he drinks at most 180ml a day so I bought a small can one. I was told by Abbot's nutritionist that iQgain is thicker so if babies not used to drinking it can dilute the milk.

jasmine
times flies, your 2nd one is coming out soon liao. i better collect my book before u gave birth, its been long over due haha...
can my hubby come to collect tmr nite abt 9pm? isit too late? pls PM me your address. tks!

Congrats to all mummies who is preggie with #2!!

jasmine
no, i'm not joining the birthday bash as it clashes with my boy's nap time. that's y will get hubby to collect from u lor.

chewy

heheh, already have those bibs but boy out grew them and refuse to use them so looking for others now.

re: latching on
hahah.... the night feed as said by the consultant seems to be the last to wean on leh. in fact most babies wont self wean of it till about 18mths or 2yrs leh. not sure about it.
pls keep me updated on how you guys wean of your babies leh. coz i can imagine the fight that i may have on my hands as my boy is quite possessive of us! even i cant hug hubby in front of him leh, nor hug hubby when he is carrying him vice versa too.

jasmine,

just to share, my friend weaned her gal at 15 months. she rejected bottle and formula. only wanted to latch on. e pd advised my fren to rub vinegar on her boobs. when her gal tried, e gal rejected immediately. so my friend told her milk spoil. now she's drinking formula from bottle. she used to drink from avent bottle. now she only want e pigeon one. my friend tested her if she still wanna latch on but she say spoilt she dun want.

mummies expecting 2nd child, congratulations. dunno when i'll be ready for 2nd but I want baby gal. Hehe.

araid

hahahhah!!!! that is so funny! hubby and me are having a good laugh over this!

hmmmm ok i will go and give it a try! hahah then i wont need to be the one to put him to bed any more! heheheh this is one lazy mummy talking!

jasmine,

I was laughing when my friend told me too. she told me e 1st time she did, she apply abit only so her gal didn't taste e difference. e 2nd time she applied e whole breast and her gal tasted it. good luck!

chewy
hi, ya is been alot time since we chat..... hehehe,
Yes enjoyed the short holiday after so long nv go travelling. Hope to hv my long wan soon, hahaha. U also going for holiday soon rite, if i dun remember wrongly. Btw wanted 2 tell u, saw ur pics in FB, u seem 2 hv slim down & prettier
U mean the GainIQ or the stage 2 no rusty smell? Cos the rusty smell i mention is from the stage 2 FM. This wk, I juz started to transit Eshin from stage 2 to GainIQ.

Jules
so funny,hahaha....... I oso vy headache how 2 wean off my boy. Somtimes if I dun allow him 2 latch on, omg he will pull my blouse until almost going 2 tear manz then no choice he wins if hv 2 give in. Mayb i can try ur fren's method.

jasmine: haha, I might as well reply you here than FB since we are at this topic now. I have not latched Kayla since she was 6 months old so when I say I wean off, means wean off pumping kekeke...maybe can try Jule's mum's idea of the vinegar!

Yes, my 1st one is super clingy to me... He will cry whenever I walk away and keep saying ma ma ma ma... no one else can carry him except me.

That was when we suspect I might be pregnant. : )

Truly enough, doctor confirmed my pregnancy.

I havent seen my gynae yet, most probably due date is End Dec 09 or Beginning Jan 2010..shall update 2weeks later!

RE: weaning off...
i wean off my ger at 8th mth...
but if she is in discomfort(sick or whichever)...
i still offer my breast to her...
she will auto take a couple of suckling and very happy with that feeling...

RE: Sticky to mummy...
nope...
not really(or did i never notice? huh)...
but now she real sticky to her daddy instead...kekeke...

mummies, help please
need to check with u...

my ger got a fever a couple of days ago...
and her body is full of rashes and her skin tend to be itchy and drying...
her forhead also got spots but not popping out type but under the skin(red dots)

seen some mummies post about "false messles" b4(wrong spelling?)
how does it look like and does it suppose to feel like?

she also took anti-biotic...
could it be allergy too?

calamari

hahah.... now adays am seldom on. :p hubby working from home and hogging the only computer at home now. mine broke down a few weeks ago and hubby refuses to repair or replace it leh... in fact he has taken over my monitor to create 2 monitors for his...

oh wean of pumping.... hmmm i actually stopped pumping at 7mths coz my boy refused to take ebm so my dad threw away all my 40L store of it. so wasted! still angry with my dad for doing it..... :p

mummyfel

hehehe... reminds me of my boy! he was like that for my 1st tri. now much better. daddy also can carry him already.

oh another good news to share... i just found that my supply is increasing! in fact now its faster for my boy to satisfy his night feed! then when i tried to pump noticed that i got back the same amt that i was pumping out when he was 7mths(about 9oz)!

cloudme

could be allergy reaction to the bacteria.... coz i know that my boy will break out like this each time he has the flu (3-4 days after the flu bug hits this will happen). i brought him to the pd to check and he said was just a body reaction to the bacteria. heheh could not be meds as i did not give any to him.

Cloudme...

I think she may be allergic to antibotics.

My boy took the antibotics and the rashes start from the eyes and follow by body and starts to spread downwards. i thought it was fake messles but was wrong he was allergic to antibotics.

Suggest you go back to the same doctor again.let the doctor know.

Hope it not allegic to antibotics like my boy...

jasmine,
wah so good that ur supply is back...

hmmm will only let her suckle when i in last trimester...
hope my supply will also come back...

did u experience slight engroment?
i have these lately...

RE: my ger...
but this is the first time that she have these rashes after a fever...
for the past fevers she dun have these rashes leh...

cass,
this is what i afraid too...
cos she is allergy based since born...
but all food taken is ok for her...

wanted to go to the doc on sat but hb is like treating as nothing serious happen cos mil said bb could be having heat rash...
that stubborn old "big bb" only listen to his mummy haiz...

cloudme: you google 'roseola'...hopefully can give you the answer to your girl's rashes.

jasmine: alamak, throw away 40l ah!!!how come! so now Elijah is on half BM hald Isomil right?

any mummies weaning babies off the bottle? feeding milk by cup? most books recommend weaning off bottle at 1, but my girl can't seem to be able to drink so much liquids from cup. she'll take only a few sips from straw for fun, by spoon or from cup at most like 10 mouthfuls..

Lynn : I tried to give Julian milk by cup. He won't drink much. If it's water, he can drink alot from straw. For milk, he drink abit then play already. In fact, till now Julian doesn't wanna hold his own bottle. He wants us to feed him. If he holds his own bottle he will drink 1/2 only. How was Adel's party?

Julian's got fever.
Vomited last night. Don't know if he's teething or the weather. He's drooling heaps! he's extremely sticky to me recently but I know I'm not pregnant la. hahaha.

Hi Cloudme,

Your girl was she on antibotics before? if yes, then maybe its heat ras, if not,maybe you can stop the antibotic first, I also thought it was heat rash but it seems to be getting worst so went to consult doctor and realised that it was antibotic allergy.

My Mother-in law also said that it was heat rash but in the end... haiz!!!

I would suggest that you see a doctor to be assure.

Cloudme
that time my boy hv false measles, he oso feel itchy, then he keep scratching his body.
Hmm mayb u shld bring her back to let PD see cos nt sure is allegry or false measles. Hope she recovers soon.

araid22, Adel's party went well, the weather was super hot so was really grateful for the aircon.. the day after the party, we realised we did not take any video of the event!

brought our videocam but was so busy we forgot to designate anyone to take video
now only hope that our photographer has good photos for us to remember the day's event by. took an outdoor shoot at Hort Park itself and it was so warm even at 9 plus in the morning. hopefully those pics turn out well too. can't wait to see the photos! but still can't believe we did not take any video. feel like banging my head on the wall lor..

cloudme

yaps had slight engorgement that went off after a while. now experiencing more engorgemenys especially at night when its about the time that my boy latchs on.

yaps better bring back to dr to confirm so that you wont worry so much.

calamari

elijah, is no longer on bm... other then latching on... if taking formula is is on full isomil. :p thankfully he is ok with it.

ariad

heheh... i can imagine. poor boy... normally my boy is super sticky if he is not comfortable. as in sticky to me not hubby... think they know that mummy is their comforter and daddy is for play.

re: drinking from cup
it takes them awhile to understand that drinking milk also can be from cup. what i did was that i would drink milk in a cup together with my boy. also if i were to make fresh soya bean drink then i would share my cup with my boy. he started to learn this and got ok with drinking from a cup after about a month of this. before that was only 3 sips of milk and he would push it away. :p

anyone experience babies sleep late ?
recently I really got headache when trying to get him to sleep.
yesterday he was crying and crying until almost vomit, when i refuse let him crawl around at middle of night....at 1st I suspect he is unwell so I let him do what he want and let him go...
he slower crawl...play with my TV, and crawl play with my drawer and crawl out my room go to living room and PLAY his toys ...OMG...that was 1.30am.i got no chioce had to catch him to bed and refuse to let him do what he want...he cried and scream until fall asleep. This morning he got slight fever...now my hubby just call me said he still feverish....so guilty wonder is it my fault to let him cry so much....

sigh... just wanna vent my frustrations here. my mom is up to something behind my n hubby's back again. this time... she added light soya sauce to my son's porridge. cos tat time my boy had throat infection and refuses to eat porridge. i told her that my boy was sick. so to whet his appeitite, she go add soya sauce to his porridge. i was wondering since my boy recovered liao but how come he still don like the porridge i cook. so now i discover that he has develop a preference for savoury food.

i really don understand why she always go against our wishes and do things sneakily behind our back. to her is she has raised 3 children 30 yrs again therefore she knows better than me. always bringing those last time theory. now hubby don wan her to take care of baby anymore... cos god knows how many sneaky things she has done behind our back. though she has good intention, her ignorance can kill lor. i donno how to bring up the topic of asking her not to take care of my boy.

Javier is on move everyday...he need to travel 3 places .
every morning he wake up at 7.30am, I will bring him to my mom place, after playing awhile he will continue his sleeping untill 11am plus..he will wake up for his shower and lunch and play until his daddy come and fetch him at 12.30pm.
My hubby will let him play and watch DVD until about 2.30pm and let him nap until 4.00-4.30pm. Then they will proceed to my MIL house for dinner and wait for mummy come back...
When mummy reach home at 7.30pm will play with him until 8.15pm... he will ask for milk milk and sometime want a nap if he insist a nap (he will definitely wake up after an hour) and he will be energetic until at least 1am...
I ever try not to let him nap in the evening but end up..I surrender, cannot tahan his frustration...

hi hoon
u may hv to adjust whole day's schedule so that he sleeps at a reasonable time at night.
i think he sleeps too much during the day.
try to limit nap to max 2-3 hours for entire day.

e.g. ideal nap times
9 - 10.30am
2.30 - 3.30pm

working towards the targetted nap time takes slow adjustment. slowly shorten naps, cut 15min every few days. when it's time to wake him up, turn on lights, make noise, read book loudly, play with the toys etc. make sounds of things that he likes to do, so that he will wake up "happily" & ready to play.

if u find that he is settling into nap times different fm the above, that's fine, follow his bio-clock, most impt is not too have too many hrs of daytime nap.

by 8+pm or even 7+ he should be tired, give milk n zzz n hopefully he will sleep through...

but i wonder what is milk schedule like after 8+? any night feeds? cos when u fiddle with day schedule, sometimes night schedule will inevitably change too!

Hi Hoon,

agree with Joelle. you might wanna do slight adjustment to his routine? As in drag his nap time later ?

This is Xavier's one. Hope this helps:
7.30am - Breakfast, bath, VCD, playtime
10.30 am - He starts to roll himself to sleep
11am - 12.15pm - First nap
12.30pm - lunch, playtime
3.30pm - Rolls himself to sleep
4pm - 5.15 pm - Second nap
5.30 pm - Dinner, bath, play
8.45pm - Drinks last feed
9.30pm - 10pm latest - He KO

He naps about 3 hrs in the day. Then he sleeps through to the next day.

But I hope he can sleep earlier though !

Hoon,
JTS, Now yanyan takes 2 nap in a day. I think at their age now, 2 naps a day is enough. You might want to try drag the evening nap or let him sleep through the night on that evening nap.

hi joelle
I am a FTWM, so I had to rely on my mum...my mums concept: let him sleep as much as he want...and I also have more time to do housework....now that he is a active baby, my mum will really be tire if she had to follow him around the house..I will also respect my mum decision over my son, i will not interfere her cos I know she is good to our son and not many elder nowasday look after their grandchild...my MIL will not want, she always said she old liao..cannot handle.
As for Afternoon, of cos my hubby who come back from work need to rest so sleep together lah...as for me I will like to spent some time play with him after my work...but by then he want nap again.
Thanks for your useful advises and I will seriously studymy son's sleeping patterns, hopefully I can get my hubby slowly change his...I may ask my MIL look after him in the afternoon so my hubby can rest well too.

Hi Prawnie and Amy
I believe we let Javier nap too long at day time..i have no control cos me at work. My friend actually suggest i bring him out for evening walk so by the time we went back he is tire and so he can sleep through night...so far I never try cos I am too tire/lazy to bring him for walk, cos at night I will be alone taking care of him and my house..sometime I really pray that he will sleep through the night but most of time he will wake up...sigh...

hi hoon
i empathise with ur situation...
with ur mom's mindset, i think it's difficult to shorten nap time there. your family has quite a tricky schedule , guess baby is just adapting to your schedules too... looking on the bright side, as baby gets older and requires less attention, then he can play independently while the adults are busy or resting, then his sleep time can regulate itself as well.

Hoon: yup, let him be more involve in physical activities like making him crawl or walk around more =)

How many times does he wakes in the night? Make sure he has a full feed as in fulfilling enough to sustain him through the night. this way, he will not wake for milk.

hoon, I think you can try just letting sleep through at 7+ 8. julian used to wake up at 3 plus for milk as his last feed is at 730. wat I do is give him a dream feed before I sleep about 11 plus 12. then he can sleep through till 630 7. maybe u can try. I think he's taking longer naps because his night sleep is insufficient. if u extend his sleep he should take shorter naps. actually it's good for kids to sleep.

mushloom : I think most elders are like tat. as long as not too salty ok la. give baby abit of taste in their food. my hubby n I used to be very strict with ju's food. a chinese physician told me this might lead to kid being picky eater in future. she would rather I feed everything in moderation. after tat, I've decided to be more relax with his food. but not salty like fish steam with soy sauce la. I allow little soy sauce in porridge and food.
now, he's enjoying his food more.

today I will try to let him sleep throughout....hopefully can make it.
maybe I will let him go downstair walk walk after my dinner...i think i had to sacrify myself for my boy