(2008/04) April 2008

Thanks Jgal and Diva for the recommendation. Will go to Raffles hosp if fever doesn't subside this evening. We've brought her to PD twice this past week for her cold and cough, today escalated into fever. Even after vaccination, her fever doesn't cross 38C so we're concerned
suspect she caught all these from infantcare but PD suggests nose allergy is dur to our dog

Just given 2nd dose of paracetamol at 3pm, if by 7pm not working, then we will rush her to Raffles.
please pray...thanks!

Angel,

You can try Silvercross at holland village since you stay in clementi. Dr Soh and Dr Boey are quite good. Maybe you can call to ask who is on duty today.

Angel,

do try to sponge her with room temp water. Julian had high fever after his 2nd 6 in 1 jab. Went up to 39.5c. Julian vomit when we gave him medication so pd gave us supporsitory instead. I tried the stick on gel pads. I think sponging him is better than the gel pads.

Angel, i suggest u betta bring her to the doctor. Although chances are they might give u the same paracetamol.
Baby and children's temperature tend to peak at abt 12 mn to 2am. So betta watch out for these hours.
You can also try bringing her to TMC 24 hour clinic.

angel
typically bb need to be on medication for 1-2 days to cure fever. u will find temp going on rollercoaster, peaking every 4 hrs. if worried, send to doc. hugs to dana!

Calamari / Summermama,

can i ask do you know when is the sales ending for the FP Superstar toy, as i am also eyeing on it for a long while, but last saw at Robinson at $119, damn expensive.

Angel
Sayang Dana. Hope that she gets well soon. It's always scary when bb has fever. U take care too.

Koori,
Kaylen got many shoots at studio loft, very value for $ esp when she has so many outfits. She looked super happy taking pixs even though she had accidents twice in a day kekeke. Sayang the painful area kiss kiss from me
The pix r well taken

Jgal
Wow got a gd break in hk yah. Thanks for the tips on getting the idd card. I super sotong when it comes to saving $ overseas, always use sg handphone. Next time must ask u 1st kekeke

Chewy
Ur bb Eillot got fast movement, thank goodness everything ok. M in kl sob sob, only back in end nov. I feel so detached not being able to join the gathering n xmas party haiz

Calamari & Sherin
The FP toy looks coolz! Must let us know if there r more of such lobang

Prawnie
I still latch at abt 11pm, 3/4am at nite. Think it's common for bb. Hmm m thinking once i introduce dinner cum fm at nite, maybe shevon wd wean herself off from me. Then again, i dunnoe if i wan her to wean off totally. So i think i will just go along w her flow. Guess it's more like a habit than a need to drink in the middle of the nite unless we feed them super full till they knock out hahaha. Dun worry

Simp - actually i had alot of family shots rather than Kaylen one alone, i prefer to have more of hers but i forgot to tell Maryann. How many shots Shervon has at that time?

heinz cereal,

mummies here, wana to know any mummy feed their bb organic heinze cereal? mw juz feed my bb a teaspoon, but don know this brand safe for bb or not? thanks

hi piggy mummy,

I'm feeding my son heinz organic cereal. I think it's safe as it doesn't have milk content and it's an australian product.

Hmm, wierd... How can i miss Summer mummy's post and her little gal's pic...

Sherin,
Summer looked so serious... LOL... looking at her reflection so seriously... Bet she love the toy alot... Lucky you gals never call me... Dun think i can resist buying it... hehehe... need to take a breather after buying the jumperoo if not would have spent a few hundreds on toys liao... Kekekeke...

Amy,
You reminded me that I wanted to comment on Summer's pic too but got sidetracked.. too busy updating the FP spree!

I'm finding it hard to avoid wanting to buy toys too, almost impossible to resist! Hehe

Sherin,
Summer is such a lovely lil lady

She's got such a big, happy grin in her pumpkin sleepsuit pic.. and studying her reflection so intently in the toy pic!

joelle: I think Xav is latching for comfort only. cos after about 5- 10 mins, he will just pulled off n continue to sleep.

Amy & Simp : I think his teething discomfort making him wake. Think I will just latch him if not will give him plain water in a bottle to suck.

Cos my only concern is tooth decay. Cos I knew of a fren whose two year old baby undergo an operation to have her decayed tooth removed which was as a result of latching to sleep every night.

I felt so bad, these two days caused xavier to fall here and there. Two days ago, xavier fell twice from the bed. Just earlier, he fell off while riding on the giraffe and hit the shelf. Now got a little bump on his head

Angel: Has Dana went to the doc ? Hope she is alright. Do monitor her temperature. Hugs to her.

prawnie...dun worry u r not alone...luann is also the same, will refuse to sleep unless she latch on...then in the nite she will keep waking up to latch...

i'm trying to break this habit by giving her water or pacifier instead...hope i can haf a good nite sleep soon....sob sob...i miss my beauty sleep...

calamari/sherin...me too went to buy the FP toy today...ha ha ha cannot resist the temptation with such a huge disc...luann loves it too

Koori,
I think if u get cd, must tale many pixs then worth it/ That time i hv no intention to get the cd, so shevon only has 1 extra set of clothing besides the one she wore to the studio + the naked pixs. So i feel the cd which i paid for $250 may not justify when we took few pixs. So u can imagine 1 change of clothes cost $250 hahaha. The family b4 us took more than 1hr of shoot becoz got grandparents + a few change of clothes for their ger. Our shoot finished in less than 30mins coz no more clothing to change shevon, so i feel exp to take the cd

Luann mummy, yeah, cannot resist right? it's a whooping $40 off !!! More than 30% off. Moreover, i've been eyeing that toy. =)

Any mommies experiencing a drop in milk intake for ur babies?
My girl who used to drink alot has been refusing milk. I think her total intake for e day is abt 400ml.
Is that normal?

Sherin - my ger now total feed abt 550 - 600ml nia, used to be 700ml at least...the only reason i can guess is that they are taking semisolids so cut down. Is summer taking alot of semisolids? if nt can ask PD if this is normal.

saw the FP table toy at kiddy palace for like 110+ leh. where did you mummies find it on discount? i am of course on 'buying-toys' ban by hubby lol!

i need to get some rolling toys for my girl. she now likes to sit on my lap like it's a bench for her and then reach for toys on the playmat. like machiam get up from sitting while reaching for the toy and then promptly fall face flat on the playmat! luckily we bought the playmat if not her head dunno will kena the floor how many times..

Koori, Summer is taking alot more of semi solids. I dont know if it's just yesterday. Some days are ok. Her usual intake is at least 1000ml. Now substantial drop. I guess shall moniter

sherin, wah 1000ml is a lot! so envious.. my girl now reduced intake to about 500 to 600ml only. 3 meals of cereal a day, each time is add cereal to 80-90ml of water.. too little?

er...one question, don't mind me. When you mummies said baby is taking in e.g. 1 tablespoon of cereal, do u mean scooping 1 tablespoon of cereal and then mixing with water, or baby consumes just 1 tablespoon of cereal from the bowl? Should be the former right?

Summer's mama: WAH! 1000ml is a lot! But then again, Summer always has a big appetite hehe. My girl is still retaining her normal milk intake at min 750ml with 3 tbsp brown rice in the afternoon, and 1/2 to 1 whole fruit puree in the evening (e.g. avocado, banana).

Calamari, i think should be e former bah.
Yest Summer woke up late then had her milk. Lunch was cereal with steamed fish. I scooped out one spoon at a time. It was abt 15 teaspoon of cereal. I didnt measure e water. But it's about a ricebowl size of cereal. then since i was at home, i gave her "teatime snack" of half a avocado mixed with half a banana. Then dinner she had cereal again.
I'm not sure if it's e reason why her milk intake is lesser. But on Sat, her milk intake is still quite ok. And ya, her appetite has always been very big since she's v young. Oh i just changed her bottle to evenflo. my hubby says that could be the reason. I'm not too sure. This morning she switched back and managed to finish a full 210ml.

think i must go and get more toys, my boy do not hv much toys.. and since my hubby do not allow me to get the extra playmat, will splurge on toys instead.. haha..

my boy's milk intake is ok but these days, nv finish the cereal i painfully prepared with fruit puree.. waste my efforts. not sure why also, haiz!

calamari,
yeah, 1tbs of cereal from the can lor, then either mix with water/ milk/ puree..

Good morning all!

Summer's Mama,
Ethan's milk intake has dropped to 400-500ml now. He is eating ample semi-solids though, sometimes 10tbsp of cereal a day.
There was a short time when Ethan consumed 1000ml too, but that's long gone now.
I find that with all the new flavors introduced to him, he's probably rebelling against milk since it obviously pales in comparison to fruity cereals and purees.
But I figure it's quite alright since he's got reserves and still is his happy lil self!

Calamari,
I give Ethan cereal mixed with milk, never cereal on it's own. How can? It's way too dry!

You mommies are tempting me to get more toys for Ethan, as if he doesn't have enough already! Hehe

calamari,
whole fruit?
when i make apple/ pear i only use half of the fruit can make for 2 times for his meal? isit correct??

another question:
anyone has puree carrots, i tried 2 times but not so smooth as fruits.
wat i've done: cut carrot (organic) to small pieces and steam then blend..
not sure if it's the blender not powerful or i did not steam long enuf, any advice?

maro,
has qoorie sent out ur order?
recieved already?
how is the quality?

bought 2 pcs of gymboree romper from Tom & stefanie last week...

but hor the carter's they bring in is cut label one...but i bought 1 set too(same as the one babycenter is selling)

i lov the carter's material...so comfy...

Diva, I'm getting worried about her milk intake. I think her semi solid intake is similar to Ethan's.
She has been drinking abt 1000ml for a v long time, since 2 mths old. E drop only happens in e recent one week or so.

Maro, i think whole fruit or not depends on individual babies appetite.
Summer can take one whole avocado or like i mentioned, yest she had half a avocado mixed with half a banana.
Other times she can take one whole mango or one big chuck of pumpkin.
Carrots are meant to be smooth too. I guess u didnt steam long enough?

cloudme,
she sent out on the 1st, think i shd get it today.. will check when home t9.

me bought the long sleeve rompers so not sure the material is the same or not? also dont know got cut label or not.. did she mentioned at the bp that the labels are cut?

how much the gymboree rompers? quality good?

Luann_mummy: Will she wakes if u give her water? Cos he will wake if let him suck on the bottle. Then, I gotta carry and pat him to sleep. There goes my sleep.

Summer_mama: If Summer is taking normal intake for her cereal, should be fine. My case is these few days xavier don't want to take any cereal at all. So I have no choioce but to make sure he finish his 160ml of milk.

calamari: Normally is 1 table spoon of cereal then you mix with milk.
1 table spoon = 15 ml = 3 teaspoon
1 tea spoon = 5 ml

Maro: I tried to add in the water in the plate where the carrot was placed during steaming. The end result can be very smooth. Without adding water it's lumpy.

summer's mama,
ok, yeah my boy small eater since born, his milk intake nv exceed 800ml, unlike summer..

always worried he is not taking enuf, but so far weight got increase. but still hope he'll take more.

oh, ok.. think will steam the carrots longer. thanks

jgal,
i rem u helping some mummies here to post on WTS thread. can help mi to post also

BNIB - 2 PINK first teethpaste
BNIB - Creamy desitin cream

thanks thanks!!

Any recommendations for baby biscuits? Can it be given now since my girl is approaching 7mths.

for avocados, how to choose... coz i bought one but its not ripe yet when i cut it open & then I tried to salvage by adding milk to blend it & it makes it even worse. So in the end, I have to discard.

Maro, i think so long as weight gain is ok then it should be fine regardless of intake.
Summer's intake is alot but her growth is quite minimal. Higher metabolism rate, i hope. Hee. Then she'll be able to enjoy food without putting on weight!

summer's mama..
haha.. that's good lor for girls.. eat but will not put on weight.. hehe

prawnie,
thanks for tips, will try that again.

marshmallow,
biscuits, i have bought healthy times. my boys like it but v messy so my mil not feeding him anymore..

from wholesomebabyfood.com
How to Select an Avocado -
When selecting an Avocado, you want a dark green color with bumpy texture. The fruit should be firm yet yielding when gently pushed. When an avocado is sliced in half, the flesh color should be a green that gently transforms into a buttery yellow around the pit.

hope it helps though i hv not bought avocado yet.. hehee..

i've bought avocado alot of times but still cant choose properly, esp in supermarkets.
I've given up on this trial and error method. now i just go to e market and ask e auntie from e fruit stall to choose. It's always perfect! =)

Hi Maro,

Is the HT biscuits available at supermarkets? Coz I didn't see it before.

Thanks for the advice on choosing avocado... but I chose dark green color leh & still not ripe enough.

Summer's Mama,

Like PDs say, perhaps baby's needs are adjusting and they simply don't need so much anymore.
I understand that the decrease is far from minimal and hence very worrying, God knows I was frantic and paranoid for a whole week!
Now I'm resigned to the fact that Ethan simply doesn't need as much milk as he used to.
His solid intake is increasing and he's always relished eating.. so at least he makes up for the lost milk by eating it mixed in cereal, etc.
The biggest difficulty for me is accepting the milk drop, I like consistency and this is so not!
Summer's still loving her solids so that's a relief. I can only assume that like Ethan, solids are fast becoming more important and exciting

<font color="0077aa">morning mummies.. fer mummies on breastfeeding.. do ur have problem tat when latch bb on, bb will bite on ur nipple. . how to prevent tat ahz??

hm HT cereal can keep fer how long ahz after opening.. cuz my original box thrown away liaoz</font>