(2008/04) April 2008

I am interested too!!! But still torn between LG or Parklon and the thickness of the mat...

Mummies interested to get Playmat:
1. Maomi x2
2. Winter
3. Maro (tentative - need hubby's green light :p)
4. princess-j
5.Javier's_mum
6.Honey_pooh (may get 2)

maomi, dnt give the meat. jus add a pc of pork or fish and cook together. fish maybe a little bit cos heard ppl saying intro fish oni when the bb is 1yrs old
adding pork or fish is jus for taste

Vonn:
"stock" errh...got any fridge smell or not when freeze it?
i thot of doing the same but hate the fridge smell...
so dun dare to try cos scare the stock absorb the fridge smell...

tsukushi, prawnie, stefylim, Maro & jamie
me 2 hv the same blender.........
I find quite easy 2 use 2 blend my boy food puree.

vonn: oh...u mean they dun eat the meat ah. haha.

then how about the veggies. brocoli, carrot, pumpkin. how to cook all these? any other greens to add? i ran out of types of veggies. coz wat my mil n mum do is put into porridge n boil for as long as the porridge takes to cook, but i tink all nutrients gone.

must we use a blender? no other way?

mummies, can u share: what cereals u feeding your baby, how many times do you feed your baby daily and the quantity each time?

1. maro: frisocream, lunch only, 2tbs
2. Winter : HB Oatmeal + HT Barley, lunch and dinner, 5tsp
3. na_na: HT Brown Rice, lunch only, 2tbs
3. lynn _: HT Brown Rice and Barley, Happybellies Brown Rice and Oatmeal. Twice a day, 1.5 to 2 tbs, depending on cereal type.
4. calamari: HT Brown Rice/Barley/EYS Si Sen Brown Rice, lunch 2.5 tbsp. Fruit/veg puree, dinner 2 tbsp.
5. Littleprincesses - Cereal HT or HB for breakfast 2 teaspoon, porridge(puree) for dinner
6.Angel: Frisocream 2tbsp mixed with half babycube worth of Fruit Puree at Lunch only. The rest milk feeds as per normal.
7. Koori - HB brown rice, 3 tblspn 1x, Fruit/ vege puree 1x
8. yvonne - HB MG , 3tbsp for morning and dinner.
9. esther - Dinner only: 5 tsp HB BR + 30ml EBM + 1oz fruit puree (tried apple,papaya,pear,banana), abit of warm plain water
10. Diva: HT Brown Rice/Barley + Nestle Rice+Mixed fruit, lunch, 5-6 tbsp. HT Brown Rice/Barley + fruit/veg puree, teatime, 5-6 tbsp.
11. lynn85: HT Brown Rice/Barley (abt 3tbsp) + Vege/ fruit puree (2oz) for lunch and dinner.
12. prawnie : HT barley / cereal 1 tbspn + 4 tbspn of veg puree + 160ml of ebm (lunch only)
13. Maddysmum: Heinz Rice Cereal+ some fruit puree (4 tea spoon) for breakfast. Nestle Brown Rice for lunch (4teaspoon), Rice cereal for dinner. And around 500ml FM (very little eh, but she cant drink much). Ocasionally I feed her Heinz jars food when we are on the go.
14. Luann_Mummy: Frisocrem for lunch (1bowl)+ Millet porridge for dinner(1 small bowl), weekends will be HT Brown rice for lunch(3tbsp) and porridge for dinner...
15: Puffish: HT/HB Brown rice 5tbsp (breakfast), Veg/fruit puree 1-2oz (lunch), HT oatmeal/barley 2tbsp (dinner). Average 800ml milk per day.
16: jasminechenx:HB Brown rice/ HT Barley 5tsp + 3oz ebm (lunch), 3oz fruit puree (tea), HB Brown rice/ HT Barley 5tsp + 3oz ebm (dinner)
17: Cloudme : home cooked porridge 3/4 bowl (lunch & dinner - now never puree porridge),last milk feed sometimes add HT barley cereal or si sen brown rice cereal + sometimes latch-on, food jars and juice only on weekends (as treats)...
18. maomi: (keep getting kicked out! was number 4 become number 18, HAHA!) heinz, lunch only, 2tbs + snack fruit puree 1 tsp
19. Vonn: Frisocream for breakfast(abt 3tbsp+) and porridge for lunch and 1 more meal for dinner. Is it too much for 3 meals?
20.mifi:Teething rusk for breakfast.brown rice powder(3 tsp) for lunch and porridge for dinner
21.JuniorRain: BM for breakfast, HT Brown Rice Cereal 3tbsp with puree & BM for lunch, fruits puree for tea-break, FM for dinner, BM for supper.

ERGO CARRIER:
After trying my cousin's I like ERGO and thinking of buying one. Especially Maddy is outgrowing her Baby Bjorn.
Anyone interested to buy also? I am now looking at the cheapest price.

Jgal, are you organizing one hee hee? How much did you get it for last time including shipping?

so happening with the discussion of porridge and stuff..

am also clueless how to start the porridge thingy. can any mummies who've started pls share more? like what to add to make it tasty?

need to freeze stock ah? no container to freeze liao leh, need to buy containers ah..

morning, mummies

Seems like all babies enjoy their cereal alot.. my charis dun like to eat, everytime waste my effort.

RE: Porridge.
I din blend the rice to powder. i use slow cooker to cook for 1hr plus will do. When u stir the porridge, the grain will break down to very fine puree. Sometimes, I will add sweet potato / carrot, but she still dun like too.

RE: Porridge

mummies, need more ideas as to what are the types of greens we can put in, and how to handle them so that their nutrients are preserved. can dun use blender?

Juz want to check if I can intro meat/fish stocks into the porridge now? Or I have to wait till 8 mths?

So far, I only mix porridge with either carrot or sweet potatoes.

winter:
dun worry ...i also feed my ger fish...
now they can eat mince meat...
my pd told me can feed her finely mince meat liao...

maomi,
thx for the input. =) think play safe, dun let her eat the gan bei... =p

Re: Fish

found this article. so most likely i b tryin out, since my gal got eczema liao. since no longer can prevent, hopefully can help in the situation??

News extract from Mind Your Body, The Straits Times, on Oct 2, 2008

Fish in baby's diet may prevent eczema

Feeding babies as little as one portion of fish before they are nine months old may cut their risk of developing eczema, Swedish researchers said recently.

Introducing fish of any type into the diet reduced the risk of contracting the skin condition by 25 per cent as compared with children who never ate it, Dr Bernt Alm, a paediatrician at the University of Gothenburg in Sweden, and his colleagues reported in the British Medical Journal.

'The main finding was that early introduction of fish was beneficial,' Dr Alm said. 'There was no link with the amount of fish or type of fish. We think it is more the timing of the introduction.'

Eczema is a chronic condition affecting between 10 and 15 per cent of children. It causes the skin to become itchy, red, dry and cracked. It often affects those prone to allergies.

The Swedish study is part of a research tracking the long-term health of nearly 17,000 babies.

The researchers found that genes played an important role in the development of eczema but breastfeeding and keeping a furry pet in the house had no effect.

Fish in the diet appeared to be important but Dr Alm said it would take further investigation to establish why. He added that there was no extra protection from fish rich in omega-3 fatty acids, which provided other health benefits.

'It must have something to do with its influence on the developing immune system,' he said.

I am interested too!!! But still torn between LG or Parklon and the thickness of the mat...

Mummies interested to get Playmat:
1. Maomi x2
2. Winter
3. Maro (tentative - need hubby's green light :p)
4. princess-j
5. Javier's_mum
6. Honey_pooh (may get 2)
7. jasminechenx (looking at the LG alphabet pooh 15mm, if get 2 need approval)

Juniorrain, Tsukushi, prawnie, stefy, Maro and Jamie: Welcome to U-like blender club !! hahahaha

Angel: I have transfer to you $20 for the putumayo disc. Thanks. But I forget to note down the ref no. Pls check under Serene.

hey mummies, just to check, how long does the teething phase last b4 they stop being whiny and irritable? the time between these symptoms and the appearance of first teeth?

Winter...i think no pro lar cos i also give fish.
I more chin chai mummy....bring them up on how our parents brought us up...etc fish, meat and water...

Cloudme...i also tot of that, but i think use zip lock bag or air-tight container.

Talking abt air-tight container, lock n lock claim air tight and i use it for bb biscuits, realise its not air-tight at all.

yesterday my MIL introduce to my boy her tasty fish porridge. they report that even before tasting the porridge, just bring the spoon near his mouth, the boy already WUUEEK WUEEK - make gagging sounds ! LOL

poor MIL :p

winter,
think the most famous for bb is "ngor" fish... at least my mom n mil says la.. til now, i stil duno how to differentiate fish.. only know salmon, eel n cod fish... that all... all rest, look the same to me.... lolx

RE: fish
the only fish i give is "wu yu" or "five fish" in chinese...the old folks said it's good...

any other fish meat can give to bbs?

Vonn
oh no, i use lock n lock for all the baby cereal.
one thing i'm quite impressed is that they declare BPA free. quite enlightened lah that brand, haha.

maomi
RE: period of teething phase
haha no idea how long but seems like forever

btw was it u who was missing a parcel from khawsh? did it finally arrive?

any mummies know where to get BPA free Avent bottles? Seems will only launched in Spore next half year...sigh...so long!

Maomi - teething phase varies from bb to bb, use gripe water to rub the gum, it works wonder for Ernest

Fish - I can't differentiate too... looks the same to me

Joelle - so ur boy like the porridge?

Vonn - I use lock and lock leh, so far, it is air-tight.

mummies, can u share: what cereals u feeding your baby, how many times do you feed your baby daily and the quantity each time?

3. lynn _: HT Brown Rice and Barley, Happybellies Brown Rice and Oatmeal. Twice a day, 1.5 to 2 tbs, depending on cereal type.
4. calamari: HT Brown Rice/Barley/EYS Si Sen Brown Rice, lunch 2.5 tbsp. Fruit/veg puree, dinner 2 tbsp.
5. Littleprincesses - Cereal HT or HB for breakfast 2 teaspoon, porridge(puree) for dinner
6.Angel: Frisocream 2tbsp mixed with half babycube worth of Fruit Puree at Lunch only. The rest milk feeds as per normal.
9. esther - Dinner only: 5 tsp HB BR + 30ml EBM + 1oz fruit puree (tried apple,papaya,pear,banana), abit of warm plain water
10. Diva: HT Brown Rice/Barley + Nestle Rice+Mixed fruit, lunch, 5-6 tbsp. HT Brown Rice/Barley + fruit/veg puree, teatime, 5-6 tbsp.
11. lynn85: HT Brown Rice/Barley (abt 3tbsp) + Vege/ fruit puree (2oz) for lunch and dinner.
12. prawnie : HT barley / cereal 1 tbspn + 4 tbspn of veg puree + 160ml of ebm (lunch only)
13. Maddysmum: Heinz Rice Cereal+ some fruit puree (4 tea spoon) for breakfast. Nestle Brown Rice for lunch (4teaspoon), Rice cereal for dinner. And around 500ml FM (very little eh, but she cant drink much). Ocasionally I feed her Heinz jars food when we are on the go.
14. Luann_Mummy: Frisocrem for lunch (1bowl)+ Millet porridge for dinner(1 small bowl), weekends will be HT Brown rice for lunch(3tbsp) and porridge for dinner...
15: Puffish: HT/HB Brown rice 5tbsp (breakfast), Veg/fruit puree 1-2oz (lunch), HT oatmeal/barley 2tbsp (dinner). Average 800ml milk per day.
16: jasminechenx:HB Brown rice/ HT Barley 5tsp + 3oz ebm (lunch), 3oz fruit puree (tea), HB Brown rice/ HT Barley 5tsp + 3oz ebm (dinner)
17: Cloudme : home cooked porridge 3/4 bowl (lunch & dinner - now never puree porridge),last milk feed sometimes add HT barley cereal or si sen brown rice cereal + sometimes latch-on, food jars and juice only on weekends (as treats)...
18. maomi: (keep getting kicked out! was number 4 become number 18, HAHA!) heinz, lunch only, 2tbs + snack fruit puree 1 tsp
19. Vonn: Frisocream for breakfast(abt 3tbsp+) and porridge for lunch and 1 more meal for dinner. Is it too much for 3 meals?
20.mifi:Teething rusk for breakfast.brown rice powder(3 tsp) for lunch and porridge for dinner
21.JuniorRain: BM for breakfast, HT Brown Rice Cereal 3tbsp with puree & BM for lunch, fruits puree for tea-break, FM for dinner, BM for supper.
22. scubababe: Nestle BR + HB BR 1 tspn each with 2 tbsp of veg puree (tried carrots, potatos & Broccoli), tea time will have apple + pear puree

winter
no, he gagged at my MIL's porridge when the spoon approached his mouth! LOL i think he only had the smallest of taste.

wow now i am tempted to start Byron on porridge soon! So many of you already started. Seems fish are good too. I think cod fish is a popular fish for babies too right?

22.Javier's_mum : I am also lazy mum, I only add 1 tsp of nestle brown rice into FM every meal, fruit puree weekend only 1X per day.

May I know how shall I improve his intake of cereal? shall I make the brown rice into puree and feed baby for at least 1 meal per day?

22. scubababe: Nestle BR + HB BR 1 tspn each with 2 tbsp of veg puree (tried carrots, potatos & Broccoli), tea time will have apple + pear puree
23.Javier's_mum : I am also lazy mum, I only add 1 tsp of nestle brown rice into FM every meal, fruit puree weekend only 1X per day.

May I know how shall I improve his intake of cereal? shall I make the brown rice into puree and feed baby for at least 1 meal per day?

Re: Porridge
I slow cook porridge for 3hrs. Quite nice.
E.g: 1/2 cup 'new' rice (Can buy from provision shop, new rice taste better for porridge), Threadfin (ngor fish), pumkin, 2 red dates, 5 wolfberries. (Dont need to add any salt or soya sauce) Taste quite nice.:)

Re: Fish
Good to intro 'white fish' to baby. E.g Threadfin, Cod fish, white promfret, etc.. Don't intro 'oily fish' as difficult to digest. E.g. Black promfret, Mackerel, sardines..etc

joelle & winter:

teething, i duno if he is teething but he has been whiny n irritable, drooling and touching his gums alot. food intake gona down suddenly 2 days i see he like lost alot of weight! sigh.

missing parcel has arrived. but i thot it wun arrive, so i went to some shop to buy the rompers @$28. serves me rite for being impatient. who wants? haha...its the gap mon-sun rompers, 12-18mths.

RE: BPA free bottles
omg i forgot all abt it. winter, u already ordered??

araid22- can drop by anytime. will let my maid know.

jenny hoo - i used to hv a very small slow cooker but gave it away long ago. so now i just stick to using double boil method. Soon will proceed to using my thermal pot when she is able to eat more.

stock - plan to get fish bone and 'tien ji' to make stock. Can add soya bean to make it sweeter :)
For now, i add fish ,green peas (frozen - birds eye), carrot and potato.

23.Javier's_mum : I am also lazy mum, I only add 1 tsp of nestle brown rice into FM every meal, fruit puree weekend only 1X per day.
24. joellez : lunch = 4 tsp white rice cereal + half a small banana + pear juice. we add 1 tsp of brown rice powder into milk feeds in the day

cloudme,
wu yu look like wat?? same pattern like cod?? also got hear inlaws sayin of this fish is gd for bb.

scubababe,
my mom says she feed us on cod fish, cos gd, n importantly, no bones.... =p

Someone mentioned brown rice being hard to cook? Can try this brand (elephant) 'xiang xiang', from thailand. Available in most wet market. Find the texture not hard at all after cooking.

Winter...mine dnt knw y not air-tight for pigeon bb biscuits...

I also intro ngor fish to my son, i tried it...like 'siab siab' leh. Actually wanted to try salmon, lucky haven try.

'new' rice i bought from market provision stall, can buy $1...can cook abt 3 meals...

wow most mummies feed more than what i fed my boy. btw for fruit puree, do you mix it into the cereal or do you feed it on its own?

24.mushloom: I must be the worst here. only 1 tbsp cereal for lunch. on and off introduce fruit puree but oni succeeded in papaya puree.

Julian's 6 months today!

Xiaozhu,

I tried giving Julian cereal today. Successful! Hehe. Just hope he will continue to enjoy his cereal. But being lousy mum, he gag 2 times la. Haha.

maomi,
my gal also drink alot lesser when teethin. normally 100-120ml, durin the period, only 60-80ml. drop weight alot, then stagnant... after teeth sprout out liao. bcome "normal" n gain back n increase again... but think her third teeth goin to sprout soon. startin to hv all the traits again... can feel her teeth at the top gum...